Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront House with Private Beach, Patio, and Gameroom

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This is a great house, right on the ocean, that has been newly remodeled and renovated. It is a two-story house with four bedrooms (king, king, queen, and twins) and three bathrooms. Three bedrooms and two bathrooms are located upstairs; the other bedroom and bath, along with a game room which has a sofa-bed, are located downstairs. The two floors provide a lot of common area space, which can be nice with even the closest of families (i.e. teenagers vs adults). It is perfect for the extended family.

Outside, it's only a few steps to the beach. There are plenty of chairs and chaise lounges, a fenced in courtyard with gas grille, outside showers and covered area for some shade. Just a great beach location!

The full kitchen, living room, and upstairs master bedroom overlook the Atlantic Ocean; and a comfortable second floor deck overlooking the ocean can give guests a breathtaking view of the sunrise over the water. Perfect for sitting in the shade and watching the activities on the beach below.

The house is strategically located midway between prestigious Ponte Vedra and historic St. Augustine, which offers dining, shopping, and recreation for all. The house is bordered on the west by a nature preserve, and only single family, oceanfront homes as neighbors. This makes for a very uncrowded, relaxing, safe beach experience.

Please note that this is a non-smoking house, and does not allow pets. Also, the house may not be used as a venue for weddings, reunions, or other events hosting those not staying at the house. The person responsible for the rental must be at least 25 years old and staying at the house, and the maximum number of guests allowed is ten.

During the peak summer months, June, July, and August we only offer week-long Saturday to Saturday rentals. Also, there may be some other periods during special events where minimum stays or additional rates apply.

If you're within thirty days of your desired rental, call us about last-minute specials!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

About The Owner

Tom Turnage was born and raised in Northeast Florida and is the owner of the Turnage Company, a design/build construction and remodeling company in Jacksonville. He purchased the house in 2003 as a fixer-upper and has extensively remodeled the house since purchase. He loves his beach house and uses it for both personal use and as an investment. He is active in the community and is the President of the SPV-Vilano Beach Restoration Association.

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why The Owner chose South Ponte Vedra Beach

Tom grew up in Northeast Florida and resides in Jacksonville. went to beach often while growing up, now as an adult enjoys the area and appreciates the unique opportunities the area provides. The house is far enough away from our Jacksonville home to feel like we've gotten away, but is close enough to escape in the middle of the week even for a night.

What makes this house unique

Peace and Quiet. The house is located between Jacksonville Beach and St. Augustine. It is surrounded by Guana State Park and the closest public beach accesses are almost a mile away. Probably one of the least crowded beaches in Florida. It is a great for those who want to get away from the rat race, but still be close enough that golf courses and good restaurants are a short drive away.

Amenities

South Ponte Vedra Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2) Two king beds, one upstairs and one downstairs., Queen size Beds (1) Upstairs bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (2) Upstairs bedroom., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Downstairs in gameroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront House with Private Beach, Patio, and Gameroom
average rating of 4.9714284 based on 70 reviews
5

A wonderful house by the sea!

  • 5 of 5

We chose Sandseeker Cottage for a family gathering of four generations. We were looking for a home that would be comfortable for my 88 year old mother as well as my 2 and 3 year old grandchildren, and everyone in between and this house absolutely fit the bill! Tom was wonderful to work with and very responsive to any need we might have. The downstairs area with bedroom , living room, kitchenette and table was perfect for little ones to nap while the rest of the family was upstairs. The house was very clean, well-organized and well stocked. We loved the deck and enjoyed watching the pelicans fly by during the day, and the starlit sky at night. We spent many hours on the beach hunting for fossilized shark's teeth and enjoying the privacy this beach house provides. Originally, our plan was to do this just once, but after spending a week at the house we have decided to make this a yearly trip. It was evident that it really mattered to Tom that we enjoy ourselves and that everything was perfect for us. And it was! See you next year Tom!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing location and has everything you would need to enjoy your stay!

  • 5 of 5

The property was perfect for what our needs were for the FL/GA weekend! House was supplied with everything we needed and accommodated the 10 of us very well! The property is right on the beach with fantastic views and is close enough to dinner places or grocery stores to meet your needs. I highly recommend Tom's property and will be looking to return next year! [If available]

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eagleville, PA
5

Destination Wedding

  • 5 of 5

We came to PVB and Sandseeker for a wedding. Our party included our two daughters and their families( 3 grandkids) along with 2 in-laws who watched the kids while we were at wedding activities. We were a little nervous as we were the first renters after hurricane IRMA, but our worries were unfounded as all needed repairs were completed, and the property was in excellent condition. The kids, 4,2, and 1 1/2 all enjoyed the beach, using the beach toys that were provided. The adults in the party absolutely loved the upper deck. The location was convenient to both PVB and St. Augustine. The house was fully equipped with all that was needed for our meals. We wish we could have stayed longer, and would love to return some time down the road.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and we're glad you had a great time at our house. Your review is especially helpful since you were the first to see that the house fared well during Irma, which damaged a lot of homes in our area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We will return

  • 5 of 5

The house sits on the beach and was plenty spacious for 2 families of 4. The property was recently remodeled and was perfect for a long weekend at the beach with family and friends. We all wish we could have stayed longer. Tom, the owner even stopped by prior to our departure and he was super nice. It was a pleasure to meet you Tom and we hope your beach house fared well through Irma. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house did great during Irma, but we did sustain some damage to the walkover, landscaping and fencing. We'll be back online in a few weeks. I am saddened that many of my neighbors did not fare as well, but am confident that they will all recover soon. Looking forward to your return, you were very wonderful guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great beach home, great beach!

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful, clean, thoughtfully and beautifully designed beach home with fabulous views! We loved the location....remote and private with very few people on the beach, yet so close to restaurants and shopping when we needed to stock up. Our family enjoyed the various seating areas of the house that gave everyone enough room, yet accommodated interactions and quality time together. We enjoyed every moonlit night and every sunrise and sunset. The large kitchen window looking directly down at the beach afforded us expansive views from the comfort of the house, if we opted not to be out on the huge deck. We saw many crabs, birds and dolphins. We liked the convenience of the outdoor shower to rinse off after our hours swimming in the ocean. Tom, the owner made our stay extra special by dropping by to welcome us and to ensure that we were safe and comfortable. He also shared a little about the history of the home after the 2016 hurricane. It is a perfect vacation home. We hope to visit again to build even more wonderful memories.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family get away

  • 5 of 5

We loved the ocean views and direct access to the beach. The accommodations were perfect for our family. The two master suites were just what we needed for us and our adult children. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed grilling out on the gas grill. Lots of deck and lounge chairs made it easy for us all to enjoy the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The close proximity to St Augustine was a bonus. We enjoyed one night dining at one of St Augustine's top restaurants. It was just what we needed--a relaxing mini-vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Clean, Linens, Supplies $195 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Rates quoted here are not final, as rates are flexible based on circumstances that can't be reflected in a computer program like this. They may sometimes go down for certain times, or go up due to special events (Thanksgiving, Christmas, Florida-Georgia game weekend, etc).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties