Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Log Home 3 miles off Prkwy!Mntn View!Pool,PuttPGolf,Gym,Clubhouse Use

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom (Sleeps 1-8)

Located in Bear Creek Crossing! Escape every day life and come stay at Cabin Joy. Located just five minutes off of the fun filled Parkway, you will enjoy all that this luxury log home has to offer.

Clubhouse is available for your use between 7 AM and 7 PM. The clubhouse has gym equipment, TV, tables, chairs, wifi, porch rockers, etc. Host your next family party. Contact me if you are interested in nightly rentals for wedding or event receptions. www.smokymountainlodgeweddings.com

You will love the wrap around porch with country rockers and top of the line 6 person hot tub with water fall and fiber optic lighted tub and jets. You will be in awe walking into the great room with vaulted ceiling, brand new stainless appliances, all brand new dishes as well as bakeware, pots, small appliances etc. You will have all of the comforts of home. You will enjoy eating at the beautiful custom log dining table with cushioned log seats. You will feel at home in the living area with floor to ceiling fireplace, bear themed furniture and flat screen TV for watching Direct TV with all of the premium channels. There is a sofa bed. There are 2 king suites with all new furnishings and each have their own black bear theme. The children will love the open loft with a new log bunk bed featuring a full and twin bed. The loft is also complete with a new pool table, new air hockey, new stand up video arcade, new futon, and new card table.

Cabin Joy has everything that you would need to enjoy a relaxing luxury log home vacation in the Smokys. Make it your family vacation today. This cabin will sleep 8 people comfortably and 10 if need be.

More Details

Owner
Julie Shaffery
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Julie Shaffery

My name is Julie Shaffery and I am from New Jersey. I am a real estate broker. My husband Michael and I have three children. We all enjoy riding our horses and vacationing in the Smokys. We are so happy that we can make our dream part of yours by sharing our vacation home with you. This picture was taken in August 2011 in Cades Cove when my husband and I renewed our wedding vows. I brought 18 family members with us from NJ.

Julie Shaffery purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Julie Shaffery chose East

This property was a stones throw away from our other cabin and we thought it would be nice to keep our family close by during gatherings.

What makes this cabin unique

We take extra special care of our property. We expect the cabin to be clean and pest free exactly the way we want to stay in a vacation home. We are so happy that we can share this with other families.

Amenities

Sevierville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Decorated in a black bear theme
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Full and twin log bunk beds
  • Both are King suites with new log furniture. One suite has a jetted tub. There is a children's loft bedroom with a full/twin log bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Luxury Log Home 3 miles off Prkwy!Mntn View!Pool,PuttPGolf,Gym,Clubhouse Use
average rating of 4.5151515 based on 33 reviews
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great vacation with family!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great owner! Cabin is just like the pictures.

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was fine, just like the pictures. The owner was great, very attentive. The issues were the proximity of the cabin to the main road for us. It was a chore to get to the main road daily. The pool was crowded every time we went. Again, the owner and cabin were great! The resort area wasn't what we were looking for and we have stayed in better areas in the past.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi. I am glad that you enjoyed our cabin. Thank you for writing a good review. We did actually measure our cabin from the Parkway via Henderson Chapel Rd and we are exactly 3 miles. Any closer to the Parkway you would have noise. I have installed a camera in our clubhouse and have been monitoring the pool area and I must say, it is never overcrowded. I think it is bad luck and timing that it was on your visit. I have stayed in many resorts in that area before purchasing there and I loved Bear Creek Crossing the best. I am really sorry that you didn't and I can tell you that 90% of my guests love that resort. Thanks again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, Wisconsin
1

Not what we expected

  • 1 of 5

You can find a better cabin than this. Constant annoying problems popping up. It is not a luxury cabin. It is your typical BASIC cabin. Light bulbs burnt out in bedrooms, kitchen chandelier had 3 light bulbs out. Huge loft only had one lamp and it didn't work. Bedrooms only had one nightstand each. Not enough towels (about 6) and they felt like sandpaper. Bedsheets were maroon colored and did not fit the bed. Kept sliding off the corners. The comforters needed to be washed and smelt BAD! Good thing we brought our own blankets! The instructions says to take in grill pan to not attract bears, well there is no grill pan. Just a mat that was full of smelly grease. Nasty! We were there 5 nights and no one ever emptied the trash on the deck! It was hot and it smelled. We had trash bags piled up in the kitchen when we left. We were a family, so we cooked a lot. Skillets needed to be replaced. NOT ONE SHARP KNIFE! Knives (all 2 of them) were so dull you couldn't even cut a tomato. This was the worse kitchen set up for any cabin we have ever rented. Wanted to grill hotdogs and couldn't open a can of chili or cut up an onion.

This was a basic cabin with no personal touches. The pool area was nice for one day. The other 4 days they had removed all the lounge chairs and you had to lay on the concrete. The water falls were turned off. We tried calling about the chairs, but no one answered. We heard from another family they took them to be restriped. Every one that came to the pool was very upset. A lot of seniors with families had no where to sit down. This was VERY upsetting and uncomfortable. It ruined the swimming pool experience.

I have rented at least 12 - 15 cabins in the Smokies and this one was the worst. Keep looking!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Wisconsin, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our beautiful cabin. I think it is unbelievable that prior to your stay, you emailed me at least 7 times with all kinds of questions that I answered promptly. You even asked if you had to bring your own propane tank. If you have rented cabins in this area before, you would know that it is not customary to have to bring your own propane tank or your other questions that repeat guests to the area would have known beforehand I think it is unbelievable that you contacted me so many times prior to your stay but did not contact me once after your arrival. In my welcome email, I tell you that if you have any problems, concerns or questions, to please call or contact me immediately so that I can send someone right out. I never heard from you once. There are about 30/40 light bulbs in our cabin. We also keep extras in a cabinet. Had you contacted me, I would have told you where they were. My maintenance man who does a walk through before every check in told me that he didn't see any lights burned out. The pool chair situation during that week I cannot control. Since then the lack of chair issue has been remedied, including many new chairs and tables were added. I am very excited to see it for myself next week. Mostly everyone who stays in my cabin loves it and have complemented us on our hands on approach to making their stay very enjoyable. The photos of the cabin speak for themselves, the table when you first walk in the door, cost me over $3,000. When I saw it, I had to have it. Everything in that cabin was a personal touch. My daughter at the age of 9, designed and picked out the entire children's loft so I take personal offense to what you are saying. You did not follow directions. In my welcome email it says not to set the air conditioning below 70 degrees or it may freeze the system. We received alerts during your entire stay that you had the temp. set at 65. You had no regard for my home at all. My cleaners said YOU were very dirty and I have reviewed you as well to let other cabin owners know to be wary of renting to you. I personally stay in this cabin 6 times per year to vacation and do my maintenance. Regardless, nothing you described warrants a *ONE* Star review I am disheartened but will continue to do my best to care for and share my vacation home with my guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family time in the Smokies!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at cabin Joy. It's our second time there and inside and out with love the log cabin and the area. We feel like we're right at home when we open the door it's always a breath of fresh air. This year we were able to go twice and are so thankful to the owners. They are truly genuine wonderful people who want you to enjoy the peace and relaxation that the Smokies bring to all! All that was a long drive my 3 boys my husband and myself look for it of course to getting there but once we do the ride is long forgotten and it's all about hanging out in the mountains! It's not too big and it's not too small it's just right! I highly recommend this cabin you will be glad you spend some time at this location and this property for sure.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have been looking for something like this for awhile. We found the cabin ample large enough for our family! It was also very easy to find. I had questions and emailed Julie and got quick responses in return. We loved the Pigeon Forge area! I highly recommend This cabin and this area. Hope to be able to return again soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Family Vacation

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was advertised as suitable for 10. Maybe 6 adults and 4 children but definitely not 10 adults. Two of my adult children could not make it so it all worked out. There are two bedrooms (4 adults), a loft with a bunk bed with a double on bottom and a single on top (three kids), and a futon that folds out (maybe one more kids) and a very worn out and uncomfortable fold out sofa in the great room downstairs (two adults would not last the full week). My 22 year old daughter wound up sleeping with me and my wife in the bedroom.

The owner/manager was responsive when we called with a problem.

We had to go buy trash bags after the first kitchen bag was full (first day). A $3.00 box of trash bags would not be too much to expect. Most VRBO properties I have used before had a box of trash bags available.

The two large trash cans outside were not picked up during the week. We had 8 staying in the cabin and accumulated a lot of trash. The cans were overflowing when we left. We hoped this might mean we would see some bears, but no luck.

It worked out well with 4 adults one adult child and 3 grandkids. We may have opted for a larger cabin had the description of the accommodations been a bit more realistic. If my other son and daughter in law had been able to make it, I would not have been a happy camper!!!!!

We were told that we could not bring our Weiner dog because the properties prided themselves on being allergen free. But there were dust bunnies hanging from the ceiling joists.

Overall not an unpleasant vacation, but it could have been a bit more comfortable.

On a brighter note, I rode some rides at Dollywood with my grandkids that a 60 year old man should not be allowed to ride!!! Got my blood flowing!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stanley, I am glad that you had a good vacation but upset to see that you were not happy with some things at our cabin. First, the description of our cabin is right on and very realistic as are our pictures. The pictures and reviews cannot lie. There are 2 king suites, a queen pull out sleeper sofa, a twin/full children's bunk bed and futon in the loft. I am sorry that you didn't see this. In your review you say that you contacted me but I didn't hear from you. If I had, I would've sent our cleaning company up with some extra garbage bags and to pick up the garbage. In my welcome email it says what is provided and also says that if you run out, it will be your responsibility to purchase extra. I am not sure how you missed this in your welcome email. Again, I am sorry. Had I have known there was only 1 extra bag, I would've sent someone up. I am certainly happy that you didn't have any bears from the overflow of garbage. In your welcome email it explains that any food or garbage left outside will attract bears and we will have a huge mess to clean not to mention, it is not humane to have bears eating people food and therefore having to euthanize them because of losing their fear of people due to this. You are correct about our cabin being pet dander free. With having a dry cabin because of having the air conditioning run constantly, we do have some dust which our cleaning company may have missed on the rafters. Most of the cabin has 25 foot ceilings so it can be difficult to get them all. Thank you for letting me know, I will let our cleaning company know. Thank you for staying at our cabin. We really do enjoy sharing our home with our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sevierville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer High
May 30 2017 - Aug 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$240
 
 
Summer low
Aug 15 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable