Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Artist Bungalow Key West Style

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Historic Bungalow in Downtown Fort Lauderdale, close to everything!!!

Our lushly landscaped double lot, private compound consists of two historic bungalows. This listing is about one of the 1912 bungalows. The bungalow has been lovingly renovated while keeping its old Florida style. Nestled just a short walk from downtown and less than 2 miles to Fort Lauderdale beach, this truly is a little piece of paradise. We are surrounded by Old Florida vegetation, which include live oaks, loads of palm trees, an avocado tree, and even an orange tree is on this spacious double lot property.

We have available a Key West Style bungalow for temporary rental. The bungalow has a lovely one bedroom, with a separate living room, and full kitchen with granite counter top. Our bathroom is stocked with new towels and linens. In our Angelfish cottage,we just purchased a brand new king size bed for your comfort. Our stylish Urban Outfitter couch converts into a full size futon bed. This cottage can sleep up to 4 people. In addition, we have a screened in front porch and a lovely outdoor patio with patio furniture and access to a gas grill.

We are close to everything!!! Walking distance from the River Art Walk, Performing Art Center, restaurants, bars and cafes. We are minutes away from the beach and intercostal, where you can hop onto the water taxi and find your way around on a boat. We are just about 15 minutes away from the Fort Lauderdale airport. We live in a historic neighborhood; coincidentally we are located where the first fort was built. We are also within a few blocks to public transit and less than a mile to Tri Rail, which is our local train that takes you from Ft. Lauderdale to Miami or West Palm Beach.

What makes our place unique, it’s just so charming!! We love to have people feel at home in a tranquil space. Relish in this one of a kind home with a minimalist style décor but with all the modernized comforts of home. This is truly an amazing spot that gives you the feeling of living the simple life.

More Details

Owner
Ana Boza
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian, dutch, danish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About Ana Boza

I am not a native Floridian but grew up in Fort Lauderdale and have called it home since 1972. I still love this city for all the wonderful things it has to offer. I love the beach and the weather. Living in the tropics and close to the beautiful white sands of Fort Lauderdale beach is a real blessing. I have set roots here and see myself as a part of the natural landscape of this amazing eco system. Many visitors, do not venture out into the pristine national parks in the Everglades but I highly recommend visiting this unique area which is so close by but far away enough to enjoy the wilderness.

Why Ana Boza chose Fort Lauderdale

Location, location, location. I love this historic neighborhood nestled in a residential area but within walking distances to theatre, museums, beach, airport, shopping shops/mall,restaurants,bars,Port Everglades, and any boating sports.

What makes this bungalow unique

This cottage was built in a simpler time, 1912!! It is made of Dade County Pine. The layout is simply but spacious, with a screened in porch and plenty of windows to let the breeze come in every room. Although, it has been completely renovated with new electric wiring, plumbing, central air conditioning and heating, and new kitchen. We have attempted to keep the integrity of the bungalow while bringing the comfort of today.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for the 5 star review, we would also like to say thank you for your visit and how nicely you took care of our home. Please come back and visit sunny Florida soon and thank you for the beach umbrella!!!
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Downtown Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Waterfront ...
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
  • Our bathroom was recently redone, we have a full size tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , May provide a baby crib.
  • This cottage has a beautiful bedroom with views to Old Florida trees, birds and butterflies.
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Artist Bungalow Key West Style
average rating of 4.631579 based on 24 reviews
5

Charming, comfortable, convenient

  • 5 of 5

This was the third time I have chosen to stay in this beautiful cottage. Everything has been provided for a wonderful vacation. The house is immaculate and well furnished. The landscaping is exquisite. Can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again, you are so welcomed. We also enjoy hosting you!!! Great guests!!! Please visit again and I will make sure we will have a special treat. Thank you, Ana
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very quaint, quiet home.

  • 4 of 5

Very close to the beach

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Never again!

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this bungalow for 2 weeks for our honeymoon. It was the worst place we've ever stayed in 30 years as world travellers.

1. Locks were loose.

2. Bulbs were blown.

3. Cooker sets smoke alarm off so we had to take it down leaving us vulnerable to fire risk.

4. Windows need an old stick to keep them open so we did not open them incase we couldnt close them afterwards and bathroom window would not open at all.

5. Hairdryer supplied smoked and sparked heavily as soon as it was plugged in.

6. Bitten badly in bed every night, including moving out of the room and trying sofabed. Windows were never opened so bugs must possibly be present in property.

7. Air conditioning stopped working 3 times once it was not working for 2 days.

8. Hottub had broken control panel and was in a pokey area with lots of dirt debris leaves and bugs surrounding it. Also had a 2" wide white tide mark inside at waters edge with a very heavy chlorine smell. This area is overlooked by a derelict house. Is dark and dismal.

9. We had to strip and clean the bedroom plus launder the bed linen three times to try to keep nightime bites at bay, so we lost valuable time of our holiday.

10. A pest exterminator was called so we had to cut our day short to meet him, who would not reveal his findings until the homeowner opened a contract which they did not. He did recommend a high heat treatment for the whole property and said there could be bugs present.

11. The window blinds are see through at night once the light was on, so we had to put towels across Windows for privacy.

12. Bathroom door was sticky did not open and close easily with no working door catch nor a lock, so privacy was comprimised.

13. Pest exterminator from the inspection recommended we wash then hot dry all our clothes once we got home, we did this resulting in some of our clothing being shrunk and is now of no use to us.

All in all a horrendous stay. Housekeeper lady was very nice and tried her best to help.

Owner was not present and has not responded to our complaint.

Hence the title NEVER AGAIN.

David and Alison.

UK

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello David an d Allison, We made every attempt to make your stay wonderful and addressed your concerns immediately. Florida is a tropical place with mosquitoes, we do not have any other bugs and had an inspector in your presence to assure both you and your wife. We gave you every opportunity to go to a hotel and refund your unused days but you both decided to stay. I received an emailed from you that everything was fine, I felt bad about your mosquitoe bites and send you both a nice bottle of wine. I enjoy having guests and its a disappointment we did not meet your expectations. Sincerely, Ana Boza
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Comfortable and Good Location but no exactly as described.

  • 3 of 5

When we arrived we were shocked at the location. An abandoned home next door and the area looked sketchy. The are is changing and some homes were well taken care of but it has a ways to go.

The exterior is very cottage like so don't expect a home. As far as the upgrades inside, the description is greatly exaggerated. The kitchen counters, cabinets and appliances were fairly new and fine. The table and chairs, vintage, were not clean and when we wiped the chairs there was a lot of dirt that came off.

The description that the kitchen was fully equipped with Crate and Barrel is false. Not that we cared but it gives the image of something more upscale.

The bathroom was not fully renovated and it was dirty. The white tiles and grout surrounding the tub were black near the bottom and needed a serious scrubbing with Tilex. The medicine cabinet was likely replaced a few years ago.

For the price compared to the area hotels it was more reasonable and it was nice to have a home vs a hotel room as we did cook some meals.

The location is safe, so don't be alarmed. Bring some wet wipes to clean to your own comfort level. To walk to Las Olas, the main drag is 15-20 min. so if that's too far you will need a car and parking is difficult. The beach and grocery stores are not walkable.

The property manager did deal with the repair of the washing machine and the property next door had one which we were able to use. Thanks Shana.

Was it a bargain, no! Did it work in the end, yes. Would I recommend it, no.

If anyone stayed in an average hotel such as a Best Western, etc. or 3-4 star you would not accept the level of cleanliness. If you think you can walk everywhere, forget it.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I have never received a review like this and it's disheartening. If you had any issues, I think you should have contacted me immediately. Sincerely, Ana
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We had an awesome time.

  • 5 of 5

The rental was near our family making the commute perfect. The rental was very nice! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Florida Oasis

  • 5 of 5

This was my second visit to this charming little house and I hope to visit again soon. Ana continues to upgrade linens and appliances, it will always be my first choice when visiting Fort Lauderdale!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your return visit. I am glad you enjoyed our home and please come again soon!!! Excellent guests😊😊
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Fort Lauderdale Airport
Nearest Golf
4.2 Miles
Fort Lauderdale Country Club
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Tri-Rail
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
I-95
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Fort Lauderdale Beach

My historic bungalow is centrally located within walking distances to many restaurants and local attractions. We are within a few minutes ride to our local beautiful beach in Fort Lauderdale and airport. Our city provides Broward Bcycle rentals throughout the city or hop on our local water taxi to get you around Ft. Lauderdale. Fort Lauderdale is sometimes known as the 'Venice of America' because of its expansive and intricate canal system. We are a few blocks away from the New River, where you may enjoy cruises, kayaking, water paddling or just relax at any of the restaurants that are situated right by the river.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 22 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
$600
$1,800
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Mar 15 2019
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$150
Sat
$950
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
From
$140
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
$2,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $250

Rates are subject to change till reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties