Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Brule River, Lake Superior View Cabin Rental, Ice Caves, Sea Caves, Canoeing

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 1 bathroom with panoramic view of Lake Superior. Near Ice Caves.

Our year round cabin is fully furnished with everything you will need for a memorable vacation. Main level: master bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, dining rm, living rm, bar, and fire place. Upper level: two bedrooms, one with two queen beds and one with bunk beds and queen bed. Lower level: walk out, rec room, Foosball table, games and wood fired sauna.

Walk out the door to the beach, canoe landing, Lake Superior boat landing, world class fishing, hunting (private and state land), hiking trails, picnic and park area for larger gatherings. Lounge on the deck and enjoy the view over looking the Brule River and Lake Superior while grilling. Or tell storys and make smores around the out door fire pit.

Other activities available: 2 to 5 hour Brule River canoe or kayak trips, Lake Superior: charter fishing, ICE caves, Sea Caves exploring, Ice caves shuttle, Ice caves attraction, and guided stream trout fishing is available.

The Gandy Dancer corridor state trail runs through Brule with access to unlimited state ATV and snowmobile trails.

The Brule River State Forest is also home to the North Country Trail System, Brule River Forest State Trail System for hiking and mountain biking.

The Afterhours Ski Area for cross country sking and snowshoeing. ICE CAVES

This property is truly in the middle of unlimited recreational and adventure opportunities.

Take a day trip east along the south shore to Bayfield, Legendary Waters Casino, and the Apostile Islands, South to the Hayward lakes area and the Worlds Fresh Water Fishing Hall Of Fame or West to the Duluth Superior Metro, Canal Park, and Aerial Lift Bridge. Booking fee; VRBO charges a service fee that provides a safer and more secure booking experience and 24/7 customer support throughout your trip. Refundable damage deposit; $350.00 up front, refunded within 7 days of departure date. (see; when booking, click on, get an instant quote or view details ) Cancellation policy; 100 %full refund 30 days prior to check in date. Check in 4:00 pm, Check out 11:00 am.

More Details

Owner
William Huberty
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About William Huberty

Jeanneane and I are highschool sweethearts that grew up together, which at that time was the small river town/farm town of Hastings MN. We both have a great love for the outdoors and everything it has to offer. Particularly the Brule River and Lake Superior. We were married at the picnic area at the mouth of the Brule River. Since that time, we have acquired several properties along the lower Brule River. It is our retirement goal to do what we love: to do our best and share the allure of the Brule River and Lake Superior with family and friends.

William Huberty purchased this cabin in 2009

Why William Huberty chose Northwest

If you love the water, wide open spaces, adventure and friendly people, the Brule area is for you. The local people of Brule are very welcoming. The wildlife and adventure opportunity at the mouth of the Brule River is world class. 30 miles to the Ice Caves/Sea Caves. I tell my guests welcome to 'Wild America'. On any given day you are going to see deer, bear, bobcat, otter, beaver, wolf, coyote, fox, turkey, grouse, water fowl, eagles and birds of all kinds.

What makes this cabin unique

You can literally walk out the door to unlimited recreational opportunities. Whether you are into fishing, hunting, beach walking, swimming, hiking, Ice caves, Sea Caves, canoeing, kayaking, bird watching, picture taking, outdoor adventure, bonfires, relaxing, sunsets or cabin life. This place has it all.

Amenities

Brule Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , additional shower, indoor sauna,
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • master bedrm - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 bunk bed
  • main floor master bedroom queen bed. Up stairs: two bed rooms, one with two queens, one with bunk beds (single on top and full on bottom) and a queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • snowmobiling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The Town of Brule and surrounding areas provide several up north taverns and do drop inns with dining, karoake, and live entertainment. Check out the White Winter Winery in Iron River for daily winery tours and wine tasting. Oulu Glass Gallery is just up the road. Offering daily glass blowing demos and glass blowing classes,(very cool). There are two area fish hatcherys for touring as well. Ice Cave shuttle.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Brule River, Lake Superior View Cabin Rental, Ice Caves, Sea Caves, Canoeing
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
Minneapolis, MN
5

Great location on the Brule and Lake Superior

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 6 adults and 3 kids enjoyed our stay at the cabin. Seems like a ideal location for hunters / fishers.

3 bedrooms with 5 queen beds in total. Basement has a futon as well. We didn't seem to have a problem with the one full bathroom in the house. The outhouse was clean, newly updated and BUG FREE! Yay!

Nice big fire pit and a huge yard we used to light some fireworks (July 4). 5 minute walk to the mouth of the river & Lake Superior. Very small beach (a spit of sand actually), but kids enjoyed nevertheless. The boat launch was nice (typical MN/WI launch from asphalt ramp, nothing fancy).

We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great no-frills cabin, incredible view

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this property. It's a serious outdoorsman's cabin with a lot of character. The layout is very efficient and provided plenty of space for our party (three couples plus one child). The view of Lake Superior is great.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ham Lake, MN
5

Awesome Brule River Property

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have stayed at Bill and Jeanneane’s cabin at the mouth of the Brule 5 or 6 times now and each visit has been a wonderful. The cozy cabin has three large bedrooms and will easily sleep 10 guests. The large wrap-around deck has stunning views of Lake Superior and the Brule River. The lower level has a game room to keep the kids occupied while the adults enjoy the sunset.

The cabin is located a short walk from the mouth of the Brule River with its long sandy beach. The cabin is a great base camp for fisherman who want to enjoy the world class fishing offered by the Brule River. The drive to Bayfield along Highway 13 is very scenic and there are numerous historic fishing villages along the way. As always, we had a terrific time at this property and will be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a group, easy to work with

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at Bill's cabin. Beautiful setting, easy access to the lake or river. Plenty of room for 10 people. We will be back

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Lake view, perfect for our family gathering. Well stocked kitchen. We had a great time.

  • 5 of 5

Great Lake view, perfect for our family gathering. Bedrooms were nice, plenty of space. Basement game room and sauna was a nice plus when it rained. Well stocked kitchen. We had a great time.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beware!

  • 2 of 5

Things I hope the owner does with the $325 he basically stole from us when we had to cancel our final night at his property (in no particular order)

1. Add doors to the holes in the walls in the upstairs bedrooms so they at least look more like closets rather than just holes in the walls

2. Fix the hole in the ceiling in one of the upstairs bedrooms

3. Determine the cause of the sewer smell being emitted from the house/property and fix it

4. Replace the toilet so the flushing valve no longer needs to be held together by fishing line

5. Update the kitchen appliances so they’re all in working condition

I’m not sure if I even stayed in the same property as the other reviewers. Yes, this home has a fantastic view of Lake Superior and the Brule River (but no river access directly on the property) but it is in desperate need of some TLC.

When we woke up to a toilet that wasn’t functioning on Saturday and contacted the owner, he wasn’t all that concerned. I asked him to refund our final night since I refused to use the smelly pit toilets down the road and he said that was fine. However, two weeks later he’s saying there never was a problem and is refusing to refund our final night. His word against ours so the only thing I can do is write a review to warn others.

What a jerk! Beware! I’ve stayed in Vacation Rentals in many places (Florida, Hawaii, Alaska, Seattle, Puerto Rico) and never had any issues until now.

I'll chalk it up to a $325 learning experience. Thought we were doing the right thing by letting him know about the issue and then vacating the property so we didn't cause further damage or flooding. I guess that's what we get for being nice!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We work very hard to offer a pleasant vacation rental property. Please read my response and read the other reviews. I responded with your requests and booking in a timely manner. You called after your third night and complained that the toilet was slow in going down. I talked to your uncle and he said he was working with it and it would be fine. I got there shortly after you left and the toilet worked fine. We had two groups of 10 guests back to back after you with no problem. Truth is if the toilet was slow for you? Someone in your group plugged the toilet. That is not my nor my properties fault. I do not advertise that there is direct river access. You threatened that if you did not receive a refund that you would not wright a bad review. We have had hundreds of VRBO guests, family and friends stay there over the years with out one complaint. Its a old cabin, our home away from home, we love it there and spend as much time there as we can. I am confident that future guests will read this review and all the other reviews and make of it what it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Port Bar and Restaurant
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Jacks Hungry Trout
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Madeline Island, Bayfield WI.
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Northern Pines Iron River
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Duluth MN
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
13
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Twin Gables
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Spirit mountain
Nearest Beach
Mouth of tht Brule River

Brule River Lake View Lodge is located at the mouth of the Brule River and over looks the Brule River and Lake Superior. The Brule River is a world class fly fishing river. Featuring Lake Superior run Stealhead, Brown trout, Lake Trout, Coho, King, Pink Salmon and walleye. Resident brook, rainbow and brown trout. The anual Smelt run is on or around mid April. The Brule River has had a strong run the last few years lasting several weeks. Smelting is a blast with bon fires on the beach and the treat of a fresh Smelt fry. Winter activities include, ICE caves, Sea Caves veiwing , snowshoeing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice fishing and much more. Ice caves, Sea caves 30 miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Damage Deposit $350

100 % full refund 30 days prior to check in date. Check in 4:00 pm, Check out 11:00 am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties