Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stroll to Beach, Relax in Comfort! Jacuzzi Tub, Jet Shower, BBQ - Top Rated!

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

REMODELED 2013: Comfort, quality, amenities, three blocks from the beach

Oue La Casa Sirena (The Mermaid House) at Bahia Vista in Avalon on beautiful Santa Catalina Island offers affordable luxury just three blocks from the beach! We provide you with FREE WIFI, BBQ and propane on a private patio, pool and spa! We fully remodeled in 2013, and the property features tasteful Catalina and mermaid-themed décor, fun for the whole family! We have two spacious bedrooms upstairs plus a downstairs cove and can comfortably sleep six. In the Master, enjoy a king bed, walk-in double-head shower, double-vanity in a lush, terracotta setting. The second bedroom features comfortable twin beds in a nautical theme. The guest bath includes a Jacuzzi tub set amidst rich marble tile. A comfortable daybed/trundle downstairs with pull-out completes the accommodations. And as the name suggests, there are plenty of mermaids to be found! Most units at Bahia Vista are available for rent, making the complex perfect for family reunions or multiple families who wish to vacation together but have separate accommodations. PS - Unlike some big companies, we are proud to charge only what our cleaning company charges us with nothing tacked on, and no other fees, making our properties an exceptional value! (The service fee you'll see is charged by VRBO.) We look forward to having you stay with us.

Most sincerely yours,

Mel and Leslie

More Details

Property Manager
Your Hosts, Mel and Leslie
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Your Hosts, Mel and Leslie

Mel Dinkel and Leslie Baer Dinkel met on non-other than Santa Catalina Island. A few years later, we were married at Descanso Beach (highly recommended!) in Avalon. Catalina holds so many memories for us, and since we are not on the Island all the time, we wanted to create an 'affordable luxury' accommodation where people could make their own memories! Since lots of families come to Catalina, it had to be fun -- thus, 'La Casa Sirena' (The Mermaid House) which includes both Catalina and Mermaid themes, bright-colored and interesting tiles and aesthetic, along with a closet just for beach accessories! It also had to be romantic for couples, and so, the lush natural woods, leathers and stone, Cal King bed, fun master shower for two and extra-wide jacuzzi! In short, we wanted it to be comfortable enough to be our home away from home, and yours too!

Your Hosts, Mel and Leslie purchased this condo in 2009

Why Your Hosts, Mel and Leslie chose Avalon

Our properties are well appointed and conveniently located. No big firms, no outrageous extra fees. Our units are now privately managed and an excellent value!

What makes this condo unique

Multiple condos in this complex make it perfect for family reunions or gatherings of friends. Lower cost than many accommodations on Catalina, without sacrificing a bit of comfort!


Avalon Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , shower , Luxury travertine, dual shower heads, bench
    Second Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , Luxury extra-wide jacuzzi
    Downstairs/Guest - toilet , Beautifually decorated
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Nook - 2 twin/ single , Day bed and trundle sleep two; 1/2 bath
    Second Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Comfortable twin beds, full bath/jacuzzi,TV, balcony, chairs
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Ultra comfortable King mattress; walk-in dual shower, TV
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Quiet, yet only 20 flat steps to pool and spa! Three short blocks to the beach, fine and quaint eateries, shopping, night life, hiking, zip lining, 'SNUBA,' water sports or just laying around. Fun for all!


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Stroll to Beach, Relax in Comfort! Jacuzzi Tub, Jet Shower, BBQ - Top Rated!
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews

We really enjoyed staying at this property. It had everything we needed and plenty of space.

  • 5 of 5

We loved Avalon. Had a wonderful time and really liked staying at this condominium. It was very clean and well kept. There are some boogie boards and some things for the beach in the closet that we didn't anticipate. That was a bonus :). All of the kitchen necessities were there, however just an FYI to bring spices, salt, pepper there isn't any type of food preparation products. Would absolutely stay here again if we get the chance. Thanks so much for you hospitality.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This was a very nice property, Chella the manger for this unit is OUTSTANDING what a catch!

  • 4 of 5

The property suited us pretty well they are making some upgrades which will enhance this property even more. Mel & Leslie (talked with Leslie are just down to earth nice people) Chella the property manager was on the ball and took care of any items we had come up in record time (which were small items). We enjoyed the upgraded kitchen and bathrooms very private for two couples. The pool area and the folks we meet OUTSTANDING and made this stay even more enjoyable. Leslie, we thank you and Mel for letting us stay and wish you nothing but continued success with the property and your unselfish venture to help spread the word!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

There were many problems with this condo. Firstly the carpet is flilthy dirty. It’s truly disgusting. There is a area rug that would cost $150 to replace and it’s dirty. The carpets up the stairs and throughout the top bedrooms are gross. There is no basic cable TV so you can watch basic News channels. I had to have the engineer over to tell me this. Only Netflix is available.

So the owners are too cheap to pay for basic cable. The blow dryer in the master bathroom doesn’t work nor does the outlet next to the bed so the lamp on the night stand doesn’t work either.

There is no ventilation in the master bedroom so it’s really hot!! The unit faces the sun in the late afternoon so it’s unbearable. I have stayed in another unit in this building and it wasn’t this bad.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Future Guests, We believe that the preceding review is rooted largely in the following: 1. As per our policy, we did not agree to cancel this stay when it was requested just days prior, as this is high season and we had turned down numerous other bookings. We did however offer (although not it was not required) to reschedule at no charge. 2. Our Property Manager inspects prior to and after each check in, and reported property damage for which we unfortunately (and for the first time in a decade of renting!) had to charge this guest. 3. Based on her interactions with our Property Manager and Technician, the firm rated her as someone it could not, in keeping with our anti-harassment policy, rent to again. 4. This decision was disclosed via the firm's VRBO rating. The guest posted this review apparently in response, not even ten minutes after the Property Manager's review. Despite this, we take every concern to heart, and offer future guests the following. If you have any lingering concerns, please ask us through VRBO and we are happy to call you personally! 1. CLEANING - Our vacation homes are professionally cleaned by Catalina Island's top-rated housekeeping company after each and every guest stay. This is the same company used by the large rental agencies on Catalina. Our carpets are cleaned on a regular schedule. While we did not find extraordinary staining, we had them cleaned ahead of schedule after this guest's stay. 2. TV - We provide CABLE, NETFLIX, ROKU and FREE WIFI. A previous guest had unplugged the cable box (the technician plugged it back in). This guest was frustrated in trying to operate the universal controller, and unfortunately could not operate it despite our technician's best efforts. 3. BLOW DRYERS/LIGHT - An inspection by our Property Manager confirms all THREE BLOW DRYERS, one in each bathroom, are fully functioning--although one was not plugged in. The bedroom light works when the wall switch is turned on. 4. MASTER BEDROOM COOLING - My husband and I stay in this unit once a month, and find it very comfortable. (This is our first complaint.) This vacation home has a top-end ceiling fan in the Master Bedroom and elsewhere, each of which were installed in a recent remodel. In addition, in response to the hotter-than-normal temperatures, we stocked the unit with three standing fans. We regret that this guest may not have understood how to operate the ceiling fan, or potentially the others. Sincerely, Leslie and Mel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home and wonderful location!

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our trip! It was so clean and the perfect size for our small group. Not too far from all the restaurants and beach but just enough that it was nice and quiet when we needed a break from the action. Had a little trouble with the keys in the lock box when we first arrived but Kevin the property manager came immediately to help. Will definitely look to stay here again next time we come to Catalina!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and amenities

  • 4 of 5

Spacious unit, comfortable linens and easy access to town.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Decent place, but had some issues

  • 3 of 5

Ok location, only a few blocks from downtown/beach. But the cleaning cost was outrageous especially considering everything was dusty, the master bathroom was dirty, bedding in the master bedroom was stained, and the jacuzzi bathtub was dirty. The setting was also very noisy (college age students partying until after midnight both nights). Some extra little “accommodations” would have made this a better experience. For example, some coffee for the coffeemaker, towels for the pool. We also were without water for a full day due to condo maintenance, which I only found out about from a neighbor. I could not get in touch with the property manager who was supposed to be my point of contact. Overall, very cute condo with plenty of room. But unfortunately I don’t think I would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heather, I am so sorry to hear that you experienced issues related to the housekeeping service. I have already shared your review with them and will assess what might have gone wrong and work with them to correct it. Regarding the water outage, that was City wide and the issue that was being dealt with was corrected. I am sorry, also, that you were not able to reach our property manager who we have found is normally very prompt in replying. I hope that overall you had a great experience on Catalina Island, and that you will visit again. Sincerely yours, Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Long Beach Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Marlyn Club
Nearest Ferry
Catalina Express
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Catalina Golf Club
Nearest Train
26 Miles
Long Beach Metro
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Old Stage Coach Road
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Lobster Trap
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Crescent Avenue
Car: not necessary

The most visited tourist destination on Catalina Island is the city of Avalon. Leaving the hustle and bustle of the “mainland”, Avalon is the perfect place to take a break from the demands of daily life. With so many activities to choose from, your visit to Avalon can be adventure-packed or filled with rest and relaxation. With its year-round Mediterranean climate, it’s the ideal place to enjoy ocean air and sunshine.

While in Avalon, visitors enjoy swimming, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking, fishing, golfing, hiking, biking, shopping, strolling the museum and art galleries, a day at a spa, guided sightseeing tours or renting golf carts to explore the city on their own. You can also zip line, 'SNUBA,' tube, stand-up paddleboard -- or, just lay on the beach!

Avalon’s beachfront is lined with South Beach, Middle Beach and Step Beach—all are conveniently located in the center of town and within easy walking distance of hotels, restaurants, shopping, and land activities.

If you venture a little further through town you will come to The Descanso Beach Club, located just beyond the Casino Building. It is the perfect place to enjoy the sun, lounge on the beach, snorkel, kayak, cruise around on stand up paddle board, or swim in the crystal clear water. With new Cabanas and lounge chairs available you get the ultimate in beach relaxation. Restrooms, outdoor showers, dressing rooms and chair/umbrella rentals are available. This private beach also offers a seaside bar and restaurant in Avalon, so you can dine and enjoy your beverage with your feet in the sand.

Another activity that is not to be missed is heading outside the city gate to the beautiful interior of Catalina Island. One of the unique guided tours will provide you with history and amazing views of the undeveloped outback of the Island. Or explore the isolated coves, secluded beaches, miles of hiking trails, beautiful plants and native animals that abound just outside of Avalon.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Company Charge $120 + Tax

You may cancel 60 days prior to arrival and receive a full refund, less a $75.00 administrative fee, or 30 days prior to arrival and receive a 50% refund less a $75.00 administrative fee. We regret that we are unable to process refunds for cancellations within 30 days of arrival. If your plans are tentative, we strongly suggest that you purchase travel insurance. Thank you for your understanding.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties