check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Updated for 2016: Now booking for October (leaf season)

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Come relax at this beautiful 3-story updated home nestled in the gorgeous mountains on Lake Chatuge. Sip on a glass of wine while unwinding in the hot tub which overlooks the beautiful lake and the mountain chain including Brasstown Bald. Enjoy a game of pool on the commercial size pool table. Gaze at the stars while roasting marshmallows at the fire pit or simply look at them through the large telescope located in the pool room. As for you health nuts, don't worry we've got you covered too... there's a workout room downstairs and a juicer in the kitchen. Cook in the upgraded kitchen complete with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops or grill on the front porch while admiring natures beauty. There are 4 bedrooms (king, queen, full, daybed) and 3 bathrooms. Its located about 5 minutes from great restaurants and bars (steak, seafood, barbeque, Asian, American, Italian, etc.). Boat and jet ski rentals available just a few minutes away. Hike to Brasstown Bald (the highest peak in GA) and overlook beautiful Lake Chatuge and witness breathtaking views of the mountains during leaf season. Helen, GA which is 20 minutes away was ranked in the top 10 Octoberfest destinations in the US.


Owner
Marlena
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2016

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Updated for 2016: Now booking for October (leaf season)
average rating of 4.0 based on 17 reviews
Atlanta, GA
4

The owner made up for things lacking

  • 4 of 5

I wanted to give 3 stars, but I felt like it was possible that things that went wrong on our trip were one time incidents. The hot tub was not working and had a bad smell. The owner said the people who stayed the weekend before had not mentioned it and that it was drained earlier that month so maybe it was a 1x thing. The house cleaner had not done a spectacular job in living room and did not empty 1 of the trash cans, which the owner was concerned about and planned to make a visit and change cleaners if necessary. The sheets in our bed were clean and warm. The jacuzzi tub did work so that made up for the hot tub. There was a fire ban in the area due to the drought and wildfires going on so we didn't get to check out the backyard and firepit. There was enough room in the house although you could hear most movement on the floor above so if that would bother you just make note. Didn't bother us. Other than the eating space being small, there were no other comments. The owner is very nice and easy to work with. She responds within 24 hours and refunds deposit quickly.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Don't recommend staying here.

  • 1 of 5

Dated and damaged decor. I'm not sure what was updated in the house. Hot tub not clean and cover damaged. Holes in the walls. Musty smell to the place. Fridge light not working. 4th bedroom has a daybed with trundle but no sheets or blankets to be found for it. The view was the only thing that was as described.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kristin, I was never informed of any problems that you encountered. All of the decor has been updated within the past year, as well as the entire kitchen and granite in the bathrooms. I was not aware of any damages to the property except one of the wall tiles (at the steps going to the basement). This was done by a guest the previous week you were there and will be replaced this coming week. I wished I would have been informed of any problems because I would have went out of my way to address them. Happy holidays! Marlena
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Views in private residence

  • 4 of 5

Marlena was very easy to deal with. After some confusion in reference to emails to & from she went out of her way to insure we had a worry-free stay in her beautiful home (despite she was out of town while attending younger children on their own vacation) If you want all the amenities of home as well as fantastic views of the N Georgia mountains you won't be disappointed. We have plans to return as time permits

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice and clean

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time as a family of six adults and three small kids. We each were able to have a different level of the home to ourselves. I will say we did not expect it to be as steep as it was going up to the house and the yard. We had three separate vehicles and it was hard parking and a little sketchy going and coming. Not for someone who has a fear of heights.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family getaway-a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at Marlena's home. There was plenty of room for all my family which included five adults and three grandchildren. The scenery was beautiful and we loved watching the fireflies late in the evening as we made s'mores by the fire pit. There is also an Ingles nearby, as well as a playground that the children enjoyed. It is near Brasstown Bald and Helen, where we enjoyed playing put put. It is a great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not quite what we expected

  • 3 of 5

(Our actual checkin date was in June 2014, but very late on this review). We loved being with our family, but this house was not exactly what we had hoped for. The basement was freezing and the top floor hot. Made it very uncomfortable. We had a large group that the site said the house could accommodate, but when we got there the sofa bed downstairs was broken and the trundle bed was very unacceptable - hard as a rock. So we ended up having to pull the old, stained mattresses that were in a closet down and put them on the floor. Then we bought a mattress topper at Walmart because we didn't want to sleep right on it. The location and view was nice. The kitchen was too small for all of us to sit, but we were on the nice porch most of the time.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

John C. Campbell Folk School (Fall Festival- October), Georgia Mountain Fair (July/Aug), Cherokee Indian Reservation and Casino (Cherokee, NC), Dollywood (Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg, TN), Biltmore Estate (Asheville), 20+ waterfalls, Cherohala Skyway. Helen, GA (Bavarian Village/ Octoberfest), Fall trees Great hiking in state park, Brasstown Bald (largest peak in GA), Rim Trail and Appalachian Trail and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hiawassee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$190
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hiawassee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , pull-out sleeper sofa
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , day bed w/trundle
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers