Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Booking for Summer 2017

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8-10

Come relax at this beautiful 3-story updated home nestled in the gorgeous mountains on Lake Chatuge. Sip on a glass of wine while unwinding in the hot tub which overlooks the beautiful lake and the mountain chain including Brasstown Bald. Enjoy a game of pool on the commercial size pool table. Gaze at the stars while roasting marshmallows at the fire pit or simply look at them through the large telescope located in the pool room. As for you health nuts, don't worry we've got you covered too... there's a workout room downstairs and a juicer in the kitchen. Cook in the upgraded kitchen complete with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops or grill on the front porch while admiring natures beauty. There are 4 bedrooms (king, queen, full, daybed) and 3 bathrooms. Its located about 5 minutes from great restaurants and bars (steak, seafood, barbeque, Asian, American, Italian, etc.). Boat and jet ski rentals available just a few minutes away. Hike to Brasstown Bald (the highest peak in GA) and overlook beautiful Lake Chatuge and witness breathtaking views of the mountains during leaf season. Helen, GA which is 20 minutes away was ranked in the top 10 Octoberfest destinations in the US.


Owner
Marlena
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

Map

John C. Campbell Folk School (Fall Festival- October), Georgia Mountain Fair (July/Aug), Cherokee Indian Reservation and Casino (Cherokee, NC), Dollywood (Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg, TN), Biltmore Estate (Asheville), 20+ waterfalls, Cherohala Skyway. Helen, GA (Bavarian Village/ Octoberfest), Fall trees Great hiking in state park, Brasstown Bald (largest peak in GA), Rim Trail and Appalachian Trail and more.

Amenities

Hiawassee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , pull-out sleeper sofa
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , day bed w/trundle
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
35% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Booking for Summer 2017
average rating of 4.1 based on 20 reviews
5

A great place to stay and get away.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here with 3 other couples. It was better than expected and our entire party commented on how well sized it was. I must say, it was a pleasure dealing with Marlena. Thank you for a much needed relaxing weekend!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time! Hot tub was on , working and clean so that was a real plus. I love the area will stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT WEEKEND!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 stayed at this house for a weekend getaway. We had a great time and enjoyed the mountain views. The weather was very nice, exceptionally warm for this time of year. We enjoyed a nice hike up Bell Mountain which was only a few miles from the house. We look forward to returning in the summer!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
4

The owner made up for things lacking

  • 4 of 5

I wanted to give 3 stars, but I felt like it was possible that things that went wrong on our trip were one time incidents. The hot tub was not working and had a bad smell. The owner said the people who stayed the weekend before had not mentioned it and that it was drained earlier that month so maybe it was a 1x thing. The house cleaner had not done a spectacular job in living room and did not empty 1 of the trash cans, which the owner was concerned about and planned to make a visit and change cleaners if necessary. The sheets in our bed were clean and warm. The jacuzzi tub did work so that made up for the hot tub. There was a fire ban in the area due to the drought and wildfires going on so we didn't get to check out the backyard and firepit. There was enough room in the house although you could hear most movement on the floor above so if that would bother you just make note. Didn't bother us. Other than the eating space being small, there were no other comments. The owner is very nice and easy to work with. She responds within 24 hours and refunds deposit quickly.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Don't recommend staying here.

  • 1 of 5

Dated and damaged decor. I'm not sure what was updated in the house. Hot tub not clean and cover damaged. Holes in the walls. Musty smell to the place. Fridge light not working. 4th bedroom has a daybed with trundle but no sheets or blankets to be found for it. The view was the only thing that was as described.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kristin, I was never informed of any problems that you encountered. All of the decor has been updated within the past year, as well as the entire kitchen and granite in the bathrooms. I was not aware of any damages to the property except one of the wall tiles (at the steps going to the basement). This was done by a guest the previous week you were there and will be replaced this coming week. I wished I would have been informed of any problems because I would have went out of my way to address them. Happy holidays! Marlena
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tulsa,Ok/Atlanta,Ga
4

Beautiful Views in private residence

  • 4 of 5

Marlena was very easy to deal with. After some confusion in reference to emails to & from she went out of her way to insure we had a worry-free stay in her beautiful home (despite she was out of town while attending younger children on their own vacation) If you want all the amenities of home as well as fantastic views of the N Georgia mountains you won't be disappointed. We have plans to return as time permits

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties