About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 4 nights
4 bedroom, 3 bathroom with breathtaking view of valleys, mountains and ocean
Take advantage of all that Costa Rica has to offer! Stay at Casa Peñasco, only minutes from Playa Grande, Tamarindo, Conchal, Brasilito, Playa Potrero, Flamingo, La Paz Community school and Huacas. Enjoy the convenience of the proximity to the area's best attractions combined with the tranquility of Costa Rica's natural landscape. As your mountain retreat, escape the busy tourist areas and experience true Costa Rican living. Pura Vida!
Casa Peñasco sits atop a mountain just northeast of Tamarindo, slightly east of Playa Grande and is an impressive structure of modern concrete and glass embedded into hard rock, much like homes in Malibu, Hollywood, and Laguna Beach California.
The top floor is the rooftop terrace, the main entrance to the house. It features an automatic gate and space to park your car. The terrace's wrap around balcony is great for relaxing in the morning to catch the sunrise or in the evening to see the sunset and the stars. Alternatively, it is a great space for parties and other festivities!
Casa Peñasco affords its guests a great view from all floors. From the terrace, descend into the first floor living room and the large granite kitchen. Down the hallway are the three guest bedrooms and their two full bathrooms with two adjacent private view decks. All rooms are surrounded by nature with a view of the ocean and surrounding valley. The next level hosts a full-floor master bedroom with a large shower, sitting area, and private deck. The master bedroom has direct access to the full-sized swimming pool with a large cantilevered deck.
Casa Peñasco sleeps 8, with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Three bedrooms with Queen-sized beds can be found on the floor below the terrace. The master bedroom has a King-sized bed and is comprised of the entire floor beneath them. The spacious lounge includes a flat screen TV with a DVD player and movies for your enjoyment. AC throughout (7 split type units in all).
Additional amenities include: coffee maker, dishwasher, toaster, microwave, dvd player, large selection of dvds, washer & dryer, nearby bank and atm, nearby grocery, nearby medical services, local fiestas, close to town, nearby restaurants,near beaches.
Check-In: 3:00 pm
Check-Out: 11:00 am
Activities and Attractions nearby (Tamarindo or Brasilito)
restaurants health/beauty spa
eco tourism gambling casinos paddle boating whale watching shopping boating wildlife view horseback riding Leatherback turtle nesting
Sports & Adventure Activities
deepsea fishing scuba diving or snorkeling sound/bay fishing water tubing golf kayaking sailing jet skiing swimming surfing hiking fishing ziplining
Dan Thanh Nguyen
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- english, french, mandarin, Vietnamese, Cantonese.
- Calendar last updated:
- May 23, 2018
About Dan Thanh Nguyen
We are a family of five who fell in love with the natural beauty of Costa Rica's parks, wildlife, and beaches!
Dan Thanh Nguyen purchased this Villa in 2012
Why Dan Thanh Nguyen chose Huacas
We specifically chose this property within the gated community of Acacia Del Norte for the blissful quiet and closeness to Costa Rican rainforest and wildlife. The location of Casa Penasco on a mountain cliff grants visitors an amazing view of the surrounding valley and ocean. Despite its seeming remoteness, Casa Penasco is just a short drive from many resort towns including Tamarindo, Flamingo, Conchal, and Brasilito! Even closer is the quiet town of Huacas which is steeped in true Costa Rican culture, where the locals are friendly and the food is amazing.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 2:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Good place to stay with awesome views
Me and my family rented this property for 2 weeks during christmas. It was a really good stay at the property. House was really nice and amazing views from the balcony. Pool was really nice. Good air condition in all rooms of the house. In a good area about 15 minutes from Tamarindo beach and also very close to Playa Conchal or playa grande. I liked how it was off the beaten path and quiet. Big hills to drive up on the way up so i would suggest 4x4. Alberto the property manager was very nice and helpful and also contacting the owners was really easy via email. Quick responses always.
With all the good being said I would like to point out a couple things that the owner and property manager should take care off to make this place even more appealing.
The roof/parking area should be cleaned a little better. No one ever hangs out up there but I noticed a lot of bird droppings on the railings and I think the property managers should clean this area a little. Easier on the eyes and makes the house that much nicer. Also a couple of loose nuts and bolts. Nothing I couldn't fix my self but a couple of shower handles were loose and fell off and I needed to screw them on. Also the handle to the sliding door in the master bedroom to the pool had an incorrect screw holding it together and this caused the handle and lock to fall off all the time. I talked to the property manager about it and he said he would get it fixed. We went 4 days without the handle and on the day of check out he mentioned it but did not say anything about forgetting to fix it. Not a big deal as we had the stick to keep the sliding doors from opening but it would have been nice to have a handle and lock on the door for extra reassurance.
Also just to note a kind of weird layout inside the house. 1 bedroom upstairs actually has a second bedroom inside of it. Basically a closet area or something converted into a bedroom. Not a big problem just did not know this at first. Also the only access to the pool is thru the master bedroom. Keep that in mind if people plan on drinking by the pool at night they will have to walk in and possibly disturb sleeping parents in that bedroom. I think they could use new patio furniture or tanning chairs as well. Again not me complaining. Just wanted to mention these little faults to help make this property even nicer and better. Don't think its to much to ask for the price we are paying. All in all this was a great vacation and the property was really beautiful
Thanks for the review, Jonathan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely follow-up with Alberto to recheck the shower handles and sliding doors. We are in the process of getting new pool chairs delivered to the property as well.
Nice place to stay!
House is as advertised and is a very nice place to stay. We would try and book again if we go to the same area. Deposit was returned before we left and booking was easy. I would suggest meeting in the town of Huacas as the gated fence to the properties would be difficult to find the first time and at night. The only slight negative was the pool needed to be cleaned of surface leaves and such that had blown into it. Not a big deal unless you expect pristine water. Howler monkeys just down the street! The ride for 2 minutes up the hill in my opinion is not that bumpy and a non factor. If it rains you may need the 4x4 though. As a side note, the rental car companies will insist on getting their insurance which is expensive, so bring a letter from your credit card stating you carry insurance. Costa Rica was a great 1 week vacation for my family.
Thank you for your taking the time to provide us with your feedback and recommend our vacation home. We strive to provide the best service possible to our guests and I am glad that we were able to do this for you.
If you are looking for spectacular views, this property will deliver. Everything else was subpar. The interactions with the owners was fairly painless; however, there was some miscommunication with the local property manager. Because the property is located on a bumpy hill and would be hard to find, we had arranged to meet the property manager at a grocery store near town. With no access to phones, we sat and waited for almost 2 hrs past the meeting time before he showed up. When we arrived at the house, it was hot, felt dirty, and we struggled to get access to the WiFi for another two hours. After settling in, we noticed that the dishwasher was not in working condition, the stove wasn't properly hooked up, and the 4th bedroom was awkwardly positioned. The location was fairly convenient to many beach towns. It's about an hour drive from Liberia. If you are interested in seeing volcanos, I would suggest making other arrangements. Also because the house is located on top of a hill, make sure you have 4 WD and are comfortable driving on rough road conditions.
We're sorry that you had some difficulties during check-in and with the appliances. We really do want our guests to have a great experience in Costa Rica, and so we make our property manager available at any time to address these issues. He lives within the same community and could have helped with the appliances. We've also since included the WiFi information in our welcome package.
Those issues aside, we're glad you enjoyed the beautiful view and the proximity to the beaches! Thanks again!
Naked and Afraid training house
I would strongly recommend this property if you're about to be a contestant on the Discovery Channel's Naked and Afraid. If you're looking to vacation in something other than an oversized hut complete with open wiring everywhere, a dishwasher with a severed power cord, scorpions in the shower, a satellite dish that's been installed for decoration only, WiFi slower than the second coming of Christ, a broken garage door, and a pool greener than the neighboring jungle leaves I would recommend going elsewhere. As an added bonus on day 2, the bathroom toilet in our room stopped flushing due to the fragile nature of the dry-rotted equipment in the tank thus relegating us to removing the top lid to pull the plunger to manually flush each time. Maybe I'm a spoiled and entitled American, but boasting a property that has 4 bedrooms and 4 baths would lead one to believe that you'd have more than 4 towels available in the entire household. The house could have been amazing, but it appears that every shortcut imaginable was taken by whoever built it. It's also about a mile drive up a dirt road to get to the property that literally a vehicle without 4WD would have no chance of traversing. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and I'd say you can find some beautiful views elsewhere. The owners need to do a lot more to make this place truly worthy of being rental-ready. Needless to say after a week here I skipped the Pura Vida t-shirt at the Liberia Airport.
We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your trip. Because neither we nor our property manager Alberto heard from you or Megan—who also left a review about the same trip—during your stay, we assumed that all was well and you were enjoying your stay. You can understand how shocking it was to receive this review stating the opposite. Many of the claims made in your review are unprecedented. Even with our own experience and from feedback from other guests, this is the first time that we’ve heard of rotting plumbing, open wiring, and green pools.
In fact, our property manager checks and cleans the pool daily, if necessary. During the check-in tour, everything was in working order and neither you nor Megan had any complaints. You didn’t contact the property manager to request extra towels (of which there are certainly more than four) or to notify him about the toilet or the dishwasher. Furthermore, these issues were still not brought up on check-out, where we could have at least made amends for your inconveniences.
Costa Rica is indeed a beautiful country. It is full of untouched land and forest that provide excellent scenery. That does unfortunately mean that insects and slower Internet (which should be more than enough for checking emails and light browsing) are a natural consequence.
We truly want everyone to be able to enjoy what Costa Rica has to offer, and so we are disappointed that we weren’t able to make that happen for you and Megan during your stay.
Just slightly west of Huacas on the top of a mountain, this 4 story (yes, 4) house has an awesome view of the landscape all the way to the Pacific Ocean at Tamarindo.
The house is very well appointed and is really a well thought out structure. The pool on the bottom level has the same great views and is the perfect place to relax in the CR heat.
Plenty of grocery stores close by as well as some restaurants. Tamarindo is just 10 minutes away as is Brasilito and Potrero. Easy access to all the beaches. A little over an hour to Liberia if you're coming from that airport, tho we drive from San Jose which was a long drive but direct.
My interactions with the owners were great as well as the local property manager. House was very clean and was cooled and ready for us.
Definitely recommend this is a place to stay while in western CR.
Make sure to have an SUV if you rent a vehicle. The drive up the mountain to the house is a bit bumpy!
Hi Christopher, we're glad you enjoyed your stay! You were great! Thanks again!
Amazing Getaway With Awesome Views
Four friends and I stayed at this property in February and it was perfect! The house is at the top of a steep hill (an SUV is a must--it's off the beaten path) and the view is breathtaking. We spent a while just taking panoramic shots of the Pacific Ocean and the forest. Beaches around Basilito and Tamarindo were easy to get to, which was a huge plus. The owners and local property manager were really friendly and were quick to respond. They had the pool ready for us when we arrived, which was a welcome treat after the hot drive from the airport (~1hr). The pool also has a great view and a shaded area to relax and escape the heat during the day. I would definitely recommend this place if you want a quiet retreat, great scenery, and don't mind a bumpy ride!
Thanks Nic! I'm glad you enjoyed Costa Rica!
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
- Rates are based on 6 guests; Add $25 per night (or $100 per week), per additional guest. - Rates are subject to change without notice. - All rates are quoted in US Dollars. - A $50 cleaning fee. - A $500 deposit will be charged upon the reservation of the rental home. This will be returned at the end of stay. - Last payment of 75% will be due to the property manager in cash