check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lakefront With Mountain Views, Convenient to Town, Pets OK, Wi-fi

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

West Jefferson Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bath On The Lakefront With Gazebo And Dock

Mountain Lake Serenity

If you want both mountain breezes and the serenity of a water-side retreat, this mountain chalet is perfect for your next vacation. Nestled on the banks of Ashe Lake in southern Ashe County in the mountains of western North Carolina, this home offers cozy indoor living spaces and multiple outdoor recreation spots.

Decorated with attention to both comfort and class, the home has wide-planked flooring; tiled, oversized showers; granite countertops; sprawling, first-floor living spaces for relaxation; and two fireplaces. A wood-burning, stone fireplace warms two sitting areas. A third sitting area on the main floor offers ample space for guests to relax. The galley kitchen has granite countertops, a dishwasher, and seating for 8. The main floor has a full bath and a stacked washer/dryer. On the second floor, 3 bedrooms have sleeping for 7 adults. The second full bath is conveniently located between 2 bedrooms. The master bedroom has a king bed, its own private deck overlooking the lake, and a wood-burning fireplace.

If you aren’t snuggled by a fire in winter, gazing out onto the lake from a wall of windows, you may prefer the fire pit on a brisk, autumn evening. Plenty of outdoor seating, two picnic areas, a wraparound-gated deck to secure your pup, a covered cabana at the dock all add to the ambience and enjoyment of this special chalet by the lake. The sun sets behind the home, so you can bask on lazy afternoons in the shade on the deck or in the yard which rolls down to the water’s edge.

Come. Enjoy the quiet serenity of the mountains in this tranquil second-home community.

The owners have also provided a “Things to See and Do” notebook with area attractions and local restaurant menus for when you want to venture out to the Jeffersons. Firewood is available for purchase; call ahead to order.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Sherry Goodman, Broker
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2016
Call Manager

What makes this chalet unique

This unique home is situated on the banks of the only small lake in Ashe County and is just minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, historic town of West Jefferson, Mt. Jefferson State Park and many other attractions.

This home has a large wrap around front deck from which the lake can be seen in 180 degrees, firepit for year round outdoor enjoyment, along with the lakefront gazebo, private dock, and more.

Home offers two fireplaces, large master bedroom with kingsize bed and superb tiled showers.

Guestbook comments from the manager

"We really enjoyed your beautiful lakefront home and thank you for the awesome experience we had at our family gathering".
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Lakefront With Mountain Views, Convenient to Town, Pets OK, Wi-fi
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 12 reviews
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was comfy and cozy, felt like home away from home. It was the perfect setting for a wonderful family Christmas. It was great getting to share some quality time with the entire family and enjoying the beautiful nature and surroundings. It was made even more magical since it was the perfect setting for a very much planned engagement proposal that I assisted my brother with who got engaged to my long time best friend. It was a long time coming 10 yrs in the making but they are perfect for one another and it was even more special that it was able to be done surrounded by all the family. We loved them and wish them many more years of continued happiness. Thanks for the experience & extending your rental.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations to the engaged couple! That is wonderful! We wish them many years of happiness! We are so happy that you enjoyed the cabin and hope you will come stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

very nice and cozy cottage

  • 4 of 5

overall stay was very nice . wish that the lake water level was a little bit higher but no fault of anyone. real dry season in the mountains

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for staying with us and hope you will plan another visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Needs some attention

  • 3 of 5

This little cabin has so much potential. The downstairs is great, but the seating area around the TV is limited. It rained a few days of our stay, we rented movies to cuddle up and watch but there is only seating for 4, a small love seat and 2 recliners. The other seating areas offered more room, but no TV. The TV upstairs is not in the kids room as stated, it is in the queen room and ONLY plays VCR tapes. There is a weird connection between the bunk room and the queen room, basically a folding closet door that doesn't shut all the way. This does not allow for much privacy and could be really awkward if you are sharing the space with another couple. The bathrooms and kitchen were nice, well appointed and updated. I don't know if the deck surrounding the house would pass inspection, the rails are not safe at all!! The house has cobwebs and dead bugs EVERYWHERE. The corners of all the rooms need dire attention. The stairwell needs dire attention. The sofa's had food stuck between the cushions. The dock area is covered with yard debris (leaves and sticks) which leads to an ant problem. We were left a raft to enjoy in the lake, but no way to inflate it. There was no propane in the gas grill, when we contacted the rental agency we were told that we could fill it ourselves and send them a receipt for reimbursement. When you have been going all day long and your ready to feed your family, worrying about where to get propane while on vacation should be the LAST thing on your mind. This is poor customer service in my opinion. There are no directions to the facility to take the trash, just an address. GPS does not take you to the address, we drove around for 45 minutes trying to figure out where to take the trash. The views are great. The kayak's are great. The canoe is great. The lake is great. The location can't be beat. Overall I would stay here again, but I was disappointed. If I were the owner I would expect the rental agency I'm paying to do a better job maintaining my property.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always strive to please our guests and were surprised to receive this written review from a guest who had stated that her group enjoyed the home and had a wonderful stay. A propane tank for the grill is provided, but unfortunately these do not warn us when they are nearing empty, so our policy is to have guests refill when the tank runs out and submit a receipt for reimbursement.. There are numerous places within ten minutes of the home to obtain a quick refill. Safety is always our top concern- so we have conducted a safety check and made appropriate enhancements. We provide locations for trash drop off but have modified our posted flyer to provide step by step directions---GPS really is unreliable in some areas. We have always gotten very positive comments on the cleanliness of this home and it is cleaned professionally by our very best. We know that leaves do occasionally blow in, but we do endeavor to keep mother nature in check and the property as clean as possible. Ashe Rental is always appreciative of guest suggestions and strive to use them to better our rental properties and our service.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

This is a lovely property inside, outside it needs some tlc!

  • 3 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay on this serene and lovely lake. Inside the house was wonderful, but outside there were a few things that need to be addressed. There seems to be an ant invasion on the deck outside which is spreading to inside the house. An old wooden chair on the deck fell apart when we tried to move it. The outside grill was full of old grease. The area around the dock and the gazebo near the dock was not in good shape. There were old leaves from last fall, bird poop, old rotting life jackets and debris. Inside the house was very clean and well stocked with everything you might need!

We enjoyed shopping and eating in Boone nearby, the Lost Province pizza was delicious as was lunch at Vidalia. It would have been nice to have a little book of suggested restaurants and nearby hikes for people coming in for the week.

All in all I would recommend this place for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet and the beauty of nature.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro, NC
4

Peace and Quiet!

  • 4 of 5

I recently had a "girl stayover" for 3 days at the Lakefront Cottage. It was a great experience! Views, quiet surroundings, and a clean accommodation! Love the fact that it was pet friendly and my dog really enjoyed the lake! There was a problem with the grill when we arrived but the Rental Office Immediately had a new grill delivered within an hour of our arrival! THAT is service!

I would suggest that you bring all food and beverages with you as it is in a secluded spot. We had planned ahead so we never left the house until ready to go explore Blowing Rock on our third day!

It was a great experience and the rental office is most attentive to guest needs. Thank you, Sherry, Kristy, and staff.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extremely Serene!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second trip to Lakeside Cottage, and we were not disappointed. The house was super clean upon arrival, and ready to enjoy. We enjoyed the walks around the area and the waterfall. The weather was perfect, upper 70's during the day and sunny with slight breezes, and in the upper 50's-lower 60's at night. The views from the deck are beautiful! The area is quiet and secluded. We caught another huge Large-mouth from one of the docks, and also waded the new river in Crumpler,NC nearby. There is a lot to do nearby: Railroad Grade Road Bike Trail in Todd, NC,Mount Jefferson Trails(State Park),Tamales,Pizza Hut, and Bojangles

are all close as is Walmart and Food Lion for whatever you forget to bring. The House is fully stocked with most of what you need and extremely comfortable. Just bring your paper supplies and clothes. There are extra blankets, pillows, etc... The dog had plenty of space to roam on the huge gated deck.Hope to return again soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Ashe County private airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 163
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Boondocks
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Appalachian Ski Mountain
Car: necessary

Mountain Lake Serenity at Ashe Lake

***

The Blue Ridge Parkway is a stone’s throw away. E.B. Jeffress Park at mile marker 271 on the Blue Ridge Parkway has picnic areas, hiking, and amazing waterfalls.

***

The New River is just around the corner. Rent canoes and tubes for half- or full-day trips down the second oldest river in the world at Zaloos Canoes.

***

The chalet is 15 minutes from West Jefferson, NC, a vibrant Appalachian town with a thriving arts district.

***

West Jefferson, NC has so much to offer to those wanting to enjoy all that the Blue Ridge Mountains have to offer. The Florence Art School conducts art classes (in writing, booking making, painting, and other art forms) throughout the spring, summer, and fall. The art galleries in town open their doors for gallery crawls in the spring and summer. The Ashe County Arts Council sponsors a gallery and numerous programs, such as the annual On the Same Page Literary Festival in September of each year with regional and national authors.

***

Come to the Farmers Market on Saturdays during the summer and share in the bounty of Ashe County. Walk around the corner to the Ashe County Cheese Store to savor delicious fresh cheese and other homemade dairy products, like scrumptious fudge.

***

The Churches of the Frescoes in West Jefferson and Glendale Springs boast Ben Long's stunning art. Watch a first-run movie with state-of-the-art technology in a small-town movie theater for $6, $4 on matinee Sundays at 3:00 p.m.

***

Listen to a talk by a park ranger and take a night-time hike at Mount Jefferson State Natural Area.

***

Todd General Store on the National Register of Historic Places is 30-35 minutes from the cabin. The Todd General Store has summer and fall events weekly, such as storytelling, bluegrass, author signings, artisans, and demonstrations. River Girl Fishing Company also in Todd offers fishing, boating, biking, and tubing.

***

West Jefferson and its sister-community Jefferson have all the conveniences you will need to complete your vacation, such as groceries, restaurants, banking, and commerce.

***

The bohemian college town Boone, NC is only a 35-40 minute drive. Stroll King Street with its local restaurants, boutiques, and artists’ co-ops. Shop at Mast General Store. Enjoy Turchin Center for the Visual Arts or An Appalachian Summer Festival on the campus of Appalachian State University.

***

45 minutes to an hour away are the High Country's ski resorts: Appalachian Ski Mountain, Hawksnest, and Sugar Mountain.

***

The owners have also provided a “Things to See and Do” notebook with area attractions and local restaurant menus for when you want to venture out to the Jeffersons. Firewood is available for purchase; call ahead to order.

Photos

Rates & Availability

West Jefferson Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2016 - Dec 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$165
$990
 
 
New Years
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$990
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Reservation fee $45
Cleaning fee $75
Pet Fee $45
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.0%

No refunds given due to weather or road conditions.. 4 wheel drive is recommended for winter travel in the mountains. No refunds given for failure to use directions provided-- GPS is NOT RELIABLE in the mountains.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Jefferson Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2160 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Downstairs bath has a tiled shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Spacious upstairs bath has oversized tiled shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Upstairs master bedroom includes a fireplace and balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Cozy bedroom with lake views and plenty of quilts
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , Perfect room for kids with a set of bunks and twin.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers