Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to downtown Fish Creek and Peninsula State Park!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 495 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Welcome to our home in Fish Creek! It is our “home away from home” and we hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

It is a perfect place to get away from it all and enjoy the charm and beauty of Fish Creek, one of the quaintest towns in all of Door County! From our house, walk just a few short blocks south and you will find all of the wonderful shops and restaurants that Fish Creek has to offer as well as Fish Creek beach; walk a few blocks to the north, and you will find Peninsula State Park, bike rentals, more restaurants and right across the street is “Not Licked Yet”, where you will find the best custard in all of Door County! No need for your car….everything you will need is in walking distance!

Our home features one bedroom with 2 queen beds (LINENS ARE NOT PROVIDED), one bath with a whirlpool tub (TOWELS ARE NOT PROVIDED), a fully equipped kitchen, a living room with cable TV, and Wi-Fi. Our complex also offers an outdoor swimming pool to enjoy after a long day of shopping and sightseeing! We are located on the main street in Fish Creek, close enough to all the amenities of town, and just far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet.

Thank you for considering our home for your Door County vacation! We hope you have a wonderful time and will come back for many years to come! Enjoy!

More Details

Property Manager
Diane Cotter
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

Map

Peninsula State Park
The Skyway Drive-In Theatre
"The Skyway Drive-In will take you back to the "good ole" days of outdoor movie theatres! The..."
Not Licked Yet Frozen Custard
"The very BEST frozen custard in Door County! And, it is right across the street from our hou..."
Alexander's Restaurant
"Great food!"
Trolley Adventure Outing
"This is one of the best things to do when you are in Door County! It is a great way to learn..."
Main Street Market
"We really love this store! They have everything you will need, and also have some very uniqu..."
Wood Orchard Market
"I would give this place 10 stars if I could! Our very favorite place to go for jams, jellies..."
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Bayside Tavern
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Peninsula State Park
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Gibraltar Grill
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Fish Creek Beach
Car: not necessary

Amenities

Fish Creek Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 495 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
  • TOWELS ARE NOT PROVIDED GUESTS ARE REQUIRED TO BRING THEIR OWN
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
  • SHEETS ARE NOT PROVIDED GUESTS ARE REQUIRED TO BRING THEIR OWN
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
12% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Walk to downtown Fish Creek and Peninsula State Park!
average rating of 4.72 based on 25 reviews
5

Quint little cottage

  • 5 of 5

Love this cottage. Very small and quint space, with everything you need- comfy bed, couch & TV, kitchenette and best of all, the LOCATION! The location cannot be beat. Minutes from our favorite coffe shop, the best donut shop in the state, the beach... And the owners and super kind, easy to rent from. This has been our third stay at this cottage & certainly not our last.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review, Crystal! We always love having you and your family rent our home in Fish Creek and hope you will continue to do so in the future! Diane Cotter
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect cottage. Superb location!! Very clean and felt like home right away.

  • 5 of 5

First time in Door County. Anniversary trip and had heard great things about Fish Creek. Location of cottage provided perfect home base for all of our walking, shopping, eating and bicycling adventures. Quiet and relaxing place to get away. Loved it!!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jo Ellen, Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad that you had a good time celebrating your anniversary in Door County! It was our pleasure to have you stay in our home and we hope that the next time you are in Door County you will book with us again! Sincerely, Diane Cotter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nicely decorated but not enough room for 4 to sit together. It's really a place for 2

  • 4 of 5

Great location.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location!

  • 3 of 5

Let me start out by saying that the location of this place is great. It's walking distance to the downtown restaurants, shops, and bars. It's also walking distance to the peninsula state park to the Wild Tomato which is our favorite place to eat in door county.

The unit is very nice as far as the way that it's decorated (other than the occasional Packer souvenir). The layout was a little strange that the shower is separate from the bathroom and located in the bedroom with no door or anything.

The issue that we had was the dampness of the unit; it had the feeling of a bedroom that's in a basement of an older home. There was a slight musty smell too that the cleaning crew attempted to cover up with a lot of air freshener. There is a dehumidifier in the unit but it was never actually running. After two days I changed its settings to turbo and continuous modes and then it started worked. We could feel and a change in the moisture level and the reservoir would fill and need to be emptied. I think a better dehumidifier is needed and should be set up for continuous drain to avoid having to empty the reservoir.

Overall, our stay in this unit was ok but I would probably look for a different place next time to avoid the moisture issue. My wife has allergies and they flared up a bit once we arrived in the unit. If the owner can address the issue, then the place would be great.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lafayette, IN USA
3

Nice Cottage, But Very Small and Inadequate

  • 3 of 5

Generally, the cottage was nice, but quite small. It’s advertised to sleep four and, while technically correct as they have two queen-sized beds in the bedroom, there’s not much room for anything but those beds and a few dressers in the bedroom. For just the two of us, it was very tight. Generally, we can’t see any way four adults could share that space without feeling like sardines. The bathroom barely fits one, let alone four who might be brushing hair and teeth and applying make-up in the morning. And the shower/tub area is directly attached to the bedroom with no divider or doorway; no privacy whatsoever. Beyond that, there were no instructions for the TV besides a photocopy indicating which was the on/off button—no channel guide. The hosts asked that the cottage be cleaned at the end of our stay, a bit demanding considering their rate. However, they did not provide adequate cleaning supplies—no Soft Scrub for cleaning the stovetop, no dish soap, no broom. The “fully stocked” kitchen, in addition to lacking dish soap, had a container of Morton’s salt sitting in the cupboard since the turn of the century by its appearance.

The kicker, though, came on our first full day when we informed our hosts the Internet was not working through their wireless network and we were instructed by them to call the cable company ourselves. We understand she was busy at that moment, but we said we’d be out most of the day and didn’t need immediate resolution. Nevertheless, we had to cut our morning short to go back and get the Internet connectivity issue resolved. As hosts ourselves in our own home, asking my guest to fix a problem like that is an absolutely no-no.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. However, I am very surprised and a bit confused by your comments. First of all, regarding the internet not working on the day you arrived: you contacted me via text message in the morning to let me know there was an issue with the internet. At the time that I received your text message, I was busy, and unable to respond to you immediately. I did get back to you within 15 minutes and said that I would contact the cable provider and as soon as I was able to get in touch with them, I would let you know. Your response was “that’s fine, no problem”. I did reach someone at the cable company and their tech support tried to walk me through the steps required to reset the internet. However, since the TV was working and it was only the internet that seemed to be affected, I was told that someone needed to actually be in the house in order to follow the steps required to reset it. Since I was not there, it seemed the only reasonable solution was to ask you to call them and have them explain the steps to you. I asked if you were willing to do that and you said you had no problem doing that, so I assumed you were okay with it. I realize that it was a bit “out of the ordinary” to ask a guest to do something like that, but under the circumstances, I did not see any other option. Sometimes things just happen that are out of our control, but, fortunately, they happen very infrequently, if at all. Secondly, as far as the accommodations, there are plenty of pictures of our home on the VRBO website, so our guests are aware of the accommodations before booking. The bedroom is quite large (2 queen beds and 3 large dressers fit with plenty of room to walk around). I agree that having the tub/shower in the bedroom area (at the end of the room) is a bit unconventional, but that is how the unit was built, so there isn’t too much we can do about that. Thirdly, our guests are NOT required to clean the house when they leave nor did I ever instruct you to do so. We would much rather have our guests enjoy their stay than have to take the time to clean. That's why we have a cleaning service, which we do not charge our guests for. While our home is small, it is very well kept, and the fact that it is in the heart of Fish Creek, within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and parks, makes it the perfect location for our guests to enjoy everything Door County has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Sycamore, IL
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5

It's just the right size for a couple. The shower in the bedroom might make it a bit uncomfortable if there were two couples but it was OK with us!! What a great location! Property was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely try to book this property again

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Joe, for the great review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our home and hope that you will consider renting from us again! You were a pleasure to work with! Enjoy the rest of your summer!! Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 11.0%

All stays during peak season less than 1 week or overlapping designated turnover day are subject to approval.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties