check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

4 Bedroom, 2 Bath Historic Home Great For Large Groups

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Bedrooms 4, Bathrooms 2, Sleeps 10-12

Attention Snowmobilers, Large Families or Groups. This large home sleeps 10-12 people. Large kitchen and open dining room area, 2 living rooms, 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, utility room with washer and dryer, sun room. Large fenced yard. Parking for six vehicles. Close to Swedetown trails (mountain biking and cross country trails. Close to snowmobile trails, restaurants, and local historic sites. Five miles away from Lake Superior.


Owner
Susan Coy
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 6, 2017

About Susan Coy

We bought the home in 1999 and raised our 4 kids there in Calumet. It's a great place to raise your kids, visit historical sites, great for backpacking, snowmobiling, mountain biking, and just loving the great outdoors. Just recently we moved down state and wanted to let others enjoy and explore Calumet with the convenience of staying at a great home at a great price.

Susan Coy purchased this house in 1999

Why Susan Coy chose Upper Peninsula

This home was built in 1889 for Tamarack Mine Head Engineer. We wanted to provide a large home where family and friends can enjoy being today with a lot space.

What makes this house unique

It has an enclosed front porch, great yard if you are bringing your pet, but the best part is the large open kitchen and dining room area with the warmth of the pellet stove for those cold nights.

Reviews

3.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

4 Bedroom, 2 Bath Historic Home Great For Large Groups
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 6 reviews
Royal Oak, MI
4

Nice large historic home

  • 4 of 5

We were in town for a family wedding. We really couldn't ask for more. The kitchen was a good size to cook in and seating was more than adequate. The beds were very comfortable. The house was clean. I would have preferred more working windows and better water pressure but this is an older home and the historic charm more than makes up for it. We would reccomend this home to friends.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and price

  • 5 of 5

I was a little concerned about the past reviews, but we had a wonderful experience. We had to go up north for a family emergency and the house is exactly what we needed. I loved the historical old door knobs, the wood floors, and the old windows. My husband is a writer and he plans to book the house for a month to write, it was on a quiet street, clean, and the perfect place for him to write. Sue, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating with us. The kitchen had everything we needed plus more! Can't wait to head back up there.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks guys! Glad you enjoyed your time there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Osceola, Indiana
2

Tried to like this house

  • 2 of 5

The description of this house is accurate. It's large, has plenty of parking and lots of room. There is a sunny breakfast area which is a new addition to the house. Also the kitchen and dining room is a nice area for large groups. I wouldn't say the yard is large and it was in bad need of a mowing. The wifi was fast and it's close to downtown Calumet. That's about all the good I have to say about it.

We happened to hit one of the warmest weeks of the summer. Most of the windows in the lower level do not open as they have been painted or even caulked shut. This made the two living rooms very stuffy as we could not get any air circulation. There are ceiling fans in all the rooms, but some look like they are going to fly off the ceiling when on high speed. One even had bare wires showing. The front porch solar heated to sauna like temps during the day which added to the discomfort. At night we were able to open all the doors to cool off a bit, but since there are no screen doors, when the mosquitoes came out we had to shut up again. One bedroom window couldn't be opened but this was a good thing because there was a wasp nest between the storm and inside windows.

The beds are very uncomfortable. One bed flew in the air when I sat on the end to put my shoes on.

The kitchen is poorly stocked with cooking utensils. We found two coffee pots, one that did not work and one with a broken carafe, but together we were able to make coffee. There were very few pots to cook with. We ate out a lot, but if you had a big group here and were planning on cooking in, you will be limited in what you can do.

We also had to prepay 6 weeks in advance. The house has a For Sale sign from a local realtor on it, so renter beware. This could be a nice place, but there needs to be some serious work done on it. I definitely could not recommend this place as a Summer vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

This home should not be listed as its unsafe

  • 1 of 5

I have used HomeAway successfully in the past but this home should not be listed. Almost every window is missing a screen and worse are either painted or screwed shut, no smoke or carbon monoxide detectors, and their is paint peeling off the walls which given age of the home is more than likely lead based. I believe its illegal to rent a home where there is no egress window in the bedroom and this is the case here. The home reeked as their were plumbing leaks and given most windows don't open its tough to air it out. Your feet would literally stick to the floors given how dirty it was. There is no air conditioning so if it gets warm you have no options. We were stuck in this place given we had paid up front, big mistake, and there were limited options given short notice and busy weekend in town. We followed up with the owner Susan with no response.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for helping me improve my vacation rental for others. I’m really sorry you didn’t feel our rental offered a good value for the price you paid. We’ve been in business for almost 3 years and have hosted over 250 guests. With our team of over 50 years of combined housekeeping experience, our team likes to use very rare incidents like this one to re-oil our operation so that the dissatisfaction never happens again. Yes, it is true the house doesn’t not have air conditioning, with our gorgeous summer weather in the 70’s, huge maple trees for shade covering the house, and all natural air conditioning we suggest spending the day at the beach. We do provide the ceiling fans in every room to move the air, but for a few weeks of the year Mother Nature wins! I also want to reassure you that none of the paint has lead as it was done in 2014. We will also make sure to check to put on your checklist to check the batteries in all the smoke and the carbon monoxide detectors in the house. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent Large Home for family and friends

  • 5 of 5

I usually don't write reviews but this is the first time my husband and I stayed at a vacation home and wanted to give some feedback. The owner was great to work with and the house was exactly what we needed. It was perfect for our group. It has a great old home but updated. We loved the large kitchen and sitting area near the pellet stove. It had a fence where our dogs could roam and be off the lease. Kudos to this owner for making our trip a great experience, already making reservations for summer and next year!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Plainfield, IN
3

Priced right for low budget UP adventure

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Great location for snowmobiling, close to town (pubs/restaurants) & trails (a few blocks away), bed linens and toilet/showers were clean. Got to bring my dogs. Lots of room for our group of 6. House was warm and covered all the basic necessities. Unique old home with interesting rooms and some charming features (hardwoods/ old radiators).

Cons: House in disrepair (broken windows taped up, broken floor tiles). Upgrades seem to be done to low standards. Overall house was not clean - floors were nasty (we kept shoes/socks on) - dust/cobwebs in many places. Beds not very comfortable (some squeeky, some hard, some very shaky) Concrete stairs to home are crumbling. Do not recommend for small children or handicap. Towels were super small/thin. Other random items were broke or dirty.

Overview - for $114 per night that slept our whole group - it was fine. We were out on the trails most of the days. Had a warm bed and shower each night. Enjoyed the dining area for board games/dinner. I would bring my own towels if I came back and flipflops to wear around house.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Hancock Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Carmelita's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Calumet Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 41 Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Carmelites
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Swedettown
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Lake Superior

This home is located on a quiet road in Calumet, down the street, are The Swedetown Ski Trails and Bike Trails, and just around the corner are the Snowmobile Trails.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Calumet House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$800
$2,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75
Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.0%

I require 50 percent of total booking at booking time. The remaining balance 2 weeks prior to occupancy. I accept checks and major credit cards.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Calumet House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
    Living room 1 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double
    Living room 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties