Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Views of the Harbor/Sleeps 14/Vacation&Wedding

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 3,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 BR/4 Bath/Full kitchen/Separate apt/hot tub/walk to Downtown Daytona/F

Great for large group celebrations, weddings or events! Harbour House has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms in the main house with a separate apartment/bridal suite on the top floor. The apartment includes one additional bedroom, a full bathroom, TV room, laundry room and a full kitchen, giving the home a total of 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. This home sleeps up to 14 people and can host from 125-150 people for weddings and events. The cost to use the home as an event venue is $2000 and includes a 2 night stay and full use of the property and bridal suite. The cost to use the home as a vacation rental is based on our normal seasonal rates.

Built in 1894, Harbour House is one of the four original homes on county record in historic Daytona Beach. The Scottish family that originally built the home, carved their family crest into the door. That crest was preserved and now sits at the top of the arch in the entry way. Located on the Halifax River, the original owners founded Daytona Boat Works which is the oldest operating business in Daytona Beach. In the 1940's, the boat yard was used to build submarine chasers for WWII. The house is one of only two houses left standing of the original 4 homes on S. Beach Street. This area of Beach Street was the original Daytona due to the proximity to the Halifax. Through the years the house has witnessed its fair share of pirates, rum runners and navy vessels sailing by the front door. In fact, we discovered a look-out post in the attic, and a large metal container that we suspect is part of a distillery used during the prohibition era.

The home is now about 3700 square feet and has original hardwood throughout. We also managed to preserve the original staircase and woodwork. The 31 windows in the house are all the original sash and weight windows of that time period. We have made them functional and added an energy efficient film to give you a beautiful view and with complete privacy during the day. While historic with original cornices, fireplace and high ceilings, Harbour House has a modern and fresh interior design reflecting modern families. The kitchen is designed to host large family meals with plenty of cabinet space, new appliances and even a convection microwave. If you are planning an event, the large private back yard has plenty of parking, and a place for tables, band or whatever you want to create. We have also converted the old servant’s quarters to a bedroom with a private bathroom. Great for kids!

All of the upstairs bedrooms feature an unobstructed sunrise view of the beautiful Halifax River. A local artist created all of the original designs and faux finishes on the bedroom, bathroom, and dining room walls. Our local craftsmen (Willie and Scott) labored for six months to get every detail perfect. Each room has an HD TV with Direct TV - No need to fret if you want to go to the beach but your favorite show is on- each room is equipped with DVR!

This home is right in the heart of original Daytona and we have local ties to Halifax Marina for discounts on keeping your boat in the water in one of their slips! Ask Scott for more details.

We require all guests to be at least 25 years old, with a valid ID. Any guests under 25 years old must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

We sincerely hope you enjoy this home.

More Details

Owner
Carissa Oculto
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Carissa Oculto

I started my vacation home business, Beach Chic Living, out of a desire to provide a great place for my scattered family to come and stay. After traveling on business throughout the world, I truly felt Daytona Beach was one of the best places I had ever been so I purchased my own vacation home here. I decided to rent out that home when I was traveling, and realized I had created something that people really liked! Soon, my guests and family needed a larger place to stay and so I found the a large historic home on the Halifax river. I fell in love with the history and unique benefits this house had to offer. While it was an ambitious renovation, I had help from the local community and was blessed with the good fortune to find some local craftsman who guided us through every stage of the renovation. We are thrilled with the results and hope you are as well. Here you will find comfort and style in a historic setting in the heart of downtown Daytona.

Carissa Oculto purchased this house in 2014

What makes this house unique

This home is one of very few homes in Daytona Beach that are historic yet completely renovated. The location is perfect for so many Daytona activities. The main attractions are all within a few miles. It's walking distance to unique local shops and restaurants on Beach Street and directly on the Halifax River.

Watch the boats go by from the upstairs master bedroom or watch the sun come up from the 'Blue Room' as we like to call it.

Another unique benefit is being able to walk across the street to Chart House for the best steaks in Daytona and sunset views of the harbor.

We've put a film on the original windows so that you can see out but no one can see in during the day. This keeps the house cool and comfortable and allows you to take advantage of all of the great views that Harbor House has to offer.

Amenities

South Beach Street Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Green Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , enjoy the restored tub and retro style
    Separate Apartment Bathroom - toilet , shower , separate bathroom in the upstairs apartment.
  • 4 Full Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Apartment Bedroom - 1 queen , Part of fully functional separate apartment
    Master Lavender - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Can convert the king bed into two twin beds.
    Blue Room - 1 king , Can be converted into two twins
    Downstairs Room - 1 queen
    Green Room - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , This room has a bunk bed- twin over full and a twin bed
  • Sleeps up to 13 in beds but we can provide full and twin air mattresses allowing for up to 14 guests. All bedrooms come equipped with an HD TV and DVR!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Great Views of the Harbor/Sleeps 14/Vacation&Wedding
average rating of 4.72 based on 25 reviews
4

Beautiful Harbor/River View

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely historic home with a beautiful view of the harbor. Sunrises were amazing over the Halifax river. There was ample parking in the driveway. A beautiful backyard created additional space for gathering. We spent several days in Daytona with our girls' church youth group. With five bedrooms and four full baths, there was plenty of bathroom time for our group of 15. Less than 2 miles from beach and the Ocean Center. The owner was very easy to work with and went the extra mile to accommodate our group.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kelly thank you! Guest love the picni table and all the extras we supply Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The owner of this house discriminated against me and my guests for being black / HBCU Grads

  • 1 of 5

First I want to say that I am in utter disbelief at the treatment received while staying in this house. Me and a group of black COLLEGE educated professional woman rented this house during homecoming weekend, one of these woman being 7 months pregnant, so that we could enjoy the weekend and all stay together. I decorated the house with balloons, banners and goodie bags as a welcome gift to my guests. After cleaning the house carissa made an assumption that this meant we threw a "wild party" with more then 14 guests.

Lets rewind to half way through my stay when i received a call from carissa that she "heard we were bethune cookman students" for those that dont know cookman is an HBCU so she made that assumption based on the fact that we were black. Secondly she rented the house out last year during homecoming and a party with 100+ people was thrown and the house was trashed but that is NOT MY PROBLEM AND WE HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THAT INCIDENT. At the time i didnt make an issue about her accusation because i wanted to enjoy the rest of my trip.

Yes there where trash bags full of alcohol in every room we pregamed before every event because we are young hard working women that for once had a weekend where we could enjoy ourselves. But we pregamed amongst ourselves and for most of the stay all 14 guest werent even in the house at once. Further more there wasnt a dumbster visable to even put trash or detailed cleaning instructions.

Bethune Cookman university is a staple in Daytona especially during homecoming season but i would advise future cookman students and african american people to refrain from booking this location. We spent a lot to stay here and it was a waste . My apologies for the many typos but I am offended and livid. Carissa you should be ashamed of yourself and I hope that you never have the privilage of renting to bethune cookman students again.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello- This review was expected. We withheld her damage deposit because the house was left in a filthy condition and all the furniture moved. Has nothing to do with this guest being white, black, purple or any other color. By the way I'm Puerto Rican and my General Manager Carissa is Filipino. The race card simply isn't relevant. We have had, and will welcome guests of every color in our homes Not at all concerned what university she did or didn't graduate from. This is retribution review for a guest being called out by our review of HER on VRBO for the very bad behavior from her and her guests. There was trash piled up in every room- literally food under the bed spilled liquor and syrupy stuff on the floor. The refrigerator had to be deep cleaned. We were charged extra cleaning fees from my crew and had to call in the pest control company. I only wish I could upload the pictures of the condition she left our home. I called her to remind her that events were charged at a different price and we didn't have her scheduled for any events. She of course ignored this and had a party and left the house a wreck. I'm sad that I have to accept a one star review from an abusive guest. Our guests are truly wonderful and we appreciate their business. Please don't rent to this guest she will destroy your home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful weekend!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful 3 night weekend!!! We are from Houston, but my wife and I were hosting our 4 children (2 had spouses) and 5 little grandchildren for our youngest son's wedding. It was exciting to stay at a refurbished historic home. It was beautiful inside and out. There was plenty of room for all of us to be together. The separate apartment was used by our daughter, son-in-law and their 4 little ones. That allowed the rest of us to spread out around the house. We played pool and sat up late playing games and cards around the big table in the living room. The large front porch was also a place where we would hang out and just enjoy being together. The location was great. My wife and I had the large room above the porch and loved looking out over the marina to watch the beautiful sunrise. The quaint historic downtown area was just a few blocks away. It was only 5 minutes from the beach, but away from the hustle and bustle and traffic of the beach front. We spent one day at the beach and utilized the umbrella, chairs, boogie boards and other fun beach toys that were at the house. The owner was very helpful and provided us with a list of things to do and places to eat. It is so hard to get family together, so I am so happy that we found a place where everyone enjoyed staying. The grandkids are already asking when we can go back!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. The house is a perfect getaway for families. It has everything you need for a vacation: Hot Tub, beach gear, a min walk to shops and restaurant, 5 min from the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very convenient

  • 4 of 5

The property was exactly what we were looking for, we went to Daytona for my daughter National Dance competition, and the house was 3 minutes from the location, I love the house and Stephanie helped and answer all of my emails, thanks I very much recommend this house!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great hosting all the girls !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Perfect Week

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (12 total) intended on staying at Harbour House for a few days while my Fiance' and I had a small wedding on the beach. Last minute we had a large group of people inform us that they were coming down to witness the wedding.

Not only did we end up having the entire wedding/reception at Harbour House, but they were so helpful in getting everything I could possibly need for a last minute reception (tables, food, the lawn beautifully manicured, etc).

The house itself was beautiful and more than spacious for our entire group. We loved all meeting up to have dinner in the large dining area and the house itself was just a short drive from the beach.

This House will forever be a fond place for my family, my (now) Husband & I.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow this brought tears to my eye! Thanks for reminding me of why I'm a host. Best of luck to you and you husband. Please visit us any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for a group or large family

  • 5 of 5

We really liked that we could all stay together and eat together. The large dining room table was a great gathering spot for meals and late night socializing.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mike! We've worked hard to make Harbour House family friendly with the Grill picnic table and all the chairs on the front porch.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Daytona International Airport - under 10 minutes
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Chart House /McKays Tavern/Wine me
Nearest Ferry
0.1 Miles
Halifax Marina/ Halifax Yacht Club-Boats for hire
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Daytona Beach Golf under 2 miles
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Sun Rail train in Deland
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Walk to Historic downtown Beach Street- Great food
Nearest Beach
0.75 Miles
Daytona Beach- right off of Orange AV
Car: recommended

Enjoy your vacation in one of the 4 original homes of Daytona Beach. The house was built by Scottish shipbuilders around 1894. We've lovingly restored the home to its former glory with a modern flair. You can sail in, dock your boat and stay in a historic home with all of the modern conveniences.

Walk to The Riverfront Shops of Daytona Beach, located downtown in the historic Beach Street area between Bay Street and Orange Avenue.

The location of this home offers guests something truly special: The opportunity to browse locally owned shops and services, savor the unique flavors of authentic cuisine and enjoy entertainment and attractions—all in a beautiful riverfront location unlike any other. Take a free tour of the Angella & Phelps chocolate factory and enjoy free samples.

Baseball fan? Watch the Tortugas play in the historic Jackie Robinson Stadium on the waterfront. Tickets are only 7 dollars and in the summer there are fireworks every Saturday from the stadium. Beach Street has museums, exhibits, outdoor festivals, aquatic activities, nightclubs, cafés and Florida’s oldest Saturday Farmers’ Market. Anchoring the North Block of Beach Street is the state-of-the-art News-Journal Center at Daytona State College, which hosts performers from around the world.

Want to learn something new? Try 3 brothers paddle boarding and ask for Eric. You don't need any previous experience and will have a great view of the Halifax river from a different perspective. If you go early in the morning, you have a good chance of seeing manatees.

And of course, you are 5 minutes away from the 'World's Most Famous Beach'. 23 miles of beautiful white sand beaches.

Back in the early 1900's when cars were first raced on the beach, the top speed in 1902 was an amazing 57 miles per hour. The last land speed record set on the beach was in 1935 when Sir Malcolm Campbell drove the world famous 'Bluebird' at 276 miles per hour on the beach!

Today driving on the hard-packed sand is allowed on 18-miles of the beach during daytime hours and speeds are only 10 miles per hour. Five miles of beach are now reserved for visitors who wish not to have to share the beach with cars.

The beach is also famous for the Sunbathing, surfing, frisbee, sandcastle building, people watching, volleyball, swimming, running, bicycling, car cruising, bikini watching, kite flying, picnicing, riding floats, relaxing, riding motorbikes, sitting under umbrellas, looking for shells, sailing, jet sking, skim boarding, fishing, enjoying beauty contests, eating 'beach dogs' or snowcones, walking the boardwalk, playing video games, enjoying the skyride, sail boarding, jogging, enjoying free concerts, comparing tans, meeting new friends, or take a romantic walk on the beach at night with the moonlight sparkling on the water, etc.... Whew! Or if that sounds like too much ..you might just sit in a chair and watch the ocean.

Feel the need for speed? Watch NASCAR and International Formula 1 racing from Daytona International Speedway- less then 5 miles from the house! Enjoy the Daytona 500 Nascar, Rolex 24 Sportscar and Daytona super cross motorcycle championship racing.

There is always live music at the many bars and restaurants along the A1A beach side. We enjoy local wine tastings at WineMe owned by Ashley and Greg. I recommend you hang there during one of the many festivals .

Harbour House is a wonderful venue for weddings and special events! If you've always wanted to get married on the beach, or in Florida, this is the place for you! The view is spectacular and there's an additional apartment/bridal suite on the top floor of the home.

Enjoy all Daytona has to offer!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 12.5%

Once booked, you may check in at 11am on the first day of your reservation and check-out by 4pm on the last day of your reservation. We sincerely hope you enjoy this home!

Please call me for any additional information 386-506-9773

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.