Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Makaha Valley Towers Getaway SPECIAL (INQ WITHIN)

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 837 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Makaha, or “fierce,” is the name of one of the largest valleys on the O’ahu’s leeward coast where our unit is located. Makaha Beach Park, a narrow 21-acre park, lies on the shore of the valley just down the road. The park and its sand beach are bordered on the west by Kepuhi Point. Down the road you will find Kaena Point and Yokohama bay. Which are two of Oahu's most famous Hiking and Beach destinations.

Makaha Beach ( just down the road) is famous worldwide for its surfing waves. During the winter surf season waves up to 25 feet high break off Makaha Point, providing some of the most challenging big waves in Hawai’i. Attracted by these waves, the Waikiki Surf Club established the Makaha International Surfing Championships in 1952, the first of the many international surfing contests that are now held in Hawai’i. One of the most popular events still held at Makaha is Buffalo’s Big Board Contest, an annual contest named in honor of Makaha lifeguard and surfing legend Richard “Buffalo” Keaulana.

When the surf is up, Makaha is also famous for its powerful backwash and rip currents. When the ocean is calm, scuba dive boat tours frequent Makaha Caverns, a series of arches, caverns, and overhanging ledges outside of the surfing area. One of O’ahu’s most popular dive sites, its location is marked.

More Details

Owner
Jason Bitzer
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

About Jason Bitzer

Jason Bitzer, Lifeguard, property manager, husband to Roberta Bitzer. I am the owner of Surf Schools Hawaii where we use off duty lifeguards to provide surf lessons on the shores of Oahu in a safe and private location.

Jason Bitzer purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Jason Bitzer chose Hawaii

there is

- wifi

- Pool towels are available

- keys are in lock box, door sticks due to AC so push it firmly in after unlocked

- full kitchen

- fridge

- private entrance

- private bath

- towers and linens

- parking for one car, two can be requested

- walking distance to beach. Best beaches are Makaha and Yokohama Bay just down the road.

- swim,surf and snorkel equipment

- laundry and maid service available for a charge.

- things to do: if you like to fish Boom boom sport fishing is the local source and Spinners cafe at the Harbor is a test place to eat along side Makaha Country clu

What makes this apartment unique

Steps to beach , pool and hiking!

Amenities

Mākaha Valley Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 15
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 837 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Newly Updated bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 180 view of the ocean from Bedroom and living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Amazing access at a great price!

Reviews

3.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
Makaha Valley Towers Getaway SPECIAL (INQ WITHIN)
average rating of 3.25 based on 4 reviews
1

miccaisd@aol.com

  • 1 of 5

the beach was great!! But, the security department at makaha valley towers was horrible!! We got in late Friday night and they called at 1230 am to tell us to move our car!! continued to get stupid violations all week!! I heard that someone got a violation for laughing to loud...ridiculous!! wouldn't stay there ever again!!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Portland, OR
2

Gorgeous location with a great pool, but very uncomfortable!

  • 2 of 5

First, the pros:

1. This place has one of the most gorgeous views I have ever seen. Out the large sliding glass doors (one entire wall of the room) you can see the green mountains of the Makaha Valley tapering off into the blue of the Pacific. And there are great stars to see at night.

2. Although the complex is on the older side, it is well-maintained. Landscaping is lush and there is a lovely saltwater pool.

3. We loved the location. It's a bit far from the beach (it's advertised as a short walk but it would be a long walk, or a short drive), but it's very peaceful and serene. And we discovered a bunch of local gems in the area, most notably Kahumana Organic Farm & Cafe for dinner.

BUT there is major con that would prevent me from staying here again/advising others to stay here. It is that the furniture and amenities in this particular condo are very run down. The couch is so worn-in it is sloping toward the ground on the front end and there are virtually no places to sit that offer back support. The only other seating available are two woven chairs with backs that hit adults mid-back, and two stools on the patio with no backs at all. The bed is in similar condition; we found ourselves rolling to the middle all night long (and with very sore backs each day when we woke up!) The dishwasher is almost completely broken; the first time I opened it the racks rolled out to slam the door on the ground (and my foot!) and I had to hold both racks in with a hand/foot in order to load the dishwasher. This same comment applies to the kitchen...there's enough equipment to get by, but a lot of it is also pretty worn out (very dull knives etc.)

We also had some more minor issues that would not prevent me from recommending, but would make me caution future renters. When we arrived at the condo complex our reservation had not been communicated to the complex. We ended up waiting about an hour for the owner/condo complex to sort that miscommunication out. Then when we got to the condo, the lock box did not have a key inside it (the code worked- there was just no key.) Fortunately that one only caused us about a 20 minute wait. Finally, although the condo was mostly clean, it had not been thoroughly cleaned. For example, there were a bunch of dirty dishes in the dishwasher when we arrived.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please not most of this could be explained with 1. Dishes dish washer were cleaned. Also there is three sets for each item so there is no need to use these. 2. It is a brand new one year old couch so we will ask Ashley Furinture for a new one because it is not even out of warrenty yet. 3. Documents are emailed to you , so you should have a copy for security check in at Gate. if not you will have a hassle. Bring your check in material as requested in check in email.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Oak Harbor,WA. have a 2nd home in Mazama,WA
5

Makaha Valley visit

  • 5 of 5

We had stayed the week of 1/18/2015. If you want to be away from the big city noise this is the place! We arrived very late on the 18th so it was really quiet, but that didn't change come morning. We opened the drapes and had this gorgeous view of the Makaha Valley and it's hills. The condo itself was very well appointed with all of the beach accessories you would ever need. The place was clean and comfortable. The beaches are wonderful and if you want to see the sights of Honolulu it's only a 45 minutes drive away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying with us. You guys are awesome.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Amazing Views ( Best price )

  • 5 of 5

We had stayed the weekend of the 24-26 of October. The Beaches are amazing, the unit is clean , cute and easy access. Staff is friendly at the complex and the security was really helpful. This unit is on the 15th floor near the elevator and was perfect to get our groceries and bags to. The owner leaves a small cart for shopping and the amenities are perfect. There is lifevests and snorkel gear to see the turtles and dolphins at Makaha Beach. There is great surfing there as well, Yokohama Bay is breathtaking as well. Could not have asked for more the price. Golf is right across the road as well!!

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and so glad you enjoyed.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
HNL
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Makaha Valley Country Club
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Makaha Valley Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Makaha Valley Country Club
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Makaha

We have in house , house keeping if requested for 100 per week cleaning.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $50 per person per night
Damage Deposit $200

Mahalo for choosing our condo for your vacation. We hope that you
have a pleasant stay!

FAQ
there is
- wifi
- keys are in lock box, door sticks due to AC so push it firmly in after unlocked
- full kitchen
- fridge
- private entrance
- private bath
- towers and linens
- parking for one car, two can be requested
Parking and security please see here
http://www.thinglink.com/scene/682716348618375169
- walking distance to beach.
- swim,surf and snorkel equipment
- laundry and maid service available for a charge.


RENTAL RULES AND REGULATIONS

Makaha Valley Towers
Contact: Voice/Text (808) 255-8671; email: bitzer.jason@gmail.com
1. CHECK-IN TIME IS AFTER 3 P.M. AND CHECK-OUT IS 10 A.M. No Early Check-ins.
2. This is a NON SMOKING unit.
3. Pets are not permitted in rental units under any conditions.
4. Sand is to be re

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties