Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront/Direct Beach Access.... "Time to Unwynd"

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 2,300 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

The address for 'Time to Unwynd' is 801 South Bald Head Wynd or 801 Killegray. This is a wonderful oceanfront home on tranquil Bald Head Island, North Carolina in the award winning Killegray/Flora's Bluff community. You have direct beach access down a charming boardwalk. Sit on the front porch in your rocking chair and watch the dolphins swim by or sit on the upper deck off the master bedroom and have a direct view of frying pan shoals also known as Cape Fear.

Our home has one bedroom on the first floor with a private screen porch, ensuite bathroom, and a queen bed. The master is upstairs with a king-size bed, ensuite bathroom, and private porch. Third bedroom upstairs has two twin beds and private bath. The fourth bedroom is in a separate guest house, called a 'crofter' just out the back door of the main house. The crofter has a king bed and full bath. There are also two aero bed mattresses that can be used for additional sleeping. Availability to both private clubs on the island, the Bald Head Island Club which provides golf privileges and the Shoals Club oceanfront beach club.

In the garage you will find two golf carts, one six passenger and one four passenger. Both installed with seatbelts for your safety and the safety of your children. You MUST be a licensed driver to operate a golf cart on Bald Head Island.

Also in the garage you will find four bikes, a large bucket full of sand and beach toys and beach chairs for your use. North Carolina law requires children under the age of 16 to wear a bicycle helmet. We try to keep a couple available in the garage for your use. However, feel free to bring your own.

All linens and towels are provided. High speed wireless internet access, unlimited long distance, and more are just some of the features of this home-away-from-home.

If you have never visited Bald Head before, there is a nice well stocked grocery store on the island. The grocery also carries a selection of wine and beer. Liquor is state controlled in North Carolina and sold at ABC stores. There is not an ABC store on Bald Head Island.

If you are flying to the area and need transportation from the airport to the ferry, Southern Hospitality shuttle service is available. Their number is 910-457-4949.

Keywords: Oceanfront Home, Beach House, Beach Front, Direct Beach Access, Bald Head Island

More Details

Owner
Amy Lothrop
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Amy Lothrop

We live in Charlotte, NC and have been coming to Bald Head for 20 years. Our children have grown up on the island!

Amy Lothrop purchased this house in 2005

Why Amy Lothrop chose South Beach

We bought our first house in 1999 in the Killegray neighborhood. We had purchased a lot on the island to build, but love the Killegray area so much we really didn't want to leave. However, we wanted a little more space and more bathrooms as our children became teens. So in 2005 801 Killegray became available. We decided to buy it instead of building on our lot. We named it 'Time to Unwynd' and the rest is history!

What makes this house unique

I love the panoramic views from inside the living room! I have a great view everywhere I look. I love that I can see all the way to Cape Fear from my front porch.

Amenities

South Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • First floor bedroom - 1 queen , Ensuite bathroom and attached screened porch
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Upstairs with private deck overlooking the ocean
    Crofter - 1 king , Private second master over the garage with ensuite bathroom
    Upstairs Twin room - 2 twin/ single
    Extra sleeping for children - 1 baby crib , Two twin inflatable mattresses
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • 8 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Phone(unlimited long distance), HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET Access, DVD, 4 adult bicycles, beach chairs, Two golf carts(one six passenger and one four passenger), high chair and crib provided.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Oceanfront/Direct Beach Access.... "Time to Unwynd"
average rating of 4.882353 based on 34 reviews
5

Beautiful Cottage on the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Great for an extended family. Clean and open design. Owner is very accommodating, and was available to answer questions. We would definitely enjoy another visit to this beach house.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review!! Would love to have you and your family back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corinth, MS
5

Well stocked and great location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a week for the week of Memorial Day. The house was clean and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. There were 4 bikes which we enjoyed as well as 2 golf carts. A 4 seater and a 6 seater which was very helpful considering we had 8 people. The only complaint was that one of the battery chargers did not work and we didn’t find out until our cart died twice and had to be pushed. After figuring this out, we just rotated charging the carts which wasn’t that big of a deal. The owner did say she requested a new charger but one was not delivered before we left.

All in all, a great vacation. I would recommend this to anyone and would definitely consider starting here again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review! You are welcome back anytime. There was a loose wire in the second charger that they fixed and all is well with it now. Thanks for bringing it to my attention!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beachfront Bliss on BHI's South Beach

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect and the location was perfect. The marina, the BHI club, the Shoals Club, the conservancy and market were all very convenient to this location while still being far enough away from the more "crowded" spots. Though nothing is really crowded on BHI. Golf carts were brand new and super fast and the house was tastefully updated and perfect for 4 adults and 2 small kids. She had plenty of beach chairs, beach toys, umbrellas, and towels available and the grill and outdoor living spaces were very enjoyable. We thoroughly LOVED our BHI vacation and will hopefully be booking again!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Wonderful Stay at Time to Unwynd!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying at Time to Unwynd and we felt it was even better than our first stay. The updated kitchen and master bath turned out beautifully! The house is clean and well taken care of. Many reviewers mention that the pictures do not do it justice and I have to agree. The house has 4 nice-sized bedrooms, each with it's own bathroom. The kitchen is well stocked and there are even books, movies, and puzzles to keep you entertained indoors. There are 2 golf carts, 4 bikes, and plenty of beach chairs and toys. The proximity to the beach makes this the perfect house to rent on Bald Head Island. We would most definitely stay here again and again!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

Great house. The pictures really do not do it justice. We really enjoyed spending time on the porch and beach. The four bedrooms and their separate baths offer privacy with nice and ample communal spaces inside.

It's a great location, just a twenty minute walk down the beach to the cape which is gorgeous. We really loved the island. It's so relaxing. Amy was very helpful and attentive, with the notes and suggestions that she left in the house and by text and email. I would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hickory, NC
5

The Best House on Bald Head Island

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful oceanfront home has four bedrooms, each with its own private bath, a well-stocked kitchen, an abundance of ocean toys, bikes, two new golf carts, and is updated and clean. Amy and her family makes sure that your visit will be comfortable and happy. The house is decorated in beach colors, and the house is sunny and bright. We stayed here once with our children and grandchildren and later I returned for a reunion with seven other women. Everyone was completely satisfied with their accommodations. You can't find a better rental on this island.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!!! So glad to know my efforts are appreciated!! I try to make my home what I would want if I were renting a vacation home from someone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
BHI
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Bald Head Island Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Bald Head Island Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Shoals Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Maritime Market
Car: not necessary

Lots of board games and puzzels for good ole' family fun!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Linen fee $195
Refundable damage deposit $500

Temporary memberships to the Shoals Club and the BHI Club available for an extra charge.
Current rates are $160/week for BHI Club and $240/week for the Shoals Club. "Off season" club rates are lower.
*THE SERVICE CHARGE LISTED BY VRBO AND CAN BE AVOIDED BY BOOKING WITH ME DIRECTLY. THIS IS A NEW EGREGIOUS FEE THEY HAVE IMPOSED ON RENTAL GUESTS*

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties