Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Lake Retreat

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Lakefront Home- Sleeps 8

Our property is centrally located in southwest Michigan, within a 3-hour drive from Chicago and Detroit. The region is known for it’s rolling hills, golf courses and hundreds of lakes. It is a place where recreation awaits year-round! No matter what your outdoor pleasure, from golf to water sports, you can find it here in our beautiful natural surroundings!

Our house sits on 3.3 wooded acres, and from it’s hillside perch, enjoys broad views overlooking Bristol Lake. The property is on a quiet residential street. Bristol is a 165-acre all-sports lake and is excellent for fishing, swimming and all manner of watersports. The lakeshore consists of a mix of areas of sand and loam. The water gets deep gradually and is relatively-friendly to younger children (although we recommend life jackets for non-swimmers). We have a large grassy yard along the lake with enough trees to give some comfortable shade in the sunny summer afternoons.


Owner
Ray Micham
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2018

About Ray Micham

This home on Bristol Lake is owned by 2 families: Ray and Sue Micham, and Dan and Janel Garno. Sue and Dan are sister and brother. Ray and Sue live in Northwestern Ohio with their 6 children, ages 6-19. Dan and Janel live in Southern Michigan with their 6 children, ages 4-15. Our kids are all very active, and have enjoyed fishing, catching turtles, frogs, and snakes, swimming, canoeing/kayaking, and water sports during the warm months, and ice skating, sledding and ski trips during the cold months. We also enjoy taking a 1 hour and 15 minute drive over to the charming town of Saugatuck, on the coast of Lake Michigan. It is our hope that your family will also make lots of good memories and experience the relaxation, peace, and fellowship that we have found, gathered at Bristol Lake.

Ray Micham purchased this house in 2015

Amenities

Dowling House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
  • Rec room features sleeper sofa with fold-out beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Lake Retreat
average rating of 4.65 based on 20 reviews
5

Blessed vacation.

  • 5 of 5

Jacob's Well was a great place for a restful vacation. Our grandchildren had lots of fun with fishing and swimming. The lake was peaceful and the three seasoned porch was a place where we could relax. It was a little difficult going down the steps to the beach but it was manageable. We will definitely keep this place on the top of our vacation list in the future. Thanks for everything.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful lot and amazing house

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The house came with great amenities and plenty of sitting and sleeping space. The only thing that would keep us coming back year after year is the fishing-little blue gill and bass, but no big fish. We had to go to a close-by lake to get better fishing. Maybe in a few years the fish will grow bigger. PS, you can adjust the thermostat yourself, we didn't figure that out until a few days in. Oops!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great lakehouse!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home! Very well maintained, clean, spacious, updated and well stocked. The lake and lakefront area were gorgeous. The kids enjoyed the private beach. Kayaks, pedal boat, hot tub and a shed full of water and beach toys were a great plus. The pontoon boat rental added to the fun. The owner, Ray, was great to work with. He replied quickly to my inquiries and made us feel welcome. Highly recommend this property and look forward to a return visit!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

It was more than we expected!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Dangerous steps down to water

  • 2 of 5

I broke my ankle at this house on the step out to the screened room. Maybe it is best to have a sign there to let people know about the step. The house was nice, it was a little warm in there at times. We liked our stay there but wish we would of known about the treacherous walk down to the water. Our 80 year old mother fell also on her way down the walkway. There was no lights so it was very difficult at night. My broken ankle made it much worse. It would of been nice to be contacted by the homeowner after i fell and broke my ankle to see how i was doing, but we never got contacted, even after we let tgem know. We wont stay here again because of the dangerous walkway that you need to use to go to the lake. In none of the reviews does anyone mention the steep walk path, this is important information.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The walkway to the lake may be challenging to the elderly (especially at night) and we will amend our advertisement to be more clear about this. We were unaware of this incident until we read this review and I contacted our guest about it- they said they had noted it in our guest book (which we do not read regularly). We are NOT uncaring and are truly sorry that this happened. The step-down into the sun porch is a pretty common feature in these types of rooms and I'm not sure a sign would make it a lot safer- but we will consider the suggestion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view, relaxed atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

Perfect size for the 6 of us. Beautiful view and perfect for a getaway. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Gerald R. Ford International Airport
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort
Nearest Ski
34 Miles
Bittersweet Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
65 Miles
Oval Beach, Saugatuck, MI
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250

Pontoon Boat (subject to availability) for rent at a rate of $120/day (3-day minimum) or $600/week

Our property is in a single-family residential zoning district. We rent only to families, not companies or unrelated groups.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.