Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Blue Ridge Beauty and River Excitement

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Master Bedroom Home, 2 full Bath, 1 half, Mountain Views, Walk to River

Location, Location, Location.... just a little over an hour from DC and Baltimore, Our Cozy Home is about a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Shenandoah and Potomac rivers. Also, about a 5 minute walk to the Appalacian Trail and Historic Downtown Harpers Ferry. If the Mountains, Rivers, and hiking is not enough excitement; Charles Town's Hollywood Casino is less than a ten-minute drive away!!

Home Features 2 Furnished bedrooms with a Full bath attached to each. Also a half bath off foyer. Large living Room, walk out patio, and 9 foot Ceilings. Great Accommodations for romantic getaway, or families, couples, kayakers, hikers, cycling, history buffs, or anyone who loves beautiful views, lots to do, and wonderful scenery. Has a Fireplace; but currently not in use due to Insurance reasons. FREE WIFI.

My Home will sleep 4 people comfortably: One Queen bed in each bedroom. We can also provide an Queen Air mattress which can be used in the LR downstairs to sleep an additional couple or kids.

Kitchen is fully equipped (pots/pans/dishes), and also includes small appliances stocked with spices, paper, etc.

House is freshly Painted, New Carpet, Ceramic Tile floors in kitchen, dishwasher, washer and dryer and other accommodating features.

The Marc Train to the Washington DC Union Station is only a few minutes drive away. Charles town Racing and Hollywood Casinos and All Major shopping included Walmart is 10 minutes drive.

Other Local attraction:

Harpers Ferry National Historic Park Visitor Center, C & O Canal, and Appalachian Trail (walking distance)

River Riders

(rafting, tubing, kayaks, bike rentals, zip line) (5 minute drive)

River and Trail

(rafting, tubing, kayaks, bike rentals)

(5 minute drive)

Harpers Ferry Adventure Center

(rafting, tubing, kayaks, bike rentals, zip line) (5 minute drive)

Vineyards:

Breaux Vineyards

(10 minute drive)

Hillsborough Vineyards

(15 minute drive)

Doukenie Winery

(15 minutes drive)

Restaurants :

Canal House Cafe

(2 minute walk)

The Anvil Restaurant

(2 minute walk)

Country Cafe

(10 minute walk)

Mena's Pizza and Italian Restaurant

(10 minute walk)

More Details

Owner
Warren Dunbar
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Warren Dunbar

I bought this house in 2015 as a Home away from Home. I use it to get away from the hustle and bustle and just relax. Gorgeous views, surrounded by nature, and lots to do. I love my "escape home" in Harper's Ferry, and I am sure you will too!

Warren Dunbar purchased this townhome in 2015

Why Warren Dunbar chose Bolivar

I love the setting of my home; in the historic quiet town of Harpers Ferry. Full of Rich History, nostalgia, plus lots of stuff to do!!

What makes this townhome unique

You can simply relax your time away in the quiet solitude of Harper's Ferry, or you can find the adventure and excitement you crave right around the corner.

Amenities

Bolivar Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Sleeps 4 in beds; Can provide an Air Mattress for 2 more if requested.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Blue Ridge Beauty and River Excitement
average rating of 4.7 based on 30 reviews
5

Great fit for weekend trip

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed staying here for a quick weekend trip. Easy walk into town and quick drive to the National Park. We arrived just as the temperature dropped and a little snow fell. The drive and walk were shoveled for us which we greatly appreciated and the owner emailed to make sure we arrived okay. The home was clean, had ample furnishings, and easy to connect wi-fi. Lots to do close by: hiking, history, casino, great food, breweries, and wineries.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great spot

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time; it's a nice spot. The house is perfect for a family of four, with comfortable accommodations and 2.5 bathrooms. The location is really nice - it's easy to walk to town and downhill to the river. From there you can take the shuttle back to the parking lot and it's a short walk to the house.

The only drawback is the house is a little dark; could use some more lights and maybe a screen door to let more light in. The patio is a little weedy, though there's a nice propane grill we made good use of. There's a nice TV with DVD player and satellite TV. Overall it's a great house and location.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Nice family or friend getaway

  • 5 of 5

The home was lovely, well furnished, large enough for a family or group of friends. It does have minimal silverware and may need plastic cutlery if you are a larger party. Quiet neighborhood, walkable for coffee, drinks, or food.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Nice property.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bel Air, MD
5

Ideal for both relaxation and adventure!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time exploring Harpers Ferry. We also visited Greenbrier State Park in Md where the kids had a great time on the beach and swimming in the lake. The house was well appointed and a great place to kick back and relax after a day of adventure. We look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia
2

Not well maintained property close to downtown Harpers Ferry

  • 2 of 5

We were very disappointed in the house. It was dirty - crumbs on dining room table, sink was obviously not cleaned, and the refrigerator was disgusting. The very small and closed in patio was overrun with weeds. We had to clean the glasses before using them. The trashcan outside was full. The bedrooms and bathrooms were ok, and there was ample space in the house. But it is an arduous treck into downtown because of hills, so I thought it was misleading to advertise its accessibility by foot. There is no view from the house but the area is pretty and there are some nice restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had over 100 guest stay at our property. 99 percent rave about how nice and clean everything is, and how much they love the location, as reflected in our other reviews. We spoke with our housekeeper, and strive to keep all our guest comfortable and happy. Obviously, you can not satisfy everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $280
Cleaning Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties