About the property
- House1622 sqft
- Half Baths2
- Minimum Stay2 - 4 nights
Zen House in Yachats
SWEET HOMES RENTALS brings you the Zen House, a peaceful beach retreat in Yachats. This is a romantic, Zen, one-of-a-kind home with easy, safe access to a gorgeous sandy beach, and ocean views filtered through trees. This home has a lovely living/dining area, unique furniture and decor, and an upper deck. Relax and refresh in the Asian bath and spa room, which is equipped with a gas stove, a cedar sauna, a two-person Japanese soaking tub, and glass brick shower which juts out into the garden to capture the morning sun which filters through the surrounding greenery, offering a hint of nature while you shower. Wake up in the morning and wander in your private garden or sit and listen to the sounds of the ocean and the birds. Or, perhaps later you'll sip tea, coffee, or wine on the upstairs deck while listening to the waves and looking at the ocean. This home offers an abundance of options for relaxing and having fun, both inside and outside. If you are feeling more energetic, stroll two minutes away to a beautiful, wide, sandy beach that goes on for miles. This two bedroom, 2.5 bathroom home has a great layout. The master bedroom is on the second floor of the main house; the second bedroom is a detached bedroom above the garage and has a King bed along with a private entrance. A second story deck connects the master bedroom and the studio apartment, providing both great privacy and separation, but also connectivity when desired. There is a second bathroom with a shower in the garage below the second bedroom. Be our guest and enjoy the wonderful ambiance of this Asian-style retreat home. This is definitely a one-of-a-kind experience, that will complement your special vacation, honeymoon, or family getaway.
Sleeps up to 6 - 2 Bedrooms, 1 Queen in Master, 1 King (King can be separated into 2 twin beds -- with prior notice), 1 Sofa Sleeper, 2 Baths.
Standard: 2 night minimum; Summer & Holidays: 3-4 night minimum.
Cancellations & Refunds: The total cost of the reservation, less a 10% service charge, is refundable up to 45 days prior to check in. After the 45th day to check in has passed, there is no refund.
Sweet Homes Rentals
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 27, 2018
About Sweet Homes Rentals
Sweet Homes Rentals Property Manager on call 24/7.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 12:00 AM
A peaceful retreat in a hidden gem of the Oregon coast!!
The Zen house was a wonderful retreat for myself and my sweetie. We were just a heartbeat away from cape perpetua where we hiked to the top (you can drive) for an outstanding view of the coast. We also went to several little stops right after cape perpetua Devils churn and several beaches strawberry hill to name one and found lots of agates and shells. The house is up for sale so we had tons of cars stop in the driveway and turn around and anytime we were out with the animals people stopped and asked about the place which was a bit annoying. The place does have a completely separate room but I do not feel this is a comfortable retreat for 5 people if you are looking to congregate play games as the living room truly only has comfortable seating for two. The futon is very old and I don't believe usable for an adult only a small child my family actually slept on the recliners which are extremely comfortable. The soaking tub and sauna and shower are as many have said the highlight of this home and honestly would bring me back again. The trail they talk about that is down the road away is less steep but if you have anybody who is not a strong walker as my mother was not it is jagged rocks and we all had to assist her. You have a beautiful ocean view from the top master and the windows on this room are out of this world for your morning and evening view you will not want to close the drapes. The deck is awesome and the star filled sky was spectacular. Overall my stay here was fabulous I would only recommend this place for couples personally but overall it was a spectacular vacation and I'm zen fully happy
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We agree that the floor plan is funky and that is part of the charm. We are delighted that you were left "zen-fully" happy and we look forward to hosting your next stay at the coast!
Aloha, My stay with me 9-year old daughter was excellent. Terrific location about a block down an unpaved road to a lovely, broad, and clean beach and only a few minutes from Yachats. The house itself was cherry--well-appointed with a fine kitchen and utensils, lovely and spacious bedrooms with quality bedding, and a comfy if cozy living room/dining room. The best was the shower, huge and deep bathtub, and sauna. Outstanding features that added to our visit. Finally, our host was very welcoming and understanding, deducting a pet fee (paid in advance) when she discovered we'd come without one. I'd not asked, mind you, she just volunteered to do it! Oh, I have to add that my young daughter especially appreciated the well-tended flower garden and separate bedroom over the garage.
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting your next visit to the Oregon coast.
An Excellent 12 Day Stay
When we first arrived, we found that we liked The Zen House very much. And as the days passed, we grew to like it more and more. The owners obviously love their place, and have added many creative touches that add to the efficiency and rustic charm of this cozy home. Immaculately clean, well-equipped kitchen, abundant electrical outlets, reliable WiFi, superb sauna and 2-person soaking tub, delightful garden, second story deck with partial ocean view, and comfortable living area. The broad, 6+ mile beach, perfect for long strolls can be accessed just 200' away, and both Yachats to the south and Waldport to the north can be reached easily on foot, especially at low tide. Zen is also perfect for dogs. Our two dachshunds loved the sights and scents of the garden, and running free on the beach. This home is a gem in our favorite part of the Oregon coast and we look forward to our next visit.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation at the Zen House! Please come back and see us again soon.
A home that lives up to its name!
You may see reviews of this place that point out flaws that are unforgivable, but take them with a grain of salt. They tell only a small part of their story. Most people who stay here are enjoying Zen for all its worth and not picking out the imperfections that come with any structure this age. It is as wonderful as portrayed online, and fairly priced. Please read the owners' response to complaints & know that they care for this haven they are renting. If you're appreciative, objective and optimistic, you'll enjoy your stay beyond description. If you are more picky and anal retentive, you will find things for your self-fulfilling prophecy. This place is zen if you let it be, no place is zen if you don't. We loved it and are planning our return. You should try it, and you'll probably do the same.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Zen House. This home is a perfect location for our guests to enjoy the beauty of the coast. We are over the moon that your stay was everything you hoped for and more. We strive to make sure our homes are clean and well maintained and that our guests feel at home and welcome.Thanks for sharing your experience with us, including the issues that may have detracted from your enjoyment. We look forward to you coming back and visiting us again soon!
The Sweet Home Team
The online description of the house and beach access were not completely accurate. This is not a three bathroom house, as the master bath consists of only a toilet and sink (technically making it a 1/2 bath). The only shower facility in the main house is the glass block shower downstairs off the spa room. This wasn't made clear in the description or floor plan of the property. The bathroom for the studio apartment above the garage is down a long flight of stairs and in a back corner of the garage. With our vehicle parked inside the garage, the access to that bathroom was a tight squeeze along the wall. The sink and refrigerator in the studio apartment weren't operable during our stay. The cable TV never worked in the studio apartment the whole time we were there. We contacted the manager about the TV, but nothing was done to correct it. The beach access had washed out in a storm sometime ago and the only safe access was a short block away - not an issue for us, but could have been for others. The zen garden obviously needed attention as it had become overgrown. The deck and the furniture on the deck were in serious need of a good cleaning - we didn't use them at all during our stay. The bath towels were in the dryer when we arrived and the manager took them out, folded them and left them on top of the dryer in the laundry room. Certainly not the sanitized, fluffed and folded laundry service that we had been told to expect. This review sounds very negative, but we did enjoy our time at this property. We just felt it wasn't exactly as advertised and we wanted to let potential future renters know about our experience. We've rented houses on the Oregon coast in the past and we will rent them in the future. We prefer renting houses over staying in a hotel/motel. While we enjoyed our stay, given all of the issues we experienced, we probably will choose a different property the next time we're vacationing at the Oregon coast.
We're sorry that the Zen House did not meet your expectations. As you can see from previous guest comments the home has been enjoyed over and over by many happy travelers!
We must correct a couple of things in your review:
We do not advertise the home as having 3 bathrooms. As you can see in the written description here on VRBO it clearly states that the home has 1.5 bathrooms, with a spa bathroom with a toilet, tub, and shower and listing only a toilet off the master bedroom. We apologize that you misread our floor plans on our website, but the large soaking tub and shower are shown on the first floor, while the bedrooms are shown on the second floor as well the half bathroom attached to Bedroom #1, the master.
Also, we didn't know about the bathroom and TV situation as both were working prior to your arrival. We do ask when we greet you at the home, to call us immediately if there is anything that needs repair and we will send a maintenance person over immediately to take care of the problem. We're sorry that we missed the opportunity to fix these issues and but they have since been repaired.
As far as beach access, we also make this information available at time of check in. It is also in the information book that we have in the house. We do let guests know that there is access (with a steep incline at the end of the street but easy public access less than a half a block, about a one minute walk) to the North.
One of the amenities that we offer is that we launder our boutique hotel quality towels and linens off site with 100% natural cleaning products. On a very rare occasion, we have to run a load at the home instead of our laundry facility. When we do this, we still use the same quality sheets and towels and the same laundry detergent.
We do realize that everyone's expectations can be different from one to the next but would like to once again point out that many people have left very positive comments about their stay at the Zen House.
We look forward to hosting you in one of our Sweet Homes in the future!
All the best,
Todd & Kate
If they told us there was raw sewage, we would not have come.
The courtesy of a simple phone call would have made all the difference. Had the property manager or owner called to let us know there was a septic problem, we could have avoided the entire mess my family vacation became. As it turned out, there was a toilet backed up when we arrived and soon after raw sewage backing up into the shower and we could not use any water at all. Once the property manager assured us the septic tank would be pumped the day AFTER we arrived, she would not take another phone call when further problems (and ensuing unpleasant smells and health issues) arose. We could not stay in the house and the following two nights were spent in two other places, the last night in a cheap motel. We were told the house was cleaned, disinfected and deodorized for our return but came back only to find a padlock on the 2nd bathroom that had a backed up toilet and raw sewage in the shower and the house smelled even worse. Still, the property manager would not return our urgent calls. Although the house was charming, we never did get to soak in the tub or have what you would call a "zen" experience. We had to relocate every day, were exposed to raw sewage, were not able to use any water, and had many unexpected expenses. Our stay in the Zen House was stressful, to say the least. Most disappointing for me is the way it was handled. The courtesy of a call before we came or access to the property manager when we needed help would have made all the difference.
We apologize for the inconvenience – but we didn't know there was a septic issue until shortly before your arrival – otherwise we would have either taken care of it – or helped you find other accommodations. Septic problems, like many other plumbing related issues, happen quite infrequently are very difficult to predict. We would never have rented the Zen House knowing there was an issue. Once you arrived we asked that you not flush the toilet and said that the problem would be resolved as soon as we could get the professionals in. The shower, soaking tub, and sinks in the main house are on a different system and could have been used. The next morning we moved you to another rental as soon as it was available. We then brought the plumber in, had the bathrooms cleaned and sanitized and made the house ready for your re-arrival the next day. The bathroom in the garage was locked because it was the cause and location of the problems and required additional work to correct the issue. There were two other usable bathrooms. You chose not to return and we issued you a full refund, provided free alternate housing for you and apologized profusely about the circumstances around your visit. In addition to what we provided you during your stay you also wanted us to purchase a weekend for you at another vacation rental during winter break. We felt that was unreasonable. We are sorry that that was not sufficient for you. The lack of communication came on the third day when you left me seven increasingly dramatic messages while I was hiking and out of cell phone service. Had all those calls been directed to our local property manager, as per your instructions, she could have helped you in a timely manner.
As for the future - we are looking into a monitoring system of some sort to help avoid this kind of problem should it arise. We are always looking for ways to improve the quality of the Zen House experience.
Beach access 200 ft, miles of wide, white, sandy beaches, Romantic Beach walks.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
$125 - $250/nt
**FREE NIGHT SPECIAL!**
Sweet Homes Rentals offers a ''Rent 2 nights and receive your 3rd night FREE!'
From Oct. 1st - May 31st. Your third night is FREE! - excluding holidays & spring
Call or email SWEET HOMES RENTALS for free night coupon code.
Free Night is NOT included in the quoted total from this site.
So please send inquiry for exact pricing
The lowest listed rate is free!