Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Right ON Ocean! FREE BeachService-MUST BOOK MAY-Make a Deal! Sand Dunes below!!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,163 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + 1 Bunk area, Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

1 OF ONLY 10 UNITS DIRECTLY ON THE GULF!!

FREE BEACH SERVICE - PLATINUM FURNISHINGS- SPECTACULAR BEACH HOME – FAMILY FRIENDLY RESORT – LAZY RIVER – SPLASH GARDENS – MORE!

Come visit this incredible condominium at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort on Okaloosa Island which is directly ON the gulf. Our beautiful 4th Floor condo has the BEST view at Destin West! Our wrap-around porch gives you a 180 degree of spectacular views facing breathtaking sunrises. You cannot beat our condo at this wonderful family-friendly resort. We welcome you at our home. You won’t regret vacationing at this wonderful place.

Our condo is a truly unique ocean front vacation condominium with a wrap around balcony and full views to the East for those who enjoy morning coffee and watch the sunrise. Later in the evening, enjoy sunsets from the front of the balcony as it faces toward the South/Southwest. The sands of the emerald coast are directly below your Destin West vacation home on the Gulf. Again, there are only 10 condos directly on the ocean at Destin West with unobstructed views.

Our home rivals the most appointed condos at Destin West with designer touches throughout this elegant vacation home. Lively, radiant colors, crown molding, and other stylish touches grace the unit. Every piece at our Destin West Home away from home has a purpose and reflects the care taken to outfit this beautiful condo. Keen attention has been taken to harmonize every color, furnishing, and all accessories to make this unit a beautiful and relaxing environment for you to experience. Relax in the oversize couch, while recessed lights set the mood for the evening or lie back on our comfortable bed in the master and listen to the wave’s crash.

Because we want our guests to be comfortable, we ensure its furnishings are kept in excellent condition and respond to our guest’s reviews. In 2016 alone, we’ve had a custom tile shower installed and gave the master bedroom a lot of attention. There, the king size bed now sports a comfortable new pillow top mattress with new linens, the area rug was replaced, and the television was updated. The condo is continually upgraded and cared for meticulously with one goal in mind — your comfort at all times! This condo is in high demand from repeat guests that know exactly what to expect with features that include: crown molding, bead board walls, incredible art, tile floors throughout, butcher block and designer granite countertops in kitchen, and big screen flat panel HDTVs with HBO for movie lovers. Come see for yourself! We strive to make this condo the best at Destin West!

Think of our condo as your 'home away from home'. Walk out to your balcony and the only thing you can see is the tranquil gulf for miles. On the gulf, it is not unusual to see dolphins swimming just a few hundred yards from you. And of course our condo balcony could not be any closer to the ocean with 180 degree views of the Gulf. So you are sure to catch some spectacular sights. We also provide COMPLIMENTARY BEACH SERVICE--A $175 VALUE which is a fee set-up of 2 canvas beach chairs and 1 umbrella! No need to drag your chairs and umbrellas to the beach.

But not only is our condo and the beach wonderful, but we have the most amazing amenities here at Destin West. Your kids will have so much to do you will never have to leave. The 700 ft. floating lazy river on the bayside is truly unique to Destin West Beach & Bay Resort. There is a zero entry pool that leads to the lazy river where even the smallest of children can frolic and play. Surrounding the lazy river are 2 large spas placed amid the tropical palms, as well as a waterfall pool (heated in the winter).

Directly on the beachside and just steps from our condo once exiting the elevator is the 5,000 sq ft pool. This pool is the largest on the Florida Panhandle. There is a kiddy pool and a hot tub on the beachside as well. Additionally, there is a smaller, quainter Villa pool by the front entrance. This is also heated seasonally and is outside.

And, if all of this is not enough, the kids also have a splash park to entertain themselves. This is located directly on the beach and next to the beachside pool. A splash park is just that, a park that shoots, squirts, and spills water out of fun crabs, towers, contraptions, and more. And we haven't even gotten to the beach yet. Once you arrive at the beach, you will find the friendly attendants ready to seat you in your complimentary full size umbrella and 2 beach chairs. This is a $175 SAVINGS FOR YOU!!

And we have more condos

.

CONDO AMENITIES:

* 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bunk area, 2 Baths

* Master Bedroom - King Bed, Private Bath with Shower and Garden Tub and LCD-TV

* Second Bedroom - Queen Bed, Private Bath with Shower

* Bunk Area with 2 TWIN Bunk Beds, dresser, LCD-TV and DVD

* Living Room - Couch converts to Queen Bed

* Maximum Occupancy 8

* 4th floor 180 degree beach views

* Full size Kitchen: Granite countertops, Refrigerator with ice maker, Dishwasher, built in Microwave along with cooking utensils and tableware

* Stackable Washer and Dryer

* Cable Internet: Wi-Fi. Bring your Laptop

* Secure covered garage accommodating 2 cars

* Cable 50' Flat Screen HDTV & HBO in living room

* Cable LCD TV in second bedroom

* DVD/CD Player in living area

DESTIN WEST BEACH & BAY RESORT AMENITIES:

* 5,000 sq. ft. pool

* Kids Splash Park

* 3 Hot Tubs located on the property

* 700 ft. floating lazy river

* 3 Pools (Main Pool, Villa Pool, Waterfall Pool)

* 2 Kiddy Pools (6' deep round Pool & Zero Entry Lazy River Pool)

* State of the Art Fitness Center

* 4 Charcoal Grills

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

* 11% Florida Sales tax not included in rates above

* $110 not included in rates above (Cleaning Fee)

* $250 refundable deposit (refunded within 14 days of departure)

* 25 years old to rent

* NON Smoking condominium

* NO PETS

Keywords: Condominium, DIRECTLY ON the BEACH, Family Friendly, Beach Front, 3 Pools and 3 Hot tubs, Lazy River, Gym, Covered Parking, and Kiddy pools

More Details

Property Manager
Shelley Tumlin
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Shelley Tumlin

We purchased this condominium to share with our children and extended family. Our kids play for hours on the beach and we never get tired of the beautiful sunsets, sugar white sand and emerald green waters found in Destin, Florida!

Shelley Tumlin purchased this condo in 2013

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great, great girls trip here this weekend. Everyone ooo'd and ahhh'd over the unit's decor. We will hopefully spnd much more fun weekend in 401. Thank you for sharing!

Kelley Marty Ashley Diana Angela Rachel Dara and Amy

Jackson, MS
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 14

Amenities

Okaloosa Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1163 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Full size King Bed with comfy Mattress, Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Large Queen Sofa converts into a Queen size bed., Bunk Beds (1) Two Full Sized Twin Built in Bunk Beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Your stay is highlighted with Free Beach Service with two chairs and large beach umbrella (March-October).

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

Right ON Ocean! FREE BeachService-MUST BOOK MAY-Make a Deal! Sand Dunes below!!!
average rating of 4.7454543 based on 69 reviews
5

Spectacular Views

  • 5 of 5

The views from #401 wrap around balcony can't be Beat! You can watch the sunrise and the sunset along with watching the dolphins in the morning from this condo. When it was too cool for the beach, the balcony was the place to be. We were very happy with all the accommodations and the proximity to restaurants and shopping. Very clean, bright and beachy decor. Shelley was the greatest to work with. She was very quick to respond to any inquiries that we had.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Sue, It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband. I am so glad you enjoyed the condo so much! I appreciated your husband pulling me aside and telling me how clean the condo was when you arrived. Thanks again for choosing our condo and I do hope you will return again some day. Sincerely, Shelley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice Condo.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the condo and can't wait to come back with the kids. Only complaint was Master bedroom ceiling fan was loud. We like using the fans to help cool the condo. The condo was clean and well stocked with what we needed. Best trip yet.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Jason! I am so glad you and the kids enjoyed the condo and will be back! I am also pleased that you found our condo to be clean and well-stocked. I will definitely have the fan looked at and fixed. I am so sorry, I was unaware that it was loud. Maybe a screw needs to be tightened. Please let me know if you have any concerns during your stay next time and I will take care of it immediately for you!! :) We want to make everything perfect as possible for our guests. Thanks again for being a great guest and I look forward to having you again! Sincerely, Shelley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Your condo was so bright and beautiful Had a great view of the ocean. We would definitely stay there again

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Linda..I am so glad that you enjoyed our condo. Thank you for booking with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Shelley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Holly Springs, MS
3

Not up to same level as previous stay

  • 3 of 5

Condo was not clean upon arrival, had to get cleaning crew to come back out to mop and vacuum floors. The patio door lock was broken the entire time we were there and the smoke detector started malfunctioning as well. Oven takes about an hour to preheat to 425 degrees and doesn't cook at normal direction times; therefore, have to cook longer and keep an eye on what you are cooking! Allegedly there's a $100 discount for repeat customers, but that was not the case. Love the location and amenities of the property but may need to find a different condo to stay in next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Matt, I am so sorry. I was unaware of many of the things you left in our review. If I had known, I could have taken care of everything you listed. We try our best to make our guests stay as perfect as we can. Let me clarify, the entire condo was clean upon your arrival. I received an email from you the next morning noting that sand was in a bathroom and the bottoms of your feet were dirty. I sent a crew member over to re-clean your floors that day and apologized. I texted and asked if you noticed a difference in the floors and you replied “Oh yeah!” You later emailed that you found the lock to the sliding door broken and behind our tv, and that “you were just letting me know”. That translated to me you were not worried about it ; however, I immediately ordered a new handle/lock. We had to wait for it to ship and unfortunately it came after you departed. It has since been installed. The last 3 issues you never notified me of and I’m not exactly sure why? We keep extra batteries in the condo for smoke detectors in case they beep due to batteries dying. I could have easily remedied this for you. I did not know that our oven was taking so long to heat. I will have that checked now that I know there is a problem. Lastly, I do give return guest discounts. You submitted a “Book Now” through VRBO without a message. I have 24 hours to “accept” or “decline” and accepted the booking which automatically fills in the total rental amount. I failed to remember that you were one of my return guests. I have many inquiries and requests with more than one condo. It is easy for me to forget unless I am reminded. I am sorry that you didn’t know to call or email me back as I could have easily adjusted your quote. You had a great time last year at this very condo with no complaints and I immediately took care of 2 issues you made me aware of this year. We try to catch everything in the condo, but if we don't, we try to remedy the issues as quickly as possible. I hope you will reconsider giving us another chance. All our best, Shelley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
College Station, TX
5

Destin West Beach Resort, 401

  • 5 of 5

401 is a great condo. This is our second time we have visited and absolutely love it. It is the perfect size for the 4 of us (we are a family of 4 with 2 young adult children). The kitchen is stocked with everything we need and having the washing machine in the condo is essential. The condo is always clean, well maintained and we love the colors, very relaxing and beachy. The location is perfect as well. We love looking out at the ocean, great views from both the bedroom and living room, along with the wrap-around deck; and since the condo is on the corner it is very quiet. Having the beach umbrella and 2 chairs come with the condo is a great perk as well. Love the beach! We were able to watch the fireworks right from our deck.

We would choose to come back again in the future. Absolutely loved our vacation this year! Thanks so much for such a great place. Shelly does such a great job, everything is always perfect. We would recommend this condo to all our friends.

David and Lara Anderson

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi David and Lara, Thank you so much for coming again to our condo. We always enjoy having you. I am so glad that you found everything to meet your expectations again for your second year in a row. We love being able to provide families and people with a wonderful vacation. I look forward to having you again soon! Sincerely, Shelley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Right on the beach and gulf!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location! We had a less than 5 minute walk from the condo to the beach (including the elevator ride). Great location for Boardwalk restaurants (5 minute walk) and Wednesday night fireworks from the pier (then Destin was Thursday night and could still be seen from the beach while ghost crabbing ).

Only complaint, not Shelley's problem, but the association they pay for and/or the county beach authority does not check the private beach for loiterers who leave their pop up tents, chairs and toys all week long. I've never seen this before, and been to tons of beaches. We had a horrible morning storm that blew two tents into the protected dunes area. The people took the broken structures out (I mean pieces of metal hanging and the tents couldn't even stand straight) and they repositioned them for the week. Wish the owners told the association they pay for that this is unacceptable and an eye sore for not only their rental property but also our vacation. We paid enough for a great view, not a landfill. Hopefully this could be remedied because I would totally rent again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11.14 Miles
Northwest Florida Regional Airport (VPS)
Nearest Beach
You are RIGHT ON the beach!
Car: not necessary

Gulfarium, fishing pier, convention center, Theaters, Malls, Sea Doos, Deep Sea fishing, You name it, it is available, Florida Panhandle vacation rental, Destin, Florida Vacation Rental, Okaloosa Island, Vacation Rentals, Fort Walton Beach, condo Rental, Florida condo rentals

Photos

Rates & Availability

Okaloosa Island Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
'17 Spring
Apr 27 2017 - May 19 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,885
 
 
'17 Summer
May 20 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,930
 
 
'17 Peak Summer
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 4 2017
6 night minimum stay
$3,390
 
 
'17 Aug 5-11
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,930
 
 
'17 Late Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$269
$1,885
 
 
'17 Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$238
$1,665
 
 
'17 Late Fall
Oct 28 2017 - Dec 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$186
$1,299
 
 
'17 Xmas/New Years
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,525
 
 
'18 Spring Break
Mar 31 2018 - Apr 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,499
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.0%

We require a $250 refundable security deposit. The rental amount is divided in half with the first 50% due 60 days prior to arrival and the final 50% due 14 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable