Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charleston Coast Vacations 'Serenity Sunset' ~~~ Private Pool & Dock ~~ Amazing Sunset Views ~ 6 Bedrooms

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Extra bed in Upstairs Nook, 8 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

'Serenity Sunset'

15 Red Sunset Lane

Folly Beach SC 29439

**$250 Pool Heating Fee Applies**

If you wish to have the pool heated, you must notify our office or log into your reservation and pay the fee prior to your arrival.

This beautiful four-story home is situated on the beautiful Folly River while remaining only a short stroll to the beach and is a perfect accommodation for large groups that would like a taste of luxury in their vacation. The house is decorated in a comfortable array of soft tones and modern conveniences that mixes tile, carpet and wood to create a modern home with a splash of nostalgia. Almost every room comes with a flat screen television while conveniently placed wooden walls help keep a foot in the bygone beach days.

Every level of the home, including the open-air, two car garage on the bottom, has an uninhibited view of the Folly River. Each story above the garage has a balcony that overlooks the river. Also on the bottom level, surrounded by convenient tile work is a heated pool that also shares the river view and provides access to the private boat dock. Climb the stairs to the first level of habitation which houses the open kitchen, dining room and living room, off of which is the very spacious, screened in balcony complete with a built-in fireplace perfect for a chilly and/or romantic evening. The master bedroom is also located on this level. It boasts private access to the balcony, a very spacious bathroom and an enormous stand-up, shower with three shower heads.

Above that is another level dedicated to bedrooms. Two of the bedrooms have private access to the river view balcony and all have their own bathrooms. The top level is an exciting lounge, also with access to the wonderful balconies, and a felt poker table for some extra action. Of course, the lounge also comes equipped with its own ½ bathroom and a flat screen television mounted on a wall. Furthermore, another bedroom and full bath is also located on this floor. This home is located well away from Center Street and off the main road which means the sound of wind working over the river and through the marsh grasses could only be broken by diving pelicans and the occasional boat. It is also located very close to the Charleston County Park area which is one of only two small sections of beach that is watched by lifeguards in the summer months.

Please Note: This home has a private, home-owner use only elevator, and it is not available for guest use.

Visiting historic Charleston for the day? Walk the Charleston Battery, explore the Market, picnic at Waterfront Park, or take a horse drawn carriage ride through the Holy City. If there is time, visit an antebellum mansion or Plantation, adventure to the Aquarium, stop at a local hot spot to catch the latest Charleston gossip, or take a sunset cruise in Charleston Harbor. Already a seasonal Charlestonian? Call our complimentary concierge for current local tips, reservations for dinner, tee-times at your favorite golf course, and much more!

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Charleston Coast Vacations by dunes properties
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Charleston Coast Vacations by dunes properties

Charleston Coast Vacations offered by dunes properties is Charleston's highest rated vacation rental firm. We offer approximately 80 privately owned vacation rentals across the Charleston Coast.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Everything was just right - even the "new to us" bed in the little alcove on the top floor. That made it just perfect. Oh, it's hard to pick just one moment - relaxing in the rockers on the lower deck, watching the children in the pool, sitting - all of us - around the big table in the dining area, sharing stories and hopes and laughter! Walks along the beach, birdwatching... We are scattered during the rest of the year, so our "beach week" is particularly precious. Thank you for making this our favorite place.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 4

Map

Amazing Beach House near the Ocean and on Folly River!

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Charleston Coast Vacations 'Serenity Sunset' ~~~ Private Pool & Dock ~~ Amazing Sunset Views ~ 6 Bedrooms
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
5

Fun for all at Folly

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 11 with 4 generations thoroughly enjoyed our stay at appropriately named Serenity Sunset! Some of our favorite moments (besides the beautiful sunsets) included: rocking in the rocking chairs on the screened porch, fishing off the dock, swimming in the pool (especially loved by our 2 granddaughters), watching porpoises and pelicans, eating together around the large table, working together in the well stocked large kitchen (including 2 refrigerators!), and biking in the town and on the beach. The closest beach access is only a 5--7 minute walk away, and the Folly County Park beach is also close by, where we really enjoyed looking for shells at low tide. The rooms have been recently painted and it is a lovely beach home with high ceilings and lots of bathrooms for everyone!

Only two suggestions for improvement: use of elevator (although the steps were good exercise) and replace soft mattresses with firmer mattresses.

Thank you for allowing us to stay in this wonderful home; this was one of our best vacations ever!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sunsets and kayaking were awesome

  • 5 of 5

Close to everything

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great views but house needs LOTS of TLC

  • 4 of 5

I would give this 3.5 stars if I could. As other reviewers who have more recently stayed in the house have said, it had all the space we needed -beautiful water views with great bedroom layout and a spacious kitchen and dining with large dining table BUT needs a lot of TLC.

We were there for my son's wedding with all of our children and their families. Upon our arrival, we were "greeted" with a dirty outside staircase, cobwebs inside and out and the kitchen counter was sticky. The screens on the porch need to be repaired as well.

I had secured our reservation one year in advance and wished that I had checked the more recent reviews of the fall of 2016 prior to our arrival.

Improvements needed-I would highly recommend that the owners replace all of the mattresses as they were extremely soft ( my son-in-law thought that he was sleeping on a waterbed😳) Also the dishwasher situation has yet to be addressed as it is still a challenge to close.

There are many nice qualities in this rental but is overshadowed by the lack of cleanliness.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
4

House was great with beautiful views but needs work

  • 4 of 5

The house was just what we needed as far as space and beautiful water views with great bedrooms and spacious kitchen and dining with large dining table. We were there for my son's wedding and were housing several family members arriving for the wedding. But we did have a couple of problems. When we arrived all the bedding on the 2nd floor was laying in the floor and the office had closed. The 1-888 # was not helpful at all and said we would have to wait until the next day when someone was back in the office, which was unacceptable as I had family coming in that night to occupy the beds with no bedding. So I give the customer service 1-888# a big fat ZERO. However, Craig at the Dunes office called me back and immediately contacted the maid service and found out there was a miscommunication as they had cleaned the house and made the beds and when someone came to replace the mattress pads, they left the bedding off. Maid service came back over at 7:00 pm and made the beds with fresh linens and vacuumed that floor, for which I was very grateful. Then that night the smoke detectors beeped all night. Again I called the office, and Craig had maintenance come and fix the detectors that day. So Craig at the office at Dunes properties was great and helped make our stay as good as it could be by addressing the issues. We all loved the house, however, from what I understand, it had been vacant awhile and it showed. It needs a deep cleaning. It was superficially cleaned and the downstairs floor had sticky spills on it, the counters were not wiped thoroughly and it was dusty. Including webs on the rockers outside and the steps up to the front door. Also the dishwasher is old and had to slam several times to get it to stay closed and has broken parts. The house just needs some TLC and updating, but it is spacious, beautiful and a beautiful location and served the purpose for what we needed for the wedding weekend. I would use it again.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

The house noone cares about

  • 1 of 5

This house has great size rooms and was great for a party of 12; however, it is poorly maintained and needs a very thorough cleaning and repairs. Broken screens on porch, broken dishwasher and who wants to wash dishes for 12. Major problem was mold growing on the 4th floor and in bathrooms. Definitely needs a very thorough cleaning! The stove and all mattresses need replacing. Grass needs cutting and yard needs to be sprayed for mosquitos. Definitely would not rent again nor recommend you do either.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. First, I can assure you the owner of this property takes a lot of pride in maintaining it and it is a well cared for home. In fact many updates are completely yearly based on guest feedback. A repaint of the property is planned for this off-season. The dishwasher does work. We confirmed this after your departure. If you had trouble with it, we could have assisted you during your stay had we received a phone call. The mildew growing on the ceiling was taken care of. It is something that happens every so often when the humidity is high and the ventilation in that particular bathroom is low. For the cleaning, we apologize if you didn't find it satisfactory. Often, right after the busy summer season, the house is in need of a deeper cleaning than usual. However, we typically receive great feedback about the cleaning company that services this property. You also visited right after one of the several tropical storms we had this year, which is why the screens were torn. The owner is working on a screen system where the screens are attached to the inside of the porch vs the exterior, so if they need replacing, it can easily and quickly be completed by a regular maintenance person. It is an awesome house with great views and a TON of space. It's not a 5-star luxury hotel, but rather, a very loved vacation home. So if something comes up, just like it can in any home, we will do our very best to take care of any issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charleston, SC
5

Perfect Girl's Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

This house was absolutely perfect for a friends’ weekend get together in December. The first night only a few of us were there and we sat on the rocking chairs on the screened in porch for hours. After the most amazing sunset, it got a little chilly so we built a fire on the porch and continued in our rocking chairs. When everyone else arrived the next day we cooked a huge brunch. The kitchen was stocked with everything needed. Folly was awesome. We were surprised as they had a Christmas parade one of the days we were there, which was a lot of fun. The weather ended up being really great and we could have gotten in the pool because it was heated, but we chose not to. The beds were comfortable and every bedroom had a huge walk in shower, which was nice! There was plenty of space for everyone to be comfortable. Did I mention how awesome the screened in porch and rocking chairs were?!! We’d love to come back.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • Damage deposit: $3,000.00