Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spring Discount! Large 5-6 BR/3-4 BA 8-10 Beds Sleeps 14-17 5 blks to beach hot

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

La Jolla Gateway House is a large, 3,400 square foot, five bedroom, three bath former Bed & Breakfast home with a spacious layout to accommodate a large group, while maintaining privacy.

You can add "The Studio" to gain another Cal King, sofa sleeper, bathroom and kitchenette.

They can be combined with our adjacent La Jolla Summerhouse (#172680) to comprise The Grounds of La Jolla (#234358) to provide 9 bedrooms, 5 1/2 baths, three hot tubs, one volleyball/badminton court and one Jungle Bar.

Located at the corner of La Jolla Shores Drvie and Torrey Pines Road the beach is only five blocks away with the last three blocks along Avenida de la Playa, home to surfboard and kayak rental shops and great resteraunts such as Piati's, Barberella and Osterio. Or visit La Jolla Cove and shop long Prospect Street in the Village of La Jolla, which is only nine blocks away.

Stay at this charming, warm and welcoming home in an upscale residential neighborhood that is surrounded by trees and has a comfortable sized back yard fancied with the privacy of a relaxing Jacuzzi.

Close to UCSD(University of California of San Diego), Birch Aquarium, the Scripps Institute of Oceanography, La Jolla Cove and Marine Sanctuary, and the ever so famous Wind n' Sea surfing beach. Enjoy a summer in La Jolla or stay for four seasons in this comfortable and charming home located in a world class year round vacation destination.

This metropolis has such greatness to enjoy. Freeways 5 & 52 are just two minutes away providing easy accessible to a large gamut of fun things to do such as....The Gaslamp area, Sea World, seal Beach, the local beaches of La Jolla Shores, Pacific Beach or Mission Beach. Visit the funky town of Ocean beach and the boomtowns of Hillcrest and Old town area. There are many unique shopping areas and eateries. Have breakfast at the infamous La Jolla Cove overlooking the quiescence of the tides rolling in and out. Take a ride along the coast on a beach cruiser or in your car.

Other places to visit are Sea World, Universal Studio's, Disneyland, California Adventure, Magic Mountain, Knott's Berry Farm, San Diego Zoo, The Wild Animal Park, The Hotel Del in Coronado. OR head down south to Mexico and visit the towns of Tijuana for some fun shopping, head a little more south to the town of Rosarito, continuing on down to the old mission Calafia which has been converted to restaurant and then top it off at the little town known as Lobster Village called Puerto Neuvo. There is so much to do and you can do this all from the privacy of your own 'home'. Call now for a reservation.

Keywords: La Jolla, San Diego, Beach, Large, Spacious, Reunions, Weddings,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Why The Owner chose San Diego County

For decades this property was a Bed & Breakfast location, known in the '80's as Hummingbird Haven and more recently as The Little Lodge of La Jolla.

The property is spacious and accomodates large groups while maintaining privacy as there are three seperate 'wings' of bedrooms.

It can be combined with our adjacent La Jolla Summerhouse (#172680) to comprise The Grounds of La Jolla (#234358) to provide 9 bedrooms, 5 1/2 baths, three hot tubs, one volleyball/badminton court and one Jungle Bar.

What makes this house unique

Walking distance to La Jolla Shores Beach and close to downtown La Jolla, yet only one minute from Highways 5 & 52, with a signalized turn lane, providing quick access in and out of the rest of San Diego County

Amenities

La Jolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) pull out sofa converts into a queen size bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Jacuzzi, Whirlpool tub, fenced yard, BBQ

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Spring Discount! Large 5-6 BR/3-4 BA 8-10 Beds Sleeps 14-17 5 blks to beach hot
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
Seattle, United States
5

Great place !

  • 5 of 5

This house is huge and perfect for large groups. Very spacious with 5 bedrooms, charming, clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well-stocked with everything that you may need. Back patio area is fabulous! The jacuzzi was a great hit with all of us too. The owner was very helpful and responsive to all our questions. We had a great time here in San Diego in this house and would like to thank Dan for the hospitality.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You're welcome! You were great guests and it was a pleasure to host you and to help ponit you towards all the fun things around here. I wish I had 1% as much fun as our guests, with the trips to Seaworld (5 minutes), kayaking at La Jolla Shores ( 5 1/2 blocks), shopping at The VIllage of La Jolla (9 blocks), The Gaslamp District (10 minutes) and, of course, The San Diego Zoo (10 minutes). We're glad that you had fun and we hope to see you back, perhaps for this Summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
4

Great for families

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a week with our family which included 4 couples, 2 teenagers, 6 children (5 and under). While the house is not new, it was clean and provided the room we needed with such a large group. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen, while on the small side, provided enough space to cook the nights we ate in. The dining room has two tables and plenty of chairs for everyone. The washer and dryer proved to be very useful as we spent much of our time at the beaches. The outdoor shower and sink was a great way to shower off all the little ones and their suits without tracking sand into the house. The weather was the only real drawback to the house for a few of the days. With temps in the mid 80's and humidity around 80% is was pretty hot in the house even with the A/C running. However, the owner was great in providing us with extra fans and we avoided the worst of it by being gone most afternoons anyway. When the humidity and temperatures weren't so high, we were very comfortable. The owner was very accommodating by providing us with whatever we needed. While it is located on a busy road, there is a sense of privacy because of the trees, etc. out front. Getting in and out of the property was really easy and the location made it nice to get wherever we wanted to go easily. There was plenty of parking for our vehicles (2 large SUVs, 1 small SUV, and 1 4door car). Overall we enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for Work Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

I took my employees (12 of us in all) to San Diego for a work event. Renting out both of the houses gave us room to spread out and still be together. We were able to set up a quiet house for those who like to go to bed early or sleep in and have all of the festivities at the other house. We saved a lot of money by cooking our own meals in the fully stocked kitchens. The houses were well furnished and comfortable. The property was close to everything and still seemed secluded. The owners were very attentive and accommodating. I would recommend this property to any large groups!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rachel, it was an honor to host The Princeton Review. We've had many companies and groups stay at "The Grounds of La Jolla" and we feel like we can satisfy the requirements of work retreats while providing great team building opportunities, such as the volleyball / badminton court or local sports and adventures. Thank you for leaving the homes so clean and in such nice condition. We hope to see you again. Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Los angeles
5

very nice stay!

  • 5 of 5

This is a very simple family reunion home thats large and spacious and super centrally located . We used the great amenities like the jacuzzi and the fire pit. Dan was very accommodating and easy to work with.

We would definitely rent again!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Shainy. Family get-togethers are our specialty and we agree the properties work well for these occasions. You and your family were great guests and we hope to have you back. Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Gilbert, AZ
1

BEWARE

  • 1 of 5

Please be advised the property owner is not easy to work with. He collected a deposit on damages that were existing. He was pushy with our payment and not understanding of our large group. This rental is very dirty and does not meet the description provided. He did not provide adequate supplies such as toilet paper, broom, paper towels etc. The stove had only two working burners and the oven does not work. The BBQ grill was out of propane and disgustingly dirty. The location is very noisy. The only reason we booked here was to accommodate our large group.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is truly amazing. These "guests' hosted an unauthorized loud, rowdy drunken bash drawing complaints from neighbors and causing well over $1,000.00 of damages, including staining and tearing brand new carpeting, destroying a dresser, breaking the wheels off the BBQ by dragging it (with the wheels in the locked position) into the driveway, leaving huge grease stains from the BBQ which they amazingly claim was out of propane (we always have two tanks on site). Also multiple scuff marks along the walls from people apparently staggering into the walls, and much other damage. They completely filled TWO 75 gallon trash dumpsters with empty alcohol bottles during a three night stay. I gave them a break by only charging for about 1/4 of the damage ($250.00) and they had the audacity to dispute the charge through their credit card company. After reviewing the photos (I have photos of this damage and the hundreds of empty alcohol bottles) and receipts their dispute was rejected and they retaliated by submitting this false "review". All four burners work perfectly, and there are two ovens, both of which work perfectly (and always have). I'm not sure what they mean by "pushy" on the payment. It was due when they made the reservation and I waited weeks. I guess I should have seen that as a "red flag". I will contact the guests from the prior weekend and request a review verifying all these items were in good working order. Please keep your eyes open for a review from Lani.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
5

Great Location and very accommodating!

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable and accommodating. Easy to work with. The hot tub is nice. Great place to stay. It used to be a bed and breakfast so there is a lot of room for a big group. It has a big yard for get togethers. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Logan. We're glad you put the Jacuzzi, yard and BBQ to good use and that you and your group had a great time. It's great that you walked to the beach and put our boogie boards and beach gear to good use. Hope to see you again, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

Map

Use of adjacent volleyball or badmiton court can be arranged. Beach gear provided (surfboards, boogie boards, coolers, beach chairs, umbrellas, frisbees, etc.)Kayak & scuba rentals 3 blocks away. Great resteraunts within 3 level blocks. Sightseeing tours arranged.

Backyard bar/entertainment area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Damage Deposit $1,000

Weekends Only are Plus 20%

Minimum night stays are for weeknights. Weekend dates require longer minimum stays, and vary depending on time of year, how far in advance, and other factors. Check with owner for details.

Holidays and special events: Inquire with owner for pricing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.