Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Premier Caribbean Vacation Villa on the Water

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Enjoy complete freedom and luxury in Jolly Harbour, Antigua. This 2 story Villa is on the water overlooking the marina with exceptional mountain views. Spend your days relaxing on the beach enjoying a tall cool drink at the beach side Castaways bar, or play 18 holes of golf at the resort golf course a short walk away.

Restaurants and bars, shopping, tours, casino, dive operator, racket sports, swimming pool are all within Jolly Harbour Resort for you to enjoy.

At the end of the day return to your private retreat to prepare for the next day's activities.

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Owner
Elton and Jayne Ash
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

About Elton and Jayne Ash

We grew up in Saskatchewan, Canada and currently live in Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada. We are adjusting to being empty-nesters as our 4 daughters are on their own now. We bought this property as we knew a number of people who lived here year round and felt confident in the safety and security of the island and resort.

Antiguans are very friendly and kind-hearted. We eventually plan to spend our winters here and use Jolly Harbour as our base to cruise the Caribbean.

We really enjoy the opportunity to share our little piece of paradise with you.

Elton and Jayne Ash purchased this villa in 2005

Why Elton and Jayne Ash chose Jolly Harbour

We love Antigua and the friendly laid back lifestyle. Jolly Harbour is the only resort of its kind in the Caribbean where you can moor your boat right outside your patio. We also enjoy golf and can take advantage of the 18 hole championship course along with the terrific community atmosphere.

Jolly Harbour has everything you need from a fully stocked grocery store to several restaurants and bars along with shops, banking facilities, an internet cafe and rental companies.

What makes this villa unique

The North Beach is only 2 tenths of a mile away, a 5 minute walk from our villa. It is very quiet and secluded. If you want more action the South Beach has Castaways Beach Bar along with beach vendors.

Our villa faces east so you can enjoy the morning sun with your coffee overlooking the marina from the patio, then enjoy the shade in the afternoon.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just thought to write you a few lines about our stay at your villa. Please feel free to publish this review anywhere you see fit.



First, we'd like to tell you that the house was amazing. We found it very comfortable, well arranged and in a very secure area. We were very impressed with the balcony/patio setup right on the water. Sunrises were beautiful in the morning. I also would like to add that I found the shower outside the main door very practical and useful. Also, the house was very well furnished with all the amenities required, making it feel like home even more.



In general, we loved the island. The beaches were stunning and it wasn’t hard to navigate around. Although some of the places on the island were closed due to the slow season we got to spend more time at the beach, which we love. We found the locals to be helpful and very friendly. The Jolly Harbour complex seemed to be a prime location on the island and it was very nice staying there, we enjoyed all the bars and restaurants inside the complex.



Personally, both Enisa and I would like to thank you for all your help and advice on what to do. Your care and attention to detail for the people who stay at your home made our trip even more special.



Thanks,
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
VC Bird International Airport
Nearest Beach
450 Metres
North Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
Commercial Centre
Nearest Point of Interest
South Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
North Beach
Car: recommended

18 hole championship golf course a short walk away. Scuba, tennis, helicopter tours, yacht charters, jet ski all available on site

Amenities

Jolly Harbour Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) The Master bedroom has a 3 piece en suite. The bedroom is bright and airy with a vaulted ceiling., Twin or Single Beds (2) Two single beds in the spacious 2nd bedroom. Also has a 3 piece en suite., Baby Cribs (1) Play Pen/Sleeping bed for infant available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
iPod dock connected to 37' LCD TV

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Premier Caribbean Vacation Villa on the Water
average rating of 4.893617 based on 50 reviews
5

Great location, very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

The villa is in excellent condition with all the amenities you need for a relaxing vacation. any questions were answered thoroughly and quickly. Highly recommend Pelican View for an enjoyable time.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very clean and well kept

  • 4 of 5

Very clean and well kept. Very clean towels and linen. Bbq grill, internet and cable works well.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location with attention to detail

  • 5 of 5

The most relaxing vacation for years. The owners have covered every

thing from detailed instructions from the airport, to milk and cold beer in the fridge on arrival. This made the experience seamless. The villa is very comfortable with everything you could need. We really enjoyed the community feel of Jolly Harbour which is ideally placed for pristine beaches, restaurants at all price points and a good supermarket. We just can't decide which is our favourite beach - Darkwood or Ffryes.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments, you were great guests. We are very happy to have had you stay in our vacation home and to hear you enjoyed Antigua. Jolly Harbour is a great community, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Port Elgin, Ont
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

A very nice well kept Villa. Love the location near the North Beach. Comfortable quiet and relaxing.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

This is our 2nd time at this villa, the first time we were visiting friends that had rented it for a few months...Booking Elton and Jayne's villa was easy and Elton was quick to respond to any questions I had. We were there for 2 weeks. The directions Elton gave us to drive from the airport to Jolly Harbour were great. Crazy driving on those Antiguan roads! The villa itself is clean and has everything you need. If any problems there is a property manager to contact. There is a washing machine in the villa. I used it and learned that I should have run an empty load through before putting any clothes in as there is iron or something in the water that stained our clothing. I ran another load and most of the stains came out except for a couple of T shirts. Also, bring your own detergent pods, there are none in the villa and expensive to buy at the store. There is air conditioning in both bedrooms and the living room and it works well. We would turn it off when we left in the morning. We would arrive back at the villa around 5:00 and found just opening the patio doors would be all the air we needed. We did leave it on during the night in our bedroom. One thing I would do if going back would be to bring my own sleeping pillow. The bed itself was fine. There is a patio off the master bedroom but no chairs to sit on. For us this didn't matter as we "lived" on the main deck which is on the canal. There's a table and chairs there and 2 loungers. We did really wish there were pillows for the loungers. There is a BBQ which we used most nights and it worked well. There are 2 foldable beach chairs to take to the beach with you as well as beach towels and pool noodles. I wish there was a beach umbrella, this would have made such a difference as you can't always get shade on North Beach if you are not lucky enough to find a vacant palm tree and never on South Beach. You can rent loungers and umbrellas on South Beach. We left JH and went to many of beaches and they are all wonderful. If you want to leave JH you will need a car. We rented one at the airport and it cost 691.00 Canadian dollars for 2 weeks. If you don't want to leave JH you would need a golf cart to get around to the grocery store, restaurants, etc.(15-20 minute) walk. The walk to North Beach is only about 5 minutes from this villa. North Beach is very quite, South Beach is where to go if you enjoy a populated beach and people watching. All in all it was a great villa to rent and we would go back again.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was very enjoyable having you as our villa guests and look forward to a return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

A pleasant and quiet location. A great holiday base.

  • 4 of 5

The information pack provided was superb and especially the driving instructions from the airport to the villa. We hired a rental car at the airport and drove with no problems whatsoever - and that was after an 8 hour flight from the UK.

The villa itself is about a mile from the main commercial centre, with its bars and shops - about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute drive. Would it be better to be closer? Well maybe but I guess it would be a lot noisier. As it was the only sounds we heard were the pelicans diving into the water for fish, the little birds coming to our breakfast table for crumbs and next door's fishing yacht (once a day, if that).

The villa has a well equipped kitchen, lacking nothing in terms of cooking utensils, crockery, cutlery and pots and pans. The kitchen units were a little "tired", but its a vacation villa not a luxury condo. There is a comfortable lounge/diner with TV, DVD & ipad dock. Wifi speed was acceptable rather than mega quick, but we still managed to watch tv shows over the internet.The terrace/deck is plenty spacious for four people and has table, chairs and loungers and is right over the water! Even better the terrace faces east and so gets the cooling prevailing easterly winds, and shade in the afternoon. Phew!

There are two en suite bedrooms that are spacious and comfortable, and plenty of towels were provided for showers. The master bedroom has a large terrace facing east but no chairs or loungers were available on this terrace. A pity but no big deal.

The aircon and fans were both acceptably quiet and effective - during the day we didn't need the aircon as the easterly breeze and the ceiling fan were quite sufficient downstairs.

For beach days the owner provided fold-up beach chairs and beach towels. It was a pity that there were no beach parasols provided as many of the smaller beaches had no loungers or shade and so weren't suitable for pale Brits who sizzle even with factor 50!!! Having said that I looked around and couldn't see any for sale.

However the fantastic, quiet North Beach is a 5 minute walk away and there is plenty of shade under the trees, marvellous sunsets and thousands of beautiful shells - far better than the more commercial South Beach.

The villa has a "rustic" feel to it. Think plaster applied with a trowel rather than fine skimmed - and this is complemented by the owners' art collection which is best described as vibrant vernacular and very Caribbean. We had a great stay, you will too!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your candid comments. We really enjoyed having you as guests. The North Beach is our favourite place to go and enjoy the water. As you mentioned, there are trees, close to the water, that provide some shade. We are happy you appreciated our art collection. We have tried hard to collect Antigua specific artwork to give a full appreciation of the island and its people. Hopefully, you can return and enjoy more time on the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $66.43 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.5%

2 nights or 20% deposit whichever is greater. In addition there is a CAD$85.00 per week housekeeping fee + 6.5% tax.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.