Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Affordable Rates, Upscale 2BR in Oceanside Complex!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,460 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This large upscale 2BR/2BA villa is at Hali'i Kai, the only OCEANFRONT condo community within the famous Waikoloa Beach Resort. Besides a great condo, you will get to enjoy free of charge the Hali'i Kai's unique Ocean Club. Perched at the ocean's edge, it features a multi-tiered salt-water swimming pool (no chlorine!), a sand-bottom spa, a gourmet restaurant bar and grill, an exercise cabana with the finest equipment, and UNPARALLELED VIEWS of the Kohala coast, Maui, and Mauna Kea!

The Ocean Club is reserved exclusively for Hali'i Kai rental guests and property owners. Great restaurant and bar, and for the little ones, the top tier wading pool complete with special turtle fountain offers fun and safe water play. Recliners, changing room and towel service included. Truly outstanding!

Our spacious second-floor condo is the largest of the 2-bedroom units offered at Hali'i Kai-- a light and bright end unit with granite countertops and all the accessories and beach toys you could want. No unit above! Both bedrooms are spacious--the master with king bed and large luxury bath, the second bedroom with two queen beds.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

John Johnson
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

About John Johnson

Hali'i Kai at sunset! We live in the foothills of the Sandia Mountains of New Mexico, a beautiful place in its own right. We also love being by the seashore, and searched for several years for that 'perfect place' for a second home. We found it at Hali'i Kai! We love being here together and also sharing this wonderful place with our five grandchildren, who delight in being here. As owners for the 'long haul', we take pride in our home and work to make it an awesome Hawaii haven for our guests.

John Johnson purchased this condo in 2007

Why John Johnson chose Waikoloa Village

Once we settled on Hawaii for our second home, we visited all the islands and found the Big Island most attractive for our tastes. We vacationed at many resorts in the Kona and Kohala areas. All were fun, but when we decided to buy a home, the Kohala Coast was the clear choice, and Hali'i Kai at Waikoloa Beach with its incredible ocean-front Ocean Club was our hands-down favorite!

What makes this condo unique

Two of the most singular benefits of being our guests are the experience of staying in a wonderfully luxurious home in a truly beautiful setting, and the opportunity to enjoy the awesome seaside setting of the Hali'i Kai's Ocean Club--it is unique among Waikoloa Beach resorts in that respect. At your doorstep are also the many amenities of the wider Waikoloa Beach Resort--great dining and shopping at the Kings and Queens shopping pavilions, together with many free hula and musical performances and two quality markets for provisions. The beautiful 'A' Beach is a short walk or drive, and many other beautiful beaches are within a 15-minute drive, including the world-class beaches at Mauna Kea and Hapuna. It's a visit to paradise!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We truly enjoyed your Big Island home. We took your advice and went to Brown's Beach House where we experienced a memorable dinner. Two weeks in your island home was not enough! Thank your for making this experience totally hassle-free and wonderful.
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 29


Waikoloa Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1460 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Spacious master bath with double sinks, soaking tub, and separate large shower. Second bath just outside second bedroom has double sinks and shower over tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2) 2 queen beds in spacious second bedroom., Pack and Play (1) available with advance notice.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Affordable Rates, Upscale 2BR in Oceanside Complex!
average rating of 4.84375 based on 61 reviews

Everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay on the big island and this condo was perfect for our visit! The condo was clean and very well organized with plenty of space to move around. The kitchen was well stocked so we had no trouble cooking our own meals a few nights. Having two beds in the second bedroom was a great bonus for our teenage kids. One reason we selected this particular property was all the "extras" it included - beach towels, boogie boards, chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear, even a cooler - everything we needed to go out and enjoy the beautiful beaches. During the evening we'd venture out to the beautiful pool area and while parking can be tricky, the walk from the condo isn't far. Close to several restaurants, stores and market. Great condo - would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Brian, We are delighted that your first visit to the Big Island was a success and that our unit and resort were enjoyed by your family. Please come again when Hawaii calls! We would love to have you back. John & Dianna
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best VRBO experience

  • 5 of 5

Everything you could need while staying at this unit (even coffee bean grinder) plus all the beach toys, including sunscreen. Owner very accommodating and easy to work with on reservations. Very happy we found this excellent unit.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alberta, Canada

It was wonderful!! Very clean and comfortable, everything was organized and well looked after.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this property, everything was immaculate and so cozy and comfy. Master bedroom and bathroom very spacious and well laid out. Nice lanai as well. Kitchen is a little tight especially when opening the dishwasher and fridge at the same time. The only other complaint was about the inside temp which made it difficult to sleep at night as there wasn't much of a cross breeze and the a/c is set at 76 degrees farenhait. Otherwise we loved our stay, especially with access to the Ocean Club at the end of the road with the beautiful pool area with awesome ocean views. Its a great area to be in, very quiet mostly and private with tennis courts and a basketball court as well. We would love to stay with John and Michelle again , they offered lots of perks in the condo. The Waikola area has lots to offer and is quite accessible to Kona, the airport and the North end of the island. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Linda, Thanks for your nice review of our property and for your input about the AC. Just wish you had let us know your concern early in your visit so we could have remedied it, as we work hard to ensure that all our guests have the best visit possible. In all the years that we have had the programmable thermostat installed, we have never had another guest express discomfort, so we were caught unawares. And we personally find the AC more than chilly during our visits and often turn it up or off altogether, preferring to open the windows and enjoy the lovely Hawaii climate. We have a long-term guest visiting at present and will contact them for their input. We are pleased that you had an awesome visit at our unit despite this issue, and we hope you will give us another chance to please you when Hawaii calls again! Mahalo, John & Dianna
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon, USA

Wonderful place to enjoy family!

  • 5 of 5

We love being in Hawaii and the villa is lovely. It was wonderful to open the doors and windows and enjoy the cross breezes, smell the plumeria trees and listen to the birds. The villa is well stocked and has really nice beach toys, chairs and umbrellas. What a great to stay for our vacation and we hope to go back very soon. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property and condo. Only negative at all is the lack of a BBQ. The communal one is far.

  • 4 of 5


  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Caroline, We are pleased that your family enjoyed our lovely condo and beautiful resort. As you were aware prior to reserving, we do not offer a BBQ. We and our guests have enjoyed using the 3 large built-in gas BBQ's 2 buildings down in the park-like setting of the Coconut Grove (along with the hammocks and picnic tables there!). Our guests have also enjoyed the large BBQ at the resort's oceanside Ocean Club, nicely furnished with picnic tables, umbrellas and awesome views! Mahalo for choosing us, and happy that you had an exquisite visit. John & Dianna
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing ocean club!

  • 5 of 5

Everything about the Hali Kai was beautiful. The condo was very nice and stocked really well. Lots of towels and beach gear. We spent all our time at the pool, and ate many meals at the ocean club. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Brown's Beach House Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Hale Kai Restaurant
Under the Bodhi Tree
Vegetarian Restaurant
The Blue Room Brasserie
French Restaurant
Juice 101
Juice Shop
Kimo Bean Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Hawaiian Restaurant
Bay Terrace
Buffet Restaurant
Ocean Bar & Grill
Lunch Restaurant
Shiono at Mauna Lani
Sushi Restaurant
Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club
Hawaiian Restaurant
Hot Malasadas Truck
Dona & Toni's
Italian Restaurant
Waikoloa Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Honolulu Coffee
Coffee Shop
Island Fish & Chips
Seafood Restaurant
Kings' Shops
Daylight Mind Coffee Company
A-Bay's Island Grill
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Lemongrass Express Waikoloa
Asian Restaurant
Ippy's Hawaiian BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Paradise Pizza & Grill
Pizza Restaurant
Hawaiian Fish N Chips
Seafood Restaurant
Charley's Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Hapuna Beach State Park
Three Frogs Cafe
Cafe Hapuna
Hapuna Golf Course
Waikoloa Restaurant & Bar
Number 3 Restaurant
Lunch Restaurant
Island Lava Java Waikoloa
Pueo's Osteria, LLC
Italian Restaurant
Racha Thai
Thai Restaurant
Pu'ukohola Heiau National Historic Site
al Vicolo
Italian Restaurant
Seafood Bar and Grill
Bar & Grill
Aloha Deli
Breakfast Restaurant
Cafe Pesto - Kawaihae
Family Restaurant
Anuenue Ice Cream & Shave Ice
Kawaihae Kitchen
Asian Restaurant
Kohala Burger & Taco
Hamburger Restaurant
Big Island Country Club
Pizza Restaurant
Merriman's Big Island
American Restaurant
Red Water Cafe
American Restaurant
Hawaiian Style Cafe
Hawaiian Restaurant
Waimea Coffee Company
Coffee Shop
JoJo's Avenue - Shaved Ice & Treats
Hina Rae’s Sugarshack
Paniolo Country Inn
Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Hali'i Kai Ocean Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Hali'i Kai Ocean Club
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
'A' Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Ocean Club
Nearest Point of Interest
"A" Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Waialea Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Hapuna Beach
Car: recommended

Fabulous ocean-side Ocean Club for guests includes swimming pool & spa, gourmet restaurant & bar & fitness center, all with panoramic ocean views!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning Fee $182 + Tax
Resort Fee $20/night $140 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

The Resort Fee of $20.00 per night is for guest use of the facilities at the ocean-side Ocean Club (pool, spa, exercise cabana, etc.). Hawaii Tax ID: 30193254-02.**NOTE**Hali'i Kai offers 2 different 2-bedroom floorplans. Our unit is the larger (1459 sq. ft.): an end unit on the second floor, with lots of light and no unit above. Smaller 2BR's are interior, 1st floor, unit above, no side windows.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.