check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Quite Simply THE BEST Kona Reef Oceanfront.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 9 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 9 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

You have just found your own personal, tropical hideaway …literally just steps away from the crystal blue Pacific Ocean!

This spectacular, ocean-front designer 1BR unit in the Kona Reef Resort was completely remodeled in 2007, and extensively refreshed in 2011 with new paint, new carpet, new appliances and furniture.

A look at the video tour will tell it all. The link to the video tour is located below the map and above the photos where 'Link to our other rentals' and 'Link to 360 video tour' appears. A picture is worth a thousand words, and a video is worth a thousand pictures!

This is lavish tropical living at its best, with a king-size bed (and premium mattress), slate floors, granite countertops, gourmet kitchen with new stainless steel appliances, central air conditioning, Travertine bath with a raised vessel sink, and tropical touches throughout.

The convenient, ground floor location means you have paradise at your feet: Merely stroll 20 yards out from the lanai (patio) and you’re standing in the ocean, with a picturesque white sand beach cove just a few more feet down to your left. Or go 30 feet out the front door to the pool. No winding staircases or out-of-the-way elevators.

As you would expect in a condo this luxurious, it is fully equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable stay: A fully equipped kitchen, with a full array of utensils, including BBQ accessories. A washer and dryer right in the unit makes sure you feel right at home. We expect you to return often, as most of our guests do. The Kona Reef is the most convenient location in Kona, and this is the ultimate unit at the Kona Reef.

So sit back and enjoy spectacular sunsets as daredevil surfers and playful dolphins dodge sea turtles right in front of you,... as all of you keep a keen lookout for humpback whales when they are in town.

And then ask yourself: after traveling thousands of miles to get here, was it worth a few extra dollars per night to spend your time in a place just as beautiful as the paradise that surrounds it? Of course it was, but we are actually priced lower than many other units, which shows that sometimes the best actually costs less.

Since we have multiple units, we are most likely able to fill your needs and the dates that you need. If the dates you want are not available, then click the 'View Our Other Rentals Listings' below the map, or visit our website for the availability of other units. We are likely to have the dates available that you need. Our availability calendar is always up to date, and you can use the 'Book It Now' option to confirm your dates without delay.

Call us at 888-269-3229, or Email us with any of your questions and we will be happy to give you a prompt response. We look forward to having you stay with us, and your return. Hawaii registration #W-01269720-01

Keywords: Condominium, Kona, Kona Reef

More Details

Property Manager
Ken or Dia Peters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Ken or Dia Peters

Hawaii Reg (B) GE/TAT Licensed Hawaii Broker that owns and manages units at the Kona Reef. (R)

Ken or Dia Peters purchased this condo in 1998

Why Ken or Dia Peters chose Kona Coast

It’s by far the most convenient oceanfront condo in all of Kona. Makes it easy to monkey around.

What makes this condo unique

Steps to the ocean and town. Yet also sequestered and quiet. It is an oceanfront hideaway.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Aloha Jon,

We enjoyed our stay immensely. Your unit is beautiful! Loved watching the surfers.

Hope to be back again!

Kelly
May 2008
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Quite Simply THE BEST Kona Reef Oceanfront.
average rating of 4.925 based on 41 reviews
5

Upscale decor and very comfortable, right on the water

  • 5 of 5

Our 6-night stay was over the NYE holiday, and we were in bed by 10pm and didn't hear a thing! This unit is located a short walk from town, yet it feels private and tucked away from the noise. The sound and feel of the ocean is incredible from the lanai, and you can enjoy seeing it get busier as the morning progresses and more boats, swimmers and kayaks get out there. The bed was very comfortable with extra bedding available if you need or want to use the sofa pull out bed. Great shower water pressure and lots of towels. Kitchen is supplied with all necessary pots, pans, etc, but you will need to purchase your own cooking oil and coffee filters in town. We went to the Safeway a few times while we were there, which was just a short drive away. We took advantage of the cheap snorkel rental gear at the office, but the masks seemed to leak. Snorkel Bob's is just a short walk away. Overall, this spot was perfect for our time on the Kona side of the Big Island. The building itself is dated, but this unit has been beautifully remodeled with thoughtful touches. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. It is always refreshing when a guest enjoys their stay, and the time and effort devoted to making this the absolute nicest unit at the Kona Reef. We always strive to make each of our guests feel at home in an upscale condo just a few feet from the ocean. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Everett
4

Great Place!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying here! Booking was extremely easy and everything was as advertised. Checked in Christmas Eve after hours and everything went smoothly. The unit is a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the unit but figured that is what we get for an ocean front room! The condo is super cute! It is small but they fit a ton into this small space. My family consisted of 2 teenagers and 2 adults who all over packed and we still had plenty of space! The ocean view is amazing, we even woke up the day after Christmas with a turtle right in front of our unit on the rocks! The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and even has a few spices. One thing I would recommend stocking which would even be more useful than the spices is a can of non stick spray and coffee filters. The master bed was comfortable however my kids said the pull out couch was less than uncomfortable and the mattress cover had holes in it that looked like bugs had chewed on it. My daughter felt for the price we paid and advertising it for 4 people the mattress should be replaced.

The air conditioner was able to keep up however it was extremely loud, in the middle of the night when it would come on it would frighten me (I am a light sleeper though). The unit is on the patio so if your running the ac you don't want to sit out on your patio because it's so loud. We just opted to open the doors to cool off the unit instead of running the air! Liked that the toilet and shower were separate from the sink/mirror area. A few extra towels would have been nice, they only stocked 4 bath towels and a few extra pillows would have also been nice.

This review sounds rather negative and really we would stay here again, I just want other people to know what to really expect. The only other thing I would say is our son is visually impaired and walking from the parking garage to the unit is extremely dark, almost even creepy at night. Not putting in bright lights might be to detour bugs... just a guess?

Christmas evening we walked into town (maybe 10 minute walk) for dinner with plenty of options of restaurants. I would recommend this unit to a friend! Thank you for an enjoyable Christmas!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are always striving to keep A5 the best unit in the Kona Reef and are quickly moving to address all the issues you have mentioned, although we have to confess we are not optimistic that we will be able to do anything about the lights in the garage. However, please note that the coffee maker has built-in filtering as part of the machine, and if you need things like extra towels you need to only call the office and they will bring them to you. The condo may be modest in size as you mention, but it is serviced with a forced-air central air conditioning system with a 1.5 ton compressor and an array of 18 air ducts distributed throughout the condo to deliver an even blanket of refreshing cool air into every nook and cranny that many guests enjoy and favorably comment upon. Nevertheless, since this is our first complaint about this issue, we will check to see if there is something amiss with the system that may be causing a louder operating volume. And finally, we will renew our efforts to find the most comfortable sleeper sofa on earth. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Paridise on the ocean in Kona!!!

  • 5 of 5

If you ever wanted to vacation right on the ocean in an Awesome Tommy Bahama themed condo this is the one. Only walking distance from the heart of Kona this place was Amazing.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Over 100,000 was invested in upgrades to make this without a doubt the nicest unit at the Kona Reef. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I loved it loved it loved it

  • 5 of 5

Wow! What a great time we had. We were celebrating 35 years of marriage and this was definitely the place to do it. I absolutely loved the accommodations, the location, everything about the place was satisfying. Just beautiful and I slept great! Sitting on the patio, reading, listening to the ocean. It just doesn't get any better. I cannot say enough about the place. I do plan to return to Kona and I hope this condo is available when I do. Thanks Ken and Dia! It was wonderful!

Mahalo, Kirk

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. It is always a joy to know that a guest appreciated the time, effort, and expense that was devoted to make this the most highly upgraded condo at the Kona Reef. We will certainly look forward to your return in the near future. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. When we first checked in, the management company saw that we were staying in A5 and their response was "You have the most beautiful condo at Kona Reef!"- and they were right. The pictures don't do it justice. You can tell that there was a lot of attention to detail and effort put into making this place special. The location also doesn't hurt. The lanai is feet from the ocean, and the condo just a short walk into the heart of Kona. We were there over the 4th of July and got to watch the fireworks over Kailua Bay right from our lanai with a glass of wine in hand- perfect!. Great sunset views as well.

We only had one hiccup while we were there when the A/C unit gave out in the middle of the night. We let the management company know first thing the next morning and they came right out and had it fixed ASAP. We were impressed with their efforts to take care of the problem quickly.

We will definitely stay here again when we are able to come back and have already recommended this specific condo to many people! Thank you for having us!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your comments. Yes, it is by far the nicest unit at the Kona Reef. We always do our best to take care of anything that might go wrong during a guests' stay, (like your AC hiccup) and to provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. We will certainly look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was all perfect! On the water with a good ocean surf view, very beautiful unit!

  • 5 of 5

The property was perfect in every way. Beautifully and comfortably decorated with all the necessary appointments and utensils. Good amenities, clean and good management. Quiet with a surf ocean view. A really relaxing vacation - and we live in Hawaii!!! That says it all.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are always pleased when a guest appreciates the time and expense that was devoted to make this unit the absolute nicest at the Kona Reef. We do attempt to provide everything that could be needed for a comfortable stay, and always look forward to a guest returning, as most do. The Kona Reef is conveniently located just a block and a half from town and is a top choice for a "home away from home" when visiting Kona. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kona International
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
In Kona Town
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
In Kona Town
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Honl's Beach Park
Car: not necessary

Home of the World Champion Ironman Triathlon

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016/17 Peak Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$229
$1,549
 
 
2017 Summer Special
Jun 15 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$169
$1,179
 
 
Ironman Competition
Oct 4 2017 - Oct 18 2017
9 night minimum stay
$299
 
 
Peak Winter Season
Nov 1 2017 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$229
$1,549
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates subject to change until confirmed with a deposit. A 200 deposit is required to hold dates, full payment is due 30 days prior to check in. Since dates are held and others are turned away, amounts paid are refundable only if unit is re-rented, and only the amount recovered would be refunded.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 630 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) a premium, pillow-top mattress awaits to comfort you, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa bed in the living room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ocean Front pool & spa

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties