Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanview *Total Renovation*Great Beach Location*

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Available as a TWO or THREE BEDROOM during Spring, Fall, and Winter Seasons. Available as a THREE Bedroom ONLY during the Summer season.

New den furniture, rug, throw pillows 2016. New floors in living area and bedrooms 2014.

Our villa has been totally renovated as of 2009. New floors through out living areas and bedrooms 2009, completely renovated bath with tumbled marble accents 2007, master bath w/slate accents 2009, completely renovated kitchen including lighting, tile floors, tumbled marble and new cabinets 2007. All new furniture in 2005 and 2006,living room complete with new 37 in HD LCD Flat screen TV(2009) and DVD, dining room, King and Queen bedroom with LCD TVs 2009, Queen with new mattress, new Ralph Lauren luxury bedding for your comfort. New lighting/ceiling fans in all BR 2009, new windows and doors 2009, plantation shutters 2009, pictures - everything you could want in a vacation RENTAL AND, *** BEST OF ALL ITS JUST 75 YARDS TO THE BEACH ***.

Conveniently located to all of the island amenities and the beach, our Captain John Fripp Villa is perfect for your family's summer vacation. This ocean view condominium is just 75 yards from the ocean and is conveniently located next door to the Beach Club, two pools, shopping, Racquet Club, newly renovated Fitness Center, bike rentals, and the Lil' Dipper where you can pickup your pizza or favorite flavor of ice cream.

Our ocean view villa is located on Fripp’s best beach in the ONLY area on Fripp Island with beach available at all tides. You can walk out to the ocean and access the beach using the private sidewalk and beach access. Enjoy the ocean view and breeze while sitting on the covered patio or grilling your favorite foods.

Our villa is perfect for a family or group of friends. Each of the two master bedrooms enjoys a private bath, one with a king and one with a queen-sized bed. The third bedroom contains bunk beds with a double on the bottom and a twin on the top.

Fripp Island is the South's best-kept secret! Located only 15 nautical miles north of Hilton Head, Fripp is a three and one-half-mile-long, secluded, private island, designated as a nature preserve. Just a short drive to some of our country's most historic sites in Beaufort, Charleston, and Savannah, you will soon see why this area has been chosen as the location for top Hollywood movies, including Forest Gump, Prince of Tides, The Big Chill, The Great Santini, and Jungle Book.

You can 'kick back and relax' or choose from a variety of active sports: fishing, golfing at George Cobb's Ocean Point Golf Course or Davis Love's Ocean Creek Golf Course (recently awarded four and one-half stars by Golf Digest Magazine), or play tennis on one of ten Fast-Dry or hard courts. An educational Nature Center is located on the island for kids of all ages to enjoy. Camp Fripp and Wee Links Golf are a must for the kids

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 12, 2018

Why The Owner chose Fripp Island

Our condo is located center island just steps from the beach with an ocean view from the living, dining, and patio. We're right next door to many of the major island amenities - pools, Beach Club restaurant, Island Supreme pizza/ice cream, Fripp Ship shop, and tennis courts.

Our condo is completely stocked with linens and everything you need to cook a meal on the outdoor Weber grill. - just bring your beach towels and you're all set.

What makes this condo unique

Our condo is truly just a few steps to the beach. Has it's own private walkway to ocean crossover and boardwalk to the beach. Beautiful grassy courtyard area where the kid's can play and the deer walk right up to your patio.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This condo is updated, comfortable and well stocked. The location is perfect: steps from the beach which is never crowded, steps from the food court, and steps from both an adult only pool and family pool. Very close to the office where you pick up amenity cards as well. The condo patio backs up to a common area that is relaxing and for the kids, they can usually find other kids to play with! The grill on the patio was excellent. Be sure to look at the book about the coasts' birds, sea life, and beach the owners have provided, it'll open your eyes to the wonderful nature on the island!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 7


Fripp Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:30 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) Bunk Bed has a double on the bottom and a twin on the top.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Four Cable TVs HD LCD Flat screens, Blender, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Cappuccino Maker, Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Linen Provided, starter supply of paper products, shampoo, and lotion are provided, NO PETS, NO SMOKING PLEASE, ********************************************************************, RESERVATION POLICY, First, check calendar for availability, We wwill send a rental agreement to you, A rental deposit will be required, A payment schedule will be included, A $300 fully refundable damage deposit will be due with the final rental payment, After your departure and cleaning, your damage deposit will normally be returned to you within 7 days, Factors that may trigger use of damage deposit, excessive cleanup, spills, stains, breakage, smoking, other, We generally do not have any problem with the folks that rent this property


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Oceanview *Total Renovation*Great Beach Location*
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 25 reviews
Marietta, Ga.

Beautiful, clean, great location

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying here. We have been coming to Fripp for almost 30 years and love it. This is one of the nicest places and very clean. You can see the ocean from the kitchen and living room windows and it's a short stroll up the courtyard past a charming mermaid to get to the nice new beach boardwalk out on to the sand. I'm sure we will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fripp Visit

  • 4 of 5

This was our first time on Fripp. Staying in Captain John Fripp Villas was a perfect location. The unit we rented was equipped to meet the needs for two couples. Location was wonderful, near the beach and pools. We had two other couples who were with us and stayed across the yard. The recommendations suggested by the owners for restaurants was simply great. They truly understand the area and were most helpful in making our first trip a positive experience. We plan to return.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautifully Appointed and Meticulously Clean!

  • 5 of 5

First, know I'm a very "picky" person in where I lay my head -- you will not be disappointed!!

This is a beautifully renovated property that is close to the beach and meticulously cared for. This was my second visit and the owners have spared no expense with their renovation. They have all new wide plank wood flooring, plantation shutters, granite and lovely furnishings to make this a perfect spot for renters. The owners are very accessible by phone and are pleasant to work with. I plan to refer many "Fripp Lover" friends to this lovely property.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loving Fripp

  • 5 of 5

This condo is perfect! Beautifully decorated with all the conveniences of home and more. Easy access to all amenities. I wish we could have stayed another week. We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, quiet resort

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at your condo was everything we expected, and more. All facilities were top-notch and the condo furnishings were out of House Beautiful. Everything was clean as a whistle.

As to the resort of Fripp Island we do have some comments for others. It is almost like a country club operation and we found the operating hours of some facilities, i.e. snack shops, pools to not always to our liking. First morning, when looking for coffee and bun, found nothing open and had to drive several miles to find somethin. We also find the passes required to use facilities a bit of a nuisance. This is a gorgeous island, with all the wildlife around, but is really limited when it comes to dining choices. Service at both snack bar and marina were with a bit of attitude. The nearest commercial restaurant is approx. ten miles away. Great for families with young children or golfers.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awful Experience

  • 1 of 5

I would like to advise anybody who may be considering renting this villa to look elsewhere. In my 25+ years of visiting Fripp, I've dealt with a lot of owners and rental properties. I’ve never left a negative review of any property or owner in the past, but I am compelled to do so today because I have never been treated so poorly before. On the 2nd morning of my stay, I walked out of the guest bedroom to the couch, sat down, heard a noise and the couch gave way underneath me. I informed the owner immediately of the situation and offered time from my vacation to meet anybody they wanted me to meet to assess and rectify the issue. An appointment was made, but ultimately not kept by a maintenance personnel. Now not only was I not accommodated for my trouble (I didn't have a couch to sit on all week), I was told that because I "downplayed" the situation and "did not report the issue right away" I was not entitled to the return of my security deposit. The owner suggested that perhaps children had been jumping on the couch, but my party consisted of just myself and 2 other adults, and none of us would ever maliciously cause harm to a rental property.

I don't know about everybody else but when I am on vacation, I don't spend a lot of time indoors. I arrived later Saturday afternoon and was out all day on Sunday for Easter. I have no idea how this couch broke. I'm guessing it was damaged before my arrival, and either not reported by a previous renter or not fixed correctly.

Take your business elsewhere. I would advise somewhere with a real ocean view. I didn't study every square inch on this couch before I sat down on it (Why would I??) and am now being penalized. If you don't heed my warning, at least cover yourself and take pictures and videos of the items in the condo before you put your bags down. Fripp is a beautiful island, and I will undoubtedly be returning again next year…..just not to this rental property.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In all my years of renting our condo, we have never kept anyone's deposit for damages. The renter reported the damage on Monday after checking in on Saturday. The reported damages were said to be - maybe a spring was broken. We were not aware of the extent of the damage until we arrived at Fripp the next week. The sofa was only a year old, having been purchased the past December. After taking the sofa to an upholster, we were told that he had never seen such structural damage and said he couldn't even imaging how such damage occurred - perhaps kids jumping on the sofa. We had to replace the sofa(not possible to repair) and matching love seat at a cost of over $2000. This renter was part of a very large party - over 100 people on the island that week. We were messaged privately regarding other members of this party damaging their property and causing complaints to security of others in the group. I feel fully justified in keeping the deposit of $300 which barely made a dent in the the actual cost. I would avoid renting to this person and any member of the larger "family group" that descends on the island each spring.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Enjoy the Golf Digest recognized Four and One-Half Star Rated Golf Course - one of the top courses in South Carolina! Five Pools on Island, Camp Fripp for Kids, Marina, All of these amenities are available with the two Amenity Passes we provide at no charge, Additional cards may be purchased


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $300

7 day rental rates include cleaning fee, and 2 free amenity cards. Stays of less than 7 nights and monthly stay require an additional $95 cleaning fee and amenity cards are not included in the rate. Amenity cards may be purchased through the owners and price is set by Fripp Island Resort by season. Rates do not include tax. Rates confirmed at time of reservation.
Early, Prime, and Late summer season is on a Saturday - Saturday basis only. Some exceptions in late summer season may apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties