Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

***Special ** $685 OCT 14-27 *** 7 nights - Breathtaking Views * 4bdr, fireplace

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 5 Queens, 1 Twin & 1 Sofa Sleeper Bed

Estes Park “House On the Rocks” our Estes Park Business License # 1355

Our beautiful mountain home is located in Estes Park, Colorado and is perfect for families. We are just minutes from downtown Estes and also to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Our home is approximately 2600 square feet and is situated on over 1.5 acres with rock outcroppings, pine trees and abundant wildlife. It is on a paved street and has a large driveway with easy access and a very quiet location.

Four Bedrooms Total - 2 upstairs…one with 2 queen beds and one with queen and a queen sleeper sofa. 2 downstairs…one with 1 queen bed and one with 1 queen and 1 twin. There's plenty of room to accommodate your whole family as there is a total of 11 bed spaces plus 1 fold-out couch. Due to the town of Estes Park/Larimer County, Colorado vacation home regulations this property is limited to a maximum of 10 occupants.

All linens, blankets, pillows, towels, hand towels and washcloths are provided.

Two full baths-1 upstairs and 1 downstairs.

Large family living room with moss rock wood burning fireplace. Wireless internet, Satellite TV and DVD player – with several movies to choose from. Many books to read, DVD movies to enjoy and board games to play. Telephone…local calls free.

Huge deck with patio furniture and picnic table-including charcoal grill and gas grill.

Full kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, crock pot, stove/oven, refrigerator, plates, glasses, utensils, pots and pans. Dining area has seating for 8 just off of the kitchen.

There is also a washer and dryer for your convenience.

The house is situated right at the base of the continental divide and is surrounded by breathtaking panoramic views of Twin Sister's (13,000'+), Long's Peak (14'000'+), and the continental divide itself. Most of the view is of Rocky Mountain National Park peaks.

At our home your vacation will be a relaxing mountain experience. It is located away from the traffic and noise on a quiet paved road. Enjoy a year round Estes Park vacation. Sited on the property have been coyotes, fox, marmots, ground squirrels, black bears, lots of birds and humming birds. We also see lots of mule deer and herds of elk.

We typically book months or weeks at a time. Weeks June to mid October are rented on a check in on Saturday and check out the following Saturday. Full month bookings are subject to a discount. Please call for less than one week bookings.

PLEASE CALL WITH QUESTIONS, RESERVATIONS AND AVAILABILITY.

Keywords: Cabin, home, house, cottage, breathtaking views, view, views, fireplace, fire place, wood burning fireplace, huge deck, deck, large, sleeps 8, sleeps eight, no smoking, no pets, private, views of Longs Peak, easy access, close to downtown, close to RMNP, close to Rocky Mountain National Park, Close to Rocky Mtn National Park. close to Estes, in town, Beautiful, great location, great views, Scenic view, Scenic views, big, large, spacious , quiet location, get away, cabin get away, four bedroom, 4 bedroom, 2 full bath, two full bath, secluded very quiet

More Details

Owner
Ed or Aaron Acela
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Ed or Aaron Acela

My Wife, Father and I purchased our home in Estes Park in October of 2000. My father had traveled to Colorado many times with his parents as a kid. When he shared the mountain experience with me for the first time I knew I would always come back. We chose Estes Park as the people here are great and the atmosphere in town is very warm and inviting. In the spring there is lush green and wildflowers. Summer offers beautiful scenery and cool mountain air. Fall abounds with golden aspen and wildlife to include elk, deer, rabbit and even the occasional bear. Winters are mild and there is even downhill skiing and snow boarding within an hours drive. With just five minutes to downtown Estes or the entrance to RMNP we knew this was home.

Ed or Aaron Acela purchased this house in 2000

Why Ed or Aaron Acela chose Front Range

Our family enjoys sitting on the deck and watching the clouds roll in over Longs Peak in the afternoon while our three daughters use grandpa’s binoculars searching the mountain sides and looking at the humming birds. The sky is so blue and the smell of pine trees in the air is relaxing while my wife enjoys a favorite book. Many evenings are spent grilling on the deck and eating as a family at the picnic table. Many nights are spent talking and telling stories next to the fire in the living room and planning the next days hike around Estes or in Rocky Mountain National Park.

What makes this house unique

A breathtaking view and herds of elk in the yard, along with the quiet secluded area and large moss rock fireplace are a few of the unique features of our cabin.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Ed,

We had a lovely time getting to know our future daughter-in-law and catching up with our sons. The view is spectacular as promised.



Our Best,

The Hein’s from Texas
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 41

Map

Nearest Airport
79 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.9 Miles
Smokin' Daves BBQ and Tavern
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
2 Golf courses in town & lots of mini golf courses
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 7,Highway 34 or Highway 36
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
The Otherside Restaurant & Sundeck Restaurant
Nearest Ski
44 Miles
Eldora Ski/Snowboarding 680 skiable acres 53trails
Nearest Beach
1.4 Miles
Mary's Lake
Car: necessary

There is down hill skiing and snowboarding about an hour and 15 minutes away from our cabin. Eldora Mountain Ski Resort is the closest skiing to our cabin with over 680 skiable acres with 53 trails. The ski season is usually from mid-November to mid-April. Please contact the owner through VRBO or call for stays less than 7 nights and off season rates.

Amenities

Estes Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-Out ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , This bedroom also has a private deck.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
  • 5 Queen size Beds, 1 Twin Bed , 1 Graco Pack and Play provided. Renters will need to bring baby/child sheets for the Pack and Play. , 1 Sleep Sofa Bed that converts from sofa to a queen bed. Linens in closet. There's plenty of room to accommodate your whole family as there is a total of 11 bed spaces. Plus 1 fold-out couch, and you can sleep up to 10 total. Due to the town of Estes Park/Larimer County, Colorado vacation home regulations this property is limited to a maximum of 10 occupants.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Arcade type full size 4 player Popeye Pinball Machine for just 25 cents per play.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
26% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
***Special ** $685 OCT 14-27 *** 7 nights - Breathtaking Views * 4bdr, fireplace
average rating of 4.652174 based on 64 reviews
4

Great House, Fantastic Vacation

  • 4 of 5

This trip included myself, my husband, parents and in laws (6 total). We were there Sept 1, 2017 - Sept 9, 2017. I'll start with all the great things, offer some tips and end with only two complaints.

First of all, the house is perfect. The right size with plenty of bedroom space. Two full bathrooms, a large dining room table and two decks made the house even better. We cooked breakfast every morning and nearly every evening for dinner. The kitchen was nicely stocked with good pots/pans and utensils. We loved the turquoise dishes! We found several spices and a couple bags of sugar. Take your own salt/pepper/spices just in case if you plan on cooking. The kitchen was equipped with two dish rags, a couple towels, roll of paper towels, a bottle of dish soap and six dishwasher pods. The coffee pot quit working the first or second evening of our stay. I called Ed and he brought over a brand new one before 7:30am the next morning. The bathrooms only had one roll of toilet paper each, so bring extra!! The beds were okay - would be great if they were king sized. Pillows were good too. The house is located within minutes of the RMNP entrance via Hwy 36. Great location! I only have two complaints: 1) Dryer - The house has a washer and dryer and even had a partial bottle of laundry detergent. The dryer was the problem. It would not dry ANYTHING. We would run our towels or clothes through one or two cycles and then hang them to finish drying. 2) Air Conditioner - We are from Oklahoma, so we know heat. This house does not have a/c. I have stayed in another cabin in Estes Park before that did not have a/c and it was extremely comfortable. This house, not so much. It has a sunroom off the kitchen/living room and it acts like an oven. The house was so hot the first two days of our stay, I was starting to question our decision. My mother in law was miserable. The rest of us were okay because the heat didn't bother us. It was in the mid to upper 80's the first two days of our stay so the house was very hot. We found the exhaust fan in the sunroom and it helped a little.

Overall, this is an excellent place to stay. Plenty of room, plenty of kitchen "stuff" and close to RMNP. I recommend this to anyone looking for a large house to rent!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your feedback and glad you had a good time. Thank You for choosing our home for your vacation in Estes this year. We are glad you had a pleasant stay, it met your needs and appreciate that you took such great care of our home while you were there. Sorry the dryer didn't dry for you. Thank you for letting us know the dryer didn't dry very well. We had the dryer checked out and bought a new and had it delivered and installed at the end of Sept. 2017. It is an unusually warm summer this year and typically it is not this hot. This week it has been in the 40's in the evenings in mid Sept. We have fans in each room and the large fan in the sun room does it cool down. Sincerely, Aaron, Heidi and Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW !! Big Home !! Great Location and Fabulous Views !!

  • 5 of 5

Our family has been visiting Estes Park for many years and will definitely stay here again and are already planning when we can come back!!!

We saw lots of elk in the yard and several deer during our week at House on the Rocks…. The amount of hummingbirds on the deck was incredible as there was a humming bird feeder in the garage that we hung up on the deck. We arrived at the house in the evening and enjoyed coffee on the deck our fist morning and still have the views of Longs Peak in our heads. Very Large home with four large bedrooms and two full baths made our family stay very comfortable. The house was very clean and quite. The home was a little dated (inside trim and kitchen cabinets) and offered everything our family needed and was very comfortable. The location was perfect, close to downtown and just a few minutes to RMNP. The cabin is located in a very quite neighborhood with easy access and had a large deck with gas grill . We spent every morning and evening as a family on the deck watching the sunrise/set and the clouds roll over the mountains. We spent many afternoons hiking in the park and shopping downtown.

We cant wait to come back !!!

The Corbins

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay at "House on the Rocks" was great.

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we walked in and saw Long's Peak and the Colorado blue skies out the family/dining room windows to a week later as the sun came up and lit up the same scene, we enjoyed ourselves. The accommodations; hot water, great water pressure, bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and its utensils and china, and refrigerators made our stay very special. We had family over for supper one evening and being able to sit on the deck looking at the mountains was remarkable. My family wanted to know how I found this special place. We would stay again at 611 Heinz Parkway because it was close to town as well as the entrance to the park. My grandchildren enjoyed the space to play and being able to get to Fun City, the Aerial Tramway and the park without having to sit in the car too long. The bedroom arrangements made it ideal for children because they could be in their bedroom on the lower level and the adults could gather upstairs after bedtime. I am glad I chose House on the rocks. Many family memories were made during our week stay and they will be with us forever.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Judy and Family, We appreciate your feedback and glad you had a wonderful time. Thank You for choosing our home for your vacation in Estes this year. We are glad you had a pleasant stay, it met your needs and appreciate that you took such great care of our home while you were there. You treated our home like it was yours and you guys are welcome back anytime. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next vacation. Sincerely, Aaron, Heidi and Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

GREAT VIEW, LOTS OF ROOM, PROPERTY NEEDS SOME IMPROVEMENTS

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed the great view and roomy house but there could have been some improvements. The house was not overly clean. Shelves and tops of registers were dusty. Kitchen cabinets had very old shelf paper and were not clean. There was a very dirty refrigerator on the sun porch. Deck and outside steps had a lot of loose nails sticking up and broken deck chairs that could be dangerous. We felt we had to clean the dishes before using due to the state of the cabinets and actually tried to clean them up some. Lazy suzan was particularly dirty.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paula, Thank you for the feedback. We have given the dusting feedback to our cleaners. Due to the pollen from the pine trees in the mountains this and dust has been and still is a challenge in the mountains. I was in the cabin the week before you checked in and I watched our cleaners dust the shelves in the living room and I also checked the tops of the dressers after they cleaned the cabin to insure they were clean. I will have our cleaners check the kitchen drawers to insure they are clean going forward. We have a new refrigerator in the house. The on on the sun porch we were going to get ride of but several of our repeat guest asked us to leave it as they also use this one for drinks on the deck. We do keep it unplugged as there is a new frig. in the house. The deck was repainted in August of 2017 and about a dozen or so nails have been pounded down and you were correct the deck did need painting. I appreciate you letting us know about the cracked plastic deck chair and one of the white lay down loungers that were cracked. I had my dad look at the deck furniture and your correct they were broken. Our cleaning staff will dispose of these and I have already purchased new chairs for the deck. Sorry the dishes were dirty; I will also have the cleaning staff look at the dishes to insure they are clean going forward. We provide a bottle of liquid dish soap, have a dish washer for our guest to use and also provide some soap pods for our guest to use the electric dish washer and have a sign posted to please wash the dishes prior to checking out. We do appreciate your feedback so that we could correct these issues for future guest. Sincerely, Aaron
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Still Daydreaming...

  • 5 of 5

It doesn't get any better!

The House on the Rocks was perfect for us. Everything we needed was supplied. The house was clean and we felt very comfortable. For one week, it was our special home. The mountain views are just amazing! The property had a secluded feel and was a resting place for many visitors. We had a couple herds of elk take a break in "our" yard in the evenings. We also had one visit from a small herd of deer. There were also many colorful birds (compared to what we see at home), including a few humming-birds. Lots of great pictures!

The area/RMNP is amazing. We hiked the Deer Mountain, Gem Lake and Ute trails (way up there!). We went horseback riding one day and rented ATV's one day. We enjoyed downtown Estes Park and found ourselves there just about every day. All these great places were just a short ride from the house.

We talk of returning, and when we do, we will try to secure the House on the Rocks!

Thanks for the memories!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for choosing our home for your vacation this summer in Estes. We are glad that you had a great say and enjoyed your time at the cabin, downtown, the hiking, the animals in the yard/birds and the views. We appreciate that you took such great care of our home while you were here and your welcome back anytime. Sincerely, Aaron, Heidi and Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spectacular House on The Rocks

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my wife and 4 adult children . The panoramic view of the Rocky mountains from the balcony was astonishing. There was plenty of private space for all of us.The house had all the amenities of home.My kids commented how quite and peaceful it was and the occasional herd of elk in the yard.Just minutes to the entrance of the RMNP and downtown. My family had a great time here and it was hard to leave. For the size of the property it is probably the best deal in Estes Park. We will be coming back here in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wanted to Thank You for choosing our home for your vacation in Estes Park, Colorado this year. Glad that you had a great say and enjoyed your time at the cabin and the views. Neat that you were able to see some elk in the yard, in the fall they really start to bugle in late September into October. Thank You for taking such great care of our home while you were here and your welcome back anytime. Sincerely, Aaron, Heidi and Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 10.5%

All rentals require a $400.00 damage deposit, due at final payment. This deposit is fully refundable within 7-10 days of Check-Out provided there are no damages or extra charges (phone, etc.).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties