Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ask about DISCOUNTS for open June dates! Walk to PRIVATE beach access

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 2,674 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-18)

Entire exterior of house just painted!

'Shangri-La' is a comfortable, spacious, two-story beach home sits one tier back from the beach and has its own private beach access. This beach access is shared only with a few other homes on the street. Very private and very little traffic on street or on short three minute stroll to beach.

There is ample room for an extended family reunion or two families. Sleeps 12 comfortably, but if needed all three sofas in home are sleeper beds. There are three king-size bedrooms, two bedrooms with twins plus two trundle beds and four and a half baths. Each level has its own living area, kitchen and dining table. Large wrap-around deck offers spectacular views and allows plenty of room for sunbathing, grilling, or catching a great sunset.

Outside amenities also include great yard for kids to play, porch swing, outdoor shower, and grill. House is south of 30A. Walk to nearby Gulf Place to enjoy shopping, dining & activities. Take a short ride to Seaside, Destin & Sandestin. Easy parking for four cars.

More Details

Property Manager
Ashley Cappleman
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

Amenities

Santa Rosa Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2674 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
This home has its has its own private beach access that is only shared with a few other homes on its street.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Ask about DISCOUNTS for open June dates! Walk to PRIVATE beach access
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
Monroe, GA
4

Perfect for family gathering!

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 18 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shangri La. There was plenty of of room for all. Having two kitchens and two living rooms also helped us spread out and enjoy our weekend of game playing and eating. This house is roomy and comfortable and only a short walk to a beautiful beach. We hope to come back again to make more amazing memories together.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Lots of issues

  • 2 of 5

My family and I stayed at this house for Spring Break March 11-14, 2017. We picked this house because it was large and we had a group of 18 people (adults and children). The house is in a good location. Only a short walk to the beach. The beach is beautiful! There are a lot of activities to do (most popular is renting bikes, if you have your own bikes I recommend you to bring them!) people rode their bikes to a little "downtown" area where they have lots of restaurants, food truck and shops. It is only 6 miles from the house. The house needs a lot of upgrades! If you are looking for a nice modern house, this is not the house you want. If you really don't care about the comfort and just want a place to sleep then this would be a good house IF they fix all the problems. On our first night, we had a leak from the upstairs master restroom. My daughter was taking a shower and suddenly I hear my nephew screaming from downstairs saying that there was a leak in one of the downstairs restrooms. When I went downstairs, there was a stream of water coming down from the vent and the ac vent... it wasn't just a leak, it was as if the water was coming down directly from the drain into the restroom downstairs. I did call the Manager, Ashley, and she explained that "this happens sometimes, it has not happened in a while" She was very polite and prompt and sent out someone to "fix it" the next day. Although she did explain to me that she had sent out plumbers in the past but nothing could be done about it and probably nothing was going to be done about it unless the owner replaced the whole restroom. Well the plumber did come out the next day and did not fix anything. The manager did text me to tell me that she was going to send someone else the next day because the plumber could not fix it. By that time, we really did not want to be bothered with it. We were there to relax and enjoy, not stress and worry about a leak. We just didn't use that restroom for the rest of our stay. Another thing was that one of the days that we were there it rained almost most of the day so we ended up staying in to watch movies on our firestick- but the internet connection was horrible, even after all the kids logged out of it, we could not watch the movie because it kept on losing the connection. One of the couches upstairs was broken so we could not pull it out to covert it into a bed. There are lots of bored games in the house.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well where do I start with this one...I'm not sure what would have indicated to this guest that this home is "modern". The pictures nor the description describes a "modern" home. I would highly disagree that it is not "comfortable" I think it is very comfortable particularly for families. In regards to the plumbing issue, let me first say that it was taken care of the first day after this guest left & we have not have an issue since. When she did first call, I thought she was referring to a much smaller leak we had had in the past & until she described to me the size of the leak, later in the conversation, I realized that this was not the same situation. I immediately contacted a plumber & they came that same day (after hours) & he could not find where the leak was coming from. So, they had to send a technician from another company out that had a tool to determine where the moisture was & where the leak was coming from the next morning. The guest did not want them to come that next morning. If you have ever been a home owner, you know these things happen. I feel that my response was VERY timely and it could have been repaired that following day if allowed. I respect that it was an inconvenience and they wanted to wait till after their stay for me to fix it but then to complain about it and accept a generous discount that I gave them was pretty tacky. I have not received any complaints about the internet service. I check it often when I am there & have received a full signal. Often it is spotted or out if there are storms, this is not under my control. Mediacom is the local service provider. They also did not notify me of this problem, so I was not able to contact Mediacom to even see if there was an area outage or if a technician could fix the problem over the phone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location, but property needs some attention.

  • 3 of 5

The house was spacious, but needs some updating. The outside is not very inviting, dirty, needs painting...Possibly ok for the price, but sticks out like a sore thumb compared to neighboring properties. We did like the location and the beach was beautiful! The landscaping on the property doesn't look like it has had any upkeep in quite a while; unkept greenery and shrubs, grass not cut, ant beds, etc. made it impossible for kids to play outside. Needs to have some improvements.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the issues about the outside: the entire exterior of the property has been painted since this review. We do primarily have natural beach landscape, it is not a landscaped suburban yard. It is mowed every other week & we have taken care of the ant beds. Many of the neighboring homes are newer VERY large homes and many are still old beach cottages like ours, there is a mix which is common in the 30A area. I think it's a great deal to pay the reasonable rate for our property & have close to or the same proximity that the mega mansions have to the beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful and cozy Shangri-la

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 18 with 3 couples and 2 single aunts and 10 kids and the sleeping Accomedations worked out perfectly. The house had everything we needed to cook. Plenty of Towels and even a full cannot of games and puzzles. I would definitely recommend this house to friends and family. We can't wait to come back . The walk to the beach is beautiful and the walk over bridge is perfect for pictures. There are also plenty of stores near by as well as restaurants and places to get a drink. We Loved Shangri-la.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta, GA
2

You get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5

The VRBO reviews for this place were highly favorable, it was near where we needed to be for my daughter's wedding, it accommodated our large party, and it was close to the beach. That was good, so we booked it. And the photos on the website looked good. But in reality, it was shabby, very shabby. Showers with duct tape around pipes to hinder leaks (but not stop them). Stopped up drains. Several electric outlets that didn't work. Interior and exterior that had not been updated for years and years. Tired furniture. I would rather spend more and get a better house.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really appreciate the feedback from this renter, however the photos are very representative of the property. I have taken new ones as of 2/1/2016 to show as much of the property as possible. They are taken right from my camera & put onto vrbo, so you should know exactly what you are getting. This is not a brand new beach home with all new furnishings by any means, however it is a very comfortable & clean home in an incredible location that the majority of the renters thoroughly enjoy and many continue to return & rent each year. There were plumbing issues that we had to order parts for and those have all been long repaired by now (this renter made this review 7 months after booking). As far as stopped up drains, in every email I send to renters with check in instructions, it says to notify me with maintenance issues and I would have had someone out asap to fix them, I was not notified of any issues during these guests stay. I am sorry this guest had this experience, I think their expectations for their wedding week were set high and their budget did not match that expectation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for big family

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time I had rented Val Lane and I was very pleased! The manager was very pleasant and helpful. This rental is great for big families. We had 7 adults and 11, yes 11 grandchildren and they all had a blast! They're ready to come back. Loved the easy and short access to the beach. They had just about everything needed for cooking. Beach was great, not crowded and was clean. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Rosa Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
May 14 2017 - Aug 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
$2,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
cleaning $225
Tax Rate 11.0%

Please note that if you book through VRBO, i.e. the "online booking" option and cancel your reservation, they charge a cancellation fee NO MATTER the time frame from the time of booking or the number of dates out from your reservation. It is typically $100-$175.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties