Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cat Harbor House

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4-6.

Cat Harbor House is a contemporary home right on Lake Superior. It is set on a rocky shore of rugged beauty, a short walk of several hundred feet to Cat Harbor's sandy beach. It is private, in the middle of 300 feet of shoreline, yet with an easy access to the scenic drive that brings you 15 miles north east from Calumet, or 15 miles west from Copper Harbor. A woods separates the house from the highway.

The interior is spacious, light, airy and, of course, kept clean as a whistle. It is fully furnished, so you can spend your time as you wish. The cooking and dining areas are open and convenient. Both bedrooms have large closets. - The house comfortably sleeps six, but additional sleeping arrangements are available for up to four more persons. Call 608-255-1767 or email for details. While the living room fireplace provides inner cheer, the living room also provides a perfect view of the sunset. The lake views are immediate and unobstructed.

More Details

Owner
Harold Langhammer
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
October 31, 2017

About Harold Langhammer

We live in Madison, Wisconsin. My wife is a dance instructor at the university and I operate a used and rare book store which this year celebrates its 75th anniversary. In addition, and primarily, we own and manage commercial and residential rental properties, and have done so for nearly 20 years.

Harold Langhammer purchased this house in 2004

Why Harold Langhammer chose Allouez

Some years ago, we began looking for a getaway from Madison. We spent a lot of time in Florida and ranged up the East Coast into New England. Eventually, we decided to come back to where we had first come nearly 40 years before, to this largely un-peopled and unspoiled place. We have become happy "Yoopers" -- you can too.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Harold,

Just wanted to drop you a line and tell you what a wonderful vacation we had in your home! You were right all you need is a toothbrush! When we first arrived I said this must be the wrong address? I could not believe the beauty, it brought tears to my eyes. In the pictures it looks really nice, but seeing it with your own eyes it was so much more than I had imagined. All the conviences of home in the middle of outdoor paradise, needless to say none of us wanted to leave. We have been spreading the word and raving about your place to a lot of people! A lot of people at the wedding that were out of towners wished they had found a place like we had. The highlight of the trip for me was getting one of your tubes out of the garage walking down the boat landing and walking in the water and floating in the tube looking down thru the water and looking at all the beautiful rocks below. I LOVE to swim and could not believe how warm the water was. I am more under the water than on top! I swam out to the first island, it is so peaceful out there, one day a bald eagle was flying over head, it was breathtaking. I hope we left your home as beautiful as it was when we arrived, and hope we have invitations to come back, because we surely want too. Thank you for opening your house to our families, because this was the "Perfect Vacation"! The wedding was beautiful too!!! So many pictures, and so many memories.

Sincerely,

Sandy
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1

Map

Car: necessary

The Keweenaw Peninsula is unique in dozens of ways that will tempt you back again and again; spectacular lakefront drives that prove this is the 'Superior Coast', wildlife as in 'Eagle Harbor', wildflowers and berries that only grow here, lighthouses, boating and boat tours including to Isle Royal, matchless biking, hiking and all-year-round activities on Keweenaw Point. But two things go with you wherever you go; the mining history of the entire peninsula greeting you in old copper sites, the mining museum at Calumet and the mine itself at Quincy; but most of all the lake in all its forms, the reflections, the diving loon, the storms and the calm, the largest expanse of fresh water on earth and, surely one of the 7 wonders of the modern world...you can walk into it with a cup and take a drink. Come, enjoy and remember.

Amenities

Allouez House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Please note: The Cat Harbor House is not wheelchair accessible.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cat Harbor House
average rating of 4.8125 based on 17 reviews
5

Great location!! Perfect sunsets, bald eagles, freighters, and a slice of U.P. heaven!!!

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, tons of supplies and owner is very nice!!! Loved the washer and dryer too!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

The view was fantastic and the house was well supplied with condiments and toiletries.

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was very pleasant, but the advertised WIFI did not work at all during our week. We appreciated Gina going the extra mile to deliver a new LP tank for the grill and getting a new router purchased and installed, even though it still didn't get us on line. Also, the last couple of days of our stay, the house and black flies were all over the interior. We killed hundreds, but they just kept coming in. Could it be through th open fireplace damper? We would book this property again.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate the guest's comments. The guest was quite right about the internet. We asked Cable America, the internet provider, to determine the source of the problem. It took them several days to tell us the problem was internal. It turned out to be the router which was ordered and replaced just as the guest was leaving. Because of this inconvenience we offered the guest a substantial discount should they decide to re-book. The flies, of course, are part of the Lake Superior environment. We have never before had a concern regarding them, and it appears in this instance that the garage door was left open which caused the problem.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great vacation place, so relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This place is wonderful! It is very clean, well stocked, awesome view. Very comfortable, loved having a washer and dryer after hiking, and berry picking. had a wonderful campfire under the stars.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hamilton, MI
5

Fabulous Rental, Awesome Views

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four spent the week at this lovely rental. We had an awesome stay. The place has amazing views, was very clean, and well stocked with every necessity. There were tvs in both bedrooms and a flat screen in the living room. Kitchen utensils and even spices were provided. The gas grill on the deck also came in handy. Location is perfect for quick trips on the peninsula, to Copper Harbor, or the sandy beaches lcoated nearby. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtaking scenery-great condo!

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful destination. There was nothing that was not perfect! Truly-everything one needs is at the condo-including toothbrushes! Even coats! Well, bring your own clothes. Other than that, every day we discovered another need met. The condo itself was so beautifully designed, clean, and well maintained. There is so much to do in the U.P., or-just sit on the deck and watch the freighters and the scenery. Oh my-I want to be back there! Thanks so much for everything, you are wonderful hosts.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dearborn, MI
5

Bumped Up to 5 Stars!

  • 5 of 5

Everything I said in my previous reviews about the beautiful location and wonderful experiences at this house is still true, and now there's a new and very comfortable queen sized bed! Thanks, Harold. We love staying at your house.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $30

$1100 - $1300 (1 week minimum) Damage deposit: $200. Rent and deposit due at time of reservation. Deposit return made within 7 days of departure.
Refund policy: Full refund if notified of cancellation 60 days prior to arrival date.
Payment may be made by check, cash or credit card.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties