Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cape Fear Station on the Commons ~ Close to the Beach

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

659 CHICAMACOMICO WAY 'TWO BY THE SEA'.....Relax and enjoy this wonderful home located in the award winning Cape Fear Station community on Chicamacomico Way. You will be only a short walk or golf cart ride away to East Beach and also the Shoals Club. You will be right across from the Cape Fear Commons Green. Not only is this a lovely view from the expansive upper porch it is also a great place for a family friendly game of football, Frisbee throwing, tag or if you have a gymnast in the family, lots of room for cart wheels!

'Two by the Sea' is a reverse floor plan home with the main living area upstairs that allows you to enjoy the view from a higher elevation and capture the ocean breeze. The master bedroom and bath are located on the second floor with the living area. The remaining three bedrooms are on the first floor. The first floor also has an expansive front porch and a screen porch off the back of the house.

This home was built in 2002 and was originally one of the model homes for the Cape Fear Station developement. As the newest community on the island, 'Cape Fear Station' has become the 'place to be' on Bald Head with it's proximity to the exquisite Shoals Club and the unparalleled East Beach.

If you have never been to Bald Head before, the most frequently asked question is 'how do we get the house?'. Before getting on the ferry make sure you have made a reservation for the tram service that will take you directly to the house along with all your luggage. There will be a golf cart at the house for your use during your stay to get around the island. Make sure to make your tram reservation for your return trip. The tram will arrive to pick you and your luggage up at the house about 30 minutes before your ferry departure. The second most asked question is 'is there a grocery store?'. There is a grocery store on the island that stocks just about everything you may need, including beer and wine. There is, however, no liquor store on the island so you will need to bring those supplies with you if needed. There are also multiple dining options on the island.

Although the golf carts look like a lot of fun to children, you must be a license driver to operate one. This is strictly enforced for everyone's safety. The house comes with two carts, one six passenger and one 4 passenger cart. There are also two bikes in the garage for your enjoyment.

Newly added WIRELESS INTERNET for those that can't get away from it all! It allows you to sit on the upper veranda, enjoy the ocean breeze and get your work done before you head to the beach and relax!

Keywords: House in beach community

More Details

Property Manager
Charla Fisher
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 31, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

"This was a wonderful home for us to come back to after spending each day at the beach. The home is spacious, light and airy, yet it is also snuggled in amongst lots of greenery. We loved the open layout of the second floor living area with it's high ceiling and a large gracious porch where we could sinkin into the cushy chairs, sip our drinks, bask in the late afternoon sun and feel the breezy air. The park across the street was such a great thing to have for our girls as they loved running around there and playing hide & seek while we relaxed and watched from the porch. This was our first time on BHI and after exploring different parts of the island we realized that our favorite area was the Cape Fear point and that we were lucky to have picked such a great home in such a wonderful location!"
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1


Cape Fear Station House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1) pack-n-play High chair also available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a sofa bed in the living room
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Cape Fear Station on the Commons ~ Close to the Beach
average rating of 4.45 based on 21 reviews

Perfect Birthday Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a girlfriend's birthday and we had an amazing time! There were 6 of us and we were all comfortable and had our own space. We also loved that we were able to bring our dog! The upstairs is a great space to hang out; we cooked, played games and spent time drinking wine on the big porch. The island is very quiet and the beach is beautiful. The owner is a member at the Shoal's club so we were able to have a nice birthday dinner there. We didn't have any issues and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a great birthday weekend. October is a fabulous time to spend time on the island. The cooler weather allows you more time to explore and walk through some of the trails in the forest. We are glad to know that would definitely return again. thanks Charla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC

Great weekend

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with a lovely front porch. We spend most of the time on the porch while enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning and could even hear the ocean it was so quiet. The evenings were spent on the porch after a fun day of biking and beach sitting to relax with a glass of wine after a fun day. The furniture on the porch was very comfortable and plenty for all to sit on. Great kitchen for cooking and entertaining. Perfect location with a short drive to the beach on the golf cart. Great sleeping arrangements for all of us. What a great weekend!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
charlotte, nc

Private retreat and great for entertaining

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful quiet home with a beautiful upstairs back porch. Large kitchen, nicely appointed for people who love to cook and entertain. The sizeable upstairs living space lends to this perfectly. The beds were all comfortable with many sizes to accommodate adults and children. Great location with a quick golf cart ride to the prettiest area of the beach. Great and responsive property manager and owners. Perfect for dogs!!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We think the house is awesome and love when our guests agree. The top porch is a constant favorite among our guests and we are planning to have new slipcovers made for our next rental season. Dasher, the owners dog loves the house as well. The park across the street makes meeting furry friends easy. If you decide to return to the island, we hope that you will consider staying at Two By the Sea again.... thanks- Charla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Just arrived tonight for our weekend holiday and very disappointed .

First, we have been provided with 1 towel per person. These towels show their age, thin and one with tears. As a runner & avid beach person, I do take two showers a day. Did not expect the need to wash towels on my vacation.

Secondly, I understand that every persons desired mattress comfort is different. However, for the price we paid, I did not expect to find torn, stained mattresses. Very uncomfortable and of course they must be old due to worn covers.

Thirdly, found outdoor patio cushions to be ripped with foam showing through, and bugs crawling out of the foam. I understand we are outside in nature, but these cushions were ready for the trash many months ago.

Stains in the carpet, worn mattresses, ripped patio's time for some TLC.

Home is up for sale which may explain the neglect.

I have supporting photos to validate every issue I have thus far.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Dynamite, We have received your review. I am happy to report we have had a very successful rental season this year. We have had many delightful, courteous, new and repeat guests in the home. They had very nice things to say about the home and some offered advice on how to improve the overall experience. We value input from our guests. We do agree that the outdoor cushion covers need replaced before our next season. We felt it was best to have cushions for you to enjoy during your stay rather than have none to use at all. Regarding towels, the standard on the island is one bath towel, one hand towel and one washcloth per person as our housekeeper informed you. This is why we supply a washer and dryer for our guests to use. We have never had a guest complain about any mattress in the home. We will look at the photos you sent and assess the need for replacement. Again, we regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Many other guests had the opposite experience while vacationing at the house this season. However, I did offer to reimburse your remaining nights and release you from our contract during one of our telephone conversations within 12 hours of your arrival because it was evident that we could not meet your expectations. You elected not to accept my offer and remained in the home until your planned departure date. Sincerely, Charla
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice house, great location, but showing its age

  • 3 of 5

We stayed this past week, and very much enjoyed the location of the house. Being near the shoals club, and having easy access to both the east and south beach was very nice. We had 8 folks in the house, and we were very comfortable. As other reviews have mentioned, the main living area is very nice. We had groups cooking dinner, playing games, and relaxing and they could all interact which was nice. Morning coffee on the frpnt porch was very nice.

The only negative was that the house seems to be showing its age. We know it is up for sale again, so perhaps it is due to that. There was nothing terribly wrong with the house, but there were many things which felt like it was more an investment than a home:

* Stains on the carpet

* Poor repairs on downstairs shower

* Alot of old/broken stuff around the house (coffee makers, beach chairs, etc).

* Upstairs got a bit warm when cooking

Nothing above ruined he weekend, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. The space was great, it just needs a bit of TLC.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We did have the carpets cleaned after you left. A full season of guests with pets does take a toll on white carpets. There are no broken coffee makers in the home. Those you found in the cabinets are older ones that still work and are there in case the current coffee maker breaks. Beach chairs if broken should be reported so we can replace. This was a record breaking summer for high temperatures. Since the house has a reverse floor plan, it does tend to get warmer upstairs especially if doors are opened and not shut immediately. We hope you will return to the island again. Thanks for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States

Great house, location, and property manager

  • 5 of 5

Only good things to say about this house, its location, and the very responsive property manager. We enjoyed everything about the property. Early on, we had one maintenance issue, but the manager resolved it very quickly. Really, rent this house -- it was great for our group (two families and two dogs).

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Pet Fee $250
Damage Deposit $750

Cleaning fee will be included in the cost of Weekly rentals and subtracted from your final quote. Non-refundable Pet fee is $250 for dogs only (ask about pricing for more than 1 dog), NO cats. Shoals Temporary Club membership optional, inquire for pricing. Ferry tickets and parking fees are also not included in pricing.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties