Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury waterfront home - piano, billiards, fireplace, gourmet kitchen and more!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

The Island Bluff House is the perfect place for your family reunion, business retreat or group getaway. This beautiful home sits high on the bluff above Saratoga Passage and is just 3 miles from the quaint seaside town of Langley.

On the main floor you will find 2 bedrooms, one with a king and one with a queen. The King bedroom opens up to a spacious view balcony that also joins the main living area. This bedroom also has its own entrance to the main floor bathroom. You will also enjoy a flat screen TV & comfortable reading chair in this bedroom.

The spacious, yet cozy main living area has a large sectional and a wood fireplace. Sit here for conversation and to take in the beautiful view of Saratoga Passage. You can also entertain your guests with some music on the baby grand player piano!

On the main floor there is also a separate library with a flat screen TV, built in stereo system, propane stove and a writing desk. Sleeper sofa here with queen size mattress if you need it.

With lots of extra amenities and a fantastic view - this spacious, gourmet kitchen offers a delightful setting to create your meals. Some of its features include a Decor double oven with commercial stove, double door Sub Zero refrigerator, wine cooler, double drawer dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, double toaster, and grill just outside on the deck.

The dining area just off of and open to the kitchen is surrounded by large windows so you can take in the wonderful views while you dine.

On the top floor you will find a private master suite with its own sitting area, walk in closet, coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave, balcony and spacious master bathroom. This master has a King size bed and a large flat screen TV.

On the lower level you will find a 4th bedroom, a large living area with a propane stove & a large flat screen TV. There is also a second kitchen downstairs and a recreation room with a full size pool table. Sliding doors to the outside parklike grounds.

One of the many highlights of this home is the incredible spa on the lower level. Enjoy a steam bath or the Jacuzzi with room enough for 8 adults. There is a propane stove in the spa as well as a CD player for your enjoyment. We have also provided a massage table so you can enjoy a professional massage without leaving the house. Just ask and we would be happy to provide suggestions of local massage therapists.

This home sits on over a half acre of beautifully landscaped grounds. It is a perfect place for an outdoor gathering where you can enjoy the gardens & spectacular view of Saratoga Passage.

Shopping, eating, wine tasting, hiking, biking, parks, water fun etc. is all close by! Shopping and dining opportunities can be found in nearby Langley and Freeland. At the center of the island, and the oldest town in Washington State, Coupeville, is another local treasure to enjoy. A great home base for fun locally, Whidbey Island is also in close proximity to Seattle, Port Townsend, Anacortes, and the San Juan Islands for an enjoyable day trip. For evening entertainment, we have a small town theater that runs current movies right in Langley, as well as various live theater options. From arts, farmers markets, music, and seasonal events such as winery, farm and art tours, to apple pressing, parades, welcoming the whales, etc. there is often many more activities happening around here than one can possibly partake in!

*** Please note that occupancy is limited to the guests on the rental agreement. We do permit small gatherings beyond the 8-10 guests but you must make arrangements with us when you make your reservation. Additional fees do apply in such cases. Please ask for more details. ***

More Details

Property Manager
Patti & Danielle
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

Amenities

Langley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , seperate tub/toilet area, sink with long counter, sky light
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , main floor, between bedrooms, large window
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , just off spa rm. slate floor, large glass tile shower
  • Bathroom in master suite has separate sink and large mirror for putting on makeup, walk in closet, with separate tub/shower and toilet area. sky light. Main floor bath is large, with soaking tub, separate shower, bright - between two bedrooms. Lower bathroom has large shower and if off spa room.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large Master suite w/ sitting area, desk, balcony, tv, bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2nd master, w/ lrg. view window, door to deck, tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , on main floor, elegent bedding on queen bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , On lower level, roomy, with queen bed
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Q. size sleepsofa in den w/ tv, stereo, desk, propane stove
  • 2 King size beds in 2 Master Suites- one on top floor with large sitting area, desk, balcony, bathroom, and one on main floor with large view window, tv, door to deck, and door to shared bath, 2 Queen size Beds: Main Floor Bedroom and lower level bedroom, 1 Queen Sleep Sofa in the den - this is an enclosed room and can be used as a 5th bedroom, including tv, desk, propane stove, door to deck,& stereo
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
Notes:
This is a high quality, beautifully furnished, view home near Langley. Luxurious spa with 8 person jacuzzi and steam room - French doors to the outdoors, park-like setting with great view of water and mountains. Speakers throughout the house, several TV's, two decks plus balcony off upper master suite. The gourmet kitchen is a chef's dream - well stocked and includes a view! Player baby grand piano with fire place in living room. Pool table and extra kitchen and living space on lower level. What's not to love?!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
9% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury waterfront home - piano, billiards, fireplace, gourmet kitchen and more!
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
3

Spacious home in need of some TLC

  • 3 of 5

The home had plenty of room for everyone, a well-stocked kitchen, and a beautiful view. Unfortunately, we had to call about moldy showers and bugs all over the downstairs bedroom (where we killed multiple spiders). We also reported the leaking kitchen sink and downstairs shower, the not functioning instahot, and concerns about the deck railing. We asked about cleaning and maintenance of the hot tub, as we were concerned given the issues with mold in the bathroom, but we never heard back (and therefore never got to use the hot tub during our stay). The cleaning crew was out within hours, which improved those problem mold areas; the repairs needed and questions about the hot tub weren't addressed during our week long stay. If nobody needs to sleep downstairs, the house will be enjoyable enough. With the bugs in the bedroom and the dark, leaky bathroom, downstairs was a disappointment.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house - frustrating system of transport on and off Whidbey Island

  • 3 of 5

The house, itself, was exactly as advertised. It's beautiful, spacious and was perfect for our large family. The only complaints regarding the house was that the foliage needs to be trimmed back as the views of the water were not as sprawling as shown in the photos, and that the hot tub didn't ever get hot. Here was our main concern and something we truly wish had been disclosed when considering a vacation on Whidbey Island. If you are planning a vacation there, DON'T PLAN TO LEAVE THE ISLAND BY FERRY DURING YOUR VISIT. The ferry system is AWFUL! We never had less than a two hour wait each way when going on or off the island, regardless of the time of day. It was five hours out of every day we wanted to visit Seattle, Victoria - wherever. We ended up canceling almost all of our excursions and had to leave the house a day early, losing a day we had already paid for, to ensure we would make our flights home. We then had to book three hotel rooms near the Seattle airport at a significant additional cost. It caused stress, ruined the last day of vacation and left us with a bitter taste for this area. Great house, but if you go, plan to stay on the island where there is plenty to see and do, without the stress and frustration of using the ferry system.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback on the ferry system. We are sorry to hear that your week did not turn out as you had hoped. But, yes, we are on an island so that does typically add a ferry system to your plans. Our ferry system is easily workable if you avoid peak hours, and for many excursions (such as Victoria), you would use the bridge up north or the Port Townsend ferry where you can make a reservation, you wouldn't even use the Clinton-Mukilteo ferry. We certainly did not attempt to hide the fact that we are on an island. I also would add that if you were to let us know that your plan was to spend most of the week leaving the island, we would have recommended that you get a vacation home on the mainland and come visit us for the day. It really doesn't make sense to come here in the summer unless being on Whidbey Island is your main desire. That doesn't mean it is difficult to take day trips when planned, but taking several day trips off island in a short span can be challenging in July & August. (Plus, we think spending time on Whidbey is pretty nice too!) As for the hot tub, we do have a guide at the house and ask that it is read prior to using the tub. We will update the instructions as they seem to have caused some confusion. The trees have grown a bit, but there is still a wonderful expansive view. I will get new photos this month and post them. We are sorry that you had a disappointing stay and wished you had shared your plans ahead of time so we could have helped. For future guests, we are available for any and all questions - before, during and after your stay. Please just ask and we will be happy to help you plan some sightseeing and other activities. We have a 24 hour help line posted at the house so we are available at all times.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grass Valley Ca
5

Very beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Everyone had a great time. Plenty of room for ten of us. Everyone played pool. We enjoyed the hot tub. The living room was comfortable enough for us to visit and the kids loved the downstairs.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Classy & whimsical

  • 5 of 5

This house has so much character. It's clean, updated, lots of personality, full of inside amenities ( hot tub, spa, player piano, pool table beautiful views) outside it has lovely manicured landscaping & the location is just down the road to the cute little town of Langley.

We would definitely stay there again!

My husband and our 4 adult children attended an outdoor wedding of our nieces @ the Fireseed. This house was exactly what we needed, location, comfort & spaciousness,. We were so fortunate with the weather too. It was beautiful...Sunny & Springlike.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5

This house is F A N T A S T I C.

It is H U G E and every detail has been thought out.

Six of us met up from all over the country to spend a few days here after playing in Seattle, and the house is so large that we all could find our own private space.

My 12 year old son played approximately 352 games of pool and I fear he is going to chose a life of pool-sharking. : )

The town of Langley is adorable.

The trails right by the house are incredible but watch out because we think we saw Bigfoot lurking out there.

I can' t say enough great things about this house!!

Thank you for allowing us a taste of Washington island life.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Christmas gem!

  • 4 of 5

Since we currently live in a jam-packed rental house, we had forgone decorating for the holidays. We were looking for a vacation home with enough bedrooms for our family. We walked into the Cliff House and absolutely fell in love! It had been decorated for Christmas so all we had to do was place our presents under the tree for Christmas morning. The view was gorgeous, even in winter: mountains, ocean, sunrises & sunsets! The kitchen was fantastic! We had all the room we needed for many cooks to work on meals. The player piano was a great "toy" for our teenagers to "play" with. The pool table was in constant use and was a funky kind of room. The steam sauna was enjoyed as well. The only downside was the indoor hot tub which never came to an enjoyable temperature, even when left running all day. One night we had a terrific dinner in Langley at Prima Bistro, and great coffee at Sweet Mona's in town. If we had more time, Langley seems like a great place to shop--lots of fun little things to explore.This house was excellent for our holiday situation this year and the managers were very attentive to our questions (and mailing back forgotten items)!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Seatac
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Spyhop
Nearest Ferry
17 Miles
Clinton Mukilteo Ferry
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
525
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Many in Langley
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Langley

Whidbey Island is a vacation destination and offers a variety of activities such as: hiking, biking, swimming, boating, beach combing/walking/playing, parks, wine tasting, galleries, antique shops, museums, coffee shops, casual and fine dinning, music, art, theater... Tell us what you like and we can make suggestions for you!

If you are a golfer, ask about playing at Useless Bay Golf and Country Club while you are at our home.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Insurance $59

If you want to make a reservation over the telephone just let us know and we can do that. We can also take check payments if you prefer that rather than a credit card.

Please note that occupancy is limited to the registered guests at the home. We do allow small gatherings of friends/families but arrangements must be made ahead of time and a additional fee may apply.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties