Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2ND Row, 2 bedroom, Oceanview Condo, WIFI, "Merry Mermaid"

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Our Ocean view 2nd Row condo is located at Tropical Sands Condos on the top 3rd floor. Our condo has spectacular views of ocean and no foot traffic above you, so real quiet! $400 Fall weekly rates. You can hear the waves break at night. Just steps to the sandy beach and ocean! Condo sleeps 4-6 and is newly furnished and decorated, and has WI-FI April 1, 2013. Tropical Sands condo is located in a nice upscale neighborhood between the Surfside and Garden City pier where you can find fishing and restaurants (Garden City pier has entertainment and arcades). Nearby there is shopping, outdoor activities, fishing, water activities and many golf courses are close by. South Myrtle Beach is ~10 minutes away. The new Myrtle Beach Market Commons shops and restaurants and new 1-mile oceanfront Boardwalk is just minutes from our condo. Market Commons has restaurants, a brewery, parks and recreation, shopping such as Tommy Bahamas, Orvis, Coldwater Creek, Banana Republic, Chico's, Williams-Sonoma just to name a few.

Our condo is nicely decorated and has a queen bed in thie master bedroom, NEW Futon that sits like a couch and opens into a double bed in the 2nd bedroom, and a sleeper sofa in the den, sleeps 6. NEW 32' Flat screen TV in living room AND in master bedroom (2 TV's total). The kitchen is fully stocked, and has a dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator with ice maker. One bathroom has shower as well as tub for relaxing after being at beach all day. Sounds of the ocean can be heard while drifting off to sleep in the master bedroom. Tropical Sands is located just across the street from the ocean. May 2014 $5000 upgrade of beautiful ceramic tile throughout condo. Condo has a balcony off of the master bedroom and living room that overlooks the pool and also has views of the ocean. New carpet on balcony. This 3rd floor condo is not wheelchair accessible, no elevator in the building.

Oct-Feb = $850 monthly, March = $1200 monthly. This rate includes all taxes, utilities, clean linens and towels, and cleaning before and after your stay. Winter weekly rates are $400-$600, Summer weekly rates are $700-$1400! March $450 weekly, April $550 weekly, May $650 weekly, June $850 weekly, July $950 weekly, Aug $850 weekly.

Be sure to take a look at our other property located 2 blocks away in a private resort, 3 bedroom, 2 bath, raised beach house, sleeps 8, VRBO # 212106.

Keywords: Ocean View Condo

More Details

Owner
Karen Reed
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2018

About Karen Reed

I purchased this condo in 2010 because I love being near the beach and sounds of the ocean. The balcony is my favorite spot.

Karen Reed purchased this condo in 2010

Why Karen Reed chose Surfside Beach

Love the area of Surfisde Beach, which is called the Family Beach. Surfside Beach is located between Myrtle Beach and Murrells Inlet. Condo is located between the Surfside and Garden City Piers. Both piers offer fishing, and restauratns to enjoy your dinner with the best ocean view!

What makes this condo unique

The balcony is my favorite spot. I love enjoying a cup of coffee while watching the sunrise over the ocean. The many colors of the sun and water are just breath taking. Just the other day, I watched a pod of dolphins going by.

Amenities

Surfside Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) In master bedroom, Sleeper Sofa in den, futon in second bedroom, sleeps 6.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Near everything. 10 minute drive to Myrtle Beach. 30 minute drive to North Myrtle Beach. Hour and a half drive to Charleston.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
2ND Row, 2 bedroom, Oceanview Condo, WIFI, "Merry Mermaid"
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
3

View great everything else not so great

  • 3 of 5

The view and ease to the beach was the best thing about this place, it served it's purpose but was not what we expected. Needs updating badly and a very good deep cleaning. The first night there my granddaughters were taking a bath and when my youngest went to take her towel off the towel rack it fell on her head, thank goodness she wasn't hurt because it was a wooden towel rack. It states that towels are provided they provided 5 towels for 6 people so of course we were washing towels once or twice a day. The sliding glass doors do not lock, there was a wooden stick for the one in the living room but not for the one in the bedroom, yes it's on the third floor but still you want to feel you and your belonging are secure. Was really excited about this place before hand and the owner communicated with me very well but just wasn't what the pictures lead us to expect. The pool was great we had it to ourselves almost the entire time or with only a couple of others so the grandkids enjoyed that.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: While we are glad you enjoyed the view and location to the beach, we are sorry to hear you had some issues and didn't call us so we could correct them. We are only aware of items that need repair when we are alerted to them. We have sent maintenance there to fix the towel bar, thank you for telling us about it. We rely on our quests to tell us of any problems or issues at check in, so that we may come over and fix or replace. You did not call us during your stay, so we did not know of these problems or issues that you mentioned herein. Also, we would have been glad to call our cleaning company to have them deliver an additional towel. The are to provide towels for 6 people. Again, we wish you had alerted us to this need. Yes, the view is spectacular and you pay for time and location. The cleaners spot clean on Sat, since they many to clean each Sat. We upgrade our condo and deep clean it every year in May and September, at the beginning and end of the summer season. The pictures we submit on the VRBO website are authentic, up to date, and are that of the condo. We are not sure how to represent it more accurately, as a "picture is worth a thousand words". We are having A to Z Glass fix our sliding glass problem. The Salt ocean air is rough on all sliding doors. Yes the pool is great and hundreds of vacationers have loved it! I am glad to hear that you had the pool to yourself. Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great value for our family!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was clean. The location and view can't be beat for this price anywhere! We had the pool to ourselves the entire trip. Wifi is great! Hope to book again next year!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place. Felt like home.

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Close to everything. Felt like home. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tim, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Roanoke VA
5

VA renters

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here for a week in June, it was nice to wake up in the morning and step out on the balcony and enjoy the view, it was at a great cost & the house was set up nicely. We had no problem with anything in the condo, only suggestions we have was the ice maker in the freezer didn't make any ice the entire week, not a big deal we bought ice at a local store. The beds were a little uncomfortable & there's only 3 chairs by the pool so you have to get out there early or the other renters would have there towels on them reserving them. Other than that this was a great stay and the owner Karen is sweet as ever! She had us a goodie bag with dish soap, paper towels, etc ! Even candy! Which was gone the first day! Thanks again Karen for letting us rent your condo we had a blast & will be back next year

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Illinois
2

Very dated and uncomfortable

  • 2 of 5

The location of the Condo can not be beat. Across the street from beach access, easy drive to stores and such. The price was also very reasonable but in hind site I would of paid a higher price for an updated comfortable condo. The bed is horribly uncomfortable and shoved against the wall in the master. The bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke,so I am not sure about the non smoking request, we are non smokers. The tile had no grout and was filthy. No toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap and laundry soap were provided, we purchased our own. The carpets are well worn and dirty. The furniture on the balcony are at the end of their usefulness. The owner seems very nice but needs to replace the furniture and update the condo to a better standard. We left the place cleaner than we found it. If it fits your budget and you can sleep on anything rent it based on location and price. To fit 6 people is a stretch. If you are expecting a modicum of comfort for your lodging when vacationing I am sorry to say you should look else where. I wish we did, vacations are few and far between.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our condo. Thank you for your review, as we value all viewpoints. In knowing and planning that we needed new flooring, we had the ENTIRE flooring removed and replaced with travertine ceramic tile May 2014, which was after your stay . Please see photos on website. This is a $5000 upgrade, so we do spend money on upgrades as we can afford through out the year. To date, we have spent over $15,000 in upgrades of: new futon, new floors, new HVAC unit, new balcony carpet, new microwave, and pool repairs. As non-smokers ourselves, we do request that our guests do not smoke in the condo. Most guests do respect this request, but as we have found, a select handful do not. As this is our personal condo, if and when this happens, we feverishly work to rectify this unfortunate event. As in our pictures on the VRBO website, we do have the bed pushed against the wall. This is so when we wake in the morning,we can see the ocean view while still in bed. We are sorry that we do not share the same taste in furnishings. This is one of the biggest reasons we post accurate pictures of our decor. Yes, our "Merry Mermaid" condo is not right for everyone, but we love it, and hundreds also have for several years. It has a great location, and spectacular Ocean view, second row with great budget rates. We actually were disappointed on hearing that you were less than pleased with your stay at our condo. We do request in our rental agreement that upon your arrival, if you have any issues, problems or needs to please call us so that we can correct them during your stay. We are only now learning, 2 months later, of your disappointment. In the mean time, we have had other guests there and no problems have surfaced. We have even had a repeat guest book with us for another stay in August. Sincerely, Karen Reed-owner Tropical Sands #301
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Canada
5

Enjoyed Our Stay, Felt like Home

  • 5 of 5

Hi Karen,

We had a wonderful time at Surfside Beach. Your condo is very nice, much better than others we have stayed at.

Thanks for everything, hope to see you next year.

Patrick

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Conch
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Tupelo Bay
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Conch
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Surfside
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties