Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

True Montana Magic! Ski Chalet With Private Hot Tub And Serene Mountain Views.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Ski In and Ski Out Access

Ski Access

With signature Spanish Peaks views on all sides and serene mountain surroundings, this luxurious Powder Ridge log cabin makes the perfect Big Sky vacation destination. Quietly situated within the Powder Ridge development, yet only a few minutes from the Mountain Village, enjoy ski-in/ski-out access to the biggest skiing in America. In summer, opportunities for hiking, biking, and wildlife watching abound! An ideal fit for multiple families, up to 5 vacationing couples, or a group getaway, this 3,500 sq. foot, 5 bedroom home provides plenty of well-appointed space to gather, or spread out, in style. We also manage several nearby properties to accommodate larger parties. The cozy, cabin-in-the-woods exterior gives way inside to high-end amenities, elegant furnishings, and modern conveniences throughout. Prepare to be WOWed! Featuring a Wolf stove, Sub Zero refrigerator, lower level game room and bonus space, and custom bunk room, this lavish abode has all the comforts of home (and then some) in a mountain paradise. Cap off an epic day with a starlit soak in the amazing outdoor hot tub. Just a a quick jaunt from Lone Mountain, and only 45 scenic miles from West Yellowstone, this retreat in the Rockies is your base camp to Montana-made memories and fun for everyone!

Ski Rating 4 out of 5:

Located directly below the White Otter skier bridge, this property uses Manitou Loop Road and groomed access trails to access the White Otter lift. (Anticipated opening date for White Otter lift is December 16, but the lift may open earlier in the season depending on snow conditions)

Ski In:

Lower Morningstar to second set of Powder Ridge signs on the left. Follow the signs towards the White Otter skier bridge. Cross over the bridge and immediately turn left on the groomed access and ski the road to the front door of the cabin. (Green access)

Ski Out:

Put skis on in driveway. Ski around the corner onto Oglala Road to the groomed access trail to the right by cabin 4B, or veer left and ski the road to the end of the cul du sac. Follow this trail along the White Otter chair lift to the bottom to load the lift. There are a few sections of flat that may require poling or skating. Note: In periods of melting it may be necessary to walk a short distance. (Green access)

Powder Ridge Manitou 13 is part of our Platinum Collection.

Features

Beds | Baths:

Sleeps 14 in beds; 16 with pull-out sofas. Up to 16 allowed.

Bedroom 1- King bed | shared 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | main level

Bedroom 2- Queen bed | shared 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | main level

Bedroom 3- Queen bed with trundle, twin bed with twin top bunk, and twin bed | shared (adjacent) full bath, shower/tub, toilet, sink | lower level

Bedroom 4- King bed | private 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | upper level

Bedroom 5- King bed | private 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | upper level

Bonus space- Queen sofa sleeper | shared full bath, shower/tub, toilet, sink | lower level living room

Rollaway available for a $50 rental fee; up to 2 available

Linens Provided: 2 extra pillows, extra blanket in each closet

Towels Provided: 6 bath towels, 4 hand towels, 4 washcloths per bathroom | 6 hot tub towels

Kitchen | Dining:

Granite counters- Yes

Stainless appliances- Yes

Gas range- Yes

Refrigerator- Yes

Dishwasher- Yes

Microwave- Yes

Ice Maker- No

Coffee maker- Yes

Keurig- Yes

Coffee grinder- Yes

Mixer- Yes

Toaster- Yes

Kitchen utensils- Yes

Crockpot- Yes

Blender- Yes

Roasting pan- Yes

Bakeware- Yes

Dishes, glasses, silverware- 16 settings

Pantry items- basic spices only

Table seating- 8

Bar seating- 4

Living Room:

Main level living fireplace- wood (firewood and fire starters provided)

Lower level living fireplace- gas

Main level living seating- 6

Lower level living seating- 4

Game Room:

Location- lower level

Games- foosball

Wii gaming system

Unit Starter Supplies:

Kitchen bags

Dishwasher tabs

Dish soap (1 bottle)

Sponge (1 new)

Paper towels (2 rolls)

Foil, cling wrap

Coffee filters (coffee not supplied)

Toilet paper (4 rolls per bathroom)

Kleenex (1 box per bathroom)

Laundry soap (full size)

Dryer sheets (1 box)

Stain remover (1 bottle)

Glass cleaner (1 bottle)

Shampoo

Conditioner

Bath gel

Bar soap (1 small bar per sink)

Body lotion

Highlights:

Washer and dryer

Hairdryers

Satellite TV

Telephone- local calls only

Wireless internet

Gaming system- Wii

iPod/MP3 docking station, music player or wireless speaker

At least one DVD/Blu-ray player

Boot dryers and ski racks in garage, drying box

Snow removal service provided

Central air- not available

Fans and humidifiers

Outdoor:

Private hot tub 4-6 person- on lower level deck

Propane grill, propane provided- on main level deck (near kitchen)

Outdoor fire pit- yes, on main level deck (only available in the summer months)

Parking:

4-Wheel drive required in the winter

Single car garage

Space for 2 vehicles

House Rules:

No smoking permitted

No pets permitted

Cleaning fee: $450

Options For a Fee:

Pack n play

Highchair/booster seat

Box of board games

Wii games (box of 5)

Late or early check in/out

More Details

Property Manager
Big Sky Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2017

Amenities

Powder Ridge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , shared 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , shared 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink
    Bedroom 3 - bunk room - 1 queen , 4 twin/ single , shared (adjacent) full bath, shower/tub, toilet, sink
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , private 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , private 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink
    Bonus sleeping- lower living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , shared full bath, shower/tub, toilet, sink
  • Beds | Baths: Sleeps 14 in beds; 16 with pull-out sofas. Up to 16 allowed. Bedroom 1- King bed | shared 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | main level Bedroom 2- Queen bed | shared 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | main level Bedroom 3- Queen bed with trundle, twin bed with twin top bunk, and twin bed | shared (adjacent) full bath, shower/tub, toilet, sink | lower level Bedroom 4- King bed | private 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | upper level Bedroom 5- King bed | private 3/4 bath, walk-in shower, toilet, sink | upper level Bonus space- Queen sofa sleeper | shared full bath, shower/tub, toilet, sink | lower level living room Rollaway available for a $50 rental fee; up to 2 available Linens Provided: 2 extra pillows, extra blanket in each closet Towels Provided: 6 bath towels, 4 hand towels, 4 washcloths per bathroom | 6 hot tub towels
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
True Montana Magic! Ski Chalet With Private Hot Tub And Serene Mountain Views.
average rating of 4.9117646 based on 34 reviews
5

Everything about this place is perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We were here for our wedding over an extended weekend and it was absolutely perfect for our cozy ceremony, the views are amazing from the deck and provided such a perfect back drop that people continue to ask who our photographer was. We had 10 people staying in the cabin with room to spare.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us in Powder Ridge Cabin Manitou 13. We enjoy sharing our local knowledge of the area along with our favorite dining experiences. We hope your group enjoyed these recommendations! Congratulations on the wedding! We look forward to hosting you again, thanks for a great experience! -Big Sky Vacation Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoboken, New Jersey
5

Great House for Groups!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for a week with 4 other couples. The house was totally comfortable for a group of 10 adults. I imagine it would be great for large families or even two families with kids. The open kitchen, dining and living room made it easy to spend time together without being on top of each other. And the washer/dryer made packing for our trip much easier since we knew we could do laundry while we were away. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals at the house for ten people, and we loved having access to a grill.

The morning views of the surrounding mountains from the wrap around deck were fantastic and a welcome change from the NYC skyline. And relaxing in the hot tub after skiing was the perfect way to end the day.

It was super easy to get to the White Otter lift to start the day. Getting back to the house was a little tricky, but only because the secondary trails weren't marked quite as obviously. After figuring it out the first day it wasn't an issue at all.

We would definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Big Sky.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our 5th trip to Big Sky and we always stay at Powder Ridge in the log homes there. The accommodations are perfect for families and the ski in ski out convenience makes the trip even better. Cant beat it! Seew you again at Christmas.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
3

Hot water

  • 3 of 5

For the most part, the house was definitely nice. It came pretty stocked with towels, plates and cups, and cookware. Bed sizes and quality were nice. Nice view. In general, it appeared very clean.

The showers had shampoo and soap dispensers, but they were empty (or at least those in my shower were – I didn’t check the other showers). Not a huge deal.

The ski-in ski-out is probably about as advertised – possible, but not ideal. It’s enough out of the way that we ended up eating lunch at the resort restaurants rather than making the 45 minute round-trip to the house and back. But you won’t need your car to get to the resort which, for us, was the main benefit.

We had the hot water heater go out on night 1 (probably a fluke). Then, due to some error where the maintenance man went to the wrong cabin (also probably a fluke, but annoying nonetheless), it wasn’t fixed for about 24 hours. And then it didn’t recover for another 4 hours or so b/c there were 16 people trying to shower.

That was annoying, but the main problem was the undersized hot water heater. This place sleeps 16, there are 4 showers (really 5 because one has two faucets so 2 people can shower at the same time) and the hot water heater looked to be 80 gallons (assuming there wasn’t a second heater that we couldn’t see). 80 gallons is standard for a house of 4-5 people and 2 showers. Since we were all skiing (and thus needing to shower in the same afternoon/evening timeframe), we ran out of hot water every single day. I had one single hot shower in the 4 days I was there. Not so awesome. Sure we could have spaced out our 16 showers over ~6 hours so that the heater can recover but should we need to do that when we’re paying this much per night for a house? My recommendation to management is to spend the extra couple hundred dollars (a fraction of a single night’s stay) to upgrade this system. Currently, it’s a million-dollar house with a huge [and avoidable] flaw.

There was an outdoor fire-pit on the deck that we wanted to take advantage of (we could see our neighbors enjoying theirs) but were not able to. The fire-pit was placed under a roof-line, was covered with a tarp, then [predictably] the roof snow fell onto the tarp and froze. It hadn’t snowed for 2 weeks before our trip so this was an old event and should have been taken care of before we arrived. We tried to free the tarp, but with hundreds of pounds of snow/ice on top, we weren’t successful.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alex, Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback about the property. We very much appreciate you staying with us. As far as the hot water situation.... You have my sincere apology that water heater went out and needed a manual reset. When this was reported your address should have been clarified since we have 3 cabins with the number 13. I am sorry it took us until later that afternoon to realize we had not addressed the problem at the correct cabin. While it may seem like a simple solution to upgrade the hot water capacity in the unit, it is actually far from simple. When the builder installed the original hot water heaters in these cabins he did not leave enough space next to the furnace in the mechanical room to give us the proper clearance to place a larger tank. Therefore without pulling out the furnace and rebuilding the mechanical area we can't place a larger tank in the cabin. In the newest cabins we suggested that the owners put in as large of tank as possible during the PRE-construction phase which allowed 100 gallon tanks. Rarely do we have 16 adults all trying to shower within an hour. In fact, we have it noted in the guest book that this cabin is a private home vs. a hotel with unlimited boiler fed hot water and we generally cover this in our onsite check in. As far as the firepit, this unit is not equipped with a year-round built in firepit like some of the newer cabins. This was added aftermarket last summer. We keep it covered in the winter with the cushions stored to protect it from the elements. That being said, we would have been happy to send maintenance up to clear the area and get the cushions out of storage for you if we realized you were interested in using it during your stay. It is quite rare in February to have it be warm enough to sit outside and use a firepit, but we would have been happy to make that happen if we had been called and told about the situation. Our goal is complete satisfaction and we do our best to match groups with the right property. I am sorry that we didn't do a better job of suggesting a larger property. While we do allow 16 people in this cabin, a 3500 square foot cabin is not really ideal for 16 adults and is better suited for a mix of ages. ...I hope you were able to enjoy this beautiful place and the amazing skiing.Thank you and again my appreciation of the time you took to write such a detailed review. Sincerely, Kirsten King, Owner Big Sky Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful slope side cabin

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is outstanding. Everything is top of the line and meticulously maintained. We couldn't have expected anything better than what we received. The convenience of being able to ski on and ski off is priceless.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Flawless

  • 5 of 5

The property exceeded our expectations. From the setting to luxury conveniences, all aspects were flawless. Our party was mostly interested in Yellowstone, but we also took advantage of horseback riding, whitewater rafting, and hiking in the Big Sky area. The Restaurant at Rainbow Ranch, approximately 20 minutes from the property, was exceptional.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Big Sky Base Area
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Big Sky Golf Course- Public
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
191/64
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Big Sky Base Area
Nearest Ski
Big Sky Resort
Car: necessary

Winter: Big Sky Resort offers 5,800 acres of ski-able terrain! If this is not your style, we also have options including cross country skiing, Yellowstone park tours, dog-sledding, and more!

Summer: Big Sky MT is the basecamp for Yellowstone in the summer months! Located only an hour from the West Yellowstone entrance, Big Sky offers activities including zipline, lake boat rentals, and scenic chairlift rides. Great fly fishing spots, and an abundance of hiking trails, Big Sky is your summer vacation destination.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $450

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.