check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Moonstruck Cottage - Affordable Cottage, Upscale View

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
0
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Location, serenity, accessible and affordable. Moonstruck Cottage is the perfect accommodation for those travelers looking for a fully furnished rental without the fuss. The cottage features two separate air conditioned bedrooms - the master with a double canopy bed and the junior with twin bunks - a complete and separate kitchen, living room with double bed/futon, water closet, outdoor shower, and large living deck space overlooking the east end of beautiful St. John and the BVIs. The cottage is easily accessed from a fully paved road, and offers a large drive way allowing you to pull right up to the front door. Enjoy breakfast with spectacular sunrises, or evening cocktails with full moon views over the peaceful harbor of Coral Bay. Room to spread out throughout the cottage allows uncramped comfort for multiple guests to relax and unwind. Keep the bird feeders filled and enjoy plenty of bananaquits and hummingbirds throughout your stay. When you need to shop or dine your location is in close proximity to the comforts of Love city market, Dolphin market, Pickles deli, Aqua Bistro, Skinny Legs and Shipwreck Landing. The cottage is equipped with screens and shutters, so it is not airtight. The kitchen is open to views of the ocean with 3 walls and ceiling. Due to the open floor plan and steep hillside, the cottage is not recommended for travelers with children under age 5, nor can the owners make any guarantees against dust or natural inhabitants like geckos. Embrace life's simplicity and think of the cottage as a fancy treehouse. If you were a former Maho or Concordia guest, this cottage is the perfect substitute. THE COTTAGE IS NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FIRST-TIME ISLAND VISITORS.

Keywords: bungalow, cute, cozy, remote, east end, furnished, informal, low key, easy access, sunrise, water, view, island

More Details

Owner
Mark Wilson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

Why Mark Wilson chose Coral Bay

Our first visit was with friends for Thanksgiving, 2007. We were overwhelmed by the beauty and simplicity of Coral Bay. It happened to be a full moon, and its rising and shining over the bay was a spectacular site. Moonstruck happened to be for sale. We couldn't resist. The rest is history.

What makes this cottage unique

We love the quiet evenings and constant breezes we enjoy from the deck. The unspoiled views of the stars at night are amazing, with falling stars a frequent sighting. When we prefer to eat elsewhere, Aqua Bistro just down the hill is a perfect setting for great food, adult beverages, fun and friendly people. And the variety of beaches are short drives in both directions from the cottage.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Moonstruck Cottage - Affordable Cottage, Upscale View
average rating of 4.2352943 based on 17 reviews
5

We loved it! For the price, you can't beat the view, the cute cottage w lots of character!

  • 5 of 5

We are so happy we stayed here! Beautiful sunrises and views, open air kitchen and porch. Very comfortable and quaint. Keep the price the same and we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Full Moon/Beautiful view!

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a comfortable relaxing weeklong stay at Moonstruck. The cottage was an exact perfect fit for us. The view at night with the full moon rising directly over the bay was glorious! Our highlights were walking to town for dinners except when we got take out for Oasis (highly recommended), the day we walked right out the door and up and over Bordeux Mountain to Lamshur Bay and endless card games on the deck with the kids. Yes as the other reviewers say the roosters, donkeys, dogs and goats were extremely noisy plus the cottage gets the morning light which was the trade off as the deck was shady, breezy and very scenic with the last of the sun hitting the ocean each afternoon. So if you like to get up and go in the morning and come back early for cocktails and relaxing in the late afternoons you can't go wrong. Our biggest problem was the driveway. We did have to adjust our plans to try to come and go when the neighbors didn't have both cars in their driveway. It's really more relaxing to know your car is facing out when its such a tight blind driveway. But we managed it easily so I'd recommend to not rent too big of a car for that driveway.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

owner is prompt and helpful!

  • 3 of 5

Moonstruck cottage is conveniently located in Coral Bay, about half way up the hill, with gorgeous views of the ocean and east end of St. John. We really liked the general location for ease in getting over to Cruz Bay, north shore beaches and scenic drives to the east end. Mark was very helpful with information and prompt in responding and with the booking process. Detailed information relevant to the rental was sent immediately after we booked, which was much appreciated as we booked last minute. The cottage itself is quite rustic as mentioned in other reviews, so if you are a camper or used to roughing it, you will do well here. If you are used to staying in a place that is super well appointed with lots of nice-a-ties, granite counter tops, etc this is not your place. A couple of recommendations are; replace the bed as the wires in it can be felt quite sharply at times, and a blender would have been nice. There is a great supply of fresh, clean, super nice bath and beach towels. The new, nice beach chairs, and the bbq grill were added bonuses.

Our major challenge with the cottage, which is out of the control of the owners, were the very loud roosters and dogs which crowed/barked during our stay. The valley below the cottage acts like a amphitheater and all the noise from the houses below, rises right up to the rental. Lots of folks might not be bothered by all the animal noise, but we tend to like to hear the wild birds and nature noises. This was our 3rd visit to the island, we've also stayed on the east end, and in the fish bay area and didn't have the crowing rooster issue or barking dogs so were surprised at how noisy it was. One neighbor down the hill played loud rap music into the night, and luckily that only happened once. We were also there during the full moon, which i suspect caused the rooster to crow throughout the night and got the dogs charged up more than usual. (we have chickens of our own, but if the roosters get too noisy they end up in the stew pot!). Maybe i missed it in the other reviews but this is something we didn't know going into the rental, so would be helpful for others to manage expectations.

Overall, we had an awesome time on St. John, and the rental was suitable for our budget. The wi fi was great. We'd recommend Moonstruck Cottage to those on a budget who like roughing it a bit, but with a few niceties thrown in too! We are rating it as a 3 because of the noise factor, otherwise, would go with a 4.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Moonstruck? Nothing boutique about this rental!

  • 1 of 5

My husband and i stayed at Moonstruck for over a week. An uncomfortable week. Glamping? Nothing glamorous about it. The view is lovely. It stops there. The textiles/fabrics covering the beds and couches are circa 1980 quilts - who wants a dowdy quilt on a Caribbean vacation? No lights in kitchen worked - so we had to finish cooking and cleaning early. Or hold a flashlight. Gecko poop all over the mosquito netting held together by charming clothes pins. No hangers, no place to hang a shirt, blouse or dress. No blender to make a smoothie or frozen drink. My husband threw his back out - the bed was so bad he stayed a t a friend's place . We used the second bedroom to put suitcases in - that bedroom is a mosquito den. The bathroom has a pipe above the toilet that leaks every time it rains, so the toilet seat was wet every day. The bedroom part of the house is really a metal container…. so when it rains (and it did almost every day) the sound is not as lovely as it is deafening, awakening us most nights. In the "living room" the sound was lovely. I was so disappointed in this rental. And i am NOT a "fancy hotel" girl - in Mexico we've stayed in places with thatched roofs. This place felt dingy and uncomfortable.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am disappointed that Moonstruck was not to your expectations. We make every effort to ensure that we do not misrepresent the cottage. There are two parts to the term glamping - the second of which is camping. We do believe we offer an experience that is better than camping but as emphatically stated - it is clearly not for everyone. We do have quilts on the beds that were purchased in St. Thomas, as were the sheets. No, they are not luxurious Frette linens, but they are replaced frequently with the best we can find at the local Kmart - which is also the only department store we've found on island. Somehow we felt that was a step up from the Cost-U-Less. There is not a closet, but hangars are available in the 2nd bedroom. There are garment hooks throughout suitable for most glamping outfits. We were never made aware of non-working lights or we would have sent someone up there to check bulbs/breakers. Our local crew is very responsive but can't address issues that they haven't been made aware of. We provide our phone numbers and that of our local property manager, so I'm not sure why no one was contacted to rectify. Yes, the cottage is open air and yes, there are mosquitos. We can't do anything about that but there is insect spray in the house for such reasons and our welcome letter lets guests know that "insect repellent will be your best friend while on the island". The mosquito nettings are not sold as "sleeves." A strange design considering what they're intended to do, but presumably they can't be stitched shut or no one can enter/exit. So we have left clothes pins to help keep the seams sealed. Gecko droppings are also a fact of the openness. They reappear nearly as quickly as you can clean them up, but they are harmless. While I am truly disappointed whenever someone has a less than happy experience, I firmly believe the criticisms here are due to lofty expectations that somehow remained despite our every intent to prevent them. The cottage is what it is, and for $185 or less per night depending on the season, is represented properly and fairly.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Charleston, SC
4

Beautiful views, convenient location

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Moonstruck. I loved the open kitchen, outdoor shower and the view! At first, I was a little worried about the master bed sleeping situation as there was gecko poop on the mosquito net. However, the geckos stayed away, for the most part, and the mosquito net kept the bed clear of any poop. Someone reviewed earlier saying it was "glamping" and that pretty much sums it up. Chickens will roam outside your window and crow to wake you up. The neighbors cat will come by and meow a time or two. Geckos will run from you on the deck along the rails. A donkey may be coming up hwy 108 or a heard of goats may be blocking your way to turn on 107 at the bottom of the hill. We were only there to sleep and shower as we hiked Rams Head, went to Jumbee Beach, and snorkeled Francis Bay and Salt Pond (highly recommended over the crowded Trunk Bay - salt pond being my fav) throughout the week. At Salt Pond, we snorkeled and saw two squid, a bunch of turtles, rays and bright fish...the year before, we saw a barracuda here too. At Francis, you will mostly see Rays and Turtles feeding along the grassy bottom. It rained two of the nights and the sound of the rain hitting the tin roof is relaxing. We didn't even use the A/C unit because the breeze at night was cool enough to sleep. There are a bunch of towels provided, which was convenient because it saved us from having to go do laundry (no washing machine/dryer on site). If you're looking to being pampered and are squeamish about the outdoors and what comes with it (chickens and geckos roaming around), I wouldn't recommend Moonstruck. If you're there to experience St. John and just need a place to sleep and shower at the end of the day, this place is for you.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Thoroughly Enjoyable "Glamping" in Coral Bay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed our Christmas week at Moonstruck. We have visited St John a number of times and always stay in Coral Bay. The house is very much like a treehouse or a camping cottage - nothing fancy, but quite comfortable & clean. If you are looking for luxury accommodations, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a place close to a lot of "action" this place, or Coral Bay for that matter, is not for you. The house is almost "off the grid", which we really like & appreciate. The water supply is cistern, so make sure you bring jugs of water with you for drinking, making coffee, etc. You need to check those long hot showers at the door. Hey, you are vacation anyway. There is a nice grocery store, The Dolphin, nearby, so getting groceries & "adult beverages" is very convenient. The house is quite open, so don't be surprised to see the neighbors' cat stroll in, or the occasional chicken (we loved it) in the kitchen. The neighbors are very friendly & helpful, as are the owners. If you are looking for a very affordable cottage to kick back, relax and enjoy the laid-back lifestyle of Coral Bay - Moonstruck is a great choice!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Estate Carolina Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Jul 1 2017 - Nov 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$130
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Cancellation Fee: 60+ days in advance: 100% refunded, 31 - 59 days in advance: 50% refunded, 30 days or less: 0% refunded.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Estate Carolina Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , outdoor shower
  • Bathroom facilities are split between a toilet room and an outdoor shower with hand sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk beds in second bedroom (1). Not designed for adults over 150#.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach Chairs Provided

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties