Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

July 29-Aug 5 $1795/week- Gulf View, New Screened In Porch Wi-Fi, NetFlix, Pets

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Gulf View Townhome, 2 Bed 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8) Screen Porch Pet Friendly

Great gulf view location! 120 direct steps from our porch to the beach on the boardwalk. No streets to cross. Also 90 steps from front door to the large community pool.Facing the East lets you enjoy amazing sunrises and cool sunsets. Newly furnished and redecorated. Spacious, two bedroom, two bath town home with garden tub in private master bath, 3 Flat screen HDTV, 3 DVD players,75 DVDs,1 VCR, and gas grill. Take a virtual tour using our video link tab by the photos

Just a one minute walk to the ocean side pool (See Map). Barrier Dunes has a playground, fishing lakes, and tennis courts. Nearby golf course. Other activities include biking, hiking, snorkeling, fishing, and kayaking.

Barrier Dunes is located next to St. Joseph State Park which contains over 2000 acres of pristine beaches, tropical landscapes, and nature trails. Nine miles of award-winning Gulf shoreline featuring turquoise waters, sugary white sand, and awesome dunes that rise more than 20 feet on average. (Ranked the third best beach in the country by Dr. Beach)

Experience the 'Forgotten Coast' and all it has to offer in a comfortable and serene setting. A memorable vacation experience for adults and children alike. All the comforts of home in an amazing natural setting.

Keywords: Stepped On a Pop-Tart is a lovely, fully equipped, Gulf view town-home in Barrier Dunes. It is an end unit in a very quiet part of Barrier Dunes, and yet one of the closest units to the beach. It's just minutes to the beach and oceanfront pool.

The beach is pristine, fine white sand. You can walk for miles. The water is shallow near the shore, making it an excellent place for small children to play in the surf.

Barrier Dunes itself is ideally situated on the Cape, right next to the entrance to St. Joe's Peninsula State Park with its many hiking, biking, wildlife viewing and beach exploring opportunities. An excellent location also to take a canoe or kayak and explore the wildlife rich back bay. There is also a boat launch, so whether you bring your own boat, and yes, there is parking available for a boat at Stepped on a Pop-Tart, or whether you rent a boat, you can do so easily and conveniently.

take a virtual tour of our townhome using the video tab next to the photos

More Details

Owner
Debbie LaBrec
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About Debbie LaBrec

Our family lives in Buford, GA. Dad owns Win-Tel Technologies, an IT consulting company and Mom is the CEO

Debbie LaBrec purchased this townhome in 2011

Why Debbie LaBrec chose Florida Main North West

We have been coming to the Forgotten Coast for almost 20 years. We like the sandy white beach and clear blue water.You can have fires on the beach, drive golf carts on the beach and Barrier Dunes has a fishing pond that my son enjoys.

What makes this townhome unique

The only Screened in Porch in Barrier Dunes to keep flies and bugs away. Free Netflix streaming shows and movies on all 3 HDTVs and over 75 DVD Movies. See our complete library below.

Amenities

Port St. Joe Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Outside shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Room - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , Bunk Bed has a double on the bottom and a twin on top
  • Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sleeper Sofa, Bunk Beds (1) Double bed on bottom, twin on top
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

July 29-Aug 5 $1795/week- Gulf View, New Screened In Porch Wi-Fi, NetFlix, Pets
average rating of 4.5588236 based on 68 reviews
Woodstock,Ga.
5

Serenity Now!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for a little serenity. Townhouse is quaint and well equipped.My family and I lacked nothing as we enjoyed the sheer simplicity of the Cape and its offerings. Definitely one of the nicer units in complex.The owners are super nice and very accommodating. Will definitely return again to recharge our batteries!! Would and have recommended for anyone seeking a beautiful and quiet getaway without the tourist traps and commercialism.There are great fishing grounds in the nearby bay.

Sorry we can not recommend any restaurants as we caught our own seafood and prepared it there.(crab,fish.scallops) Trading Post nearby has wonderful steaks cut fresh daily.

Thanks again to the owners of Stepped on a Poptart for their hospitality and honesty.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for coming to stay at our place Billy and thank you for your service to our country. Always like knowing a veteran stayed in our place. Hope to hear from you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Athens, AL
2

Not as advertised

  • 2 of 5

If you are expecting "Stepped on a Pop Tart" to be as cute as its name, you will be sadly disappointed. As of May 6, 2017, it was dirty, poorly equipped, the screens (including the porch) were missing, and regrettably not even the promised pop tarts. Certainly there is poor property management for a rental property. We had to contact the owner on the drive down as there was no prior acknowledgment of our rental nor any instructions on how to access the property even though our vacation was paid in full 5 weeks prior. We never heard back from the owner nor received our deposit and now hope it will serve as a sad source of donation-help to maintain this run down little condo. For others interested, It was functional but does have 3 sets of very steep stairs which should be a consideration for elderly and anyone with small children. Cape San Blas was still serene, secluded and far from raucous nightlife so indeed Barrier Dunes Complex as a stay is still awesome as always. So Barrier Dunes will still remain on our vacation rental for our beach trips. We will simply make certain we never step on another pop tart.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our listing isn't misleading. Our unit is well-maintained and updated with a new kitchen, new flooring, and new sliding doors. The unit is also very well equipped. We did not receive one complaint from you regarding the cleanliness of our unit. If we had, we would have most certainly addressed it and had our cleaner come by to rectify the situation. As for the "promised pop tarts", we have not been providing them for about a year now as we were having issues keeping them stocked and boxes disappearing. Our listing does not promise pop tarts and has not promised them for quite some time. You booked our property through the VRBO instant booking feature which does not involve us. As the name indicates, booking is instant and correspondence is with VRBO as opposed to us. Had you chosen to request a quote, then we are involved in the correspondence. As for the screened in porch, one week before you arrived, we were forced by the Barrier Dunes HOA to take down the porch or incur a $100 daily fee (we had replaced some rotting boards with aluminum. They told us that everything had to be out of lumber. The porch has since been rebuilt with lumber and is better than before. So our unit was without a porch for 3 weeks while we worked to get it rebuilt). As for the stairs, all units at Barrier Dunes have the same stairs inside and outside of the unit, so that is nothing unique to our unit. As for not receiving your deposit, you did receive your deposit. Our listing is set up to automatically refund the deposit if no damage has been reported. Our VRBO records indicate that your refund was provided by VRBO on 5/19/17. Refunds are returned to the account payment was made from. Since you paid your payments from 2 separate visa accounts, I suspect that you have not checked both accounts for the deposit. Below is what we have from VRBO. I will email you a screen shot of this as well. From: VRBO Date: Saturday, May 13, 2017 at 10:48 AM To: Subject: Damage Deposit Refund for reservation HA-7KSWF3 sent to James P.: May 6 through 13 - VRBO.com #365803 Deposit Security Deposit Refund Hi Debbie, On May 20, 2017 we will be returning the security deposit of James P for Reservation HA-7KSWF3. If there is no damage to report, you do not need to do anything.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Great place but robbed of deposit!!!

  • 4 of 5

My biggest problem that this place screwed over my wife and friend and did not return their deposit. When they arrived, they opened the door and the handle fell right off like it had already been broken and someone rigged it to stay on. My wife notified them of this when they arrived. When we asked where our deposit was, my wife was notified that they were keeping the deposit because of the door handle. Obviously someone else got away with breaking the handle and the owners made my wife pay for it. Great place but be CAREFUL!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The service technician determined that the sliding glass door handle was broken from the stress incurred by pulling too hard on it when it was in the locked position. The cleaning service reported no damage incidents from the previous guests when they checked out. We have no way of knowing who/what/when things get broken so we have to rely upon what they see and find. We did not receive any additional money from the $200 deposit. The handle itself costs over $100 and a service call is $75 minimum so it went to them. It's always best to report any damage or missing items as soon as you check-in so we can ask the cleaning service and previous guests if anything happened
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Peters, MO
5

Free Pop Tarts Not Included

  • 5 of 5

If you want to know why this house is named Stepped on A Poptart, you’ll have to rent it and read the art on the wall. The story is adorable. The townhouse is pretty cute, too. The kitchen is well-stocked and the dining area and living room are comfortable. The screen porch (with a barbecue grill) extends the living space and catches the ocean breezes. The upstairs master bedroom is spacious and the king size bed is very comfortable. Open the sliding doors and enjoy the view. Barrier Dunes is a lovely and well-maintained community. We knew we had neighbors, but we never heard them. I appreciate that the owner allowed us to bring our dog. Cape San Blas is a pet friendly beach, and we love it. Travelers should be aware that almost everyone staying/living in Barrier Dunes has a pet or two. Pet owners seem to be very responsible. They leash the pooches and pick up after them, but travelers need to to know doggies are everywhere. Overall, Stepped On A Poptart is a lovely, little townhouse with a good view and only steps from the beach.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We used to give free Poptarts but guests kept breaking into the closet and stealing all the boxes so we stopped for now
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this rental was as described on VRBO. Extremely nice and clean. The walk to the beach was very short; a perfect distance, especially for the price! They had loads of kids beach toys, beach chairs, kids house toys, books to read, an excellent selection of kid and adult DVDs, and board/card games! We needed to call the owner to ask a question while there and they responded right away with helpful information. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

PREFECT!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

If you like a peaceful setting this is it 3rd year here and will be coming back, Everything we needed was here , HOOKED ON A POPTART was clean, comfortable, and close to beach love the view!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Barrier Dunes #176
Nearest Point of Interest
Port St. Joe Marina
Nearest Point of Interest
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Point of Interest
Boss Oyster

Barrier Dunes is located next to St. Joseph State Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port St. Joe Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer A 2017
May 27 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
 
July 4th 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,895
 
 
Summer B 2017
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,795
 
 
Late Summer-Early Fall
Aug 6 2017 - Sep 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,195
 
 
Late Fall
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$695
 
 
Winter 2018
Dec 30 2017 - Mar 24 2018
3 night minimum stay
$150
$795
$2,995
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$175
$995
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties