Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Alpenhaus-Custom Cabin with Hot Tub/Game Room/Views

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms / 3 Baths / Secluded/ Private Hot tub/ Game Room / 2 Fireplaces

ALPENHAUS is a gorgeous custom log home located in Valley of the Sun which just North of Fairplay and South of Alma in Park County. The home is only 25 minutes from Breckenridge with easy access to Highway 9. This spectacular 3 bedroom and 3 bath home is on a wooded property with fabulous views of the white-capped mountains. The home is very secluded and you cannot see any other cabins around the home. This home has every amenity that you can dream of in addition to the beautiful wooded outdoor area. It is very common to see Moose, Elk, and Deer right on the property. The Valley of the Sun has several families of Moose and Fox. This is one of the few areas where you are able to see Moose in their natural habitat.

The home has a spacious living area with a wood-burning fireplace open to the dining area and cheerful kitchen. The kitchen is well stocked and has custom cabinets and counter tops. There are 3 bedrooms. The upstairs bedroom has a king bed and there is a full bath and a loft with a twin bed upstairs also. On the main level, there is another bedroom with a full size bath (walk in shower) that has a queen size bed. The downstairs has a room with a king bed and a queen size sleeper sofa. This room is also a game room with a gas fireplace and a television with lots of movies.. The great room has a memory foam queen sleeper sofa. There is another twin bed in the loft as well.

The great room is a huge room with lofted ceilings and two-story windows that have views of the mountains and the forest. There is lots of comfortable seating as well as a cozy wood-burning fireplace that has a blower to heat the home in addition to the central heating. There are 3 full baths (one on each level). The large dining has seating for 6-8 and there is also seating at the kitchen island. The outdoor area is also spectacular at this home with fabulous views, a gas grill, a large deck with comfy chairs and a fire pit. ALL WITH GREAT MOUNTAIN VIEWS!

The home has a new Wind River Hot Tub for our winter guests to enjoy after a long day of skiing. The hot tub is on the deck and has great mountain views. Satellite TV, local phone and games are provided for the guests. Plenty of games and movies are in the game room downstairs.

The driveway is plowed in the winter and the roads are county maintained but 4-wheel drive is required due to the frequent snow storms in this area. We recommend it from December through April.

Fairplay and Alma are the activity center of the Colorado Rocky Mountains and is often referred to as the Base Camp for all activities some of which include skiing, snowboarding, hiking, mountain climbing, snow-shoeing, horseback riding (winter too), ice climbing, fishing, hunting, rafting, snow-mobiling, 4-wheeling, ATVing, mine exploring, canoeing, kayaking, and much much more.

If you can think of an outdoor activity, you will probably find it within 10-20 minutes of the cabin. It is a great area to call your "Base Camp".

* FISHING ... Gold Medal/Blue Ribbon Fishing. 5 area lakes and public river a short drive away

* Within Minutes of the home... Access to National Forest/Montgomery Reservoir, Lincoln Falls, Ice Climbing, skiing, snowboarding, and some of the best snow-shoeing and 4-wheeling in Colorado

* Breckenridge ... ski, snow-board, snowmobile, fish, boat, golf - 25 min. NW

* Buena Vista ... Hot Springs, fishing, raft the Arkansas River - 30 min. SW

* Salida ... fishing, hiking, jeep trails , rafting - 25 min SW

* Como Historic Railroad District - 20 min. NW

* Fairplay Historic Mining Town - 5 min. NW

* Denver ... shopping, theaters, sports, amusements parks -90 min NE

* Cripple Creek ... gold mining, gambling - 50 min.

* Canon City ... home of the Royal Gorge - 60 min SE

* Manitou Springs ... Cave of the Winds, Pikes Peak - 60 min. SE

More Details

Property Manager
Susan Bigham
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english, I speak a tiny bit of Spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
July 26, 2017

Amenities

Valley of the Sun Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Main Level - Walk in shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs
    Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Next to master bedroom and loft
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Downstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , 2 twin beds in loft
    Master - 1 king , Upstairs
  • King size beds (2) The master bedroom has a luxurious king bed.nad the downstairs room has a king size bed. Queen size Beds (1) The second Bedroom has a queen bed. , Twin or Single Beds (1). There is a twin bed in the loft. , Child Beds (1) There is a twin futon in the master bedroom for a small child to sleep by their parents. , Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) There are two sofa beds in this home. One is a memory foam mattress that is extremely comfortable. There is a sleeper sofa in the living room and one in the downstairs bedroom / game room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
This home has almost every amenity you would ever need. It has very flexible sleeping arrangements with a king bed, a queen bed, 3 twin beds, two queen sleeper sofas (one with memory foam), and a twin futon sleeper. The home has gorgeous mountain views and a very wooded and secluded property. The new wind river hot tub is absolutely gorgeous and has views of the white-capped mountains. It is perfect to relax in after a hard day of skiing or snow boarding.

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Alpenhaus-Custom Cabin with Hot Tub/Game Room/Views
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
4

Breckenridge

  • 4 of 5

We loved this house. The house is great! We had a hard time finding the house because we came in from opposite direction in the dark, we called the cell phone number given for help and didn't receive a call back at all. We had to buy propane for the grill. Also for a home that sleeps 14 the towels and washcloths were not enough. I had to wash towels before I used them because they were stored with the toilet plunger. Also we had no dishcloths so had to use dish towels to wash our dishes.

The house is beautiful but management can be improved. For a family who stays for a week trash bags should be supplied and a place to put the garbage, as we ate at the cabin.

We had altitude sickness the whole time.

The driveway was plowed and the steps cleaned but no path way to the steps from the truck. My 75 year old father fell on the way in. And had to shovel hard packed snow to get to the grill.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you had trouble. We put in the email to let us know if you have a late arrival so that someone can be available. I did not get his email. We provide a sponge but not dish cloths as we dispose of it each time. There was a plunger in the garage if someone had asked we could have directed them to it. The directions say to put the trash in the garage where it is picked up by the maids so there was a place for the trash. The directions said in two different places that you need to pick up paper goods including TP, trash bags and paper towels. We supply enough for the first day or two but then you need to go to the store. This was in both the email and the driving directions. The book also explained where to get a new tank of propane should you run out. We keep extra canisters at the office on our porch for anyone to pick up that needs the. Again, we did not get a single call about any of these items. I am sorry you got sick and that your Father fell. We did shovel prior to your arrival but we may have missed a spot. We do try to always keep a path open. There were two of us there shoveling prior to your arrival. Again, I wish we had at least received some kind of communication as we try to remedy any problems right away but if we don't get a call we cannot fix problems that we do not know about.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arizona
5

Beautiful House w/ Amazing View

  • 5 of 5

This is a fabulous property with beautiful, picturesque views. My husband and I came with a group of people and we are so glad we did. We really wanted to get away from it all and this place was perfect. It was pet friendly, which made traveling with our dogs even better. The memory foam sleeper on the second floor pull out couch was unbelievably comfortable and was right in front of the fireplace. To top it off the view when waking up was just gorgeous. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Nevada County, CA
4

A beautiful home in a natural setting

  • 4 of 5

The Alpenhaus is quite comfortable, decorated in a wilderness, cabin style. Quite nice. We appreciated that the home was dog-friendly. Beds, the two queens and three twins, are very comfortable. All other beds are fold-outs. The kitchen could use a few more utensils and dishware. The site advertises sleeping for 14 but there are only 8 plates in the kitchen. This only encourages use of paper plates, not very environmentally friendly. If you are washing your dishes in the dishwasher, bring extra dishwasher detergent. Also, no recycling was available, again, not very green. We discovered recycling was available in Fairplay. One should be aware, especially when visiting in the summer, the drive in is on a long dirt road, very slow, very dusty. Cell phone reception is spotty. No Internet.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Pleasanton, CA, US
4

Great property with few exceptions

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful house that appears new and very clean. Decor is wonderful and very appropriate for a cabin; makes for fun experience in Alpen Haus. Hot tub is excellent - one of best I've used. Lots of jets for feet, legs, and back. Beds were comfortable and bedrooms/bathrooms well appointed. As a family of 7 (all adults), we had a wonderful stay.

However, a few items of note:

-The road to this home is long, dusty and has patches of "washboard" ruts. It took 15 mins just to get back to CO-9 so be aware that running out for errands is not quick and easy. Plan your grocery store visits before departing!

-There is NO INTERNET despite mention of internet above.

-There is limited cell phone reception; we had both AT&T and Verizon service and could only pick up spotty service upstairs and at top of driveway.

-The 3rd bedroom is not really a bedroom; it's the whole downstairs so there is limited privacy for anyone staying there. It's also game room and TV room (no TV upstairs) and looks out on hot tub. It's large and comfortable but whoever stays down there should be prepared for others coming in and out (front door also leads into this room). There are only 2 private bedrooms (3rd floor and 2nd floor).

-Kitchen has limited utensils - no scraping spatulas, very few serving spoons, etc. Bring your specialty equipment if you plan on cooking (e.g. more utensils, grater, spatula, griddle, Tupperware). Also, kitchen only had 8 plates and no serving platters so we had to run the dishwasher after every meal with family of 7.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Historic Mining Town of Fairplay
Nearest Point of Interest
Platte River Fishing
Nearest Point of Interest
Historic Breckenridge Ski Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
White-Water Rafting in Buena Vista
Nearest Point of Interest
ATV Trails in the Break Neck and Brown Pass Area
Nearest Point of Interest
ATV Trails in the Mosquito Gulch Area

Hiking, fishing, hunting, ice climbing, 4-wheeling, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ghost town exploring, mine tours, and much much more. Just ask us for information on the activities in the area. There is an old restored mining town called South Park City nearby in Fairplay where you can tour all of the historic buildings from the mining days.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Sometimes rates for rental dates way in the future are not up to date
  • Damage deposit: $500.00
  • $250-$350/nt
  • US Dollars
  • $200 per night / $250 for holidays and peak ski season.
  • $300 per night for Christmas holidays
  • There is a $150 cleaning fee and a non-refundable $50 damage waiver.
  • The sales tax is 3.9%
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable