Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rocky Mtn Ranch 11 Acre. Coal Creek Canyon/Boulder/Golden/Nederland-Furnished

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Office, 3 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

Rocky Mountain Ranch Style Home. Experience staying in the beautiful community of Coal Creek Canyon. Conveniently located close to Boulder, Golden, Nederland & Denver Metro. Can comfortably sleep 6, 8 with the use of a futon bed. *(Extra person fee will apply over 6, anything over 8 would require approval by Owners and additional over occupancy surcharge). Wood burning fireplace. Private setting. Home sits in the center of 11 Acres. 8 Horses (including 1 pony are on the land and Pony riding might be possible for children and (must be arranged in advance w/the owner of the horses) and for a fee. Enjoy Colorado's arid climate that is perfect for outdoor recreation. Paved roads all the way to the property with a level circle drive for easy entering & exiting the property. Full-Service Kitchen, Washer/Dryer, 3 Baths, Large dining room and Large Living area. WI-FI, satellite television, pool table, Nordic Track all available during stay. Outside offers mountain views, Hot Tub, 2 BBQ grills/smoker, Umbrella table and seating, hammock, double wood swing, etc.

Keywords: Ranch Style, one level, 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, +1 1/2 Bath, Wood burning Fireplace (we provide the wood), Pool Table, Piano, Nordic Trek, Full Kitchen (w/2 ovens), Dining room, Laundry and Office, outdoor Hot Tub, child's play area with slides, swing, etc. 8 Horses (including 1 pony) are on the land.

Stars are really great up here above all the city lights at 8000', there are so many stars and on clear nights (especially in the Winter, one can often see the Milky Way)!

We are within a couple minutes drive to Walker Ranch (a nice hiking area that takes you up to the back side of the Flatiron Mountain Range of Boulder). Also, Gross Dam where one can fish, use nonmotorized boats, picnic, (public BBQ's), hike, great view of the Sunset, etc. Lovely area!

More Details

Owner
Kim
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, Base rate includes up to 6 people/3 beds.
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

About Kim

Property Owner in Travel Business for over 25 years and has worked on an 80' Yacht B & B in the San Fran Bay Area. She knows what good hospitality involves and strives to make your experience here on the Ranch a good one! If you have a special occasion, please advise Owner in advance as she'll be happy to decorate for you. Special Events available for a fee.

Kim purchased this house in 2000

Why Kim chose Coal Creek Canyon

This is our family home. We liked the idea that we could share our slice of heaven with others looking for the true rocky mountain high experience!

When the owner is in town there is the possibility of the family being on land. It's 11 acres, so lots of room! If in town during a booking & if they opt to stay on property during your visit, they have a separate, private fenced off area in which they stay, or separate entrance back apt. room, (which isn't part of the Vacation Rental). They totally respect guests privacy and are here to be of service if needed, otherwise, they keep to themselves and will never enter the main Ranch House rented during your stay.

Pony rides, Special Events; parties, weddings, retreats, etc. and also catering are available for extra fees.

What makes this house unique

Beautiful Views, wildlife, serenity, fresh mountain air, hiking and mountain biking nearby, close to skiing, gaming, shopping, 45 min to downtown Denver. Within 30 min to Boulder and Nederland and 20 minutes to Downtown Golden. Lovely Coal Creek Canyon Community. We are away from City lights so the Stars at night from our land are truly wonderful, most of the time you can see the Milky Way, great to gaze upon while soaking in the outdoor Hot Tub!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We were fortunate to have a family reunion and to spend a week over Thanksgiving at this lovely Ranch home. The home is very nicely appointed and spacious inside and out. The kitchen has two ovens, which was great for holiday cooking and has everything anyone needs to cook with and serve. The living room has an awesome stone fireplace which added to the cozy ambiance and also has a wonderful pool table and nice leather furniture. The master bedroom has a great very comfortable king size Aspen bed and matching end tables. Our family felt right at home (as will yours) and would highly recommend this property to all!!!
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Gross Dam Reservoir
Nearest Point of Interest
Eldora Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Black Hawk/Central City Gaming
Nearest Point of Interest
Town of Nederland
Car: necessary

Close to world class skiing, casino gambling, Gross Dam Res. for fishing, canoeing and animal watching, close to Golden, Boulder and Denver for the 'Urban' experience and close to quaint mountain towns and restaurants.

Amenities

Coal Creek Canyon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Largest of the 3 bathrooms in Hallway
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Newly completely remodeled with custom stone work
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 bath has toilet and sink close to kitchen area
  • 2.5, 1 full has a combo bathtub/shower & the other full has a regular shower. Both full units have shower bars in them.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Queen size futon bed - Office has been make into extra bedroom for larger groups
  • King size beds (2) The one in the master bedroom is a custom made Aspen bed (w/CA King mattress) and matching custom made Aspen & stone end tables., Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) We have an extra Queen Size Futon in large private Office room as well that can be made up for larger groups and 1 double that can be placed either in our of our large bedrooms or in the living room. *Please note that our base nightly rate includes up to 6 people & 3 beds (based on 2 per bed). If there are more than 6 people or 6 people wanting more than 3 beds, there will be a surcharge for such and it's up to Owners approval. Larger groups are more wear and tear on the property, more water used from the land and more linens/towels used and increasing laundry usage. Acceptance of larger groups are subject to Owners approval and will be considered on a case by case request basis.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
Notes:
We can do weddings and special events on the property as well! We have a playset with swing, slides, rock climbing wall, basketball hoop etc for children. There are 8 horses (including 1 pony) on the property & pony rides for children on the land can be arranged with advanced notice and for a fee. We are on 11 acres in old growth forest, so there is lots of room to roam. There are lots of outdoor things to do very close by, Gross Dam which allows non-motorized boats (canoe rentals available near by), hiking and mountain biking all very close to the house. There are a few restaurants in our Canyon and many good ones to choose from in the nearby old west mountain town of Nederland. Nederland also offers skiing and snow boarding at Eldora Mountain Ski Resort. We are about 20 minutes from Downtown Golden and 30 to Boulder and about 45 - 60 minutes to Denver (depending upon where in area) & it's about 1:15 to/from DIA. The Fall is all aglow with yellow Aspen leaves!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rocky Mtn Ranch 11 Acre. Coal Creek Canyon/Boulder/Golden/Nederland-Furnished
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 39 reviews
Owings Mills, MD
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

I just returned from our family vacation at Kim's ranch home and words cannot describe how incredibly wonderful our stay was. :) Below is the list of things we absolutely loved and appreciated at the ranch:

- The house is HUGE!

- Kim has provided more than just the basic necessities all around the home for a comfortable stay. For example, besides coffee, sugar, spices, she also stocked some additional food items in the refrigerator for us to use during our stay. Including wine! :)

- Kim was personally there to give us a walkthrough of the home just so we could understand and operate all the things provided in the house for us to use. She was also available via phone to speak with in case we had any additional questions.

- Kim has been incredible with communicating any and all the necessary information that would make our stay extremely comfortable.

- Kim has also provided information about the local history and/or tour guides for local places to visit. The hot tub, wi-fi and home phone, pool table, piano, etc. were simply the icing on the cake! :)

- All the items provided in this home are very unique and novel. The unique lighting in the home simply added to the coziness and warmth of the place. We even got to experience a fox that came trotting right in our back yard and got some food. It felt like a genuine experience of living in the mountains of Coloraro. :)

- The home is located only 20-25 mins drive from Boulder and/or Golden. The drive to and back is also enjoyable.

Thank you Kim for sharing your home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at your home and would most certainly come and stay there again next time. :)

  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kshama, It was so lovely having your family here, you are all most welcomed back anytime! Many Blessings, Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Nice stay in Coal Creek Canyon

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed staying at Kim's house and she was very friendly and accommodating. It was wonderful to be near Boulder but away from the town in the evenings. The property was beautiful with horses wandering out back. We were able to hike at the nearby Walker Ranch trail and the scenery is stunning.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: THIS STAR RATING WAS IN ERROR! I communicated with the Guests as they had said they had a great time and left nice comments on their review and in my Guest Book. Please see Polly's comment she sent to me below. * * "Hi Kim - Oh dear! I will fix my star rating for you right away! I must have been in a little bit of a hurry. Let me find where to go to redo that for you. We loved our stay! Thanks - Polly" - Unfortunately, after contacting VRBO there is no way to change the Star Rating even in an error. :( Please know I do my very best to give all my guests a 5 Star Experience! Kim - Evans Ranch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property for family gatherings!

  • 5 of 5

Several family members rented homes around the Coal Creek area for a family reunion, but ours ended up being the family gathering spot with good reason. The play set and horses were perfect for the kids, we set up horse rides before getting there and were surprised at the time attention the kids got. The house is bigger than it looks in the photos, and we got good use out of the pool table, fire pit, and hot tub. Considering renting again in the future!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David, It was a delight to host you and yours! I'm so glad you guys all enjoyed your time here! I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Ranch again someday! :) All the Best, Kim Evans Ranch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a mountain get away!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at the ranch. There was plenty of space for 5 adults and we never felt cramped. We enjoyed wandering the property and interacting with the horses. The hot tub was a welcome sight after a day of hiking. The location made it convenient to get to Boulder and plenty of hiking trails. I would not hesitate to stay here again!! Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Matt, Thanks for your nice for review! It was lovely to meet you and your group and I'd love to have you again another time! I do give repeat guests a "Repeaters Discount"! So glad you had a nice stay! Best, Kim Evans Ranch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great secluded relaxing hideaway

  • 5 of 5

kim was thorough in greeting and showing us around the house. many nice features including wood burning fireplace and hot tub. thank you for the snowfall the first night made it quite picturesque...

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You, Russell, it was lovely meeting your family and you'd all be most welcome back anytime! Best, Kim Evans Ranch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely house, plenty of room, great location

  • 4 of 5

I had a blast here, the house was super nice and the surrounding area was nice and secluded but only 45 min from Denver. The only complaint I have is about the hot tub which couldn't hold its heat with the top off and was fairly dirty inside. If you are not interested in the tub then this house has everything you need. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad that overall you had a good stay! I'm sorry that you had any issues with the Hot Tub. Just to be clear, the issue was not that the Hot Tub couldn't hold its heat w/the lid on, yes it will lose some with it off, heat rises & when in for a while it will naturally lose some. But the issue was that the people in your group who had used it prior to you, the night before had tripped the Spa breaker. You realized there was an issue when trying to use it the following day when you 1st notified me of an issue. I had come w/in minutes of you advising there was an issue. You had advised the buttons weren't working, so I checked the Instrument panel to find no lights on, which means it was tripped. So, I reset & showed you how to reset the breaker. Since the power to it had been off for 12 hours or so, yes that will take a while to reheat as I had advised since it had been off for so long. I'm very sorry that happened, it's not something that happens often & it's actually a very easy fix, but you need to reset it quickly so you don't lose your heat. I am now making a point to advise all my guests how to remedy this quickly in case it happens to them. As far as the Hot Tub being dirty, I need to advise it was NOT at the time of Check-In. We do all outside clean up work the day of arrival, including cleaning & treating the spa.The water is tested & clean upon arrival. I had personally checked the Spa as I do with my final Inside/Outside house walk through prior to my guest's arrival, which I always do. As you know your girlfriend & buddy had arrived 1st & I did the Check-In-Walkthrough w/ them. I lifted the Hot Tub Lid & showed them how to use the hot tub. It was clean. We do have well water, so it's natural & not treated the way city water is & does naturally have minerals in it, but it's pure & we add chlorine to it & balance & treat & thoroughly clean inside & out between each rental. However, one thing we wish our guests would do is shower before entering the hot tub! It only takes 1 body w/ lotion or something on it to really muck the water up! When you went to use it the 2nd day, when you texted me there was an issue, you saw it after others had entered. I had also advised the people who I did the check-in with, where the skimmer & pump were if you needed to use it between uses. Also, I had asked you after I reset it & got it working again if there was anything else & you said no, all was good, I would have happily cleaned the Spa again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
CC fee ($ disc. avail.) $40
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 5.0%

Our standard base rate is $199.00 a night w/a 2-night minimum up to 6 people & then it's $20.00
per person a night Extra Person/s fee (up to 8). If you're a larger group, it's up to Owner discretion if we can accommodate you as larger groups create a lot of extra wear & tear on house/property, more beds to set up, water use, more linens & towels, etc., (we charge an additional Large Group Surcharge for groups over 8 & allow 11 MAX). Additional tax, insurance, cleaning, pet and any other applicable fees. Holiday and other Seasonal Specials have varying rates and minimum night requirements. Request a Quote for a complete breakdown, of all charges. ALL RATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE UNTIL BOOKING IS CONFIRMED/PAID IN FULL. We are 100% Non-Refundable, but will EXCHANGE equal nights booked (of equivalent season value booked) another time, based on availability. We suggest you get VRBO's Vacation Insurance if you have any concerns. We are privately Owned & Operated and aim to please and do our best to give you a 5-Star Rocky Mountain Experience! We believe we have a little slice of Heaven up here! :)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties