Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

South Seas ON the Beach/gulf villa king bed sleeper sofa beach items provided

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

One bedroom one bath on the beach views of the water newly renovated throughout

This unit is a one bedroom one bathroom beach villa with unobstructed views of the water. It is approximately 25 paces to the beach. You have the use of 3 condo pools.

The unit has a queen sleeper sofa and one full bathroom. the bathroom also has a door located off the master bedroom which is a nice option that way you can access the bathroom without having to go into the hall. The bathroom has a separate sink area and another area that has the tub/shower combo and toilet area. This is also nice since someone can be in the sink area and someone else can be taking a shower.

We just purchased the unit and have completely renovated the unit. Brand new appliances, new counter tops, new everything in the kitchen from dishes, to pots and pans.

There is a new dining room set, two chairs in the living room, and a queen sofa. There are flat screen TV's in the living room and the bedroom. One DVD player in the living room.

More Details

Owner
Kim Dennis
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

About Kim Dennis

I have been coming to South Seas since my 18th Brithday. I am not going to mention how long ago that was but suffice to say that was a long time ago and I still love it!!!!

We have 6 total units in South Seas that we rent. We absolutely love this beach. The shelling is amazing. There is usually a very nice breeze and we love to sit on the screened in patio and watch the sun set. There is nothing like sitting and watching the sun set.

Kim Dennis purchased this condo in 2012

Why Kim Dennis chose Captiva

We love to vacation here it is very relaxing and has great sunsets.

Located in the South Seas Resort in the beach villas in an elevator building

• 15 magnificent miles of white sandy beaches and a treasure

chest of shells

• 74.4° annual average air temperature

• 77.5° annual average water temperature

• 7 days a week of trophy fishing

• 20+ miles of tropical bike paths

• 300 species of birds, 50 species of reptiles and amphibians,

and more than 30 types of mammals live here

What makes this condo unique

We have an owner locker, with 4 beach chairs, umbrella but not guaranteed since they get broken frequently and do not get reported broken, cooler, and sand toys. This is a GREAT benefit to have access to this locker area since any other properties I have seen for rent other than ours do not have this option. If you rent with others you will have to get or bring your own beach chairs, unbrella, and cooler. This can be expensive and I provide it for free with your rental. You also have access to this on the first floor so that you are not dragging this stuff into the unit and getting sand everywhere. Renters comment on this great benefit all the time for our other units on VRBO.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great location and very well equipped condo at South Seas. Everything was as described and we would definitely return!
May 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Captiva Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • A rental agreement is required to be signed for renting of this property a sample is below but I will send you a detailed one once booked
  • smoke smell in the unit will result in forfeiture of entire security deposit
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet and shower have a separate door
  • 1 there is a door from the master to the bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , king bed with luxury duvet and comforter
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper sofa
  • King size beds (1) Hotel collection 600 thread count duvet, down comforter, shams, down pillows, Baby Cribs (1) I can arrange this to be delivered for a fee if you so desire along with any other baby items you may need ask for details, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) queen in living room linens provided
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Golf Carts can be rented with a local provider I no longer guarantee the use of umbrellas in my units due to the damage by guests I do have beach chairs and umbrellas but DO NOT guarantee the umbrellas YOU CAN USE THE FOLLOWING: 1. 3 condo pools 2. 3 BBQ areas 3. All pool chairs, loungers and tables at the 3 condo pools since I own in all 3 associations 4. Tennis pay for play just as you would at the resort as of this moment it is $18 per person per day. Rates subject to change by the resort 5. All my beach items to include chairs, beach towels, cooler and sand toys 6. You may eat at Doc Fords and pay with a credit card but there are so many off site restaurants (walkable and others by car) not sure why one would eat at south seas (expensive) but yes you can eat at Doc Fords. 7. You can rent bikes, golf carts and other items of interest with local providers that are less expensive than you would pay with the resort.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
South Seas ON the Beach/gulf villa king bed sleeper sofa beach items provided
average rating of 4.75 based on 29 reviews
Leominster, Mass
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We are more than half way through our vacation week and everything has exceeded our expectations. My wife and I have had the fortune of being able use family homes on lakes and oceans for vacations most of our lives and when we travel oustisde of New England, we have rented condos, but they feel like rental properties. Coming to this condo we instantly felt we were in one of our families summer homes. The unit is nicely decorated from the furniture to the wall hangings to the light fixtures, to the amenities, this unit is very comfortable.

The owner was very responsive during the rental process, which was very easy I might add.

Regarding Captiva itself, the Gulf beaches are definitely worth the visit if you have never been. The shells and the sand are awesome and you can pretty much walk forever. The owner makes going to the beach very easy with beach chairs, umbrella, beach toys, and cooler that she supplies, which talking to people here is NOT a common practice.

We have been to a handful of resturants, all of them very good, and many within walking distance. One night we bought steaks, makings for salad and a nice bottle of wine from Baileys and ate in. This was very simple to do because of access to a gas grill, the grill tools, seasoning, and dishes supplied by the owner.

We have a reservation tomorrow to rent a boat and explore the Pine Island Sound to end our week. We will be sad to leave, but will have lasting memories of the great week we had on the island.

As my wife and I were going through the planning process for this vacation, reviews played an important part in our selection procees. You should definitely put this unit and this owner on your short list.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting our condo. I am glad you had a wonderful experience. I found just supplying the little things like beach towels, chairs, umbrella, sand toys, cooler and grill tools make a big difference in the guest experience. I also love the walking distance is so close to the many local restaurants and bars
Did you find this review helpful?
23 6
5

Great Condo and Location

  • 5 of 5

This was a very nice property. All was exactly as described. Well apportioned, everything you need for a great vacation. Pool and beach are right out the door and beach chairs/umbrella were so nice to have. Condo was clean and everything worked well, bed was very comfortable. There were just two of us so we did not use sofa/sleeper. Owner was super fast and complete in responses. Would highly recommend and will most likely be looking to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfict for 2

  • 4 of 5

Condo was nice and clean.Close to beach and pool.Quiet.Eats are within walking distance.Owners closet was loaded with anything you need for the beach.The only problem my wife and I had was the super HARD bed.Worst bed we have ever slept on.I would suggest getting a new one not everyone likes a rock HARD bed not kidding about how HARD the bed is.Other than that everything was great.We would not rent this condo again only because of the bed.Also still waiting on our deposit to be credited. The only reason I didn't rate a 5 star again was the bed.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I guess the bedding is particular to the guest I like a firm bed due to my injured back but maybe some do not I have never had any issues sleeping there. Security was sent back VRBO when you book on line with them holds it for 14 days if you book with me for a second time I do not charge a security deposit if you book direct and you are a previous guest in good standing plus I offer a payment by check discount
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyed. The property was well kept.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. Property was nice, beach was not crowded. Pool and outdoor grilling areas were nice.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beds are terrible.

  • 1 of 5

The property is very typical condo. It is clean and well maintained. However, that's where the it ends.

The sofa bed is horrible and I do not recommend this property if you need to use it. The mattress is very thin and you will not be able to sleep on it.

The master bedroom mattress is better, but it is a very hard mattress. We couldn't get a good night sleep and check out two days early. Ruined our vacation because we couldn't get rested.

The noise from neighbors can be very loud, especially in the bedroom. You can clearly hear everyone coming up the stairs.

Based on my numerous vacations to this area, I would not recommend this property.

I did speak to the rental management. I asked the owner to contact me. Never heard from her.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I called the concierge when I received the review since I was not told by the concierge to contact the guest and they stated the guest called that the bed was uncomfortable but she booked directly with me so she could have contacted me directly at any time and did not. Also they did not leave early so I have no idea what that is about in the review.. Also the bed in the king bedroom is about 1.5 years old it is a memory foam firm mattress I find them very comfortable and have not received any bad reviews about it maybe the guest is not used to a very good mattress I have to have one since I have a very bad back I broke it a while back and need a good mattress to sleep on. Sofa sleepers are never comfortable so no surprise there and the guest should not have been surprised I guess maybe the expection of a sofa bed is unrealistic The walls are solid concrete so the noise the persons heard probably was because this is a condo and people were walking up the stairs. But this is a normal noise level for a condo. All in all I think these renters should have rented an appropriate size home and not squeeze 4 adults into a one bedroom plus they have unrealistic expectations from a condo facility since there are going to be people around in a condo location.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Clean, quiet, great view!

  • 5 of 5

This unit is in a great location, it's clean, quiet, and the view and proximity to the beach are great. The owner's suggestions re: restaurants etc were spot on (those cinnamon orange rolls at Over Easy Cafe were unbelievable!) She also was very easy to contact when we had questions and obviously cares about her renters. She also provided beach chairs and umbrellas and coolers which was very helpful. Beach towels were also provided. Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed my home and requested my other units on VRBO as well now that you have enjoyed this one Hope to have you back at any of my units
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

This is inside the resort of South Seas.

Just inside the guard gates our unit is located in the 2500 building they are all low rise buildings only 3 floors for each building.

These beach villas are directly ON the beach. With direct water views.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
damage waiver $59 + Tax
concierge/emergencies $70 + Tax
cleaning/linens $100 + Tax
beach chairs/towels $66 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

Ask about possible discounts on pricing as stated.

I do require a rental agreement signed PRIOR to accepting any on line bookings this is due to VRBO/Homeaways new policies with its payment processor where the on line signature is no longer a valid signature

NO one or two night rentals. Any start date is fine as long as it does not leave less than 4 consecutive nights open between rentals (non prime time rentals) Email for ALL holiday pricing 7 night min. Email is best and the fastest method of contact I work full time and do not have phone access at work. Saturday to Saturday only rentals during the prime rental season. Fees based on a one week stay if your stay is over 7 nights inquire for pricing
All auto books on VRBO require a $500 security deposit paid by check

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties