Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Irish Hospitality In County Door!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 550 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (sleeps 2) Loft With Lots Of Amenities.

Our charming Irish rental is an ideal getaway spot for two. Newly renovated with gorgeous hardwood floors, luxurious king sized bed, and a flat screen television. The spacious layout includes a three piece bathroom (stand up shower, toilet and sink), a full kitchen, a washer/dryer and even a private balcony. Located above O'Meara's Irish House, O'Meara's Cottage Loft has been welcoming guests since 2006, all to rave reviews. Guests love the homey feel of the loft and the privacy and quiet it offers. While staying at O'Meara's, guests enjoy a 20% discount to our store as well as an Irish food basket with treats from Ireland (brown bread, oatmeal, tea, coffee, jam, biscuits, etc.) We are also dog friendly. Our four legged guests are welcomed with their own food and water bowl and gourmet dog treats. We also feature a library of books and movies, cable TV, DVD player, high speed Internet, air conditioning, heat, complimentary local calls, fax service, concierge service. We are here to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. Rely on our expert knowledge of the area for dinner recommendations, as well as recommendations on what to see and do. We look forward to having you stay at our lovely home away from home.


Owner
Megan O'Meara
Member since: 2013
Speaks: french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Megan O'Meara

O'Meara's Irish House has been a part of the Fish Creek story for decades. In 2006, we opened O'Meara's Cottage Loft so that we could share the Irish hospitality experience we've come to love in our travels to Ireland.

Megan O'Meara purchased this studio in 1999

Why Megan O'Meara chose Door County

We feel very blessed to get to live and work in beautiful Door County and love a chance to share our rental with our guests, many of whom have returned year after year.

Amenities

Fish Creek Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Irish Hospitality In County Door!
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 38 reviews
5

Always a great stay

  • 5 of 5

We never have a bad weekend when we are here. True R&R! Can't wait til next time.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming loft!

  • 5 of 5

Private yet close to everything. Many extra touches to make stay enjoyable-including dishwasher! Much more spacious and homey than a motel. Our dog enjoyed it as well. Host Megan is the best!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming Hide-A-Way!

  • 5 of 5

Cute, comfortable, feels like home! Such a wonderful little cottage to hide away from the hustle and bustle of a busy resort town. From the private balcony to the kitchenette and cozy living space, this adorable little Irish loft is such a welcome change from traditional lodging. Megan is the most gracious hostess - we felt like guests in her home rather than "hotel guests"! Any questions or concerns were immediately addressed, (we contacted her looking for matches to light the grill and within minutes she arrived with matches and an unnecessary apology for our inconvenience), she's also quick to offer recommendations for activities or meals based on our interests for the day.

We loved the Irish touches throughout the loft and the welcome basket filled with Irish goodies, including special treats for our dog which was very much appreciated!

Looking forward to our next visit to "County Door"!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awww!! Thanks very much for your review, Silvia. It's always so nice to visit with you and Steve. It doesn't feel like you are hotel guests at all anymore, but rather friends coming back for a stay or two each season. I love that you are so comfortable and think of this as your home away from home. You'll always be very welcome here! (And your fur kids too.) :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

OK overall, but wouldn't choose to stay here again

  • 2 of 5

On a positive note: (i) the hospitality was welcoming, friendly and helpful, (ii) the location was great on the edge of town yet within walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants, (iii) the basket of Irish goods was a lovely (and tasty!) touch and (iv) the interior of the unit was nice (although a second comfy chair would have been nice for hanging out). On a negative note: (i) the outside space was sub-par (options were an unattractive balcony and/or a patio facing a propane tank and parking lot), (ii) the stairs, entry door and windows were all rotting/moldy (extremely uninviting), (iii) the window A/C unit was extremely loud (needed to run it because only two windows open) and (iv) the fridge was also really loud when it kicked in.

Wishing Meagan all the best but we would choose a different place to stay next time we visit Door County!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Milda, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I always like to hear what people did like as well as what they didn't. I am a little surprised though at your 2 star rating given all the positives you shared (our location, your welcome, the interior, etc.) and the lovely note that you left in our guest book. It sounds as though you won't be joining us again, which is unfortunate, but we know we can't please everyone as much as we try. I am glad that you enjoyed Door County over all and hope you do return to continue to explore this beautiful peninsula. The air conditioner unit is going to be replaced at the end of this season since we would like to relocate it to the kitchen area. That will give a nice cross breeze in the bedroom. I've never had any complaints about the refrigerator being loud. A lot of our guests love having the use of a full kitchen and make comments on that, but I'll look into it. Our building is quite a bit older, which gives it its charm as well as some maintenance challenges. One of the benefits of being surrounded by big cedar trees is the shade over the balcony. The shade does age the wood more quickly and I fully agree that some of the boards need to be replaced. That hasn't prevented the majority of our guests from enjoying the balcony (which is sturdy) and faces a wooded area with hanging flower baskets, not the propane tank. We do have a lower deck that is located near the propane tank which is just how the building was situated. The lower deck was all rebuilt and newly stained last fall. We always think about our guests' comfort and place priority where it is needed. Our plan is to re-blacktop the driveway after the big highway 42 project is completed since we will be losing some of our parking lot to make room for town sidewalks. It just makes sense to do everything at once. I hope that this information is helpful to you and to others who plan on joining us in the future. Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palos Heights
5

Reminiscent of a B&B, a nice distance from the crowds of Fish Creek

  • 5 of 5

The short get away to Door County was made very comfortable by staying here. Lovely basket of Irish treats when you open the door including a filled water bowl and dog cookies for my pup. Clean, everything in good working order and very homey after a long day of venturing out and about. It is a very short walk - like maybe 2 blocks - to downtown Fish Creek which I appreciated. Have passed along the experience to friends and would definitely look for availability for another visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Sharon! It was great having you stay with us. Hope to see you again when your schedule allows. It's always good to take a break away and relax. :) Take care, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Megan has clearly made a big effort to make her guests feel at home. The bed was very comfortable - quality linens, down pillows, great mattress. The entire place was very clean and tidy. Megan even left us a lovely basket of breakfast items and Irish goodies! Also, her Irish shop downstairs is worth a visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your review, Gray, and your visit with us. We always love when guests make themselves at home and get the chance to completely relax. It was great chatting with you both. Best of luck with your travels and employment adventures. :) We hope to see you back in Door County again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Peninsula State Park
Orchard Country Winery & Market
American Folklore Theatre
White Gull Inn
The Skyway Drive-In Theatre
Cookery in Fish Creek
Orchards At Egg Harbor
Gibraltar Grill
Main Street Market
Hands On Art Studio
Alpine Golf Course
Nearest Airport
85 Miles
Austin Straubel International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Gibraltar Grill
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Washington Island Ferry Line
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Peninsula State Park Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Gibraltar Grill
Nearest Beach
0.75 Miles
Fish Creek Beach
Car: recommended

Located above O'Meara's Irish House in Fish Creek at the north end of Fish Creek. Steps away from the entrance to Peninsula State Park, shopping and restaurants. Peninsula State Park is considered the crown jewel of the Wisconsin State Park system. All Fish Creek locations are no more than a 10 minute walk from O'Meara's Cottage Loft. Guests enjoy being able to walk to nearby restaurants, shops and galleries. We are also very near the Fish Creek Beach. Our rental unit is private, quiet and has every amenity you will need.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

Rates are subject to change. If you are traveling with more than 2 dogs, please check with management first. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties