Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront -4 acres of private land - 6 Bedrooms - 2 kitchens - Dog Friendly!

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Privacy - 6 Bdrm

Perfect for larger groups or 2 families. Situated between St. Germain and Eagle River is this beautiful and private lake home, with 6 bedrooms and three large bathrooms, located on a 4-acre, with open and wooded landscape. Chain Lake is part of the famous Sugar Camp Chain of Lakes, which also provides Class A Musky fishing. Other accessible lakes include Echo, Dam Lake, Sand Lake, Stone Lake, and Chain Lake – comprising 2,300 acres of water ways. Our property has 140 feet of private shoreline, sandy beachfront and gradual deepening of the water for non-weedy swimming.

The cottage has a master suite and 2 other bedrooms on the main floor. 1 king bed, full, and bunk bed (1 queen on bottom and 1 twin above). 2 full baths on main level. Lower level has 3 bedrooms - 1 queen, 1 full and twin and another full and twin. Lower level also has second full kitchen and full bath. Both kitchens are completely stocked and we also have a washer and dryer for your use. We have a lovely wrap around deck with patio set and a large gas grill! Huge yard for fun family games and very large fire-pit area! Not to mention raspberry patches for you to enjoy! This home is a great retreat for all family members - including your pets if you have them. Dogs just love how much land they have to run and play on!

This property is set up perfectly for two families to share or one family to spread out. Please note that this cabin is not solely income property. It is our treasured family cabin so we do have personal items neatly tucked away in closets or out in the open for everyone to enjoy!

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 11, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

Hi - my name is Maureen Lewis and I purchased this property along with other family members to provide a place for memories to be made, nature to be enjoyed, and for our extended family to spend quality time together.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Eagle River

Hi - we are John and Donna King, Maureen's parents. I (Donna) have been spending time in the north woods since my grandparents bought their cottage in the early 1940's. This property is in the same vicinity as was my parents' and grandparents', therefore a long history wonderful memories that I wanted to continue with my children and grandchildren. It is a uniquely private piece of property, on a dead end road, yet close to all the social events northern Wisconsin has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The private acreage and dead end road is unique in a cottage setting. There are no neighbors behind or to the right. There is ample room for families to enjoy lawn games and for pets to run. There are two kitchens - a large fire pit area - kayaks or other boating activities to enjoy on a non crowded lake.

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Rhinelander, Wi
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Eagle River Golf
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Pitliks Resort
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Brule Mountain

Sugar Camp is a wonderfully kept secret on a 5 chain lake system - very close to Eagle River (8 miles)and St. Germaine (8 miles) with less congestion on the lakes, and beautiful wildlife abounds. Great fishing, snowmobiling, skiing, restaurants, bicycle and hiking trails.

Amenities

Eagle River Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , Queen and twin configuration
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Lakefront -4 acres of private land - 6 Bedrooms - 2 kitchens - Dog Friendly!
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews
5

Wonderful family place !

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have picked a nicer place to vacation! Our grandkids enjoyed playing on the Sandy beach and the older ones had fun each day taking the kyaks out! The cabin was so spacious for our group of 13 people! Even on a rainy day there were indoor games to play and a huge variety of movies to watch which made for a perfect peaceful vacation! We thank Maureen for being a wonderful host and would definitely consider coming back!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cindy it was our pleasure having you and your family! You were so pleasant to work with and I am so happy that your family enjoyed the northwoods and the cabin. We would love to have you back as well. Thank you so much for your kind words - so appreciate it! Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place and great owners!

  • 5 of 5

Stay at the same place every year and we're never disappointed! Beautiful home with everything we need for a great getaway. Love this place!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having you year after year! You sure had beautiful weather - glad you all had a wonderful time!!! Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful

  • 5 of 5

Large house on a quiet lane with views of the lake. The owner was wonderful to deal with in answering questions. Great place to have families gather.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to host a family from all over the U.S. Happy we could provide a space where you could gather and honor your mother. Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd year staying at this cabin and once again it did not disappoint. Ton of room for a huge family...9 adults and 6 kids. We have already book it again for next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Most relaxing and beautiful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Six of us ladies stayed here for a gals weekend. WOW! So peaceful. The house was in perfect condition and clean, and oh so spacious. It was heavenly listening to the loon early Sunday morning. And communicating with the owner was so easy; immediate response to our inquiry. We try to go to different locations every year but everyone hinted that they would not mind coming back here again next year. Thank you for a perfect weekend. (Note: I probably could take off 1/2 star ONLY because there is very little lighting between where the cars are parked and walking to the house, so walking this area after dark was a tad bit challenging for some of us...but we adapted, and survived ;)

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bonnie for the nice review. So happy you enjoyed your time up at the cabin. Seems like you had great weather as well! It was a pleasure working with you and know that we would love to have you back. There is an outdoor light that you must not have seen that illuminates the whole yard just to the left of the cabin - if you were looking at cabin. I will make sure I add this in the "welcome letter" for future reference. Thanks again! Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our size of group - 6 couples. Enjoyed our stay.

  • 5 of 5

The home provided us with everything we needed. My only "fyi" is that the garage is not connected to the home, you need to walk a very short path to get to the home. I only bring this up because when we left, that path was icy and slippery due to the melt and refreeze. This is definitely not a complaint...if you stay in the winter be prepared for the winter elements. The kitchen was fully stocked. Beautiful place and would definitely go back to stay there.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your winter getaway. Yes, Mother Nature can be tricky at times - especially in the winter! Thank you for being such wonderful guests - the cleaning crew said you were so respectful of the property!!! We would love to have you again!! Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $160
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 5.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.