Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunset View over Lake Whatcom

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2.5 bath where the sun lingers over Lake Whatcom for an amazing sun

A remodeled lake house that provides luxury while taking in everything nature has to offer. Have a glass of wine on the deck or soak up the views in the hot-tub over looking the lake. The golf course and beaches are within walking distance. This quiet community is a great place to get away and relax. Close to downtown Bellingham and Fairhaven where there are tons of great places to eat. We take pride in this getaway and enjoy the opportunity to share it with others. Come to Sudden Valley and see everything The Pacific NW has to offer!


Owner
Owen Brown
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

About Owen Brown

We are always having an adventure. We're currently in Bellingham aboard our sail boat living each day to it's fullest. My wife is from Boston and I am from Nova Scotia. We want everyone to enjoy this house as we do!

Owen Brown purchased this house in 2009

Why Owen Brown chose Northwest & Islands

We fell in love with Bellingham because of it's beauty and laid back nature. We chose this property based on the feeling we had once we first stepped in. The full window face of the house captured our attention as we just starred at the view of the lake. With the remodels heavy on the wood work, we made it cozy and comfortable so we felt we were always in a summer home.

What makes this house unique

It needed a ton of work to make it what we wanted. Our first 2 years of living there we always had contractors walking through our home. Now it is exactly the way we pictured it when we first stepped in. The main focal point it the rock wall behind the wood stove. Gives a great atmosphere while sitting up high above the lake.

Amenities

Bellingham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , steamer/sauna in shower
    Guest bath on bottom floor - toilet , Guest Bath
  • Our spa bathroom compete with a heated floor and a stone walk way... feels great on the feet! Also with enclosed shower so you can relax in a sauna... cedar cieling brings that nice sauna smell! Both full bathrooms are complete with granite counter tops.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Room - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Master is on the top floor with solarium, private deck and spa bathroom, 1 guest room on the bottom floor and the other upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
22% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Sunset View over Lake Whatcom
average rating of 4.5925927 based on 27 reviews
5

Lots of space, great view and hot tub!!!

  • 5 of 5

This house is settled up on a hill in Sudden Valley but very accessible to everything in the community or even Bellingham attractions. We were 2 couples with kids and we never felt crowded. The kids loved the hot tub and all he areas to play at and discover in or around Sudden Valley.

This house has pretty much everything you would have in your own home. Well stocked with towels, kitchen supplies, tv, lots of old records?with a record player (a fun little touch), etc, etc.

The pictures on VRBO are very accurate and the place has a nice view of the lake while tucked in close to neighbours, yet not too close that you feel crowded. Lots of deck space and equally roomy inside.

We really enjoyed our stay and could see ourselves returning to stay here again.

I would recommend this place to people looking for a great location around the Bellingham area.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Bellingham is such an amazing place to visit, especially in the summer. Please come back any time. The Browns
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs a little something!

  • 2 of 5

We met some friends here for the weekend and is was a bit disappointing. While there are some nice touches, there are a couple of things that were problematic.

To start with the place really smelled of dogs which, combined with the poor condition of the bedroom in the basement made that room unusable. That meant that 4 adults had to use the 2 bedrooms upstairs - one of which is barely big enough to fit the bed let alone anything else. The result is that it is really only suitable for a couple and not 4 or 6 people.

It was reasonably well equipped and the bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always disappointing to get a review like this as we always strive to please everyone. However, that's not always possible. I wish we were given the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable before the end of your stay. This also happened at a time when we were all the way on the opposite side of the country in Maine on our yearly family vacation. Normally we are there to inspect the condition before each guest. I would like more information on the state of the downstairs room. The carpets were just steam cleaned and I'm unaware of any other unpleasant condition of the room overall. All of the rooms including the master and other guest room are represented in their current state as the online pictures. We would like to remedy anything that needs attention. Since the turnovers mostly happen during the same day it gives us a limited time to fix any issues. However we are successful in taking care of these. We ask all future guests to please be honest when bringing a pet, as we have a different set of protocols we follow when getting the house ready for the next guests. We are owners that care about the well being of the home and are grateful to have the opportunity to share its beauty and surroundings with as many guests as we have. Recent upgrades were a new metal roof, patio doors and all new decks. Next year we plan to re-do the driveway. I would love more feedback on how we can make the place more enjoyable for everyone. Take care and our scencierest apologies for an inconvenience during your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

comfortable and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here visiting our son who goes to WWU. The house was clean and the layout was very nice. The bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable. The reading area off of the master bedroom was a beautiful place to relax. The hot tub was beautiful. All of the amenities were spot on. My only recommendation would be to have a small hatchet handy for ease of splitting wood to keep the fire going. Otherwise the place was perfect. !!!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful but not suitable for children under 5.

  • 3 of 5

The home is gorgeous and very well appointed. The views are amazing, the neighborhood peaceful and the setting couldn't be more relaxing - unless you have a toddler. There are several features of the home that are not suitable for small children. Steep stairs, railings with child-sized gaps and furnishings that can't be cleaned or are even irreplaceable. Our stay was otherwise very enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dale, WI
5

Great location, and well maintained house with a view!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time on Mantrek 2017! We're a bunch of old Navy buddies who get together every couple years for some good times and adventure. We hit Mt. Baker, climbed Oyster Dome, found a waterfall, and ate great everywhere we went. Owen was very accommodating. Everything was clean and well organized. The master bedroom view in the morning was fantastic! Kitchen was fairly well stocked, and grille worked well for the salmon we made. Only a few nitpicks: the fireplace was a little finicky. And we never did get the overhead fan to consistently operate, probably due to the dizzying array of light switches. Again, very minor. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond BC
5

Great New Years Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This is a very comfortable place to stay! Two bedrooms top floor and one on the bottom floor, with kitchen, living room, dining room all on the middle floor. Lots of room without bumping into each other. Feels like being way out in the wilderness, but in reality you're only a few minutes from everything you could need in Bellingham. We were there in deep freeze winter, so didn't get to really use the outside decks. We did use the hot tub one night though... very nice sitting in hot bubbles while snow comes down around us. Inside, the wood stove generated a lot of heat to keep the place warm. (TIP: We went through about 2½ bundles of wood per day. $5 per bundle from the little store down at the main road.)

Kitchen is well-equipped... full-size oven, stove top, microwave, dishwasher, etc. (an unusual abundance of pizza pans in the cupboard!)

We had a great time, and are looking forward to trying it again in some warmer weather when we can spend more time out on the decks!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! Repeat guests get a discount!! Summer in the PACNW is the best!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Bellingham International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tino's Pizza
Nearest Ferry
36 Miles
Anacortes/San Juans
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sudden Valley Golf Course
Nearest Train
13 Miles
AMTRAK Fairhaven
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tino's Pizza
Nearest Ski
43 Miles
Mount Baker
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sudden Valley AM/PM Beaches
Car: necessary

A place to get away and relax. A very quiet neighborhood but still very close to Downtown Bellingham. Take it all in and enjoy nature at it's finest. The lake is very accessible and lots of hiking trails. The Sudden Valley Golf Course has amazing scenery! The deer will welcome you!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bellingham House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Prime
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$240
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,550
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
off season
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$190
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$1,200
$4,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,125
Flat fee
 
 
Holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,125
Flat fee
 
 
New Years
Dec 28 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,125
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$240
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 10.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties