Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunset View over Lake Whatcom

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2.5 bath where the sun lingers over Lake Whatcom for an amazing sun

A remodeled lake house nestled amongst towering pines, provides luxury while taking in everything nature has to offer. Ideal for those looking for a rural getaway. Have a glass of wine on the deck or soak up the views in the hot-tub over looking the lake. The master bedroom is located on the top floor and features a king-size bed, a private deck, and an en-suite bathroom. With heated floors, a stone walkway, cedar ceilings, a sauna in the shower, and a deep soaking tub, the en-suite bathroom is the epitome of luxury. Other amenities include heating and air conditioning, Wi-Fi throughout, and a laundry room with a washer and a dryer. This quiet community is a great place to get away and relax. Close to downtown Bellingham and Fairhaven where there are tons of great places to eat, shop and explore. We take pride in this getaway and enjoy the opportunity to share it with others. Come to Sudden Valley and see everything The Pacific NW has to offer!

More Details

Owner
Owen & Patricia Brown
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Owen & Patricia Brown

We are always having an adventure. We're currently in Bellingham aboard our sail boat living each day to it's fullest. My wife is from Boston and I am from Nova Scotia. We want everyone to enjoy this house as we do!

Owen & Patricia Brown purchased this house in 2009

Why Owen & Patricia Brown chose Bellingham

We fell in love with Bellingham because of it's beauty and laid back nature. We chose this property based on the feeling we had once we first stepped in. The full window face of the house captured our attention as we just starred at the view of the lake. With the remodels heavy on the wood work, we made it cozy and comfortable so we felt we were always in a summer home.

What makes this house unique

It needed a ton of work to make it what we wanted. Our first 2 years of living there we always had contractors walking through our home. Now it is exactly the way we pictured it when we first stepped in. The main focal point it the rock wall behind the wood stove. Gives a great atmosphere while sitting up high above the lake.

Map

Tino's Pizza and Pasta Co.
"Definitely a staple while we're in town. their pizza is fantastic. Also has our favorite b..."
Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro
"We love this place... great mac & cheese and nachos! As well as many other great entrees. ..."
Chuckanut Brewery & Kitchen
"Awesome nachos..."
Scotty Browns
The Rustic
Fairhaven
"Great place to kill time..."
Sudden Valley Golf & Country Club
"Great course with amazing views!"
Valley Market & Deli
Island Mariner Whale Watching
Lake Padden
"Great hiking trails for people of all skill levels"
Rip Tide Charters
Chuckanut Trailhead
"Whether hiking or driving, this is a must do for Bellingham visitors!"
Mt. Baker Ski Area
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Bellingham International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tino's Pizza
Nearest Ferry
36 Miles
Anacortes/San Juans
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sudden Valley Golf Course
Nearest Train
13 Miles
AMTRAK Fairhaven
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tino's Pizza
Nearest Ski
43 Miles
Mount Baker
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sudden Valley AM/PM Beaches
Car: necessary

A place to get away and relax. A very quiet neighborhood but still very close to Downtown Bellingham. Take it all in and enjoy nature at it's finest. The lake is very accessible and lots of hiking trails. The Sudden Valley Golf Course has amazing scenery! The deer will welcome you!

Amenities

Bellingham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , steamer/sauna in shower
    Guest bath on bottom floor - toilet , Guest Bath
  • Our spa bathroom compete with a heated floor and a stone walk way... feels great on the feet! Also with enclosed shower so you can relax in a sauna... cedar cieling brings that nice sauna smell! Both full bathrooms are complete with granite counter tops.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Room - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Master is on the top floor with solarium, private deck and spa bathroom, 1 guest room on the bottom floor and the other upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
32% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Sunset View over Lake Whatcom
average rating of 4.516129 based on 31 reviews
5

Lots of space, great view and hot tub!!!

  • 5 of 5

This house is settled up on a hill in Sudden Valley but very accessible to everything in the community or even Bellingham attractions. We were 2 couples with kids and we never felt crowded. The kids loved the hot tub and all he areas to play at and discover in or around Sudden Valley.

This house has pretty much everything you would have in your own home. Well stocked with towels, kitchen supplies, tv, lots of old records?with a record player (a fun little touch), etc, etc.

The pictures on VRBO are very accurate and the place has a nice view of the lake while tucked in close to neighbours, yet not too close that you feel crowded. Lots of deck space and equally roomy inside.

We really enjoyed our stay and could see ourselves returning to stay here again.

I would recommend this place to people looking for a great location around the Bellingham area.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Bellingham is such an amazing place to visit, especially in the summer. Please come back any time. The Browns
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house, great location, excellent hosts.

  • 4 of 5

The house and location were great, as was the view of the lake and the overall setting. Everything was really comfortable and we had a great time. Our only real issue was that the hot tub never heated up for us, even though it was running and we'd turned up the thermostat. Alas. My daughter did love the upstairs tub with jets, though!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, BC
4

Very nice!

  • 4 of 5

We had a nice at this property. It's a great space, was very clean (the downstairs bedroom was a little musty smelling) there was a nice welcome card upon our arrival and communication with our hosts was very responsive and they seemed lovely. A fun part of the house was a record player with an awesome selection of music that added to our festivities. A couple suggestions would be to have more outdoor furniture on the deck off the kitchen area - it was so lovely out there but furniture wasn't ideal (2 lounge chairs) and hadn't been cleaned off prior to our arrival as well as maybe less loose gravel on a very steep driveway - thank god for 4x4.

We even had a neighbourhood black lab come say hello one evening while we were enjoying the hot tub, he was super friendly and obviously was looking for a dog friend. Thank you to our hosts!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for leaving the place in great shape. You are welcome back any time. It’s that time of year to leave the heat on downstairs and that mitigates the mustiness :) on going battle of the lower levels of the houses here. We are installing a de-hue as well. Also, the decks and furniture were cleaned outside prior to your arrival by us but the combination of wind and fall weather, doesn’t take long for the debris to accumulate. Also, I recompacted the driveway in July, tip to all future guests to back out in neutral. However, we are paving it in the spring. Thank you very much for the feedback! We’re always striving to make this a vacation spot everyone will enjoy. Take care. Owen, Patricia & Parker.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice home, in Sudden Valley. Nice view of Lake Watcom. Very clean and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

Just outside of Bellingham, Washington. About 7 miles to town. Beautiful drive into town each day, as you drive past the shore of Lake Watcom. Very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Owners were available, to answer any questions we had eg.( looking for iron), which they responded extremely fast. Quite neighborhood, though other homes very close. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this home to others. There are 3 floor levels, so be prepared for stairs. However, the exercise was helpful, just a little challenge for suitcases. Nice little village market and deli, just down the street, with fuel, food items, firewood. Wonderful wildlife ( deer, birds, squirrels ) all around the neighborhood. Great trip and really enjoyed our time there.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful location near Lake Whatcom, lovely house.

  • 4 of 5

This is a beautiful, well equipped house with views of the lake. The hot tub is great and my 20 year old son spent a great deal of time in it! We were only there for three days which was way too short but it has given us a taste of Washington State which we can hopefully re-visit another time.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs a little something!

  • 2 of 5

We met some friends here for the weekend and is was a bit disappointing. While there are some nice touches, there are a couple of things that were problematic.

To start with the place really smelled of dogs which, combined with the poor condition of the bedroom in the basement made that room unusable. That meant that 4 adults had to use the 2 bedrooms upstairs - one of which is barely big enough to fit the bed let alone anything else. The result is that it is really only suitable for a couple and not 4 or 6 people.

It was reasonably well equipped and the bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always disappointing to get a review like this as we always strive to please everyone. However, that's not always possible. I wish we were given the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable before the end of your stay. This also happened at a time when we were all the way on the opposite side of the country in Maine on our yearly family vacation. Normally we are there to inspect the condition before each guest. I would like more information on the state of the downstairs room. The carpets were just steam cleaned and I'm unaware of any other unpleasant condition of the room overall. All of the rooms including the master and other guest room are represented in their current state as the online pictures. We would like to remedy anything that needs attention. Since the turnovers mostly happen during the same day it gives us a limited time to fix any issues. However we are successful in taking care of these. We ask all future guests to please be honest when bringing a pet, as we have a different set of protocols we follow when getting the house ready for the next guests. We are owners that care about the well being of the home and are grateful to have the opportunity to share its beauty and surroundings with as many guests as we have. Recent upgrades were a new metal roof, patio doors and all new decks. Next year we plan to re-do the driveway. I would love more feedback on how we can make the place more enjoyable for everyone. Take care and our scencierest apologies for an inconvenience during your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 10.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.