Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Classic Minnesota Cabin on Beautiful Lake O'Brien (includes new pontoon boat)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,020 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

If you are looking for the 'cabin experience', this quintessential cabin in the pines won't disappoint. The property was originally purchased and built by my grandparents in 1958 and has been in our family ever since; it was completely renovated by my wife and I in 2011. A small but efficient layout, the cabin has a wonderful screen porch, sitting area with gas fireplace, and dining room; all with panoramic views of the lake, which is only steps away. It has one bedroom on the main level (king), and a semi-private loft with two queen size beds. There is one 3/4 bath, and a great outdoor shower with views of the lake for those true Minnesotan's. The inside space flows seamlessly to a large lakeside patio with grill, outdoor dining area, fire pit and coffee sitting area. The rental comes complete with a pontoon boat (2014 Bennington), a 4-person paddleboat, a canoe, and of course a hammock in the yard. For those that can't disconnect, the cabin also includes two high definition TV's with DirecTV (DVD/Blu-Ray on main TV) and free Wi-Fi! And don't worry, you won't be roughing it, the 2011 renovation also brought all new mechanical systems including air conditioning, new appliances, and a new Kinetico softened water system!!

Situated 5 miles east of the town of Crosslake, crystal clear Lake O'Brien is spring fed with a water clarity of 24', the cleanest lake in the entire watershed district. The lake itself is surrounded by mature pines. There is approximately 5 miles of shoreline, of which about a quarter of the lake is undeveloped state owned property. During the summer, this recreational lake is perfect for fishing, skiing, wake boarding canoeing, kayaking, paddle boarding and all water based activities, including floating on an air mattress!! There is a sandbar where you can walk across the lake which is a favorite gathering spot for 'kids of all ages'!! It's location on a quiet tar township road make it perfect for a morning walk or bike ride. During the winter months the lake is perfect for ice fishing, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and is a perfect base camp to access the endless miles of groomed snowmobile trails.

Our property is perfect for a family of up to 6 or a few couples. We have a strict limit of 6 due to the size of the cabin and the single bathroom. We do keep our calendar updated and so if you are seeing availability then it's likely available. Upon reservation confirmation you'll receive a complete 'what to bring' list so you are prepared for your time up north. Feel free to inquire with any questions you may have and we’ll be prompt to reply! We pride ourselves on keeping our property and structures/equipment pristine and are certain we'll exceed your expectations in that regard. And further, since we also live on this lake, should any questions or problems arise we can respond quickly. In fact, your only disappointment will be when you have to leave!!

More Details

Owner
Jeff Balmer
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

Amenities

Crosslake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1020 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Main Level Bath - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Main Level Bedroom - 1 king
    Loft - 2 queen , Privacy Curtain
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Classic Minnesota Cabin on Beautiful Lake O'Brien (includes new pontoon boat)
average rating of 4.970588 based on 34 reviews
5

A gem!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our winter stay at Shangri La! The design and comfort of this cabin are like no other. Everything you need is available, you really don't need to leave! Kids loved the loft! We will hopefully be back to enjoy summer time at this special place! I almost don't want to share this little gem! The History of the cabin is also something pretty neat! If you get the chance to stay you won't regret a minute of it:) thanks Jeff and Lindsey!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect lake getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I came in early October for a relaxing stay and fell in love with this cabin immediately. The pictures are beautiful but do not do justice to how gorgeous it is in person. We enjoyed all it had to offer with the pontoon, paddle boat, canoe, hammock, bikes, fire pit, and dock to fish off of. The cabin itself is very cozy and well taken care of with all of the modern aspects you could possibly want and need. The owners were great to work with! If you are looking for a place to recharge, this is definitely the place for you!

Jeff & Lindsay, thank you so much for sharing this special place with us. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

An absolute wonderful week up north!!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the cabin- we loved the patio with the fire pit, the hammock was relaxing and one of our favorite parts was the outdoor shower.

We were looking for peace and quiet and that is exactly what we got. We've lived in the city for a lot of years and the stars at night were beautiful!

We had s'mores that were provided by the owners, enjoyed feeding the fish down at the dock and Jim caught several fish that turned into a fish fry. The pontoon was easy to drive and we enjoyed the lake. We were a bit disappointed that the canoe and the paddle board were not available.

That said we had a marvelous stay and look forward to coming back.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! We apologize for the damage to the canoe and it not being usable for your stay. We were unaware that it was damaged by the renters prior to you; and we will get it replaced for next summer! We really hope there was not any miss-understanding on there being paddleboards available at the cabin. We had paddleboards that were included with the rental when we originally began renting the cabin, but the paddleboards were replaced with a new paddleboat based on feedback we received from our renters. The paddleboards have not been on our listing or at the cabin for the last two summers, so hopefully you were not expecting them. It is likely that you saw feedback on these in the reviews on VRBO or in the guestbook at the cabin. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thanks again for your stay, we hope it works for you to come back to the cabin again!! - Jeff and Lindsay
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin on lake O'Brien. This was our first real family vacation with our two children 5 and 7. Nobody had a frown on their face. The cabin was clean and comfortable. We had every amenity we could have wanted. The kids loved going for boat rides during the day. We also swam every day at the sand bars.

My husband had a blast fishing of the dock. We caught numerous bass, sunfish, and pike.

The owners were a joy to work with. Very friendly and always willing to help us out.

Hopefully we will be able to find another week and head up there again. Thank you Lindsay and Jeff for sharing your cabin with us. It was worth every penny!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eden Prairie, MN
5

Our New Tradition

  • 5 of 5

I wrote a review last summer for our stay. This Summer was more of the same fantastical experience though we did primarily use the outdoor shower. Delightful for the whole family. No reason to use the indoor shower at all. Can't say enough about this place. They don't picture the loft with two queen beds. It's like sleeping in a treehouse. Windows on all sides, super comfy beds, private space for kids or other couples. We've also spent time here in the winter and it's incredible. If you have hockey players, the owner might even share the neighborhood rink which is straight out of a movie. Unbelievable. You can't go wrong at this cabin. Stop looking and book today!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, Cozy & Memorable

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I, and our two young girls had such a nice summer week up north at this quaint Scandinavian-themed cabin. The home offers endless options for water recreation, which kept us active all day - with the exception of much needed naps in the hammock, or browsing magazines in the screened-in porch. If you tend to get stir crazy, the Crosslake Town Square is a short drive away (Rafferty's Pizza is dynamite!), as is the town of Nisswa, which offers fun up north shopping. This property really has it all, for any kind of guest. It's clear that the owners care deeply about their guests' quality of stay, and that the cabin is dear to their hearts. Don't hesitate to book your getaway!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Multiple in Crosslake
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Crosswoods Golf Course - Multiple within 20 miles
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Many great options in Crosslake
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Mount Ski Gull and Tubing- Downhill Skiing
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crosslake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 22 2017 - Jun 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
Early Summer 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Peak Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 29 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Fall/Winter 2017-2018
Sep 30 2017 - Apr 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.38%

50% non-refundable deposit
All full week rentals are Friday to Friday.
Check-in is at 4:00, check out is at 11:00 am.
Please call with any questions or special requests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties