Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Large Comfortable Retreat! Our Private Paradise

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms and 3 Bathrooms with private Mountain Views

Come get cozy by your warm wood fireplace! The master suite boasts a large wood burning fireplace ready for those cold winter nights. The master is great for couples, especially for romantic getaways!

Our home is very private and serene, yet close to many popular area attractions. Only a 10 minute drive to SOUTH Smith Mountain Lake/Dam boat launch. Explore the 12 acres with the existing trails, stream, fruit trees, and wildlife. The house is a spacious 6 bedroom 3 bathroom private home including a giant master suite w/private deck overlooking the vast forest (and over 160 acres of adjacent to the property). Enjoy a living room upstairs, and downstairs both with satellite TV, and Blue Ray/DVD players. Newer home (built in 2005) with all modern amenities and decor. Our family loves our lake close, yet private paradise to explore and relax. In the playroom there is a full bed, as well as

a WII for family games, DVD's.

There are plenty of books, board games, and nature to keep all the family busy, or spend quality time together.

The main home sleeps 8-12 comfortably including 3 Queen Pillow top matresses, 2 full beds, and twin bunk beds), the additional wooded cabin is also available (with this listing or by itself). The main house has two livingrooms, one downstairs, and one upstairs, The Master Suite boast a large rock Fireplace and expansive sundeck, as well as it's own living room without couch and chaise lounger in from of the fireplace. Also equipped with a flat screen TV and elliptical/bike in the master closet for indoor workouts, and a private mini-fridge (adults only).

The house is accessible for those that require a wheelchair (only the bottom floor is wheelchair accessible which includes the kitchen, three bedrooms a living room, and large handicap accessible bathroom).

Enjoy the peacefulness of the our bubbling creek near the hunters cabin. The house is in walking distance to Pigg River access, where you can catch small mouth bass, crappie and rock bass. Only 14 miles to Hargrave Military Academy. Just 5 Miles from where "The Moonshiners" show is filmed, in the heart of beautiful Moonshiner country rural Pittsylvania County.

Please e-mail with any questions or rental requests, and request online via Flipkey to the right. Michelle and Lonnie McDonald

PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU CAN ALSO BOOK Our Private Wooded Cabin along with this listing for large groups if both homes are available, both homes together would accommodate up to 17 comfortably.

More Details

Owner
Michelle McDonald
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

About Michelle McDonald

I am retired military and my husband in in law enforcement. We are honest, hard working people.

Michelle McDonald purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Michelle McDonald chose Chatham

We loved the view on top of our mountain!

Map

Car: necessary

Amenities

Chatham Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Blue Room - 1 queen , Downstairs
    Beige Room - 1 queen , Our newest addition downstairs
    Green Splendor Room - 1 queen , Upstairs
    Bunk Room - 2 twin/ single , Kids Bunk Beds-Gender Neutral Upstairs
    Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Game Room that also has a folding futon Downstairs
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private lounge and woodburning fireplace. Upstairs
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
29% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Large Comfortable Retreat! Our Private Paradise
average rating of 4.352941 based on 17 reviews
5

Memorable Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

We rented Our Paradise in the Woods to celebrate my mom’s 80th birthday. We choose this house because it was large enough to accommodate our family gathering, we could bring our two small dogs and had the option to rent the cabin on the property (which is a lovely cabin), and I could not be happier with our choice. The owner was responsive and answered all my emails within a few hours.

The house is in a quiet location surrounded by woods so if you like your privacy this is the place for you. The yard is large, so we were able to play volleyball and corn hole, which was a lot of fun. We cooked out on the grill for lunch and dinner and in the evenings made s’mores by the fire pit.

The house boasts a large master bedroom with a private bathroom and deck. There are ample bedrooms and a kitchen that is well stocked with pots, pans and whatever else you may need.

The downstairs patio was the perfect place for us to enjoy nature and the beauty that surrounds the house. There are several paths thru the woods and one that leads from the house to "Our Private Wood Cabin" (which we also rented). Although the trail is relatively steep, we enjoyed the exercise and exploring the woods.

We had an enjoyable stay and created many fun memories during our stay and would recommend this house and the cabin (which can be rented by itself or along with the house).

Thank you, Michelle, for providing the perfect setting for a memorable family gathering.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad that your family fully enjoyed our home and cabin! We love sharing our home with guest that throughly enjoy it as much as we do! You and your family are defintely welcome back anytime, you were excellent guests!! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday

  • 4 of 5

Plenty of space for everyone so we didn't feel crowded. Nice to have enough bathrooms! Plenty of parking for the extra people who came to the party. We had everything we needed in the kitchen to cook both a Thanksgiving feast and the birthday dinner. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! You are your family are welcome back anytime! Michelle-owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Virginia , USA
3

Nice big house with Plenty of Privacy, But needs some deep cleaning.

  • 3 of 5

My family rented this house and the cabin below this property for a weekend wedding being held in Gretna. The space was perfect for all to be together. When we took a sneak peek at the place back in the summer, the caretaker was there cleaning and everything smelled of bleach and cleanliness. (Having three young children staying there and a mother with breathing problems this was important). However, when we arrived in October there was cobwebs in every corner and the whole house smelled very musty. There was one small dehumidifier down stairs that couldn't carry the load. The air vents were caked in dust and grime. ( I attempted to clean them myself). So I feel strongly there has not been much DEEP cleaning in a while. This is a shame because the property is nice and has great potential.

The cabin was somewhat cleaner and did not have many issues other than someone had sprayed a water sealant on the front deck along with all over a large portion of the siding on the house. Do NOT depend on the "new" pack and play at the house for your baby like we did.... It had stains all on the side netting and also has not been cared for properly.

It's a shame because both of these properties are great but I feel like since the owner is not "in town" , the taking care of the place is not as good as it should be.

The Owner is wonderful to work with, but I really feel like there are things she may not be aware of; Hence this brutally honest review.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the candid review! are sorry your stay wasn't as great as it should have been. The house is built into the side of a mountain, so the bottom portion of the house does have the "cave" feel and during the summer we do have a large area dehumidifier to help with that. We will definitely look at getting another one this year, as you had stated it was having issues. Deep cleaning is done in the spring and the fall. The cleaning this fall is scheduled for the second weekend in November. I will make sure I pass along to the caretaker the issues you have reported! Have a wonderful day! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald-Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our recent stay at Our Private Getaway. The owners were quick to respond and we loved their home. The property had great amenities, and was large enough for 3 families plus baby gear for 3 infants under 4 months. The downstairs had a large kitchen, seating for 12, 2 bedrooms, full bath, child's playroom and living area. Sheets and towels were included in the rental, which was a great perk because we had to pack them for a previous VRBO property, which was extra work. The house is sunny and cheerful, with seating arranged for the avid book lover! (Actually read an entire book in an afternoon). The master bedroom was very spacious, and I loved being able to walk right out onto the balcony in the mornings. I would highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to get away from every day life and enjoy the peace and quiet of the 12 acres of Our Private Paradise. Thank you, Michelle, for sharing your little piece of heaven. We will return!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! You were an amazing guest! Hope to,see you back soon! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

VERY COMFORTABLE RETREAT

  • 5 of 5

This home was very comfortable from the nice kitchen and dining area, to comfortable beds, to the patio outside and all the wildlife we saw! Secluded yet close enough to get what you may be missing from the store. Definitely would stay here again. Michelle was a great host.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! You are welcome back anytime! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald-owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

INFESTED WITH FLEAS! Unsafe bunk beds were secured with only one peg, no hinges to hold top bunk!

  • 1 of 5

On the second day of our three night stay, fleas hatched out of the basement carpet and in the adjoining bedroom where my husband and I slept. It was an evolving situation that quickly escalated and worsened. Our feet and ankles were covered in dozens of flea bites by the time we left, and other family members had bites since the fleas were also upstairs. When I pulled the top sheet off the bed at checkout time, there were dozens of fleas hoping all over the foot of the bed between the sheets! Although the owners claim that they didn't know about the fleas, they are refusing to give us a full refund, offering only a one day refund. We had the reasonable expectation that the house would be habitable and because of the fleas, it was not. The aftermath was a huge pain not only because of the intense itching and discomfort from the bites which continued for a week, but in addition we had to spend hours when we returned to our respective homes cleaning every item that we had taken to the rental house so that we wouldn't unwittingly infest our own houses with fleas and FLEA EGGS from their house! We had to inspect our dirty laundry (there were two fleas on my nightgown) in the driveway before bringing in one load of clothes at a time to put directly into the washing machine. I threw away my slippers for fear of flea eggs inside them. We had to take our SUV to the car wash to have it thoroughly cleaned in case there were fleas/flea eggs in it. Their house was not particularly clean. Someone had left a large pair of dirty underwear in the Master Bedroom. The kitchen floor was dirty and our small grandchildren had blackened soles of their feet from running around barefoot. When they wore their socks in the kitchen, the bottoms of their socks were filthy. There were other maintenance problems but we dealt with them and didn't call the owners as they had requested. I did write them a two page letter in the middle of the night when I was unable to sleep due to the itching, and left it for them in their house. I also texted the owner after we left, on our way home. After returning home, I have exchanged emails with the owner trying to have this mess addressed with a full refund, but it has not been resolved. When renting property, owners should take responsibility for the conditions within the house. At the time the fleas hatched, the damage was already done and all of the hassles in the aftermath were determined at that point.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that Linda and her guests did not have a pleasant experience in our home. We do have the property treated monthly for any pests, and did not know of any issues with the property, as the guest prior to Linda's stay had not noted any issues, and had given the house a five star review. During this stay, we did not know of any issues, neither Linda, nor anyone from her party attempted to reach us during her stay, had we been aware of absolutely any issues, we would have immediately addressed them. Due to this situation, we have asked that all future guests provide proof of medication, or a veterinarian certification that their pets are flea free. The guest notified us after their stay about this issues, and immediately we called our on call pest service to eliminate the issue. As for the bunk beds, they are secure, and were inspected by our maintenance crew. Our caretaker takes great care in cleaning our home, and has been cleaning it for over 5 years. Past and current reviews certainly speak for themselves, we have had no problems or concerns from guests in regards to the cleanliness of the house, but will certainly ensure that the house is clean before each and every stay. We are very sorry, and this guest did receive a partial refund for her stay, we will always strive to improve, and ensure all future guests have an enjoyable stay. If you have any questions about this review, or concerns about the house, we are available anytime! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald r
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $135
Tax Rate 6.0%

We do welcome pets to our home, but we will need proof that your pet is flea free before they can stay. The proof can be a letter from at veterinarian that states that the pet is on medication for fleas, and is flea free. I am sorry if this is an inconvenience, but we want all guests to have a pleasurable stay in a flea free home.
If it is found that you have a pet that was not registered, and the pet fee was not paid, you will be charged the pet fee, and responsible for any flea's found after your stay (as they can live months before hatching).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties