Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Remodeled, 3200 sq ft, Elegant, Extraordinary Home with Superior Amenities

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Custom-designed, 3 bedrooms+den, 3 baths, mountain views, shared pool and tennis

Whether you are traveling with your family, extended family, other couples, best friends or your sweetheart, Orchid Hale is an excellent choice of accommodation.

You will always remember the special time you spend here . . . the spacious elegance, the extravagant feeling of indulging yourself in the comforts and pleasures of this extraordinary home. Pamper yourself . . . you'll be glad you did!

The setting is Princeville on the lush north shore of the "Garden Island." The neighborhood is a small collection of custom homes that share a well maintained swimming pool and tennis court. The views are verdant gardens speckled with the colors of tropical flowers and exotic plants against a backdrop of majestic mountains formed millions of years ago.

This is a two-story home of 3200 square feet with a large great room, half-bathroom, kitchen and the master suite upstairs. The upstairs living room has air conditioning and the master suite also has air conditioning and its own TV. Downstairs there are two air-conditioned bedrooms, a large living/family room, a den/office and two bathrooms. So, there is plenty of room for everyone to gather together as well as space for anyone to spend quiet moments with a good book or other peaceful endeavor.

Your home away from home was totally renovated recently and has been designed and furnished with great attention to detail. The exquisite hardwood and marble floors as well as the granite counters in the kitchen and vanities in the bathrooms are both luxurious and practical.

Much thought has gone into the furnishings and over-the-top amenities throughout Orchid Hale; one excellent example is the generously equipped gourmet kitchen. In addition to the essentials like sauce and frying pans, baking dishes and other ovenware, cooking utensils and dishes, you will find an big assortment of small appliances such as a coffee grinder, panini grill, pressure cooker, and slow cooker, to name just a few. The chefs in your group will be delighted!

You may want to check out the Sunshine Markets (farmers' markets) that happen in a different town each week day. That's a great place to find fresh produce to include in your meal plans. And, if you would like to dine out during your stay, there is a nice variety of cafes and restaurants right in Princeville as well as in the neighboring town of Hanalei.

The furnished office downstairs has just what you need in case your visit is partly a working vacation: desk, scanner, large monitor, wireless printer and printer paper. The powerful wireless router is easy to access wherever you are in the house with whatever device you choose.

While you are working, the kids and others in your party can play badminton, croquet and volleyball in the spacious back yard. And indoors, there are board games, a Play Station 3 System with a few PS3 games, an assortment of DVDs you can play on the Blu-Ray/DVD and watch on the 73" TV in the downstairs family room or the 63" TV upstairs in the living room. You may even want to watch some of the movies that have been filmed on Kauai over the years.

Just diagonally across the street are the swimming pool and tennis court. Nearby is Makai Golf Club with its wide open spaces and nicely manicured fairways and greens. Even non-golfers can appreciate the ocean and mountain views along the course. Those who enjoy the game will want to challenge themselves on this recently renovated 18-hole course designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr. There are many beautiful north shore beaches within a short drive of Orchid Hale. We strongly recommend swimming at beaches with a life guard.

Other activities nearby include kayaking, horseback riding, fishing, surfing, windsurfing, helicopter flightseeing tours, hiking, seasonal swimming, snorkeling and tropical botanical garden tours.

3 BR + den/office + sofabed in downstairs living/family room / 3-1/2 BA. Sleeps 6 - 8.

More Details

Property Manager
Kauai Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017


Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjoins Master Bedroom
    Half Bathroom Upstairs - toilet
    Hall Bathroom Downstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Den/Office Bathroom Downstairs - toilet , shower
  • 3 1/2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Den/Office - Rollaway Bed suitable for young child
    Sofabed in Downstairs Family Room - 1 queen
    Master Bedroom Upstairs - 1 king , Master Bedroom is air-conditioned; Adjoining Master Bathroom
    Bedroom 2 Downstairs - 1 queen , Air-Conditioned; Shares Hall Bathroom Downstairs
    Bedroom 3 Downstairs - 2 twin/ single , Air-Conditioned;Can Be Made as King Bed-Shares Hall Bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms plus Den/Office
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Remodeled, 3200 sq ft, Elegant, Extraordinary Home with Superior Amenities
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Really a special place

  • 5 of 5

So many little special touches elevate this place and the Property Manager above the rest. The home itself is spectacular and spacious. It's beautifully decorated and furnished with everything you need and more. Clearly someone loves their home. One example of the special touches - there was a box of different sized water shoes in the garage for guest use...which came in very handy when I forgot mine. We had a very memorable time here with our two girls celebrating our 30th.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ontario, Canada

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for renting your beautiful home. We were here with our young children (1,2.5,3.5)and mother and had the most amazing time. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newburgh, NY

Beautiful Home with Magnificent View of Na Pali Mountain Range

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful home with a magnificent view of the Na Pali mountain range. The house is very comfortable with all amenities including a gourmet kitchen. The bedrooms and furniture is very comfortable. Princeville is a wonderful spot as you are near beaches, a nature preserve and the town of Hanalei. We look forward to returning to Kauai and hope that this home will be available. The landscaped gardens are also very beautiful.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, MA, USA

Awesome Vacation..Beautiful Home with Gourmet Kitchen..I'll Be Back for Sure!

  • 5 of 5

I just had the opportunity to stay at the lovely villa "Orchid Hale," on the island of Kauai, courtesy of Kauai Vacation Rentals, and was so amazed again at the tranquility and beauty of this island and particularly this home. Orchid Hale is situated on the North Shore in the prestigious Princeville community. This home feels like your own home and not a vacation rental. It has beautiful views of the Na Pali mountains and an expansive yard filled with tropical plants. The villa boasts three bedrooms, all richly appointed and the furnishings are eclectic and tasteful. An antique canoe rests between the first and second floor and is just lovely. As a born foodie, what I love about this home the most is the gourmet lovers kitchen. The owners of this villa have not left any detail behind. Each cabinet and drawer is equipped with state-of-the-art utensils and accessories that any chef would adore. The home is inviting and comfortable for six or more adults and also has a private office en suite. I love this villa and would love to stay there again. Hanalei Bay is a ten-minute drive from the villa and has many nice restaurants and boutiques. I give Orchid Hale two thumbs up! Thank you Kauai Vacation Rentals for bringing this to my attention!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Okotoks, AB, Canada

Our best family vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

Our family has travelled extensively over the years, and we have stayed at many beautiful hotels and vacation rentals. Our stay at Orchid Hale was by far the best vacation we’ve had as a family thus far. The home is absolutely beautiful. My mother and father came along with us on our vacation, and my mom and I had so much fun creating meals together in the gourmet kitchen. You can tell that the owners really want to share their home with you and make it a very special experience. They have provided so many “extras” in order for that to happen. Extra supplies and appliances in the kitchen, recipe books, beautiful and plentiful linens, pool and beach toys, lawn games, umbrellas, coolers, boogie boards, locally made lotions and toiletries in the bathrooms and the list goes on and on.

The art in the home is truly amazing. The garden is also so very inspiring. It really made me woe my Zone 2 garden in Canada! My dad and I really enjoyed visiting with the very likeable gardener on a few occasions as she gave us lessons on all the plants in the garden. Several times throughout the visit we would come home to gifts of bags of fruit that she would leave for us on the porch.

The area within Princeville is perfect. It is a short walk to a quiet, postcard-perfect beach and a short drive to all amenities. I wasn’t much of a seafood lover before our trip, but the restaurants are so outstanding and the fish so fresh, I’m now a convert! The pool and tennis court are directly across a quiet street. The area and house are safe for kids and perfect for families of all ages.

We can’t wait to go back again. In all the countries and continents we’ve visited, this is the first time we all agreed that we absolutely will be going back for a second (and hopefully third and fourth…) visit(s). Our deepest gratitude to the owners for sharing their little piece of paradise with us.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Disappointment

  • 2 of 5

I am sorry to say that we were very uncomfortable in this property. Most importantly it was not clean. At first glance it looked fine, but when I went in the kitchen to use the coffee pot, the top was gummy with old grease. The coffee grinder had old grounds in it from some previous person (there had not been anyone in the house for at least 2 weeks). There was a layer of dust and dust bunnies on the baseboards everywhere. The property management company did send a team of 3 ladies to clean the second day we were there. They spent 3 hours working hard and still didn't get to the bathrooms or all of the downstairs. That is how dirty the house was. They also had to remove the sheets and bedcover in the master Bedroom because it smelled. There was supposed to be A/C in the master bedroom but it smelled so that we turned it off. The manager worked with it and eventually we let it run enough to get the moldy smell out and we did use it. The house has decent furnishings, though it is more of a mountain look than a beach look. We were there during an unusually hot and humid time and found the house to be pretty uncomfortable. Nights were fine, but the sun comes in all along the house on the west and really heats it up. There are ceiling fans but there was only one floor fan so we had to buy some so we could sleep. The lighting was rather poor in the bedrooms and some of us had to use flashlights to read in bed. A good point is the private pool and tennis court available for the neighborhood. It was never overly crowded and we enjoyed having the use of it. In conclusion, this is an attractive, spacious house, but it needs a deep cleaning and it holds the humidity and heat much more than other properties in the area. I would not return.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo (thank you) for your comments and we apologize for the inconvenience. We certainly want all of our guests to enjoy this home, as many already have, and we take our responsibilities to our guests very seriously. We did receive the call from you, the guest, about cleaning issues and, within just a couple of hours, we had a crew of three ladies working there. It is our understanding from housekeeping that you, the guests, who stayed at the house while it was being cleaned, were satisfied with all the work that was done. Our goal is to have the house as clean as possible for all of our guests. We have carefully noted your comments about the master bedroom central A/C. We are glad that you were able to notice the benefits after the A/C ran for a while, and we sincerely apologize that it was not turned on before you arrived. You may be aware that, during your visit, Kauai was experiencing unusually warm and humid weather. We also appreciate your advising us about the reading lights. This house does have eleven ceiling fans servicing all rooms, and multiple bright direct and indirect lighting sources creating selectable ambiance in every room; still we are very sad that these modern fixtures were not likable by you. We have provided many photos of this home so our guests will know the look, views and furnishings of the accommodation they will be renting. We were delighted to know that you enjoyed the swimming pool and tennis court. We always want our guests to have positive memories from their stay here on Kauai and hope that you will find a better fit for your accommodations for your next visit. With much aloha, Lucy Kawaihalau
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees