Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautifully decorated one bedroom condo in Main Village

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 562 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This condo is in one of the newer complexes built in the new Copper Mountain Center Village. It is located directly behind the Copper Commons at the base of the ski lifts (American Eagle & American Flyer). With all of the mountain flair possible, it is accentuated with log furniture and log accents throughout. This building is beautiful inside and out.

Enter the tiled warm and inviting lobby in order to reach the fitness room, steam & sauna rooms, ski locker rooms, and large outdoor in ground hot tub. Being a second floor unit the views are enhanced. This 600 sq. ft., 1 bedroom, 1 bath is exquisitely decorated in mountain colors, and a mountain theme. The kitchen and full bathroom are tiled. The open kitchen is bright and cheery.

The dining area has a log table and 4 log chairs. The family room has a gorgeous queen sofa sleeper and matching chair situated opposite from the gas fireplace, with a log mantle. Relax by the fire while watching TV/DVD. A small patio off the family room overlooks the creek that runs by below. Sit on the log bench and breathe the fresh mountain air. This unit has high speed wireless internet

The bedroom is tastefully decorated and has a queen log bed with windows that overlook the deck and creek. A TV/DVD is also provided for your enjoyment. This unit sleeps a maximum of four. Park your car in the underground parking, because you will no longer need it. This condo is 562 square feet.

WE DO NOT RENT BY THE MONTH/SEASON IN THE WINTER!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Property Manager
Mike or Amy
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 2 days
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

Amenities

Copper Mountain Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 562 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-Out
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Queen, 1 Pull Out Sofa
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
Beautifully decorated one bedroom condo in Main Village
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
5

Very clean and as advertised.

  • 5 of 5

The property had everything we needed. Very pleased with the experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Condo is need of some repairs.

  • 2 of 5

Seems to me the place could use some attention. Toilet seemed to be a problem for them in the past if you had any problems with it they made it clear you were responsible for paying for a plumber. Kitchen sink leaked , hole in the ceiling, dining room chair falling apart. Crack in the wall. Stove top burner not working. Worst of all your not aloud to wear shoes in condo. Try taking off your boots standing up or sitting on the floor when your in your sixties. We felt like we were walking on egg shells the whole time because they will charge you for everything and anything if you don't follow all of the rules that came with renting this condo. Seems like they don't trust anyone. We had to go searching for the lockbox outside the building to get the key to even get in the condo. Mind you it was freezing cold and snow was piled up everywhere. Lock box was almost frozen shut. Too much work for us. Some good things about the place. Bed was comfortable, condo is in a great location.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

I would never stay at this property again or work with this owner!!!

  • 1 of 5

We drove from St. Louis to Copper Mountain (14 hour drive). With this long of a drive it's hard to predict "exact" arrival time. The check-in as at 4PM; we arrived at 3:15 and I asked if we could check in earlier. The owner said "that's why we specified in the letter that the check in is at 4PM", but if the condo is ready that there will be $15 charge for checking in 45 min earlier!!! I found this owner to be very "cheap" to wanting to charge us $15 just for 45 min earlier...and she indeed she did charge us, to my surprise, after finding all the flaws and poor condition that condo was in during the stay...very disappointing :(

All these things I'm going to list below, I notified the owner about...for all these conditions the owner said they would be addressed/fixed in January:

- faucet in the kitchen was leaking

- closet door was jamming

- headboard of the bed was not attached to the wall, so it was rattling

- built-in heater could't keep the temperature above 70F, unless you keep the fireplace on the whole time. And fireplace was only heating the living room where, and you can't keep fireplace on the whole time because it's so close to the pull-out sofa.

- the air in the condo was very dry...I asked for a humidifier, and she said she doesn't provide one. Two of our friends that stayed in two condos in the same building (different owner) had humidifiers provided - again, much, much more considerate condo owners than this one who actually CARED about comfort of their customers that are spending good chunk of money to rent their property.

Again, overall, VERY POOR rating for the condition of the condo itself, as well as poor customer service by the owner herself. I will NEVER stay in this same unit and I'll make sure I don't book any property managed by this owner (if she has multiple properties...).

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lincolndale, NY
5

Well equiped unit clost to lifts

  • 5 of 5

The unit was well equipped for cooking (we cooked in every night) and the pull out couch was comfortable enough. Walking to and from the lifts was a breeze. There were adequate towels and the room was clean when we arrived. The outdoor hot tub and private balcony were a nice plus. What most impressed us, however, was how helpful the management team was. We wound up being snowed in and as a result had to extend our stay, but did not know for how long. We were told not to worry and to just text them when we were leaving. We were even allowed to stay until 6 PM on the day we finally left. As a result of adding the extra day, we were given a reduced rate for the entire stay! We would definitely choose to stay here any time we return to Copper.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington DE
3

Lovely condo but owner forgot that we are on vacation

  • 3 of 5

Advice: Ask to read the contract BEFORE you place a deposit. It sets the tone as to what should be expected. The condo was a in great location, beautiful complex, nicely furnished, convenient ski locker. and we had a wonderful ski week at Copper. But it is not what we have come to expect from a VBRO condo; the rental company was cheap and petty. Prepare to pack toilet paper because you are rationed to two rolls (clearly stated in four page contract).

This unit needs a little attention, a little welcoming, and a little care. There is no kind way to say that the amenities were horrible. For a ten day stay the contract rationed us to ONE towel per guest (no hot-tub towels), 2 rolls of toilet paper, no tissues, a very small bar of bath soap, dishwasher soap for 4 cycles, no cleanser or scrubby pads (we purchased our ow mugs because mugs provided were so stained and no way to clean). The unit had not been dusted or vacuumed.There were so many little things, all insignificant by themselves but added up, presented a condo that I can not recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you gave this condo a 5- star written itemization. It is indeed as you described. Plus it is warm, comfortable, cozy, and almost new, … and has a GREAT SKI VILLAGE LOCATION. It has free underground parking, a free workout room, outdoor hot tub, gas fireplace, private outdoor deck overlooking the stream below, and free HS wireless. Pertaining to your tenant relationship it was all spelled out BEFORE you reserved on-line. Before you got to the on-line booking system there appears a sample 2- pg Guest Lease/ Registration for you to read. This same contract was filled out by us and emailed to you in its entirety,… it is only 2 pages. This sample Lease/ Contract is also on our personal web site. This is our way of helping guests to understand our process and what to expect. True, we spelled out all of the supplies that are provided. We get you started with the basics. This is a condo experience, not like a hotel that provides daily service and supplies. You agreed to everything by signing it and faxing/ scanning it back. Your emailed check-in packet reiterated this info, plus other specifics, like the number of towels provided, etc. Future guests may want to bring pool towels. We are very sorry for any inconvenience. But, pleased that you had a nice vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Kansas City, MO
4

First Time at Copper Mountain

  • 4 of 5

This condo was in an excellent location, even closer to the lifts than expected. Nice views, clean, extremely quiet and relaxing. The ski lockers were really easy and convenient. The underground parking was great, no snow to worry about. We drove, but never used the car the 4 nights we stayed. The hot tub was wonderful after a day on the slopes. Two nights we ate at the upscale restaurant at Passage Point, right across the bridge. There was a nice coffee shop there too. We really enjoyed our first time at Copper!

The slight downside to the condo was it was small, I wouldn't recommend it for more than 2 people unless it's young children. The only storage in the unit was a little, unlit bedroom closet, which also held the vacuum, ironing board, mop, dehumidifier, etc. That left no room for all your gear. The lighting was poor, so only one person could read at a time with their book under a table lamp. Being 5'3" I could not reach the dishes (above the microwave). A little higher quality linens would have been nice. (If you're driving bring your own pillows.) Also bring towels for the hot tub.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying. Thank you for your positive helpful criticism. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • From: $75 per night
  • US
  • Sales Tax: 9.75%
  • Cleaning Fee: $75 (not taxed)
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties