Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Makena Makai - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront villa--from $795/night

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 14 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Gorgeous home on quiet Old Makena Road with ocean views from every room.

Slip on your beach shoes, walk down your 40 foot dogleg to the left of your front lawn, step over small rocks, and swim with the turtles at our private beach.

Beautiful sunsets every night from a half acre lot on the ocean.

Breeching of humpback whales can be seen just off-shore in winter months.

Three-bedroom 2250 square-foot home has been decorated with Hawaiian style art, teak furniture from Bali, carpet, travertine flooring, and new appliances. Each bedroom has its own full bath.

Luxurious master bedroom with ocean views from your king-sized bed. Second bedroom has a queen-sized bed. The third bedroom has two twins that convert into a king.

Missionary founded church is two doors down. Ideal for destination weddings.

Keywords: Three Bedroom Oceanfront Villa

More Details

Owner
Sue Johnson
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

Why Sue Johnson chose South Maui

My parents built this home in 1969, when the only access was a dirt road. They lived here year round, but had no mail or paper delivery for many years. Its a lovely, quiet location in a pristine area, which my husband and I regularly update, and keep decorated in the Hawaiian style.

What makes this house unique

Snorkeling, turtle and whale viewing (in winter months) is awesome from our location. We can also swim off the left front side of our property. Our oceanfront location with sunset views overlooking 3 islands and 2 peninsulas is truly unparalleled.

Amenities

Makena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No Parties, Weddings or Gatherings Allowed. Quiet Hours 9pm-8am
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Twin beds can be made into a king-sized bed upon request., Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
State # W20611820-01; STKM-2012/0003 House Rules: Quiet hours are from 9:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m., during which time the noise from the short-term rental home shall not unreasonably disturb adjacent neighbors. Sound that is audible beyond the property boundaries during non-quiet hours shall not be more excessive than would be otherwise associated with a residential area. Amplified sound that is audible beyond the property boundaries of the short-term rental home is prohibited. Vehicles shall be parked in the designated onsite parking area and shall not be parked on the street. No parties or group gatherings other than registered guests shall occur. The shoreline area is the property of the people of Hawaii, and is open for the free use by everyone.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Makena Makai - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront villa--from $795/night
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 27 reviews
San Antonio
5

Tranquility, accessibility and privacy.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had the opportunity to take our adult daughter, and two teenage children on a trip to Maui for vacation. I scoured VRBO for a place large enough to give separate areas for retreat and shared living areas for togetherness. This house had everything we could have hoped for. As you will read in other reviews the view is simply breathtaking. The cove provides you a unique experience of the great Pacific Ocean- it is small and somewhat sheltered so you can enjoy it for hours without feeling blown away by strong ocean winds, which blow up almost everyday in the afternoon.

We saw beautiful birds, quail, Asian mongoose, lovely toads springing on the lawn at night, not to mention the turtles and great variety of fish if you snorkel.

The home is clearly a beloved home, filled with stories and built at a time when it was prized for its beauty not just monetary value. The grill is fabulous- we enjoyed not having to eat out every night, but still had a sensational view from our table!

When we did venture out, the sights we wanted to see were easy to get to- and shops at Wailea very close by which has an awesome grocery store.

If you want trendy designer touches, this is not the home for you. If you want the feeling that you have truly experienced the tranquility and magic of Hawaii that goes beyond a silk lei and Mai Tai you should rent this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am moved by this beautiful expression of your feelings regarding your time and your experiences in our home. Thank you! Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Olympia, WA.
5

Exquisite Setting

  • 5 of 5

We have been traveling to one Hawaiian island or another for the past 22 years. Makena Makai has the most beautiful setting of any place we have ever stayed. The house is spacious and avoids the "cramped" feeling one often experiences in a condo. The location is quiet and we very seldom saw our neighbors. The whales were out in force during our stay, providing ongoing entertainment. We particularly enjoyed the several morning and evening meals we ate on the table and chairs next to the water. Thanks Sue and Clark!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have had the privilege of inheriting this wonderful place, and I always am gratified when the folks who stay there understand how special our home and location is. Mahalo, Bruce!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5

When we were thinking of a warm weather destination to celebrate our 50th anniversary we thought of Hawaii. Needing a home to accommodate our family of 6 we were able to find our perfect spot through VRBO.

WHAT A FIND!

Owner Sue responded quickly and easily to all of our questions. The pictures of the ocean view....exactly what you will see every moment....from master bedroom to kitchen! Open the doors to the outside and you will hear the soothing surf sounds and hear the birds. The landscaping is lovely...hibiscus trees abound. SUNSETS ARE CAPTIVATION!

Although we had several trips away from the home we always looked forward to returning to this lovely spot. We walked to the church's Christmas Eve service down the road from us.....seating for 800 outside.....cars parked all along our road....and we walked there in 5 minutes! Also a 10 minute walk to the 'Turtle Bay' where you most always count on seeing the sea turtles. Snorkeling off the property's shoreline will allow you to see many fish, and turtles, too! (bring proper shoes to wear to the shoreline). Our sons enjoyed the kayaks....even their father was able to navigate to enjoy the last sunset 'on the water' as those of us on the lanai were enjoying the beauty. We saw two turtles sleeping on the rocky beach our first two days! The whales entertained us endlessly!

The 'living' area is spacious and well-appointed for casual living. The TV was perfect for the football games that were interesting to us.

You will find this home a very comfortable and livable paradise. We were there 14 days....We were sad to pack up and head for the airport to arrive home in Chicago with temperatures of 12 degrees!

Thank you, Sue and Clark, for opening your home and sharing your beautiful and private location.

p.s. the puzzle is missing 5 pieces.....but we worked it anyway!!!!!

Date of arrival

December 20, 2016

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Linda, for the thoughtful review. My husband and I truly feel we have a wonderful inheritance to share, and we are delighted when our guests appreciate the special charm and character of our home. Mahalo nui.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

real hawaii

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I and our three daughters spent two weeks at this wonderful home in August. It is situated on an out of the way section of the old Makena Road and has privacy and the feeling of old time Makena. It's really a home that has warmth and personal touches but fully appointed with a great grill and very comfortable beds and a nice big washer dryer. The ocean is right there for turtle watching and there is a large beautiful beach just a few minutes walking distance down the road. There's plenty of space and comfortable sitting spaces to watch the ocean sunset. It is a distinctly Hawaiian home - nothing generic about it. We were all very happy, kids and adults.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It was a paradise

  • 5 of 5

When I walked into the house, the ocean view from the big windows took my breath. The posted pictures are beautiful but the real view from the property was even better! The mountains on the horizon change thier colors hour by hour. Finding huge sea turtles swimming to the private rocky beach, or seeing colorful tropical fish by snorkeling, we were thrilled like children. You don't need to drive or even walk blocks. Everything is in a few steps away from the house, which is surrounded by beautiful tropical plants and serenity, but close enough to a town, Kihei.

The kitchen was spacious and well equipped. The beds were all comfortable, as well.

The experience at this beautiful specious house was so healing, comforting, and peaceful-- that I felt like I were in a paradise and never wanted to leave.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this review. I think it expressed a factual and telling report of the comfort and aura of our home and location.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

spacious place with amazing scener... and turtles!

  • 5 of 5

You step out the backyard and there's the ocean. Sea turtles come to feed by the rocks, we probably saw at least four or five of them every day. You can see the sun set whenever the weather permits and that's quite the view as well. The neighborhood is real serene, house is spacious and comfortable, and of course the view is killer.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kahalui, Maui
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Gannon's Restaurant
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wailea Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Piilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Gannon's Restaurant & Bar
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Maluaka
Nearest Point of Interest
Makena Makai
Car: necessary

We own a 40 foot dog leg parcel of land, to the left of our home,that is directly on the ocean. You can enter the ocean from this area wearing beach shoes in the morning when the ocean is calm.Maximum Occupancy Six Persons.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee for Stay $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 14.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.