Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Garden Apt., center of The City

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

bedroom, sitting room, bathroom. Sleeps 3

On the ground floor of a house on a quiet cul-de-sac in a good, safe neighborhood in the geographical center of The City. Private entrance. The bedroom has a full-sized (double) bed. The (larger) sitting room has a single bed, which looks sort of like a sofa, as well as a real sofa. Both rooms look out at the garden. Private bath. WiFi. Wood floors. Excellent bus connections. Garage available. Easy walk to Golden Gate Park. Nearby: a classic diner, a great deli, many coffee shops and restaurants, post office, pharmacy, banks, and FedEx. Warning: no TV; no stove (there is a microwave and mini-fridge and electric kettle). My theory is to give you good value on lodging so you can enjoy our very expensive city.


Owner
Howard Junker
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Howard Junker

I'm a retired editor who does volunteer work, reads, studies HBO Latino, plays online chess, shops at Whole Foods...

Howard Junker purchased this apartment in 1994

Why Howard Junker chose San Francisco

on a quiet cul-de-sac near everything, nice layout, good light, solid construction

Amenities

Richmond District Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Hotel
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

Garden Apt., center of The City
average rating of 4.285714 based on 56 reviews
4

Very nice place to stay

  • 4 of 5

Great location, so close to Golden Gate Park. Comfortable space, helpful owner.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very quaint and excellent location

  • 5 of 5

Older property but has the essence of old San Francisco , just what I was looking for. There is no TV, but has free wifi!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simple but spacious accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for all, Howard.

We enjoyd the quiet athmospere and the walkable distances to Golden Gate Park, bus station, restaurants and pubs. It was a perfect place for us 3 people who want to spend most of their time out and about exploring the city. It was also very convenient to park our car in the garage. We only saw Howard briefly but he was polite and helpful. Arriving/leaving was very easy and efficient and he responded quickly to all questions.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, Texas
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I had a pleasant stay at this apartment. We liked the fact that many things were within walking distance of or a short car ride away from this apartment.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stockholm, Sweden
3

Convenient location

  • 3 of 5

Thanks for a pleasant stay Howard.

The apartment is located in a quiet residential area within walking distance of Golden Gate Park and the museums there, and a few blocks away there is a direct bus to the city center which runs quite often.

It's a perfect place for 1-3 people who want to spend most of their time out and about exploring the city.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sheboygan
3

was a bit dumpy-but seemed like a safe area within a few blocks of some restaurants

  • 3 of 5

After we had turned in for the night, we locked the door only to find out that there was a pane of glass missing from the door.

Even though there was another entrance to the apt, we could not lock our area.

I was expecting somewhat of a hotel experience and I was a bit disappointed that there was no TV.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you didn't mention your fear about the the missing pane, because I could have reassured you. I took the pane out because guests sometimes locked themselves out. In any case, you were inside my house, in a self-contained unit protected by locked exterior doors. Do you usually lock the bedrooms in your own house for safety? As for no TV, I proudly state that in the description you might have read, just as you might have looked at the photos that accurately describe the dumpiness of my place. Next time, you're welcome to stay downtown in a fancy, pricey hotel that would more elegantly accommodate your wife AND daughter.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
SFO
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
internos
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Ferry Building
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Presidio
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Caltrain
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nagano, Star India, Mel's, Hong Kong II, Bella
Nearest Beach
2.5 Miles
Ocean Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Richmond District Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
$950
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $50
Tax Rate 14.0%

parking in the garage: $10 a night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties