expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

The Overlook at Rosario

Eastsound, WA, USA
  • House
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Mininum Stay3 - 4 nights

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 6


When visitors arrive at Rosario Resort and Marina, they gaze up toward the exclusive homes set upon the eastern hillside with an envious eye. That is because these ridge line residences focus toward one of the most dramatic views in all of the San Juan Islands. You too can now enjoy this lofty perspective.

You will enter the grounds through a gated garden and wander down terraced steps that lead to the front door. From the entry, your eye will be drawn through the formal living room toward the sweeping views of East Sound, Mt. Woollard, Rosario Mansion and Marina, and the neighboring island and waterways. After you settle in, you’ll find the paneled living room with contemporary seating and a rugged rock-faced fireplace a lovely location for conversation and watching the sunset.

This custom home is exceptionally spacious, with floor to ceiling windows that expand the view into all major rooms. Around the corner from the living room, you’ll find a dining room with antique table. Beyond, a seating area and gas fireplace enhances the kitchen area. Cooks will find the kitchen very well equipped with amenities that include a gas cook top, double oven, and island with stools. The family room, around another corner, features a large TV, DVD player, and sound system. The bedroom wing is on the opposite end of the home. The master bedroom offers a king bed and a lovely en-suite bathroom with glamorous tub and stall shower. There is a second bathroom with shower in the hall that is shared by the two additional bedrooms, both rooms offering queen beds.

You’ll probably spend pleasant hours lounging on the two decks where you can soak up the sunshine, drink in the view, and enjoy a BBQ. All in all, The Overlook at Rosario is the perfect home base for your summer vacation!

_Do note that the hillside on the waterside is fairly steep. Children will require adult supervision when on that side of the home, on the garden side of the home, and when using the child’s playhouse. Also please note that there is no AC and the ice maker does not work. _


Vacation Doorways makes every effort to provide, and provide timely maintenance and service for, all the amenities listed in this property description. However, at times, due to events out of our control, these services may not be as fast or reliable as our guests are used to on the mainland. Please Read your contract for important additional information about the availability of these services.

• Travel Insurance – Unexpected Things Can Happen, We Highly Recommend You Purchase Travel Insurance.

Property Manager

Vacation Doorways

Member Since 2012
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response time:
within one hour
Calendar last updated:
Apr 18, 2018
About Vacation Doorways

Vacation Doorways, formerly Windermere Vacation Rentals, is the largest vacation rental company in the San Juan Islands. We represent more than 70 wonderful vacation homes located on San Juan, Orcas, & Lopez Islands. When you rent a Vacation Doorway home: • Our reservation staff will help you find the perfect home. • The booking process is quick, easy, & secure. • You’re protected by a Rental Agreement that spells out rates, terms, & conditions. • Your reservation and payment are rapidly confirmed. • The home you rent is professionally cleaned before you check-in. • A property manager is on call 24/7. • You’re dealing with a highly experienced, reputable company. • You can be confident that you’ll have a wonderful vacation rental experience! Vacation Doorways Private Homes – Professionally Managed


    • Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
        • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds


        • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath


              • Guests provide their own meals


                  • Fireplace
                  • Hair Dryer
                  • Internet
                  • Iron & Board
                  • Telephone
                  • Washing Machine


                      • Blender
                      • Coffee Maker
                      • Dishes & Utensils
                      • Dishwasher
                      • Kitchen
                      • Microwave
                      • Oven
                      • Refrigerator
                      • Stove
                      • Toaster


                          • Dining Area


                              • DVD Player
                              • Satellite / Cable
                              • Television


                                  • Deck / Patio
                                  • Outdoor Grill


                                      • wheelchair inaccessible

                                        House Rules

                                        Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                        Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                        5 Reviews

                                        Very Good4/5

                                        Latest reviews


                                        Mary K.KIRKLAND, WA

                                        Rating Details:

                                        The property manager was more than helpful.

                                        The vacation rental was very dirty.

                                        I was very happy with the location.

                                        I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                        Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

                                        Reviewer Comments:

                                        We were profoundly disappointed with the rental and feel it’s quality and care were grossly misrepresented. We were deeply embarrassed to share this house with our guests. Throughout the House there was a smell of what seemed to be urine and the carpeting was filthy and dramatically stained in most areas. A/C wasn’t working upon arrival. Windows are filthy throughout the house. Several window screens were ripped or absent. There were cob webs, spiders, and dead bugs all around the house. Ice Makers and Water did not work on either refrigerator. Ant poison was all over kitchen counter. Ceiling fan in living room was not working. Old TV sitting on floor in the TV room instead of disposed of. No privacy curtains in guest bedroom facing the patio. There were many burnt out light bulbs. Hall bathroom Light fixture was badly broken and missing a second workable bulb, making the bathroom unacceptably dark! Master Bed is in FOUL condition; severely bucketed. The unannounced groundskeeper, stood outside bathroom and bedroom windows when residents were changing or bathing! The handrail to the entrance is badly cracked and not usable. The master bedroom closet light fixture was filled with bugs, a spider on the ceiling, the fan vent cover has been removed, the dresser mirror was placed on a FILTHY rag full of seeds!! The master bath light fixture was full of bugs and the window was filthy and the view of the yard included old hoses and an old dug-up lamp post! The patio tables were filthy, molded and stained! No patio umbrella was provided. The deck had old garden pots stacked in the corner, was covered with madrone bark and liken. The view is remarkable and while there are many charming points to this house, the list of issues is absolutely unacceptable! We would have NEVER rented this place if the condition of the carpeting alone was ethically represented. We received 30% refund for the misrepresentation but, in retrospect should have received a full refund.

                                        Owner's Response:

                                        Dear Guest - Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely receive your comments here. As you know we did our own investigation of the circumstances of your stay when you relayed your experience to us and while we do not agree with the level of issue you describe here, we did agree that the property was not up to our standards and it has been removed from our rental pool. We sincerely apologized before for your experience and will do so again here. Best Regards, General Manager

                                        Update - We have been working with the owners of the property and I am very pleased to say all the issues referenced in this review will very shortly be resolved and the property will be ready to new bookings again! Our sincere gratitude to the owners for really stepping up to make the property great again. Renters - keep an eye out for the calendar opening up in the next 30 days. Best Regards, General Manager

                                        One of the best views on the island!

                                        Michael W.Chicago, Illinois

                                        Rating Details:

                                        The property manager was very helpful.

                                        The vacation rental was spotless.

                                        I was very happy with the location.

                                        I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                        Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                        Reviewer Comments:

                                        The Overlook at Rosario boasts a wonderful location, close to Moran State Park and Rosario resort, with gorgeous views of Mt. Wollard, Turtleback Mountain, and East Sound (the body of water, not the town). 2 huge decks span the width of this very large home, so there is tons of space to soak in the view. The property itself has beautiful madrona trees that frame your view, and it's nice to walk in the backyard, though mind the steep drop offs if you have young children. I'm guessing the house was built around 1980, and there are some signs of age and needs of updating. The bathrooms are great - recently updated. The kitchen, however: the microwave oven didn't work during our stay in August 2016. And the gas or electric double oven never worked, either. My wife and I cook a lot of meals when we're on Orcas, so this was a bit of a bummer, but we made do with the 4 burner range + the propane grill on the deck. The management company sent someone out, but they were unable to fix the 2 ovens. After our trip, Windermere made it right by giving us a credit. We have used Windermere/Vacation Doorways for several years, and this was the only time we've had an issue, and they resolved it to our satisfaction. I would recommend this home to a friend, but with the caveat that (assuming you plan to cook a fair amount), you check with the management company prior to make sure these issues have been fixed. The house is very spacious, and for our family of four it was almost too big. I think they say the max occupancy is 6, but even with 6, there would be plenty of room to spread out. Big living room, big den, plus 2 decks. Great spot to enjoy the trails and lakes of Moran State Park, and just 10 min drive to Eastsound.

                                        Owner's Response:

                                        Dear Guest - Thank you for this feedback on the property. As noted in our response to another review, the property has been in the process of being updated and will shortly be available again for rental - with everything working as it should! We appreciate your visit and hope you will give us a chance to meet your expectations. Best Regards, General Manager

                                        A Great Escape

                                        Liane R.Covington, WA

                                        Rating Details:

                                        The property manager was very helpful.

                                        The vacation rental was spotless.

                                        I was very happy with the location.

                                        I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                        Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                        Reviewer Comments:

                                        Everything about this house was perfect. It is an absolutely gorgeous home, which is very beautifully decorated. It has stunning views of Rosario, and the surrounding waters. We loved watching the sea planes take off and land and all of the eagles, which flew by. We loved every minute of our stay!

                                        Family Trip

                                        Elizabeth V.Chicago, Illinois

                                        Rating Details:

                                        The property manager was very helpful.

                                        The vacation rental was very clean.

                                        I was very happy with the location.

                                        I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                        Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                        Reviewer Comments:

                                        We had a great time at the house with 6 adults. The views are incredible, the outdoor space is nice, kitchen is great for cooking with a large group, ample living space and nicely updated baths. We really loved being close to Moraine State Park & Rosario so the location was perfect for us.

                                        A Taste of Paradise on Orcas Island

                                        Sandie C.The Land of Heat, Humidity, and Hurricanes

                                        Rating Details:

                                        The property manager was very helpful.

                                        The vacation rental was very clean.

                                        I was very happy with the location.

                                        I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                        Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                        Reviewer Comments:

                                        We spent 4 glorious days on Orcas Island and The Overlook at Rosario was our “home away from home”. The location was perfect, the house lovely, and the view spectacular. The home is large, comfortable, warm, and had all the amenities we could have hoped for. Though we were hesitant to rent this home because this was the first year the home was available for rental and there weren’t any reviews, our hesitancy was for naught. So…worry not…this house is terrific and a perfect Orcas Island choice. We had a wonderful family reunion at The Overlook at Rosario and hope to return when next we make Orcas Island our destination.


                                        Eastsound, WA, USA


                                        Additional information about rental rates

                                        Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

                                        5 Reviews
                                        Very Good 4/5
                                        Premier Partner
                                        Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                        Instant Confirmation
                                        For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                        Property # 647554