Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

309 Ocean Dunes - Fabulous Ocean Front Beach Views Updated Clean and Comfortable

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 860 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom/ 2 Bath condo w/elevator directly on the beach & close to everything.

Enjoy outstanding ocean views from the deck of the beautifully maintained beach condo. Ocean Dunes is close enough to Coligny Circle to enjoy all the action, shops, and restaurants this area is known for without getting in a car, yet far enough away to enjoy a the quite sounds of the ocean. Forest Beach is a very bike friendly community. Rent a bike and travel all over the island or up and down the beach. The resort has an outdoor ocean front pool, laundry room on each floor and an elevator. The rental comes with use privileges to the Spinnaker Resort Fitness center, which has a full array of exercise equipment and an indoor pool. The unit has a full kitchen and adjoining Living/Dining area, two full baths and a balcony and comes with two bicycles. There is a queen bed in the master bedroom, two twin beds in the second bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. Fully furnished, air conditioned and heated with telephone, free WiFi Internet and flat screen TVs with Cable service. Enjoy food and drinks at Zimmies poolside ocean front bar and grill located at the Hilton Ocean Oaks directly adjoining our resort and just a few steps from out unit.

More Details

Owner
Rick Matarrese
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About Rick Matarrese

My wife and I came to Hilton Head many times over the last 3 decades and always had a special fondness for this area. Sp. we are so thrilled to be starting this venture where we are able to share our dream beach condo with our guests. We have always loved travel and stayed at so many fine places over the years. But have also had the misfortune of staying at some that were disappointing at best. We understand the importance of vacation and just how easily that precious time can be spoiled by the frustration of accommodations that do not meet your expectations. That is something we don’t ever want our guests to feel. It is our goal to maintain our unit to a level that will provide 5 star ratings and that will not only assure that our guests are satisfied, but that they are thoroughly thrilled. We want guests that come back year after year. We hope you will become one of them.

Rick Matarrese purchased this condo in 2015

Why Rick Matarrese chose Island Areas

We take great pride in our unit 309 Ocean Dunes and provide an ambiance that is clean and fresh, but not so modern and cold that it looses the character charm and comfort of a Beach Home. When you are at the beach you want to feel like you are at the beach. We want our unit to convey a spirit of relaxation and fun, but still provide a level of impeccable neatness and cleanliness we desire when we stay there. Since we stay there often ourselves. We conduct frequent and regular personal inspections to assure that the unit is not just surface clean, but deep cleaned and that even the smallest imperfections or maintenance issues, that may have gone unnoticed, are corrected. There are a lot of vacation properties on Hilton Head. We want ours to stand out amongst them.

What makes this condo unique

"Location, Location, Location" is what they say in real estate and here at 309 Ocean dunes, that is what you get.! This ocean front resort is ideally situated far enough away from Coligny Circle so that you cannot see or even hear the hustle and bustle of the people and traffic, yet close enough to walk to it (or bike to it with one of bikes provided with the unit). You get the best of both at home with the excitement and action of endless dining and shopping just down the street. Free access to the health club supplements that with an indoor pool just a few blocks away. And if you like Tennis there is a tennis center just short stroll down the road. Being on the 3rd floor provides amazing ocean views that you simply cannot get at lower levels along with beautiful starry nights right off your ocean front balcony Individual air units and thermostats for each room assures that everyone can live in the comfort they desire. A fully updated kitchen means glide free drawers, modern stainless steel appliances and unblemished counter tops. A full size dining table provides space for everyone at dinner time. Hardwood living area floors provide a soft comfortable look of elegance while the tiled bathrooms assure clean and sterile bathing experience. A ceiling fan on the balcony supplements the natural ocean breeze to keep you cool and the cushioned furniture will keep you comfortable as you sip your Mint Juleps and watch the ocean waves.

Amenities

South Forest Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 860 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

309 Ocean Dunes - Fabulous Ocean Front Beach Views Updated Clean and Comfortable
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 30 reviews
5

Great view, nice Condo

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay! The condo is very well decorated and very nice. It really is in the perfect location, close to Coligny but far enough away to avoid the extra people and beach traffic. We had no maintenance issues or issues with the condo. The bikes were a nice plus as well.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Really enjoyed our time here

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I and our one year-old son stayed here in June of 2017. We really enjoyed our time at HH, and this unit met all of our needs. I really appreciated the proximity to the beach, the deck overlooking the pools/ocean, and the spacious layout of the unit. The unit was very clean, and check-in/check-out was a breeze. The owner was also very communicative, which helped make the stay a nice one. Some minor complaints: both bathrooms had a really unpleasant odor (sort of a combination of mold and bleach), the sink in the hallway bathroom didn't drain properly, the unit lacked some basic amenities (trash bags, shampoo), and the AC units - while they functioned properly - were so loud that we couldn't really watch TV with them on (they kept turning on and off...). I would probably stay here again, but I did feel that the price was a tad steep for the outdatedness of the unit.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your taking the time to review our unit. We are very much concerned about any unpleasant smell in the bathrooms and will have that checked out immediately. We only wish you had reported it when you discovered it, so we might have been able to do something to correct it for you. We stay there ourselves at least 7 or 8 times per year and have never had that before, so we are perplexed and genuinely unsure what is at the root of it. But do apologize for what ever it was. We are also truly sorry if you were assuming that shampoo would provided. We depend on the contract, that our management company has with the housekeepers, for supplies. They do not include shampoo, but we do clearly spell that out in our welcome letter, so hopefully that was not a surprise for you. We need to share a strong difference of opinion on your reported 'outdatedness' of the unit. We do not subscribe to the concept that a unit has to be cold, hard, shiny, sterile and uncomfortable to be updated. Many new places have done the entire unit in granite and marble with tiny hard furniture that looks visually "chic', but is both physically and visually uncomfortable and is really no more expensive to do. We want our unit to be warm, soft, relaxing, and comfortable. We do this by aesthetically reflecting the ambiance of a Carolina beach cottage, as best we can. All our furniture, appliances and fixtures are very new and/or at the very least extremely well maintained, while still reflecting that coastal ambiance. The only exception would be the 2nd bedroom wicker/rattan headboards and end table which will be replaced at the end of the summer. The furnishings are exactly as depicted in the pictures, so there should be no surprises here. The table and chairs, sleeper sofa, end tables, master bedroom furniture and all bedding is less than a year old. The kitchen appliances are all brand new and stainless steel. Our floors are intentionally not stone or tile, except for the bathrooms. Most of the unit is hardwood laminate which is softer and warmer and the carpet in both bedrooms is brand new. Our furniture is oversized and soft, so as to be comfortable rather than modern chic and rigid. We would not enjoy the feel or look of what many consider "updated" and I don't think most of our guest would either. We want our guests to feel like they are at the beach rather than the city and believe that is why so many choose to stay with us. And more importantly, why so many return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and clean. Great view, the bikes were nice to have as well.. Would definitely come back

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfectly Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed our much needed vacation at this location in Hilton Head. The accomidations were basic but clean. No complaints about the rental unit. Our neighbors were a bit lound at night time but we made the best of it.

The only thing that should be updated is the matress in the main bedroom was sunken in. Time for replacement?

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the noisy neighbors and that the mattress was not to your liking. Mattresses can be tricky, but we can assure it is not old. We pride ourselves on maintaining the unit with very updated and exceptionally maintained furnishings. We would never keep an old mattress as sleep is a key component in having a comfortable vacation stay. The mattress is actually very new and has a memory foam upper layer that provides a soft level of comfort. If you are used to a very hard or firm mattress, it may have felt uncomfortable to you and that is unfortunate. But, I would like to clarify that it is definitely not "sunken in" as you describe it. Maybe just a little more contouring than some people might like. We are thrilled that the rest of your stay was good.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Property is beautiful and right on the beach! Had an amazing time!

  • 5 of 5

Just what I needed for a relaxing week on the beach. The pool was a nice retreat too.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful HHI vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed a wonderful, beautiful and relaxing vacation here! Great location, walking right up to the beach, close to shops and restaurants. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Savanah International
Nearest Barpub
Metropolitan Resturant (Across Street)
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Shipyard
Nearest Restaurant
Metropolitan Resturant (Across Street)
Nearest Beach
Forest Beach
Car: not necessary

Ocean Dunes Villas is the perfect blend of serenity and convenience. It is within walking distance of dozens of shops and restaurants at Coligny Circle as well as the VanDerMeer Tennis and Spinnaker Health and Fitness centers. Yet it is located on a small two lane road with little traffic and far enough off that road to provide complete quite. Bike paths provide an inviting environment of cyclists and strict restrictions on commercial lighting provide amazing starlit evenings. Next door is the Marriot Grand Ocean Resort where you can stop at the ocean front bar for a drink and across the street is a sports bar and restaurant at the Metropolitan Hotel. Everything (even golf) is within biking distance so you can leave your car in the parking lot.

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Forest Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 17
May 27 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,550
$6,000
 
 
July 4th Week 17
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 17
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$950
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 18 2017 - Sep 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$950
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 17
Sep 23 2017 - Oct 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$950
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Winter 17
Oct 23 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$775
$2,550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$220
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$90
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holidays 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Winter 18
Jan 7 2018 - Mar 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$90
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$725
$2,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Spring
Mar 3 2018 - Mar 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$110
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$950
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter Spring Break
Mar 31 2018 - Apr 14 2018
6 night minimum stay
$175
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2018
Apr 15 2018 - May 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
$140
From
$245
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
May 26 2018 - Aug 11 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4th
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,000
$3,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning & Check-in Serv $190 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Note: Please be advised that construction is underway for a new Hilton Resort being built next door. While this should have minimal visual and audible impact while you are in your unit, there will be a visual disturbance from the parking lot and if you look north up the beach from your balcony. You may also hear some sounds of construction while on the balcony or at the pool.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties