Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Eagle Springs Lake Vacation Home

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Library, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Eagle Springs Lake Vacation House; Waukesha County 40 minutes drive Southwest of Milwaukee and 90 minutes drive Northwest of Chicago.

Unique 1890’s lake house architect renovated 15 years ago on saddle ridge between lake in front and pond in back. Access via a private road, house designed for entertaining and relaxation by owners who now live in the East.

Three bedrooms, three baths, flow through living/dining (with wood burning fire place) library, kitchen areas on ground floor opening to front lake view/access screened in porch.

One queen-size, one double and two twin beds in three bedrooms on second floor with 'tree house' like views. Master bedroom and library have 'cathedral ceilings'.

Beautifully furnished with original art and extensive collection of books, with a focus on award winning fiction, nature, and Asia. Cable ready but bring your own TV and computer.

Central heating and air conditioning although in summer extensive screened in windows catch breezes off the spring fed lake.

Walking distance to nine-hole Eagle Golf course, one of the oldest in Wisconsin and within one to ten miles of Beulah, North Prairie, and Kettle Moraine courses. A short drive or bike ride to Kettle Moraine State Park and Old World Wisconsin with their extensive hiking, bird watching, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, and riding trails. Downhill skiing at Alpine Valley within seven miles. Ice fishing and skating on lake in winter.

Eagle Springs Lake is ideal for pontoon boats, water skiing, canoeing, and fishing. Dock available but provide your own boat. The Lake connects with the Nature Conservancy protected LuLu Lake by a channel through the marsh and is designated by TNC and the Department of Natural Resources as one of the top five watersheds in the state. Very peaceful and relaxing. No smoking or pets.

Please double check weekend rates with the agent as the site calculator is not always correct.

Keywords: Lakefront House

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a delight to throw open the windows front & back (in August) and let the breeze blow through. We especially enjoyed the lake view from the master bedroom….the local hospitality & the goodwill & trust that allowed us to keep the rental canoe here all night for two wonderful days on Lake LuLu. The local bike path is nice - drumlin glacial.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 4

Map

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Mitchell International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Eagle Springs Pub
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Eagle Spring Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Eagle Spring Pub
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Alpine Valley Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Kettle Moraine State Forest
Nearest Point of Interest
Eagle Spring Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
Eagle Spring Pub
Nearest Point of Interest
Old World Wisconsin
Nearest Point of Interest
Alpine Valley Music Theatre
Nearest Point of Interest
Alpine Valley Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Ten Chimneys
Nearest Point of Interest
Hen House Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Eagle Village Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Alice Baker Library
Nearest Point of Interest
Eagle Weather

Amenities

Eagle House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Eagle Springs Lake Vacation Home
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
Park City, Utah
2

Not what you see in the pictures. . .

  • 2 of 5

We drove down a bumpy dirt road with holes filled with water before arriving at the property. The house is quite old and poorly furnished, dirty & dusty with uncomfortable sofas in the living room. Every draw in the kitchen was a mess. The pots, pans and utensils were simply thrown in every draw. The upstairs linen closet as well as the master bedroom closet was an equal mess. There was no soap (other than hand soap) in any shower. The towels were old and the sheets weren't much better Janet, the next door neighbor handles the rental. She came running over to collect the security deposit-really? There wasn't anything in this house we could possibly ruin. In fact, we left it in better condition then we found the house. We have traveled around the world using VRBO and I must say that this place was one of the worst we have rented. . .especially for $250 a night in the middle of nowhere. (We were there for the North Face Challenge Race). It wouldn't take a lot to make this house charming. A good cleaning with a few comfortable sofas, nice sheets and towels and an organized kitchen and closets would do the trick. Incidentally, you cannot go swimming from the dock outside because the lake is extremely murky.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We regret the concerns, take them seriously, and note: Heavy rains this year created ruts in the road. We had asked a local contractor to fill holes, add and grade new gravel. Prior commitments delayed his work, but he's promised to complete it soon. We employ cleaners between renters. They attempt to do a thorough job, but it appears they didn't have sufficient time to organize kitchen drawers and closets. We've asked them to be more careful in the future and will see that more thorough cleanings are done periodically. When we're next in WI, we'll check closets and clear unnecessary items. There are several sets of sheets and towels. We've asked our agent to go through them and refresh with new ones where appropriate. Most people prefer to use their own bath soap and shampoo brands. We'll see standard brands are available if desired. We used the two couches during our visits this spring and found them comfortable for reading, relaxing and viewing the lake. We'll check them on our next visit. A security deposit is standard for rental properties. Ours is listed on the website and in the contract which the renters signed. We don't make exceptions for new renters. In the vast majority of cases, including this one, the deposit is returned shortly after departure. We appreciate that the house was left in good condition as well as the help that our neighbor, friend, and agent Janet provides. She tries to greet new guests after her medical work, see that all is in order, and respond to concerns as she did during this rental.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago area
5

Perfect escape for families or writers

  • 5 of 5

We spent a delightful week at this lovely lake house in early August. A phenomenal book collection and artwork from around Asia give this old Victorian a lot of character and charm. Yet, the place isn’t so fancy or fragile that you’re worried about having kids visit. The caretaker was responsive, super friendly and gave great recommendations. (Elegant Farmer, a short drive from here, has the best apple pie I’ve ever tasted!) My young kids caught panfish and bass off the pier every day. The water there is clear and shallow enough that you can see the fish eyeing the bait. We rented kayaks and explored the lake. On our next trip we hope to paddle all the way to Lake Lulu, a no-wake DNR lake that's supposed to be gorgeous. For those who prefer swimming in pools to lakes, there’s a wonderful newer YMCA nearby in Mukwonago that has a zero-depth-entry pool and a waterslide -- much nicer facilities than the Ys we have in the Chicago area. One of my favorite parts of the trip was seeing all the cranes. We hear their distinctive calls when they migrate overhead in the spring. Now we know where these magnificent birds spend their summers. On our last morning as we packed up, a crane stood on the pier, the brilliant red feathers on its head shining in the sun. A perfect end to a perfect trip! We’re already planning our next visit. p.s. This would make a great writer’s retreat in any season. There's strong wifi and three distinct spaces for writing. The library is surrounded on three sides with windows overlooking the woods. The screened porch overlooks the lake, and the dining room has long table with plenty of room to spread out your notes. You’re in a serene setting, surrounded by books, not far from coffee shops, and there's no TV to distract you.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great quiet escape

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at this lake house for six weeks while we transitioned out of the area for a move. The house was clean and beautiful. We enjoyed this secluded home with an awesome lake view from master bedroom, living room and front deck. It was stocked with everything we needed for day-to-day use. Janet, the property manager, was very responsive and always super helpful with anything we needed. We miss the place and would most definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Mesa, AZ
5

Great place for families...

  • 5 of 5

The caretaker was very kind and answered all of our questions and even helped when we got locked out. She also even brought over toys for our kids and my niece. This charming lake house has an excellent view. We stayed here with my sister and her family and we all had plenty of space. We even hosted a brunch for our extended family and had plenty of room for everyone. We are from AZ and when we come to visit family in WI again, we would definitely stay here again. AND the price is great!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: July 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Utility Fee $120

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties