Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

South Shores Shangri-La Lanier, Best Location on Lanier. Minutes to Everything!

Sleeps24
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedroom,5 Bath With Incredible Lake Views, Gorgeous Swimming Pool, Hot tub

Located on the south shores of Lake Lanier, this is truly a paradise away from reality. Offering spectacular vistas, with attention paid to every detail, the owners want to make sure your stay is care-free! Located minutes from Downtown, Historic Buford, Lake Lanier Islands, Holiday Marina, the Mall of GA, as well as many restaurants, bars, and grocery stores, anything you could desire is right around the corner. Local activities include boating, fishing, golfing, horseback riding, zip-lines, water park, wildlife viewing, state parks, walking trails, and just about anything you could imagine. But, then again, you may not want to leave this paradise; as it offers a swimming pool with bar, hot tub, pool table, numerous games, a dock with a party top with plenty of seating & a covered boat slip, And, as the cherry on top, with every weekly rental you will enjoy a houseboat ride!

Main floor:

*master w/ cal king poster bed w/ wall of windows for incredible views of the lake, a luxurious bath w/ sep. shower & soaking tub also w/ views of the lake, huge walk-in closet, and a flat screenTV.

*Fully equipped kitchen w/ all appliances, pots, pans, glassware, plates, utensils(enough to serve 20+ diners) Keurig coffee maker, 4 slice toaster, Cuisinart Smart Duel Blender/food processor, crockpot, & generous supply of spices/seasonings, & paper products, as well as bar seating.

*Dinning room w/ formal table that seats 10+ diners.

*King poster bdrm w/ flat screenTV, and access to full bath a few steps down the hall.

*Full laundry center w/ washer/dryer, iron & board, laundry detergent. linen shelf.

*Open living rm w/ a wall of windows overlooking the lake, flat screen TV, sony Blu-ray disc BD/DVD home theatre system, book shelves w/ some easy reading, warm fireplace, comfortable seating, and the sofa is also a full sized bed.

Upstairs:

*Loft w/ entertainment center with a gaming TV, wii game console w/ several games. There is a queen sized sofa.

*Upstairs master w/ a cal king poster bed w/ a wall of windows w/ incredible lake views, a fireplace, sitting area, a flat screen TV, an elaborate bath w/ soaking tub, sep. shower, double vanities fit for royalty. (sitting area can be converted to a plush baby bed, or toddler bed, if you've got the need.

Terrace level:

There's a whole other house here; a common area w/ a full kitchen, stocked with the usual, including a refrigerator w/ ice maker. a dining area, a bar, a pool table a flat screen TV, and a wall of windows for spectacular views of the lake.

*Queen sized poster bdrm w/ a wall of windows, a flat screen TV, with access to a full bath, just around the corner.

*A bunk bed rm w/ an air hockey table, a cabinet of games & puzzles, with a gaming table for hours of fun. There's a full bath for the kids to have their own spot. *Tanning bed rm that remains locked, unless opened by a responsible adult to get a tan, or use the Total Gym.

All linens are provided, as high quality towels & bedding, a lot of the bedding is hypoallergenic

Each level offers Friends & Family common areas for gathering, but also has space for those private moments. There is a sunny deck off the living rm that overlooks the lake and the party dock, and there's a shady porch off the terrace level with beautiful vistas as well.

The swimming pool is something you'd find in Vegas with large greek goddesses holding the base of a beautifully lit fountain; inspiring relaxing evenings. There is plenty of seating/loungers for everyone to enjoy, with a covered bar area. The private hot tub sits at the base of a waterfall coming from the pool. There is seating and a firepit to enjoy. Beach towels are provided.

More Details

Owner
Geri Chastain
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About Geri Chastain

We built this home about 20 years ago, with the lake being the focal point. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades.

We're from the area, and can help our guests with information on anything they may need to know.

Why Geri Chastain chose Buford

We chose this location because of the location! We're literally minutes away from the best parts of the lake & Historic Downtown Buford. The access is an added bonus. The atmosphere of the area is inspirational and relaxing!

What makes this house unique

If needed, we have the ability to have our houseboat docked at the home, which allows for 6 more people to stay comfortably.

Amenities

Buford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • The houseboat has 2 additional full baths.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • The home can comfortably sleep 18 people, if the need is present, we've got the ability to bring our houseboat to be docked at the house, which sleeps 6 more.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
South Shores Shangri-La Lanier, Best Location on Lanier. Minutes to Everything!
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

If it had been warm enough to use the pool and/or hot tub, I probably would have dropped down to 4 stars, simply because they are not in a private area of the property. Other than that, the property was very nice and the owner (who lives next door) was wonderful. She showed me how to work everything and came over promptly to look for a few things for me that we couldn't find.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! I was even gladder when the rain broke and the sun came out for your daughter's wedding! I'm sorry that you think you would've dropped to 4 stars if you had used the pool, due to its location. Unfortunately, where it is, is the only spot we could put it, due to the lake in the backyard being so close to the house. But, as for the hot tub, I put it at the base of the waterfall, out of view, simply to give it the utmost privacy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous 50th Birthday

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated my 50th birthday with several family members and every age group had a great time - from lounging at the pool to enjoying the amazing views of Lake Lanier. Geri & Jack were very welcoming & ensured all our needs were met. Geri even surprised us with a boat ride & tour on Lake Lanier. The home & decor were beautiful and we look forward to returning. This was a birthday to be remembered!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So Glad you chose to spend your 50th Birthday at Shangri La Lanier. Special occasions allow for wonderful memories! Looking forward to your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Geri was more than accommodating, the house was beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

We were there for my wedding weekend, so my groomsmen, their dates, and myself all stayed in the house. To say it was a blast was an understatement! Geri was helpful and friendly, we felt right at home! This house is big enough where people can hang out in different areas or their rooms and have their own space. Wonderful lake view. Unfortunately it rained so we couldn't enjoy the pool area like we had wanted, but the pictures do not do this home justice! Can't wait to hang out again Geri!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You folks were awesome! Glad the rain didn't keep you guys from enjoying the lake! Looking forward to your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Last minute family and friends

  • 5 of 5

Our group was scheduled to go to Punta Cana but due to Hurricane Maria we had to reschedule, but thank God for Geri and Mr Jack and Tom.

The house and yard was amazing but the hosts were fabulous. Just ask and it happened Geri is truly the tour guide for Lake Lanier she gave us some interesting history. It's definitely a place to return. Not enough space to say it all "CHECK IT OUT YOURSELF"

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was an absolute pleasure meeting you & your whole group! I'm so glad you had the opportunity to get to know this paradise! Lake Lanier has so much to offer! It was amazing to me that this was your first experience here! I hope the Sun & the Water, and The Sand between your toes out shined any disappointment you may have had due to your short notice change of plans!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Buford, GA
5

Company party

  • 5 of 5

Had a large company party at Geri's house. Geri was very accommodating and a good host. Good spot, great deck on the water!.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure meeting you & all of your co-workers! We're glad that you chose South Shores Shangri La Lanier for the company pig roast, and even more thankful for the invitation to partake of the scrumptious pig!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beyond My Highest Expectations

  • 5 of 5

From the outset, Geri and Jackie were supportive and gracious hosts. Everything was taken care of, and me and my quests were made to feel completely at home. The pictures don't capture how spectacular this house truly is. Great views on every floor. Accent lighting just about everywhere. Our stay at Shangri-La is one that we will talking about for years to come. I would like to sincerely thank Geri and Jackie for such a wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting the whole crew! The pictures can't capture the feeling you get gazing at the lake! (or the pool and fountain!) Thank You!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

High Museum of Art
Philips Arena
SkyView Atlanta
Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area
Mall Of Georgia
Atlanta Cyclorama
Margaret Mitchell House & Museum
Chastain Park Amphitheatre
Pittypat's Porch
Great Place for true Southern cousine!
Chops Lobster Bar
College Football Hall of Fame
Variety Playhouse
Intimate concert hall.
Blind Willie's
Awesome Blues
Atlanta Fish Market
57th Fighter Group Restaurant
Wild Bill's
Branch House Tavern
Hal's On Old Ivy
Best restaurant in the world!
Tallulah Falls
Gorgeous!
Lake Lanier Islands' Beach & Waterpark
Horseback riding, zip lines & much more
Duke's Creek Falls
Nacoochee Adventures
Anna Ruby Falls
Habersham Winery
Dukes Creek Mines
Zipline Canopy Tours of Blue Ridge
Escape Room Blue Ridge
Canvas and Cork Wine Tasting Room and Art Gallery
Zoo Atlanta
Museum of Buford

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $250
DOT Fee $25
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%

We will not allow day parties/events over 30 people & there will be the party/event fee implemented.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties