Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Spacious Log Home, Waterfront, Very Private, Book now for Family Vacations

Bedrooms 4
Space 3,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Log House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8) Quiet get-away with lots of room

Contact us for a quote on this fantastic, family-friendly property! Was recently purchased from the original owners with over 10 years of rental history. Refer to listing 117791 for reviews of this wonderful property. Had over 50 reviews with a rating of 4.8 stars.

What could be better than a waterfront log cabin in the mountains? Our spacious home is located in beautiful Shumont Estates, Lake Lure, North Carolina.

This property is 3300+ square feet and has four bedrooms, three full bathrooms (jacuzzi tub in the master bath), a full kitchen, a 55" LED TV with DVD player and Netflix in the downstairs recreation room, 55" LED TV with DVD player in upstairs great-room, TV's in both the Master bedroom and downstairs bedroom all with DirecTV, 32” led tvs with roku in the other upper bedrooms, WiFi throughout the house, full size washer and dryer, and brand new four burner propane gas grill on the deck. Gorgeous pine floors upstairs and carpet downstairs. We have just installed WiFi throughout the house for easy connection access. Ping Pong and Foosball tables are located in the downstairs Rec Room!

The large deck off the great room has a beautiful view of the 12-acre Shumont Lake. The private dock with rowboat is perfect for swimming and fishing. Enjoy the quiet peacefulness of a private lake with all the activities Lake Lure has to offer.

Rental of this property includes the use of Rumbling Bald Resort amenities which are less than 5 minutes away. Amenities include two golf courses, tennis, three swimming pools, lazy river, miniature golf, beach, marina, exercise equipment and spa/salon.

No pets allowed (no exceptions, sorry). No Smoking. Linens (sheets, towels, blankets, pillows) are provided at no cost. Guests need to bring only beach towels.

This is a perfect location for family vacations! Two families of four can easily share this home. Also convenient for golf vacations. Within easy driving distance to Asheville, Charlotte and Greenville. (A trip to the Biltmore Estate is a must!)

This home has a spacious floorplan with wide doorways. Single-floor living is an option as 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, and kitchen are all on the entry level. Great for those who prefer not to go up and down stairs.

***This home is privately owned and not managed by a rental agency. Your calls and emails will be answered directly (and quickly) by the owners.***

We accept credit cards without extra fees for our guests. We won't hit you with extra charges!

Keywords: Cabin, house, log house

More Details

Jason Chorlins
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Jason Chorlins

We are private owners with only one rental property. We do not use a rental agency, so you will get quick, personal service. We just recently purchased this property from the original owners.

We love quiet get-aways at Lake Lure and know that you will too!

We purchased this house in 2017

Jason Chorlins purchased this house in 1

Why Jason Chorlins chose Lake Lure

This log home was built from the ground up. It was designed with guests in mind and know that you will enjoy your vacation in this house as much as we do. Lake Lure is a wonderful, relaxing vacation spot for the entire family. This is a great place for family vacations!

What makes this house unique

This home is located in a quiet neighborhood. There is no noisy boat traffic and the lake is perfect for swimming and fishing. A real family getaway! Not to mention access to Rumbling Bald Resort.


Lake Lure House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq ft
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , double sinks
  • 3 full bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , In-Suite bath
    Upstairs Queen - 1 queen
    Upstairs Twins - 2 twin/ single
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (3) , Twin or Single Beds (2) All bedrooms are spacious with dressers, nightstands and closets.
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • water tubing


4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Log Home, Waterfront, Very Private, Book now for Family Vacations
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews

Convenient layout

  • 5 of 5

Very nice long week end. The layout of the house worked very well for us. Would stay again if vacationing in area.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely a beautiful house in a convenient location for a great get-away BUT

  • 3 of 5

I would hesitate to do business with VRBO again, for the following reasons:

The cleaning crew should be DISMISSED--upon arrival, it started with EVERY towel being totally musty and requiring immediate washing, but then, the kitchen area was particularly UNSANITARY THROUGHOUT ENTIRE WORK AREA, FROM THE STOVE (WHICH WAS SMOKING FROM CONTINUOUS GREASE BUILD UP & BLACK CRUST ON ALL 4 STOVETOP BURNERS , THE TOASTER, ALL CABINETS AND MANY CONTENTS WERE GREASY AND NOT CLEANED INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE CUPBOARDS, MOLD INSIDE THE BATHROOM CABINET THAT SERVICES THE 2 UPPER BEDROOMS AREA, we all touched as little as possible during our stay. You get the idea--and yes, we were very disappointed--after all, I expected a clean, sanitary area for my $125.00 fee, along with your service fee (for what?), and let us not forget the $59 travel insurance fee. I plan to contact the owners with further comments, would hate to see this beautiful, spacious property go to ruin.....

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me say that we are disappointed you did not thoroughly enjoy our beautiful property. While we've never had an issue with the cleaning team or mention of anything less than great condition from prior guests, we will personally inspect the property with our cleaning team. We visited the property a week before your stay and did not note the conditions described. We provide our cell phones for guests to call with any issues and we did not receive a call from you during your stay. The travel insurance is an optional expense offered directly through VRBO for guests to select if desired. Our goal is that all guests enjoy our wonderful cabin and amenities as much as we do. Bill and Jason / 4C's
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect for a family get away!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely enjoyed the house. We had two families with kids and the rec room downstairs was great for them to enjoy especially during rainy days. The house is close to Chimney Rock and the downtown area. The house was equipped with all we needed to get started. The only recommendations we would give would be to upgrade the propane grill on the back porch and to add a tv to the additional bedroom with the queen size bed. The owner was very quick to respond. We look forward to returning back to this property!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin! Loved being so close to the water!

  • 4 of 5

We all enjoyed our stay at the cabin this past week! About 45 min to Asheville and very close to Chimney Rock etc! Owners were very responsive to any needs that arose! Cabin was clean and it was great to have the amenities available at the Rumbling Bald resort! Our only suggestion for the cabin would be for a hot tub to be added! Can't wait to visit the Lake Lure area again!!


Gainesville FL

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome, quiet place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Would highly recommend anyone, the only sugesstion would be to have more tv's and mirrors in bedrooms other than that an awesome place to stay this was our second stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Rumbling Bald
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties