Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Montreat Respite House

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 10

Historic Montreat home is available for your family or small group enjoyment. The home built in 1907 is one of the original Montreat "Heritage Houses". The house features 3 bedrooms and 1 dorm room with multiple beds. Rock yourself silly on the wrap-around front porch. Conveniently located near Assembly Inn, Lake Susan, Robert Lake park for the kids, and "The Barn" for Friday night community square dances.

Montreat is nestled just north of the quaint town of Black Mountain and only 20 minutes from eclectic Asheville. Things to do in the area include numerous hiking trails, golf, shopping, the Asheville brewery scene, Biltmore house, and much more.

This house is an old but well kept mountain retreat. New heat and air conditioning system installed October 2017.

More Details

Property Manager
Richard Hudson
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2018


Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , 1st floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , 2nd floor, dormitory style
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Historic Montreat Respite House
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews

Clean, cozy, and in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying here. The house was close to everything Black Mountain has to offer. A short drive got us to Asheville and the downtown scene.

Overall the house was in great condition, the heating worked perfectly in the cold weather. No complaints.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Wilson, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us the next time you “head to the hills!”
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Peaceful Weekend in Montreat

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time in Montreat regardless of the weather, even with chilling temperatures and wet weather, our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The home was everything we hoped it would be, the Hudsons were extremely nice and polite, and had the home ready for us upon our arrival. We are so pleased and look forward to our next opportunity to stay in the Black Mountain area, we will definitely be contacting them again.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great old house, but lots of problems!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at Montreat Respite House on Sunday the 10th of Sept. at about 4:00 pm. Around 6 pm it started to get chilly and I went to the thermostat to turn the heat on. Nothing happened; so I made my first call to the property manager. He told me the heat did not work, but there were 2 space heaters and plenty of blankets. We got the space heaters going knowing there was no way they would be able to warm a big old 2 story house. We found the blankets, but they were so musty smelling so we had to wash them. Upon opening the washer lid we found a load of towels and sheets that were never dried and had soured. They too had to be washed again. There was also a load in the dryer that had not been put up. We made it thru the night and warmed ourselves the next morning in front of the kitchen stove. That afternoon the wind picked up and the electricity went out. I called the manager again and he came by and said he would report the problem to Duke Power. Meanwhile there was plenty of firewood to build a fire in the fireplace. Later that day we tried to make a fire, but the wood was stacked outside and was too wet to burn. We ended up going into town and buying $50 worth of firewood. That night we sat by the fireplace and took our candles to bed. We spent the next day in Black Mountain until late afternoon when we were informed that the power was back on at the house. The next two days were pretty much the same: sleeping with a space heater in the bedroom, taking a shower with a space heater in the bathroom and warming up in the morning by the kitchen stove. When it was time to clean and lock up the last instruction was to put the trash outside in the trash cans. I wasn't surprised that the trash from the last tenants was still in the trash cans!

I am not usually a complainer, but I strongly feel we should have at least a 50% refund on this transaction. We own rental property ourselves and there is no way in the world we would turn a house over to tenants in the shape this house was in! Nor would we keep it a secret that there is no functioning heating system.

Sincerely, Frank McNeal

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: There were problems with travelers stay. The party evidently came to the mountains to escape possible ramifications from Hurricane Irma in Savannah, Ga. They failed to realized that there was the possibility we could also have affects, which we did. High winds from Irma caused downed trees in the neighborhood, which involved downed power lines behind the house and loss of power for a night and most of next day. When the power was knocked out, I offered travelers the option of going elsewhere and working out a refund with them. They decided against that option. Also, writer fails to mention that it was clearly disclosed in the listing that the home had no central heat and that space heaters that would normally be sufficient in early fall. The Irma effect also made for unseasonably cooler temperatures. As is the case most of the time, there are two sides to every story.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Asheville Airport (AVL)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Downtown Black Mountain
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Black Mountain Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Downtown Black Mountain
Car: necessary

Black Mountain is home to 3 craft beer breweries, Black Mountain Brewery, Pisgah Brewing, and Lookout Brewery. There is a splash pad located in the town square park . House is within walking distance to all Montreat Conference Center activities, the nationally recognized Biltmore House and Grove Park Inn Spa are both 20 minutes away in Asheville.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Insurance $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties